Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only contains THREE disks !
I read the product description from Amazon (inserted below) and expected to get 12 disks in total.
There are THREE in the pack.

Just thought I'd post this so that you know what you will be getting ...

-----------------------------------
Product Description

Amazon.ca

The extended editions of Peter Jackson's The Lord of...
Published on Feb. 13 2013 by Gromit

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars IT'S JUST THE MOVIES!!
DON'T BUY THIS IN HOPES OF GETTING ANYTHING ELSE OTHER THAN THE MOVIES, 'cause you're not getting it.
Its just ONE dvd case with three disks, one for each movie, and that's it. Not expecting extended version or anything fantastic, but some extras woulda been cool. Then again, you remember you're only paying 10 bucks for it, but i think my 10 bucks could be better...
Published 15 months ago by Nadia


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only contains THREE disks !, Feb. 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: 3-Film Collection - Theatrical Edition (The Fellowship of the Ring / The Two Towers / The Return of the King ) (DVD)
I read the product description from Amazon (inserted below) and expected to get 12 disks in total.
There are THREE in the pack.

Just thought I'd post this so that you know what you will be getting ...

-----------------------------------
Product Description

Amazon.ca

The extended editions of Peter Jackson's The Lord of the Rings present the greatest trilogy in film history in the most ambitious sets in DVD history. In bringing J.R.R. Tolkien's nearly unfilmable work to the screen, Jackson benefited from extraordinary special effects, evocative New Zealand locales, and an exceptionally well-chosen cast, but most of all from his own adaptation with co-writers Fran Walsh and Philippa Boyens, preserving Tolkien's vision and often his very words, but also making logical changes to accommodate the medium of film. While purists complained about these changes and about characters and scenes left out of the films, the almost two additional hours of material in the extended editions (about 11 hours total) help appease them by delving more deeply into Tolkien's music, the characters, and loose ends that enrich the story, such as an explanation of the Faramir-Denethor relationship, and the appearance of the Mouth of Sauron at the gates of Mordor. In addition, the extended editions offer more bridge material between the films, further confirming that the trilogy is really one long film presented in three pieces (which is why it's the greatest trilogy ever--there's no weak link). The scene of Galadriel's gifts to the Fellowship added to the first film proves significant over the course of the story, while the new Faramir scene at the end of the second film helps set up the third and the new Saruman scene at the beginning of the third film helps conclude the plot of the second.

To top it all off, the extended editions offer four discs per film: two for the longer movie, plus four commentary tracks and stupendous DTS 6.1 ES sound; and two for the bonus material, which covers just about everything from script creation to special effects. The argument was that fans would need both versions because the bonus material is completely different, but the features on the theatrical releases are so vastly inferior that the only reason a fan would need them would be if they wanted to watch the shorter versions they saw in theaters (the last of which, The Return of the King, merely won 12 Oscars). The LOTR extended editions without exception have set the DVD standard by providing a richer film experience that pulls the three films together and further embraces Tolkien's world, a reference-quality home theater experience, and generous, intelligent, and engrossing bonus features. --David Horiuchi
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Satisfactory, Jan. 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: 3-Film Collection - Theatrical Edition (The Fellowship of the Ring / The Two Towers / The Return of the King ) (DVD)
This 3-film package satisfied our curiosity of the whole long story of the LOR. It's worth buying this collection. My kids love it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars IT'S JUST THE MOVIES!!, Dec 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: 3-Film Collection - Theatrical Edition (The Fellowship of the Ring / The Two Towers / The Return of the King ) (DVD)
DON'T BUY THIS IN HOPES OF GETTING ANYTHING ELSE OTHER THAN THE MOVIES, 'cause you're not getting it.
Its just ONE dvd case with three disks, one for each movie, and that's it. Not expecting extended version or anything fantastic, but some extras woulda been cool. Then again, you remember you're only paying 10 bucks for it, but i think my 10 bucks could be better invested on something nicer, especially if its for a gift.

The movies alone? i can get them off the internet for free. No need to pay 10 bucks for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good collection with very good price., May 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: 3-Film Collection - Theatrical Edition (The Fellowship of the Ring / The Two Towers / The Return of the King ) (DVD)
Happy to buy this as my collection. Consist of 3 movies that I like most. The price is very good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bare basics, all in one place, exactly what I needed, May 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: 3-Film Collection - Theatrical Edition (The Fellowship of the Ring / The Two Towers / The Return of the King ) (DVD)
This is a basic, fantastic product at a basic fantastic price, so this definitely doesn't require much in terms of an in-depth review. I am not reviewing the films themselves--although the trilogy definitely receives 5 stars from me as well--just the actual item you're paying for.

What you get with this product is the entire LOTR Trilogy each on their own individual disks, in one case, separated by plastic dividers. Basic, clean, compact. Nothing fancy, which is perfect because with only paying 10 dollars, that's all I wanted, basic. There's nothing wrong with this product. Although, I will say, something I found strange is that mine came with a small tear in the paper within the cover of the DVD case that displays the cover design, etc. And the tear wasn't from my hands, but that's beside the point and a packaging error rather than product error.

If you want all 3 of the LOTR movies on DVD together in one place for a cheap price, no frills attached, then this is the product for you. I have no complaints and am more than content with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Buyer, March 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: 3-Film Collection - Theatrical Edition (The Fellowship of the Ring / The Two Towers / The Return of the King ) (DVD)
Delighted to receive the entire Lord of the Rings Trilogy on D.V.D. The purchase arrived in perfect condition in a most timely fashion. Many thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, Feb. 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: 3-Film Collection - Theatrical Edition (The Fellowship of the Ring / The Two Towers / The Return of the King ) (DVD)
All three movies in one box! these are great movies for the family , awesome movie marathon. pop the popcorn!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars not for me, Jan. 5 2014
By 
George Jones - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: 3-Film Collection - Theatrical Edition (The Fellowship of the Ring / The Two Towers / The Return of the King ) (DVD)
My husband wanted to watch The Lord of the Rings, so I bought it for him for Christmas. I'd heard about it from others who really enjoyed this series and found the symbolism fascinating. I decided to watch it with my husband, but the movie had barely begun when I realised that it's far too violent for me. Perhaps it's because I have a vivid imagination and knew that the images would stay with me for a long time. My husband, on the other hand, thought it was great. I'm probably among the few who are content with not watching this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, Dec 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: 3-Film Collection - Theatrical Edition (The Fellowship of the Ring / The Two Towers / The Return of the King ) (DVD)
I loved the movies and got a chance to watch it again in high quality. Would definitely recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great deal!, Dec 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Lord of the Rings: 3-Film Collection - Theatrical Edition (The Fellowship of the Ring / The Two Towers / The Return of the King ) (DVD)
Fantastic price and it includes all three movies. Great gift idea and it is easy on the pocket book. It would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews