Customer Reviews


160 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Total Recall (1990)(Ultimate Rekall Edition)(blu ray)…significant improvement over earlier edition!
There are two versions of Total Recall (blu ray): The Mind-Bending Edition with one disc, and the Ultimate Rekall Edition (blu ray + DVD combo). I bought the Ultimate Rekall Edition for $10 when it was first announced, but now the price has gone up to $23.99 from seller, while the one disc Mind-Bending Edition is still $10. The two versions are apparently the same...
Published 20 months ago by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong language
I ordered this movie, and received a French version. I returned that movie in exchange for the correct one, and received another French version. I was told by Amazon that they couldn't fix the problem so just gave me a refund.

Then Amazon asks me for a movie review? I think the left hand has no clue what the right hand is doing.
Published on April 11 2009 by Dan S. Johnston


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Total Recall (1990)(Ultimate Rekall Edition)(blu ray)…significant improvement over earlier edition!, Aug. 20 2012
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
There are two versions of Total Recall (blu ray): The Mind-Bending Edition with one disc, and the Ultimate Rekall Edition (blu ray + DVD combo). I bought the Ultimate Rekall Edition for $10 when it was first announced, but now the price has gone up to $23.99 from seller, while the one disc Mind-Bending Edition is still $10. The two versions are apparently the same.

VIDEO:

Total Recall (1990) arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.85:1 encode. The original Total Recall blu ray was released in 2007 with disastrous results. This new Rekall Edition is much improved, supposedly taken from the original elements according to information from Lionsgate and approved by director Paul Verhoeven as the way he intended the film to look. As evidenced by the restoration comparison included on this Blu-ray as a supplement, the results are rather dramatic. Contrast is markedly better in this presentation, as is colour timing and especially saturation. We can see more of the finer details in the background. Besides, this goes back to the deliberate photography of Jost Vacano ('Das Boot,' 'Robocop') and Verhoeven, wanting the feel of a dystopic, lifeless and morose future. The colour palette is severely affected by these artistic decisions, also looking fairly glum and downcast, but primaries are cleanly rendered and stable. (4.0/5)

AUDIO:

This DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 lossless track is also an improvement from the last edition. It has a wide dynamic range. The English track is an incredibly visceral experience, completely immersive and wonderfully nuanced. Dialogue and Jerry Goldsmith's nicely bombastic score are well prioritized and are delivered cleanly and clearly. (4.0/5)

TRIVIA:

Total Recall (1990) has an estimated budget of $65 million, but grossed $261 million worldwide.

Arnold Schwarzenegger suffered several hand-related injuries during the shoot. When filming the scene where Quaid smashes a train window, a tiny explosive in the glass was supposed to shatter the glass a fraction of a second before Schwarzenegger struck it, but it didn't go off and Schwarzenegger hit the glass for real, badly cutting himself. When filming the fight scene inside Quaid's Hilton suite (immediately after Quaid shoots Dr. Edgemar), Schwarzenegger broke a finger on his right hand and had to get a cast fitted. As a result, most of his scenes shot afterward kept his injured hand off-screen.

The subway scenes were filmed in the Mexico City subway system, specifically, the Insurgentes station of the Line 1: Constituyentes-Pantitlan.

Some of the large ads seen after Quaid gets off the subway were real signs featured above the Insurgentes subway station in Mexico City, most noticeable the Fuji Film and Coca Cola signs, the Coca Cola sign still stands today.
All of the crew fell ill due to food poisoning during production in Mexican City, with the exception of Arnold Schwarzenegger and Ronald Shusett (Screenplay writer). Schwarzenegger escaped because he always had his food catered from the US. This was because three years earlier, he had fallen ill due to drinking tap water in Mexico during production of Predator. As for Shusett, he took extreme health precautions, such as only brushing his teeth with boiled or bottled water and insisting on getting a weekly vitamin B12 shot. Shusett was even mocked by the crew until they all got sick themselves.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

I am still very fond of the Mars-surfaced-colour tin-can of the Special Limited Edition DVD. But this latest Ultimate Rekall Edition, being released to coincide with the 2012 Total Recall, is significantly improved over the 2007 release, and is the definitive version of this movie as far as video and audio are concerned. The blu ray disc is highly recommended.

I hope the above review is helpful to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Total Recall (1990)(Mind-Bending Edition)(blu ray)…significant improvement over earlier edition and really cheap!, Aug. 20 2012
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Total Recall: Mind-Bending Edition [Blu-ray] (Sous-titres français) [Import] (Blu-ray)
VIDEO:

Total Recall (1990)(Mind-Bending Edition) arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.85:1 encode. The original Total Recall blu ray was released in 2007 with disastrous results. This new Mind-Bending Edition is much improved, supposedly taken from the original elements according to information from Lionsgate and approved by director Paul Verhoeven as the way he intended the film to look. As evidenced by the restoration comparison included on this blu ray as a supplement, the results are rather dramatic. Contrast is markedly better in this presentation, as is colour timing and especially saturation. We can see more of the finer details in the background. Besides, this goes back to the deliberate photography of Jost Vacano ('Das Boot,' 'Robocop') and Verhoeven, wanting the feel of a dystopic, lifeless and morose future. The colour palette is severely affected by these artistic decisions, also looking fairly glum and downcast, but primaries are cleanly rendered and stable. (4.0/5)

AUDIO:

This DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 lossless track is also an improvement from the last edition. It has a wide dynamic range. The English track is an incredibly visceral experience, completely immersive and wonderfully nuanced. Dialogue and Jerry Goldsmith's nicely bombastic score are well prioritized and are delivered cleanly and clearly. (4.0/5)

TRIVIA:

Total Recall (1990) has an estimated budget of $65 million, but grossed $261 million worldwide.

Arnold Schwarzenegger suffered several hand-related injuries during the shoot. When filming the scene where Quaid smashes a train window, a tiny explosive in the glass was supposed to shatter the glass a fraction of a second before Schwarzenegger struck it, but it didn't go off and Schwarzenegger hit the glass for real, badly cutting himself. When filming the fight scene inside Quaid's Hilton suite (immediately after Quaid shoots Dr. Edgemar), Schwarzenegger broke a finger on his right hand and had to get a cast fitted. As a result, most of his scenes shot afterward kept his injured hand off-screen.

The subway scenes were filmed in the Mexico City subway system, specifically, the Insurgentes station of the Line 1: Constituyentes-Pantitlan.

Some of the large ads seen after Quaid gets off the subway were real signs featured above the Insurgentes subway station in Mexico City, most noticeable the Fuji Film and Coca Cola signs, the Coca Cola sign still stands today.

All of the crew fell ill due to food poisoning during production in Mexican City, with the exception of Arnold Schwarzenegger and Ronald Shusett (Screenplay writer). Schwarzenegger escaped because he always had his food catered from the US. This was because three years earlier, he had fallen ill due to drinking tap water in Mexico during production of Predator. As for Shusett, he took extreme health precautions, such as only brushing his teeth with boiled or bottled water and insisting on getting a weekly vitamin B12 shot. Shusett was even mocked by the crew until they all got sick themselves.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

I am still very fond of the Mars-surfaced-colour tin-can of the Special Limited Edition DVD. But this latest Mind-Bending Edition, being released to coincide with the 2012 Total Recall, is significantly improved over the 2007 release, and is the definitive version of this movie as far as video and audio are concerned. But the most attractive part is the price…$10!!! IWhat a bargain. Get it before the price goes up. The blu ray disc is highly recommended.

As per the usual Amazon.ca tradition, reviews of the standard DVD edition and the 2007 blu ray editions are also included in this latest edition column. Please read the date of review before wasting time in reading out-dated materials.

I hope the above review is helpful to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wrong language, April 11 2009
By 
Dan S. Johnston (Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I ordered this movie, and received a French version. I returned that movie in exchange for the correct one, and received another French version. I was told by Amazon that they couldn't fix the problem so just gave me a refund.

Then Amazon asks me for a movie review? I think the left hand has no clue what the right hand is doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars American dystopian science fiction action film, April 4 2013
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Total Recall is a 1990 American dystopian science fiction action film directed by Paul Verhoeven and starring Arnold Schwarzenegger. It is loosely based on the Philip K. Dick story "We Can Remember It for You Wholesale".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extreme Beautiful!!!, Oct. 30 2012
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Total Recall: Mind-Bending Edition [Blu-ray] (Sous-titres français) [Import] (Blu-ray)
This movie has an excellent quality! I totally recommend! Better than the non mind-bending version. And also much better than the 2012 one, but that's my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Total Recall, Sept. 7 2012
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've always enjoyed the original version. It was cutting edge at the time it came out and Michael Ironside was one of my favourite actors. His intensity is palatable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive version of this classic, Aug. 18 2012
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
While I haven't taken a look at the Blu-ray version of this movie, I can however safely say that this is the best DVD version of the movie you can own. Not only does it feature crisp and clear audio and video, but it also comes with some pretty wonderful special features, including a hilarious and somewhat insightful commentary track with Arnie and Verhoeven.

If you love Total Recall, what can I say, buy this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This isn't a Blu-Ray, it's an upconverted DVD!, Dec 29 2007
By 
Dave V (Belleville, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Total Recall [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Fine movie, don't get me wrong.
But as Blu-Ray movies go, the picture quality is horrid.
It would be above average as a DVD ... but that's not what you're paying for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Would be lousy as a DVD, Jan. 3 2009
By 
Jeffrey D. Marinuk "Jeff" (Paris, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Total Recall [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I'm glad I picked this up for under $10. If I got this as a DVD I'd be disappointed but not surprised. I've seen a lot of garbage film-to-DVD transfers. You know, the ones with the film grain and scratches? Well, now we have it on Blu-ray. The BR version of this movie offers no video quality improvements over DVD. It's like watching a movie film, but with lots of dithering. If you have this on DVD, don't waste your money on this version.

Having said all that, I still like this movie. I'd like to see a remaster of it eventually.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Worst. Shipping packaging. Evar., April 9 2014
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
First, I'd like to make this clear, the product is excellent and it's one of my favorite movies of all time. 5 stars for the steel book. My 1 star rating is for what they want me to do, "review your purchases". Purchasing from Amazon.ca seems to have been a mistake. On a side note, I've recently purchased some blu-rays from the American site because for the same blu-rays as you can get on the Canadian site, the prices are so dramatically less that even after paying for shipping (with the Canadian site I get free shipping) AND paying import duty fees they STILL cost less then if I GE them from my country's site. This makes absolutely no sense but that's another story. I've ordered items like this from multiple places and they always come well packed, usually in a tight fitting cardboard box to prevent damage. When this item and Goodfellas came together in not even a decent quality but a cheap bubble envelope, I knew there would be trouble. Goodfellas had a dent in the slipcover, which isn't a big deal but could have been avoided but what sucks the most, a huge dent in the Total Recall steelbook. When you fork out the extra cash to get a nice steelbook, the biggest thing to be avoided is getting one with a dent and they took zero precautions to prevent this from happening. I'm not nearly as anal as a lot of people who collect blu-rays are but I'm still disappointed. I'm going to just end up keeping them because to return them is a timely pain in the arse that wouldn't be an issue if they had just been sent properly like everyone else does, the first time. Your only other option is to click 20 different links on the site until you finally find a "review our packaging" link where they will never contact you about the problem, they just use your bad experience as a learning experience to improve in the future. I'm honored to be a test subject for this but at the end of the day I paid full price for 2 damaged items. I don't think I'll be ordering from here again unless they start using adequate packaging. I thought I would throw that out there as I know many of you are hardcore collectors and don't appreciate recieveng your steelbooks dented to hell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaadac6b4)

This product

Only search this product's reviews