Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!
This is yet another excellent movie from the folks that brought to you Wallace and Gromit. I highly recommend buying it!
Published 16 months ago by Loretta Ryan

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good animation, but the humour fell a little flat!
The Pirates, Band of Misfits is another in a long line of stop-motion (Claymation) titles from the wonderfully creative folks of Aardman Animation. You've probably seen previous works of theirs from the old Wallace & Gromit shorts right up to newer movies like Chicken Run and Curse of the Weir Rabbit. So if you've seen any of them, then you pretty much know what to...
Published 9 months ago by John Thomas Anderson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good animation, but the humour fell a little flat!, July 8 2013
By 
John Thomas Anderson (Southern Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
The Pirates, Band of Misfits is another in a long line of stop-motion (Claymation) titles from the wonderfully creative folks of Aardman Animation. You've probably seen previous works of theirs from the old Wallace & Gromit shorts right up to newer movies like Chicken Run and Curse of the Weir Rabbit. So if you've seen any of them, then you pretty much know what to expect here.

The stop-motion animation is superb as always though I found the overall storyline a bit lacking in depth. I can't quite put my finger on it, but somehow even though a lot of the individual scenes are quite funny and Hugh Grant did his usual high quality voice acting and there's the usual Aardman action; still the parts always seemed better than the whole some how. So I can't quite give it a ringing endorsement.

Still the kids should enjoy it as it's colourful and loud and waaaay over the top. But for parents, it may not have much long term rewatchability. At least that's how I find it personally. Your mileage may vary.

The bluray does look superb though and the audio track is a full 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio in both English and Quebecois French. There's also a DD 5.1 track in Spanish. As for extra's, there's a nice 20 min. short called "You want to be a Pirate" and a couple of smaller shorts as well. They're all very well done. Plus a very nice 20 min. documentary on how you make a stop motion movie (very labour intensive) and a shorter 8 min. piece on how they made the bathtub chase scene. Plus the usual assortment of trailers, etc.

5 stars for the superb animation, 4 for the DTS audio and 3 for the overall storyline.

J. A.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, Dec 15 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is yet another excellent movie from the folks that brought to you Wallace and Gromit. I highly recommend buying it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pirates, Oct. 20 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
An enjoyable movie. A bit too old to keep our 5 year old's attention. I believe she would enjoy it in an atmosphere of a few slightly older children to share the experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Saw it in the theatre, loved it at my house, Feb. 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Aardman animation were a breath of fresh air when the surfaced with the Wallace and Grommit series of shorter animations, it has been great to see them continue and broaden their scope with wonderful movies like this one. My family and I will be watching and enjoying this movie for many years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ahoy matey!, Sept. 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A family fun filled misadventure of pirates created in the same vein as other Aardman hand claymation movies. A giggle and a gusty laugh at every turn of the sea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars High comedic value, superb animation, Oct. 16 2012
By 
OpenMind "R Granger" (Calgary, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The Pirate Captain hopes to win the "Pirate of the Year" award this time around. His faithful crew--from the "Surprisingly Curvaceous Pirate" to the "Pirate with Gout"--think he has a decent chance. His competition is stiff, though, and he hasn't amassed nearly enough booty to be a serious contender for the prize. While boarding a vessel one day, he meets Charles Darwin, who tells him that his parrot mascot is actually a rare dodo that could bring him untold riches at the Royal Academy's yearly competition in London. The Pirate Captain decides to attend the meeting despite the risk of incurring Queen Victoria's retribution, whose hatred of pirates is renowned.

The rest of the movie unfolds, and it's a well-proportioned mix of comedy, danger, and sentimentality. The filmmakers have refrained from going over-the-top with any of the particular elements (such as madcap action/hackneyed slapstick/overly risqué innuendo), and the result is a satisfying balance of laughter and suspense. The Pirates! even manages to convey some important messages about loyalty, fair play, and--of all things--biodiversity!

All of the parts of this film, including plot, visuals, acting, and pacing, are superlative.

Some "family" films by design are tailored towards a particular demographic. The Pirates!, on the other hand, will please children AND adults of all ages. It is definitely worth the purchase, since it won't get stale with repeated viewings and is a safe bet as far as entertaining friends or family goes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun movie for the family, Sept. 17 2012
By 
A. Volk (Canada) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (#1 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Pirates! Band of Misfits / Les pirates! Bande de nuls (Bilingual) (DVD)
The Pirates! is a fun movie in the tradition of stop-motion claymation done by Aardman Animations. The movie revolves around the plot of the Pirate Captain (that's his name) trying to win the Pirate of the Year award. Recognizing that fewer pirates are alive to claim the prize, Pirate Captain thinks that this is finally the year that he has a chance to win it along with his misfit crew. Pirate Captain is played by Hugh Grant who lends a great voice to the figure, but it's really hard to peg him as Hugh Grant unless you already know that. Jeremy Piven and Salma Hayek are his main competitors, but they don't figure strongly in the movie. Charles Darwin does thanks to an unusual encounter that sparks a rare opportunity for the Pirate Captain. Darwin goes on the play a semi-villain in the movie, which I quite enjoyed given my admiration for the real Charles Darwin. It's done in a spoofy enough way that no one would consider that it was indicative of the real Charles Darwin.

From a more technical perspective, the visuals are crisp, clear, and fun while the action is lively and the comedy hits more often than it misses. The Blu-Ray version featured commentaries from the director and co-direct that was pretty interesting to listen to and does add to the overall value of the DVD as does a short feature on being a pirate and a PS3 code for a game called Little Big Planet 2. I don't own a PS3 so I don't know if it's any good.

Overall then, there's pretty good value for this DVD and it's a pretty fun watch. It's not the greatest family movie this animation studio has every done, but it's definitely a fun movie worth watching if you get the chance. There is humor aimed at adults inside of the film, which is always a nice bonus as it lets parents laugh at a different level than their kids who laugh at more of the slapstick comedy. So if you're looking for a fun ~90 minutes of relatively harmless comedy, The Pirates! is a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five stars, Sept. 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Awesome show. Go for kids to watch also. Will watch over and over. Good movie. Movies like this r good for kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny movie, Sept. 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Pirates! Band of Misfits / Les pirates! Bande de nuls (Bilingual) (DVD)
Definitely not as entertaining as a Disney or Ice age movie but still funny none the least. My son enjoys watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So So Movie, Aug. 19 2013
By 
Harvey Wolfe (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
There are touches of brilliance in this movie, but unfortunately there are far more bits of mediocrity. Overall, it is not a movie I would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa4afe420)

This product

The Pirates! Band of Misfits / Les pirates! Bande de nuls (Bilingual)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 5.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews