countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
87
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 4, 2013
Expendables never disappoint me!
More actions from Arnold and Bruce made me satisfied and all the jokes about their previous works made me laugh out loud.
It might be just a funny action movie(s), but for me, it's like going back to my past movie passion.

I cannot say more... although it is just my opinion.
Hardly disappointed by Stallone, Willis, and Schwarzenegger (never pronounced or spelled right though), no matter what kind of bad reviews they got from their movies.

Stallone and Statham make a good couple. (partners like Tango & Cash, Lethal Weapons, or Bad Boys even MIB!)
BTW, kinda funny to see Liam Hemsworth's name on the front on this DVD info (only on Amazon I hope).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2014
I absolutely love the Expendable movies. I was so glad they made a second one too. I love the humor from the "older" Characters and how they incorporated lines from their "well known" films. The action was good, the acting was great. All around I really like the movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
If you didn't think much of the first Expendables and wondered why it was so serious and took too much time to establish an ages-old story, Expendables 2 scratches that entirely and makes sure you have a nice funny and action-intense ride.

With our older actors involved (Schwarzenegger, Stallone, Willis, Van Damme and more), there's much fun to be had when they decide to unite and fight together. By now, many people know of a certain someone who makes an appearance, but I won't spoil it for those of you who still have fresh eyes to the movie.

Needless to say, this one doesn't take itself too seriously and doesn't pretend to be what it can't be. It's a fun ride with our favorite action stars of the 80s, and the movie delivers on all fronts even while delivering another ages-old clichéd story. Watching it from time to time takes the edge off some harder days.

Watch it with your best friends who may have the same tastes in movies, and you're in for a great evening.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon November 29, 2012
Sylvester Stallone's out-of-nowhere film 'The Expendables' managed to do the unthinkable: gather some of the biggest names in action movie history and assemble them all under one roof, for one truly spectacular action-fest. The plan worked well enough for a sequel, which brings us to 'Expendables 2,' a bigger, badder, louder entry in the series. Does it have the cajones?

First and foremost, let's take a look at the cast. If ever there was a bigger collection of ultra-stars all together on the same screen, I haven't yet seen it. Stallone, Statham, Lundgren, Willis, Crews, and Couture all make a return, though Mickey Rourke is nowhere to be seen this time. Jet Li only makes a cameo appearance for the film's exciting opener, which is equal parts disappointing, and misleading. This does, however, make room for a few other faces, including Arnold Schwarzenegger, Chuck Norris, Jean-Claude Van Damme, and Scott Adkins. All in all, it's a pretty impressive cast of heavyweights, but the story is quite another matter.

Stallone once again stars as Barney Ross, the leader of the Expendables mercenary team, who have been sent to Nepal to rescue a Chinese hostage. They inadvertently stumble upon the antagonistic Trench (Arnold Schwarzenegger) who has also been captured. Following a daring escape, the newest and youngest of the team, Billy (Liam Hemsworth) decides that the life of a mercenary is simply not for him, and that he would rather spend his days in the arms of his girlfriend. Before he can quit, however, he must accompany the Expendables on one final mission. CIA operative Church (Bruce Willis) forces Barney to accept the mission to Albania to retrieve a non-disclosed item. They are accompanied by Maggie Chan (Yu Nan), a female operative with impressive technical expertise. In the midst of the operation, the Expendables are confronted by the Sangs, an international criminal syndicate run by the ruthless Jean Vilain (Jean-Claude Van Damme). Vilain brutally executes young Billy before retreating with the package, which is revealed to be a computer with the stored location of refined plutonium in an abandoned Bulgarian mine. Mad with vengeance, the Expendables vow to track Vilain and the Sangs, and kill them all. But Vilain's unpredictable, psychotic nature soon manifests itself in the most horrible manner, and the team are forced to think past their desire for vengeance, and protect the innocent.

The biggest gripe with Expendables 2 is that it doesn't quite have the grand sense of spectacle as the original film. The sequel feels grittier, dirtier, more down to Earth, and on a smaller scale. The writing isn't always the greatest, either, and makes the mistake of putting heavy-handed drama at the forefront of some key scenes. It's muscle-bound guy's drama, amplified to the point of embarrassing caricature. The story is engaging enough only to the point of setting up key scenes for its ensemble cast to play around in, which smacks more of an attempt to sell tickets via star power, than a vehicle for contemplation. Whatever, it's a big dumb action movie. I get it. But while certain characters like Barney or Lee get all of the attention, others are flat-out forgotten, underdeveloped, or simply underutilized. I was too busy keeping an eye out for Van Damme or Norris that I actually forget about Toll Road (Randy Couture) completely. Perhaps if they gave the man more than three lines to speak, he would have stuck out more. Similarly, Gunner Jensen (Dolph Lundgren) seems less like the brooding, unstable loose cannon he was in the first film, and more like the butt of every joke this time 'round. It's great to see Van Damme back on the big screen again, though, and in a villainous role no less. Van Damme hasn't aged all that well, yet this actually helps his character's rugged, brutal and sociopathic personality. His body is still in peak form, complete with trademark leaping reverse kick. Some lesser characters like Scott Adkins do quite well in their respective roles, especially when it comes to fight scenes, but we all walked into this looking for the silver screen legends. It's nice to see Schwarzenegger get a lot more screen time this time around, especially after his teaser scene in the first film. After his long stint as Governor of California, Arnold can still hold and shoot a machine gun as if he'd barely walked off the set of Predator.

Expendables 2 is more of the same, but...less as well. The writing and plot structure has taken a significant back seat to the cluster of bulging biceps and legendary personas, which makes the film a give-and-take affair. You get more of the cinematic greats, but they have a lot less to do with the story they're given. At the end of the day, it's a relatively run of the mill script about a villainous madman who is out to make millions of dollars on nuclear weapons, only to be taken down by a team of heroes. Could it be anything more, really? That's a hearty question, but no real attempt was made either way. If you like straightfoward action movies with ear-splitting explosions, high-flying martial arts fists n' feet, and pavement littered to the ankles with empty machine gun shells, then this is your film. If, however, you've matured and evolved along with more ambitious action films like The Matrix, The Bourne Identity, Mission Impossible, Pitch Black, and Avatar (to name but a few), then you might have trouble feeling this one. Either way, it's a cinematic achievement that nobody believed could be pulled off, yet Stallone managed it. If that isn't worth a trip nostalgia lane, then I don't know what is.

NOTE: This review will be edited with more content once the Blu-Ray is released.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2013
It's full of action and funny ! I wasn't sure about the return of Jean-Claude Vandham in the movie but over all he did a good job. It's nice seeing all the BIG actors return together on the big screen ! :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2015
So first it was like POW! and then it was all Rat-a-tat-tat-a-tat-a-tat-a-boooooom! and then Sylvester (or Barney or whatever) was all - AHHHHHHRGHGHHGH! and then Dolf Lundren was all BAFKDJGHKJH DFKJD and then Jean Claude Van Frenchie was all AAAAAAH! and then the credits rolled. Pretty sweet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2013
I certainly hope Stallone does another one. I love both one and two- just really great entertainment. Good to see the boys back
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon November 24, 2012
The Expendables 2(released Aug/12)stars Sylvester Stallone as Barney Ross,Jason Statham as Lee Christmas,Jet Li as Yin Yang,Dolph Lundgren as Gunner Jensen,Chuck Norris as Booker,Jean-Claude Van Damme as Jean Vilain,Bruce Willis as Mr. Church,Arnold Schwarzenegger as Trench,Terry Crews as Hale Caesar,Randy Couture as Toll Road,Liam Hemsworth as Billy the Kid,Scott Adkins as Hector,Yu Nan as Maggie Chan...phew!....along with a good supporting cast.This film starts in high gear baby;an adrenaline pumping,shoot 'em up,blow 'em up,kill 'em all extravaganza.I do not think I have ever seen a movie that starts off with this much energy to it.You talk about your "wow"factor,this film has it in spades!Unlike the first in this series,Mr.Stallone has gotten this one right.The film is straight forward.It does not stop to dwell on any one person or back story too long,and when it slows it only does so to allow us to catch our breath for a short and well timed moment,and then the gates open up again and we're off and running.Mr.Stallone has gotten legends Chuck Norris and Jean Claude van Damme on board for this one,and they are a sight for sore eyes.The in-jokes again abound in E-2,even though they're usually groaners of the highest degree.But considering their sources and who happens to be uttering them at any particular moment,they're a hoot and we forgive them,if they do sometimes come close to being silly.As I said in my review for E-1,Mr.Stallone is no dummy,as he is not only bringing all his own fans on board but those of every one of his costars also.A movie like this is a win-win situation for everyone involved.
The story starts out on a rescue mission in Nepal.The team is flying high with every gun spewing death at the push of a trigger.They furiously enter an overly guarded compound to rescue....Schwarzenegger!??? Yes,Ah-nold has gotten himself captured trying to rescue a Chinese millionaire;the same guy the team was after.Well,the guys got in but now they have to fight their way out as they repel down tower wires and into a forest.From there some take to the water,while others hop aboard their plane.The plane protects those in the water while also concentrating on taking out forces perched on a bridge.When all are on board they're finding their weight a bit too much to make it over an upcoming dam.Their sea-doos are ditched and after a few very tense moments,they just barely make it over.
On board this mission is a new guy called Billy.He was an ex-US forces soldier who served in Afghanistan,and after losing six squad members in a unnecessary shoot out with the Taliban,and his platoon dog mascot,he decided,when his hitch was up,to quit and join Stallone and company.However he confides in Sylvester that he has a girl waiting for him and wants out in a months time,which Stallone has no problem with.Willis shows up with another job for Stallone and the gang.It seems a plane has gone down in Albania carrying the location of a Russian mine in which five tons of weapons grade plutonium was stored.Off the group fly and they arrive and successfully get their item.However just as they're about to leave,Billy,who has been their point/sniper/look out man,has been captured by bad guy Van Damme and his cadre of no good-nicks.They're forced to hand over the map,and just before Van Damme leaves he high kicks Stallones own knife into Billy's chest,killing him.
From here on out it is revenge for the Expendables.They follow Van Damme,which leads them to a town in Bulgaria.They are attacked bu his forces the next morning and the fight isn't going so well,as the opposition has brought in a tank.Just when things look their bleakest,the tank and the rest of the enemy are mysteriously taken out.Suddenly Norris shows up out of nowhere and starts a rather nonchalant convo with the guys.And just as soon as he arrives,he is gone.The Expendables carry on and upon learning the exact location of the mine they fly their plane right into it.Van Damme flees just before this and triggers the mine to collapse,which traps the guys in the mine with several hundred miners.After a while,a wall suddenly collapses as a huge mining drill enters the mine and frees everyone.It is Ah-nold,who announces,of course,"I'm baaack".This allows the team to catch up to Van Damme and company at the airport before they can get away.It is there that Stallone is going to get his revenge on Van Damme for what he did to Billy.And what revenge it is.The film ends as the plane flies off into the sunset and the guys toast Billy.
Technically speaking the film is in its w/s a/r 2:35:1 and is clear and crisp.Extras include a gag reel,deleted scenes,commentary and four featurettes.
All in all a step up from the uneven E-1,as Stallone has gotten things right this time around,with his script,editing and pacing.Testosterone and action are maxed out to the hilt,as the guys go from one fight-fest to the next.In-jokes abound and Stallone and company are winking at us all....and we are winking back and loving it.4 1/2 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2013
We didn't know what to expect but the sequel was just as exciting and full of action and adventure as the first film.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2014
The movie ''The Green Berets'' that I GOT FROM YOU LAST MONTH was recorded on both sides and side B stopped and started the whole time...Sorry to take so long to report this,but I just got around to watching it today..Alan Miller
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse