Customer Reviews


266 Reviews
5 star:
 (151)
4 star:
 (75)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Value
I got this on sale and it was the best TB/$ possible at the time, for that I rate it high for excellent value. It has 732564594 sectors totaling 2,861,580.4MB, and due to differences in the interpretation of "TB", shows as 2.72 TB in Windows. It came pre-formatted as NTFS, and included a Seagate backup program, which I haven't tried. Copying files under USB 2 went...
Published 6 months ago by upgrader

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars its, alright..
this is a great price for such large size, but however it didn't specify that it had to be plugged in in he descriptions. that woul have changed my mind to buy it,,however other then the fact that i have to plug it in o the wall every time wanna use it, and how big and clunky it is,, it dose the trick,,
Published 2 months ago by Farron Main


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Value, Jan. 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I got this on sale and it was the best TB/$ possible at the time, for that I rate it high for excellent value. It has 732564594 sectors totaling 2,861,580.4MB, and due to differences in the interpretation of "TB", shows as 2.72 TB in Windows. It came pre-formatted as NTFS, and included a Seagate backup program, which I haven't tried. Copying files under USB 2 went about 30MB/s, though this varies by drivers and mainboard. It's barely warm to the touch and quite compact. There's a single blue light at the top rear which flickers due to disc activity. It comes with one USB3 cable (compatible with USB2), and a fairly small power brick (which still takes the space of 2 plugs on a power bar).
I would recommend having virus software installed before connecting, as I have found files on sealed components before (apparently someone at the factory had experimented with installing linux on one of the spare USB sticks lying around, which ended up getting sold). There are vents in the bottom and there are 4 legs only 1-2mm high to let air through the vents. It's quiet when seeking but with a high pitched metallic sound, indicating a quick seek rate. The drive is a 7200.14, with 64MB of cache and 7200RPM. There are no obvious screws unless they are under the legs. It is cheaper to buy this then take out the drive and use inside your desktop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for desktop storage, July 15 2012
By 
Big Al "Alan Rivière" (Southwest, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Seagate Expansion 2TB Desktop External Hard Drive USB 3.0 (STBV2000100) (Personal Computers)
This Seagate Expansion 2 TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STBV2000100 measures 4-5/8" X 7-1/16" X 1-3/8" thick - big in physical size by today's standard, and it weighs a hefty 1.5 lb. Furthermore, it comes with a corded transformer. A 100-240V 50/60 Hz AC outlet is required. It is definitely not for the travelers. However, its generous capacity of 2 TB makes it ideal for desktop storage. It runs on USB 3.0, which is a major improvement over the older 2.0 version, with transfer speed up to 5 Gigabits/sec, versus 480 Megabits/sec of USB 2.0. Computers with USB 3.0 are still relatively rare, but this Seagate Expansion Hard Drive is backward-compatible to USB 2.0, which is what I got in my HP desktop. This hard drive is plug-N-play. Within seconds after I plugged it in, it was up and running. A USB 3.0 cable is included. It is different in construction from USB 2.0 cables. A tiny blue LED lights up when the connection is made. The actual read/write speed of a hard drive is not the same as the USB transfer speed. I tested this hard drive with a software called DiskBench. The write speed of this Seagate Expansion drive ranges from 103 to 162 Megabytes/second and the read speed from 511 to 616 Megabytes/second, which are decent. I don't have USB 3.0, but I can see the logic of buying a USB 3.0 drive for a computer with USB 2.0, because USB 3.0 will be the standard in a few years. I can't speak to the drive's reliability, but I own two Seagate external hard drives and they have been very reliable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cool stuff, March 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
very good hard disk for save data and price is also good compare to another stores, online shopping sites it beat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Used to convert a Bell 6131 into a PVR, July 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Seagate Expansion 2TB Desktop External Hard Drive USB 3.0 (STBV2000100) (Personal Computers)
Order this for my Dad and Mom to turn their Bell receiver into a PVR. Neither are tech savvy but they don't need to be with this. I plugged it in and it has worked flawlessly. It is quiet and unobtrusive. Lots of storage space, so they don't have to worry about whether they have enough room to record a program. Great price and great product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works great!, Sept. 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Seagate Expansion 2TB Desktop External Hard Drive USB 3.0 (STBV2000100) (Personal Computers)
Recently bought this HDD to store my movies and shows. It was an easy thing to do, truly plug & play. Also the TV (LG) recognizes the drive and I can control as if it were a Blu-Ray (even turn subtitles on/off). I am contemplating buying another one so that I have one for movies and one for TV Series. In either case, this is a great buy, well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good!, Aug. 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Seagate Expansion 2TB Desktop External Hard Drive USB 3.0 (STBV2000100) (Personal Computers)
Not the smallest one, but it does the job it has to do. The fact that you does'nt have to install anything to use it is also cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good product, best price, excellent seller, April 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Seagate Expansion 2TB Desktop External Hard Drive USB 3.0 (STBV2000100) (Personal Computers)
Seagate drives tend to last more than other drives and hence I tend to buy Segate.
The product is plug and play and no configuration is required.
It saves power (and hard drive life) by turning the drive off when the computer is off and/or if the drive is not being used it puts the drive in standby mode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Storage, Oct. 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great price for a great product. Backed up my whole computer and still had a lot more room to spare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value, Sept. 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This product is great and meets all my needs. Loads up very quickly and is meeting all my data storage needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We are very happy with the product as being a first to buy a product like this, June 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Seagate Expansion 2TB Desktop External Hard Drive USB 3.0 (STBV2000100) (Personal Computers)
It met all our expectations and works well we have already got it loading up seems to have made our laptop computer run a bit faster
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews