march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage SmartSaver Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis sports Tools Registry Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars194
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 22, 2015
I bought this to be my PS4's hard drive as a cheap alternative. It is good so far and I am not having any problem with it.

Case is hard to open without causing some scratches (In my experience) you can also use the old case as a case for the 500gb that comes with PS4
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2012
I just received this external hard drive... I had absolutely no problem connecting.. I just plugged it in my USB and was able to do backup instantly!!! since I am not very technical, I was afraid of running into difficulties but NO - it works fast and plenty of space for what I'm going to use it for...

also shipping was less than 3 days!!!!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This Seagate Expansion 500 GB Portable External Hard Drive STBX500100 runs on USB 3.0, which is a major improvement over the older 2.0 version, with transfer speed up to 5 Gigabits/sec, versus 480 Megabits/sec of USB 2.0. Computers with USB 3.0 are still relatively rare, but this Seagate Expansion Hard Drive is backward-compatible to USB 2.0, which is what I got in my HP desktop. The hard drive is plug-N-play. Within seconds after I plugged it in, it was up and running. A USB 3.0 cable is included. It is different in construction from USB 2.0 cables. A tiny blue LED lights up when the connection is made. Power is drawn from the computer via the USB cable. No AC transformer or cord is necessary. The actual read/write speed of a hard drive is not the same as the USB transfer speed. I tested this hard drive with a software called DiskBench. The write speed of this Seagate Expansion drive ranges from 114 to 170 Megabytes/second and the read speed from 384 to 614 Megabytes/second, which are decent. This drive is highly portable, measuring 3-3/16" X 4-13/16" X 1/2" thick. The capacity at 500 GB is limited but it is ideal for travelers to carry selected data. I don't have USB 3.0, but I can see the logic of buying a USB 3.0 drive for a computer with USB 2.0, because USB 3.0 will be the standard in a few years. I can't speak to the drive's reliability, but I own two Seagate external hard drives and they have been very reliable.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2013
I was looking for a hard drive to use with my Wii U so I could store games, but I didn't want something bulky. I wanted something that could be powered from the USB ports on the console. I had a G-Drive Slim but that didn't work with the console for some reason so I went to look for another.

The shipping was really fast, took two days and the packaging was fine. The hard drive casing is really nice, a matte black finish but it's smooth plastic and won't show scratches easily. The indicator light is right on top, so you can see disk activity no matter which direction the drive's facing. But the most important feature about this drive is that it's powered by the Wii U's usb ports, which is great for anyone looking for a drive to expand their console's capacity without having to carry around an extra giant bulky power adapter. I don't really see any problems with the drive so far. I've used it for a week and it's fast enough for my uses, quiet as well.

If you're looking for a great little portable hard drive this one's fantastic.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2013
The Seagate Expansion is very very fast reading or writing data. You can configure it to work on Mac and Windows.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2013
Works as expected.
Backed up data easily.
Good data transfer rate and easily portable.
Can be used with any lap top or desk top computer.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2013
This harddisk is perfect. It can plug and play without any problem with my Windows 8, and I receive it within a week. Awesome
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2013
Great price for a huge amount of storage space! Was shipped out and delivered the next day. This hard drive is extremely portable, it's so small I could carry it around in my pocket. It's extremely easy to use, just plug it in and your good to go and drag'n'drop any of your files into the device. Also the device is USB 3 and 2 compatible, which is handy for older computers. I would recommend this to anyone who's just looking for extra storage and nothing fancy. It doesn't heat up and comes with a 1 year limited warranty for defects. Which unless you are accident prone or are careless with what you do on your computer the 1 year limited warranty should be all you should really need.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2013
arrived quick, even with free shipping, works great, lightweight but not cheap feeling. good product. would recommend to any in need of more storage on a budget
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2014
PROS:
- price
- reasonably fast
- comes with usb3 cable (one usb plug only)
CONS:
- build is so-so (light weight & too much plastic and a bit flimsy case, compared to my 500 gb 3-year old Iomega. I'm Not sure about long-term longevity/toughness
- cable is thin and has only 1 usb plug (no second one for extrapower if needed)
- seems to "disconnect" in the first weeks of use: but only very rarely, probably just a home network issue on my end)

OVERALL:
happy, wonder if I would buy it again (see below)

*** Update *** 12 months
Still OK but sometimes not recognized when plugged in a multimedia player (disconnects). I have to plug it every times it happens to a computer and run check disk in windows which always solves the problem. A total of maybe 6 times in 5 months - no big deal, I still use it ... but wonder if I would buy it again
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse