Customer Reviews


143 Reviews
5 star:
 (110)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Avengers 3D combo (blu ray)…a thrilling ride with top-notched audio/video…a must-own!
VIDEO:

2D VERSION:

The Avengers arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.78:1 encode, which is crisp and error free. The first half of the film is incredibly dark, probably the wishes of director Joss Whedon. The second half of the film is considerably brighter, and the final, extended battle scene is a riot of fine object detail, fantastically...
Published 24 months ago by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A great Marvel movie that I really wanted to love and ...
A great Marvel movie that I really wanted to love and when I first saw it in the theater I did love it. Now after the thrill is over and I've watched it again I realize that it wasn't all that great. It's really good though if a little mindless but not great for me. Little on story and big on spectacle.
Published 10 days ago by David Thomas


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Avengers 3D combo (blu ray)…a thrilling ride with top-notched audio/video…a must-own!, Sept. 26 2012
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
VIDEO:

2D VERSION:

The Avengers arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.78:1 encode, which is crisp and error free. The first half of the film is incredibly dark, probably the wishes of director Joss Whedon. The second half of the film is considerably brighter, and the final, extended battle scene is a riot of fine object detail, fantastically robust and well saturated colour, and very strong contrast. Skin tones are natural. Overall, this transfer combines a seamless blend between digital cinema elements and computer generated visual effects. The source material is pristine and blemish-free. The transfer has very sharp resolution and detail. You can examine the hair follicles on Robert Downey Jr.'s face, metallic floors on the Helicarrier, the leather of Thor's costume, and the crumbling asphalt in battle torn New York City. Everything is so clear, from hair and skin to costume fabric and metallic textures. (5/5)

3D VERSION:

The Avengers 3D arrives with a strong MPEG-4 MVC encode that's almost as good as its 2D sibling. The Avengers 3D was filmed in 2D with 3D in mind. Like Alice in Wonderland, it is technically a post-conversion (to be truthful, even natively shot 3D includes some post-conversion to account for mistakes and other variables). In the first part of the movie, there are many night scenes filled with digital atmosphere. This tends to flatten the 3D (and 2D) experiences of these scenes. The Avengers 3D looks fantastic 95% of the time. The source material is pristine and blemish-free. The encode is crisp and error-free. Resolution and detail are resplendent, like the 2D version. Watch the Iron Man/Thor forest fight, and you'll see every pine needle, scrap of bark, and tree. (4.5/5)

AUDIO:

The Avengers 2D and The Avengers 3D both feature identical, reference quality DTS-HD 7.1 MA soundtracks. The sound is fantastically robust, with very deep bass. Immersion is simply perfectly handled. Spaceships whiz through the soundfield with clear panning action. Various punches and bone cracking moves are perfectly placed around the surrounds. Dialogue is always loud and clear. Particular attention has been paid to various ambient effects; notice Stark's "cloistered" sounding voice when he's inside his Iron Man suit, or the creepy, bass heavy tones (very reminiscent of Darth Vader) of Loki's Chitauri collaborator. Fidelity is sterling and dynamic range is amazing. The Avengers is a thunderous example of modern blockbuster surround sound. (5/5)

MOVIE:

As Marvel describes it, The Avengers marks the climactic conclusion of Phase One. This wonderful journey included The Incredible Hulk (here played by Mark Ruffalo), Iron Man (Robert Downey, Jr.), Captain America (Chris Evans), Thor (Chris Hemsworth), with supportive role from Black Widow (Scarlett Johansson) and Hawkeye (Jeremy Renner). Other important casts include Nick Fury (Samuel L. Jackson…remember him saying I’ll keep AN eye on you in Iron Man movie) and Pepper Potts (Gwyneth Paltrow). The villain is Thor’s brother, Loki (Tom Hiddleston). The Avengers is about a group of people who, while pretty awesome all by themselves, learn they are not all powerful and, when necessary, can aspire to be even better. Not just as superheroes, mind you, but as people. In teaming up for a selfless, impossible cause, these damaged, detailed characters will each take steps forward to being the best version of themselves possible. Joss Whedon, the director, is also the screenplay writer, who pulled it off to combine an all-star cast with a great story, bringing us this exciting and thrilling movie. (5/5)

BOX OFFICE:

The Avengers has an estimated budget of $220 million, and is the top grossing movie for 2012 so far, with a worldwide gross of $1,509 million, only lost to the box office champion, Avatar (with $2,781 million) and Titanic (with $2,185 million). It is also the top grossing movie from comic books, surpassing the Dark Knight.

PACKAGING:

This 3D combo consists of 4 discs: 1 blu ray 3D, 1 blu ray, 1 DVD and 1 Digital Copy. There is also free digital download of the movie soundtrack. The front cover has a lenticular 3D image of our superheroes…quite nicely done. There are offers for free digital comic book, and free Marvel poster (you have to pay for shipping), available both in US and Canada.

Negative points: The 2 blu ray discs were on top of each other on one side, while the standard DVD is on top of the Digital Copy on the other side. This is a poor design. In Titanic, there are flip-cases, one for each disc. This arrangement is elegant and does not add much more space, but each disc has its own housing. I hate to put one disc on top of each other.

PRICING:

When I first pre-ordered this 3D set, my price was $34.55. Then, it shot up to $39.99, and later dropped down to the current $37.99. Watching the fluctuating price until release is also important: Prometheus 3D blu ray initially cost $41.99, then dropped to $29.99, and now it is an amazing $24.99!

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Joss Whedon made a fantastic adventure film that expertly blends action and character and tone to assembling one of the best super hero films in the history of the genre. For completist like myself, this 3D set is the only way to go. But if you don’t have a 3D TV set, the 2D version is also much cheaper. With top-notched audio and video, and a very enjoyable and thrilling ride, The Avengers set is very highly recommended, and a Must-Own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superhero Full House, May 5 2012
My husband and I agreed to watch "The Avengers" due to previous good experiences with watching both "Ironman" films, "Captain America" from last year, and "Thor". In my opinion, Robert Downey Jr., Chris Hemsworth, and Chris Evans all gave strong and convincing performances in their roles as Ironman, Captain America, and Thor. It was also entertaining watching Scarlet Johansson's Natasha Romanoff character holding her own when confronting Mark Ruffalo's Dr. Bruce character. My husband's favorite character was that of Loki played by Tom Hiddleston. I can understand this because Hiddleston plays a powerful and complex being who proves to be a strong challenge for Thor. For me, it is a tie between Downey's Ironman character and Samuel L. Jackson's Nick Fury persona. Downey plays the role of being the braintrust in deciding how to defeat Loki. Meanwhile, Jackson projects strong leadership and encouraging skills when gathering the appropriate forces to battle Loki. "The Avengers" is best for anyone who has enjoyed any of the previous films: "Captain America", "Thor," and either of the "Ironman" films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a well made film!, Aug. 29 2012
This review is from: Marvel's The Avengers (Bilingual) (DVD)
Ok, I admit it, I'm a giant fan of Joss Whedon, and I've enjoyed all of the Marvel super hero movies so far, so I absolutely have a bias for this movie. But, it really is as good as all the hype. It's funny and full of action, but also full of well-written storylines and character development. It takes a character like the Hulk, whose film adaptations to date have been terrible, and makes him one of the most endearing and interesting characters of the movie. Joss Whedon knows how to write real characters in unbelievably situations, that's what he does! And this is just the latest example to prove that he's one of the greatest writers working today.

And all those guys like Michael Bay and Ridley Scott who think they know how to direct an action sequence should study this movie, because I've never seen action that was so well shot. It's amazing. Best action movie of the year by far!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marvel Avengers Assemble 3D [2012] [3D Blu-ray + 2D Blu-ray] [UK Release], Aug. 15 2014
By 
Andrew C. Miller - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Marvel Avengers Assemble 3D [2012] [3D Blu-ray + 2D Blu-ray] [UK Release] Marvel presents the ‘Marvel Avengers Assemble 3D,’ the Super Hero team-up of a lifetime. Iconic Marvel Super Heroes Iron Man [Robert Downey Jr.], The Incredible Hulk [Mark Ruffalo], Thor [Chris Hemsworth] and Captain America [Chris Evans] assemble for the first time ever in this new action-packed Marvel saga, starring Robert Downey Jr., Scarlett Johansson and Samuel L. Jackson, and directed by Joss Whedon. When an unexpected enemy emerges that threatens global safety and security, Nick Fury [Samuel L. Jackson], Director of the international peacekeeping agency known as S.H.I.E.L.D., finds himself needing a team to pull to pull the world back from the brink of disaster to defeat Loki [Tom Hiddleston], the darkest villain the Earth has ever known. Complete with must-own exclusive content including a never-before-seen adventure and spectacular special effects.

Cast: Robert Downey Jr., Chris Evans, Mark Ruffalo, Chris Hemsworth Scarlett Johansson, Jeremy Renner, Tom Hiddleston, Clark Gregg, Cobie Smulders, Stellan Skarsgård, Samuel L. Jackson, Gwyneth Paltrow, Paul Bettany (Jarvis voice), Alexis Denisof , Tina Benko, Jeff Wolfe, Jamie McShane, Lou Ferrigno (The Hulk voice) and Jerry Lee Tucker

Director: Joss Whedon

Producers: Kevin Feige, Jon Favreau, Louis D'Esposito and Victoria Alonso

Screenwriter: Joss Whedon

Composer: Alan Silvestri

Cinematography: Seamus McGarvey

Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1

Audio: English: 7.1 DTS-HD master Audio and English: 3.0 Audio Descriptive Dolby Digital

Subtitles: English SDH and Enlish

Running Time: 137 minutes

Region: All Regions

Number of discs: 2

Studio: Paramount Studios

Andrew’s Blu-ray Review – One of the biggest blockbuster of 2012, which brings together some of the most well-known comic book superheroes in the Marvel universe, has arrived on the Region Free 3D Blu-ray format, here in the UK. However, it may come as a surprise to some that the Avengers Assemble was converted to 3D in post-production, i.e. none of the footage was actually shot natively in the third dimension using stereoscopic techniques. Post-conversion can be as effective as stereo 3D when done skilfully, but some spectacularly bad jobs – back when 3D was still a novelty have planted in the public’s mind a preconception that all post-converted movies are substandard. Let’s see if ‘Marvel Avengers Assemble 3D’ can change their opinion.

First impressions were even better than I thought and far superior to what I viewed in 3D in the cinema, even before I popped the 3D Blu-ray disc into m OPPO Multi-region Blu-ray Player. The case of the UK version (which also includes a 2D Blu-ray disc) comes enclosed within a lenticular beautiful designed embossed sleeve cover which depicts repulsing rays fired from Iron Man’s palm. A dazzling touch, which is far superior to the North American Blu-ray Cover. And the warm fuzzy feeling continued right through the main menu which began with a tri-dimensional skeleton of S.H.I.E.L.D.’s aircraft carrier flying from in front of the screen (negative parallax) into view, as if to prepare us for the extra-dimensional bonanza ahead.

Following the opening credits which naturally delivered convincing 3D effects, the movie started off quite dark, with Loki scheming with the Chitauri’s leader in a dark corner of the universe, followed swiftly by a cut to a night scene where a chopper brought Nick Fury [Samuel L. Jackson] to a research facility harbouring the Tesseract. The general exacerbated by the darkening effect of the 3D glasses, not only meant that shadow details were quite hard to make out on screen, but also robbed the picture of some much-needed 3D depth (save for the brighter Tesseract cube).

Despite the murkiness persisting for a short while, although there were still some memorable stunning pop-out moments, for example when the ever-so-delectable Agent Romanoff [Scarlett Johansson] pointed a handgun at Dr Banner [Mark Ruffalo]. The 3D effects really picked up a notch during the sequence where the possessed Agent Barton [Jeremy Renner] launched an attack on the helicopter carrier leading to the Hulk’s transformation, with fire sparks and shattered glasses seemingly spilling beyond the screen all over our viewing area.

But the 3-dimensional treats really kicked into overdrive when the superheroes had to defend New York City against the Chitaurian army swarming through the opened portal – the entire sequence taking place in broad daylight helped immensely. Between air vehicles whooshing in and out of our view, and laser beams, arrows and rubbles flying everywhere, there were enough pop-out effects every minute to elicit oohs and aahs from even the fiercest 3D sceptic. This is demo-worthy material, certainly up there among the best tri-dimensional clips – and that includes those shot natively in 3D – I’ve seen.

Blu-ray Video Quality – The ‘Marvel Avengers Assemble 3D’ is presented on Blu-ray courtesy of Paramount Studios (who distributed this Blu-ray in the UK) with an encoded stunning 1080p transfer in the spectacular 1.78:1 aspect ratio. 3D activity here is generally consistent but suffers sometime from the same problem which affects the film's 2D version, namely its ubiquitous darkness, which I hate and detest, as I need to see what is going on, as otherwise it spoils the enjoyment, so why do these studios do it [answers on a postcard]? The second half of the film, which is considerably lighter and brighter, really explodes with some fantastic stunning 3D action, including Hawkeye's arrows shooting toward the viewer and the massive, dinosaur like Chitauri vessels exploding through the interstellar portal and seeming to burst out of the screen. Keep your eye on the lower right side of the screen when the flying aircraft carrier is introduced and you may see a double image on one of the tether ties that extends beyond the frame. Colours are also just slightly more muted in the 3D version, though the ubiquitous blues which dot the film courtesy of the Tesseract and its accoutrements pop magnificently. But these are minor quibbles in what is overall a thrilling and immersive visual experience.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – The ‘Marvel Avengers Assemble 3D’ features an astoundingly effective 7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio surround mix. For those of you who are new to high definition audio and wonder what all the fuss about is about, pop The ‘Marvel Avengers Assemble 3D’ in your Blu-ray player and prepare to feel the might force of interstellar energy pulse through your very being. This is one of the most fantastically robust mixes I've personally experienced, one that keeps the low frequency effects coming from virtually the first second of the film, but which never overplays its hand, allowing the listener to catch a little "breathing room" before launching off on a new sonic attack.

While the side and rear channels aren't the most aggressive I've ever heard, surround activity serves the story well, articulately panning around the room in a full 360 degrees is subtle at times, but roars when needed, shaking the room with every weapon-fire, explosion, or burst of alien-energy. If I could ask for anything more, I think it would be a little more environment immersion (in the non-action sequences, specifically), but that's more a personal preference. The ‘Marvel Avengers Assemble 3D’, whether or not you're watching it in two or three dimensions, is a thunderous example of modern blockbuster surround sound. Even if the movie itself wasn't a rock-em-sock-em good time with reference 2D video and a strong 3D presentation, this track alone would make the ‘Marvel Avengers Assemble 3D’ a definite must own.

Blu-ray Special features and Extras:

Marvel One Shot: Item 47 [HD] [11:20] Lizzie Caplan and Jesse Bradford star in this short film about two wannabe bank robbers who found one of the alien weapons after the Battle for New York.

Gag Reel [HD] [4:05]

Deleted Scenes and Extended Scenes [HD] [14:59] Alternate opening: Maria Hill Interrogation. Steve Rogers: Man Out of Time. Nick Fury & World Security Council. Extended Scene: Loki and Barton Strategize. Extended Viaduct Fight: Raw Footage. Fury and Hill Discuss the World Security Council. Extended Scene: Banner and Security Guard. Alternate Ending: Maria Hill Interrogation.

A Visual Journey [HD] [6:28] Josh Whedon and his collaborators discuss how the film's exciting visuals and set locations were grounded to enhance the characters and the story.

Previews: Marvel Avengers Alliance and Frankenweenie

Finally, Joss Whedon made a fantastic adventure film that expertly blends action and character and tone to assembling one of the best super hero films in the history of the genre (the ‘Marvel Avengers Assemble 3D’ is also a rocking good movie, regardless of the "superhero" label). As a Blu-ray, all versions feature reference quality 7.1 surround audio and 2D video. The 3D version is pretty fantastic also, though it has a few flaws, including darkness and (on some displays) crosstalk. Special Features are okay, but despite this the ‘Marvel Avengers Assemble 3D’ is definitely worth the purchase alone. Regardless of what edition you purchase, the ‘Marvel Avengers Assemble 3D’ easily earns a MUST OWN rating! This is why I am so happy to have another Marvel Comic Book Blu-ray added to my Blu-ray Collection and to also have it in the stunning 3D, is a massive bonus and you will not be disappointed. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I have a plan. Attack.", May 16 2012
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
"The Avengers" is brilliant. This is the "Lord of the Rings" of comic book movies -- colorful, epic and emotionally powerful.

This is one of those rare movies that just gets it RIGHT in every way, weaving together half a dozen superhero movies into one shining whole. You need to have seen some of them to understand what's going on ("Captain America: The First Avenger," "Thor," "Iron Man" and "Iron Man 2") but it's well worth the effort.

Loki (Tom Hiddleston) suddenly teleports into SHIELD headquarters, and immediately steals the Tesseract before the entire compound collapses. He also brainwashes a bunch of people -- including master archer Hawkeye (Jeremy Renner) -- into being his minions.

So Nick Fury (Samuel L. Jackson) decides to call in a group of people with very special skills to stop Loki and get back the Tesseract. -- Steve Rogers/Captain America (Chris Evans), Tony Stark/Iron Man (Robert Downey Jr), Natasha Romanoff/Black Widow, (Scarlett Johansson) and Bruce Banner/The Hulk (Mark Ruffalo). Thor (Chris Hemsworth) also LITERALLY drops in on them, and reveals that Loki is commanding a monstrous army that the Tesseract will allow into our world.

But even after they barely manage to capture Loki, they soon discover that the trickster god is always a few steps ahead of them -- and he's even manipulating them against each other. This fragmented group of volatile heroes must learn to fight together, or face a world where Loki and his Chitauri army reign supreme.

"The Avengers" is the movie that Michael Bay would make if he weren't a racist misogynist hack. It has massive explosions, a flying battleship and a city-smashing finale that involves giant armored eels.... but it also slows down sometimes to allow us quiet moments where the characters can grow, like Barton and Romanoff's talk. It's understated, but powerful ("I have red in my ledger. I'd like to wipe it out").

But since Joss Whedon wrote AND directed this, it's also a witty, tight script with lots of deliciously funny lines ("Doth Mother know you weareth her drapes?") and moments (the Hulk's assault on Loki). He knows how to intertwine action and character development, and his explosive, kinetic battle sequences always end with a sense of bittersweetness. There are losses, and there is pain.

Jackson, Downey, Johansson, Hemsworth and Evans all slip smoothly into their familiar roles; the white-hot Renner gets fleshed out nicely as the quiet, stoic Barton, and Ruffalo is surprisingly good as the nerdy, fragile man with a "rage monster" seething under the surface. And Hiddleston is devastatingly good as Loki, who is now desperate to make himself a god-king, but still shows occasional flickers of regret and uncertainty.

There are a few changes to the familiar characters, and they work -- particularly Captain America, who is a bit angsty about the loss of his old life. And it's a nice touch that the Avengers don't really get along at first, since all their personalities are so different. It takes a massive shock for them to realize, "We NEED to work together, or everything is lost."

If I had to criticize something, it would be that the first ten minutes are rather rushed, and Captain America's costume looks more cartoonish (unlike his grittier WWII uniform, which combined patriotism AND practicality).

"The Avengers" joins together a bunch of separate stories into one wild, explosive epic -- a brilliant story that sets a new benchmark for superhero movies. On to the next round!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Avoid confusion by checking Amazon.com, July 1 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you don't want to get stung by a bad description about what is included, head over to the comparison chart on the US Amazon site at http://www.amazon.com/Marvels-The-Avengers-Four-Disc-Combo/dp/B001KVZ6HK/ref=sr_tr_sr_1?s=movies-tv&ie=UTF8&qid=1341176078&sr=1-1&keywords=avengers because that lays out exactly what is in each package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Action/Adventure Film I've Ever Seen!, Aug. 5 2012
This review is from: Marvel's The Avengers (Bilingual) (DVD)
Joss Whedon did an awesome job with this movie. I believe this is Marvel's best film to this day that I've seen. With a box office gross of 1 1/2 billion dollars approximately, this is quite a success and a great movie! A+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A great Marvel movie that I really wanted to love and ..., Sept. 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A great Marvel movie that I really wanted to love and when I first saw it in the theater I did love it. Now after the thrill is over and I've watched it again I realize that it wasn't all that great. It's really good though if a little mindless but not great for me. Little on story and big on spectacle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Marvel movie of them all (pre-GotG)., Aug. 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love this movie. The best of all the Marvel movies (aside from Guardians of the Galaxy), this one has literally everything you are looking for. It is packed with action, it has tons of lighter moments to break up the tension and the overall experience is one you will not soon forget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone SHOULD know..., June 8 2012
By 
Chris Whiteley "Music Lover" (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Come one guys down-rating a movie because of the price, that you should all know is going to be much lower come release, is really immature. The movie is great, the price is right now around $32 so maybe you should have all just waited before giving a 1 just cos of price....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marvel's The Avengers (Bilingual)
Marvel's The Avengers (Bilingual) by Joss Whedon (DVD - 2012)
CDN$ 35.99 CDN$ 17.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews