countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more scflyout All-New Kindle Home Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
48
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 21, 2016
A classic piece. Timely. Able to be read every year, it is so well written. One novel I have in my library that I go back to read on some cold winter days, when I am feeling like a "pick me up" is in order. Jane Austen novels are sure to throw you into life in the late 1700's. Definitely a classic read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2015
I had tried to read this numerous times as a kid, teen, early twenties, and the language always got to me. This si the first time I've made it all the way through, and it is a fascinating insight into some of the conventions of the Regency era. I've read various fanfiction in various fandoms set in the Regency era, so this was a bit of a "where a lot of that came from" revelation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2016
Not as good as I thought it would be. Almost put it down when she becomes a wimp and doesn't say what she is really thinking, Then I remembered the times and thought maybe she can't because that is not proper. I could never have lived in that time I'm far too outspoken!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2013
I first wanted to read this book because I watched the mini-series and missed on of the episodes. I had to find out what happened. Since buying the book I have read it over 15 times over the course of about 10 or more years. Every time I read it there is some detail I didn't notice before and it made me appreciate the mini-series even more. However, it made me think the more recent movie was totally inadequate and a joke.

If you like the romance of older times and gentlemen and ladies, it's a good book for you!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2014
As a schoolboy, I hated Austen. Recently, I found that her thing was satire. My teacher certainly never told me that. As satire its brilliant, as was LADY SUSAN, and, I suspect, all the rest I'm going to reread soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2015
I am a big fan of Jane Austen, and this book is definetly the most famous one of her collection. I have read it when I graduated form high school. And three years later, I still want to read it again. Besides, I slso want to read the other five novels of hers. She is a great author with enigmatic life experience and somestimes I just feel that I can see her own stories in her plots. Expecially when the settings and conversations are so reall!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2015
This was my first book download for my new tablet. I had not purchased my tablet for this capability, but it seems that may end up as one of it's purposes. Have already loaded to other books which I found free online.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2015
Well written, though a quiet nook with a blanket is recommended before attempting the antiquated language... I love the romance and eloquence with which Ms. Austen delivers her story, but I did have to read some sections a few times over due to interruptions. Highly recommend to readers seeking a witty, inspired and feel-good romance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2013
Wether you enjoy historical romance or not, this book is a classic of the 19th century England. Jane Austen is an excellent author, splendid epoch vocabulary. Plenty of funny and dramatic situations,it is a fabulous portrait of that century .
Every member of the Bennet family has a particular character and the details of each personality gives this novel a richness than is incomparable to any modern novel.
Anyone who pretends to be or become an experienced reader simply must read this book once in his or her life. I personally read this book and every Austen novel every five years or so.
If you are a romantic at heart, you will too. I strongly recommend you read the book before you see the movies that were made in the last few years.
Totally recommended for teenagers.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2014
The characters made me imagine a wonderful story and how first impressions are not always the right one. Always trust your heart.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse