Customer Reviews


132 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I volunteer as tribute!"
Every year, twenty-four teenage "tributes" are brought to the Capitol of Panem, and sent out into the arena to kill each other on live TV. Only one will survive.

This chilling premise is at the center of "The Hunter Games," a brilliant, powerful movie adapted from the first book of Suzanne Collins' bestselling trilogy. It's a slow-burning thriller twined with...
Published on April 4 2012 by E. A Solinas

versus
24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, but digital copy does not work in Canada
Just a warning to others about this particular edition. The digital copy does not work in Canada. It is US-only. I now have a disappointed kid. I bought this edition specifically to get the digital copy for her laptop. When I entered the code I got an error message that the code could be used only in the US. The other problem with this being a US version is that the audio...
Published 14 months ago by Matthew West


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, but digital copy does not work in Canada, Oct. 23 2013
By 
Matthew West "progjam" (Atlantic Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Just a warning to others about this particular edition. The digital copy does not work in Canada. It is US-only. I now have a disappointed kid. I bought this edition specifically to get the digital copy for her laptop. When I entered the code I got an error message that the code could be used only in the US. The other problem with this being a US version is that the audio tracks are English and Spanish, not English and French, so the description of the product is wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is the US version of the DVD, not the Canadian., Nov. 15 2013
This is the US version of the DVD, not the Canadian.

The Digital Download only works on a US iTunes account or a US Ultraviolet account. The code may also not be valid after August 18, 2013.

The second language is also not French, but Spanish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I volunteer as tribute!", April 4 2012
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Every year, twenty-four teenage "tributes" are brought to the Capitol of Panem, and sent out into the arena to kill each other on live TV. Only one will survive.

This chilling premise is at the center of "The Hunter Games," a brilliant, powerful movie adapted from the first book of Suzanne Collins' bestselling trilogy. It's a slow-burning thriller twined with some barbed satire (reality TV!) and an oppressive government -- but at heart, it's an uplifting story about a young woman fighting to be free.

Katniss Everdeen (Jennifer Lawrence) lives in the impoverished District 12, hunting food to provide for her mother and her beloved little sister Prim (Willow Shields). But on the day of the reaping, Prim is selected. And Katniss does something no one else has done -- she volunteers to go instead. Along with the male tribute, Peeta Mellark (Josh Hutcherson), she is swept away to the Capitol.

Once there, the tributes are pampered, tutored, styled and turned into celebrities -- until they're released into the arena, and start killing each other to survive. Katniss must evade murderous gangs, traps, and genetically engineered beasts.

But because Peeta publicly declared his love for Katniss, the audience has taken a shine to the impoverished young "lovers" and are rooting for them to triumph. But if both Katniss and Peeta are to survive, they must learn how to play the game that the gamemakers and polticians are playing -- and use the Hunger Games against them.

I'm not sure why so many people compare "The Hunger Games" to the Twilight movies, because it literally has everything that "Twilight" does not. It has plenty of action, adventure, a subtle romance, and some barbed social commentary -- and it has a raw, passionate quality that easily matches its strong-willed heroine.

The movie also shows us what a rotten place Panem is, whether it's the sleek, colorful superficiality of the Capitol or the faded squalor of District 12. But "Hunger Games" is at its best when it's in the forests of the arena -- there's a primal, wild quality to Katniss' adventures there, tempered with tenderer moments (such as when she cares for the gravely wounded Peeta).

The romance with Peeta is also refreshingly uncliched, leaving the audience unsure of how much of their love was for the audience's benefit (although we glimpse some flickers of real love between them). The biggest problems are that a lot of the violence seems rather toned down, and the shakycam becomes rather annoying at times.

But Jennifer Lawrence does an excellent job bringing Katniss to life, imbuing her with strength, fear, brains and a fiery temper -- exactly what the "girl on fire" needs to have. Josh Hutcherson is equally good as Peeta, and there are a string of great performances by Woody Harrelson, Stanley Tucci, Lenny Kravitz, Elizabeth Banks and Amandla Stenberg. There's a lot of passion in even the minor actors' performances.

"The Hunger Games" successfully mingles dystopian sci-fi, romance and a tale of rebellion, giving us a brilliantly raw, passionate movie. A must-see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, slightly overrated., Dec 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Hunger Games (Bilingual) [Blu-ray + Digital Copy] (Blu-ray)
Note that this is not a review of the shipping speed or the quality of the movie (which are both great):
It's an okay movie, the makers of this movie didn't have too big a budget, and it really shows sometimes, but they took a chance on a story from a book, and it's pretty good. There is some annoying tropes in this movie, like love triangles (this is just slightly annoying because of my hatred for the Twilight series). Pretty basic DVD setup with some special features. It's a good movie that's a tad-overrated. Only recommend you getting this if you were planning on getting the next movie, which is just so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Hunger Games (Bilingual) [Blu-ray + Digital Copy] (Blu-ray)
Good item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, great quality, June 29 2014
By 
Lindsey - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Hunger Games (Bilingual) [Blu-ray + Digital Copy] (Blu-ray)
Great movie, great quality.
This is one of my favorite movies so I had to buy it on blu-ray.. and the price made it even better. Shipping was very fast, it actually arrived sooner than it was supposed to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My mind went in pre-blown, June 4 2014
This review is from: The Hunger Games (Bilingual) [Blu-ray + Digital Copy] (Blu-ray)
I may have liked the movie a lot better if I had not heard all the hype and praise towards it. I liked Jennifer Lawrence's performance in the movie. The parts where her character was hurt, I could almost feel the pain through the screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hyped up, May 24 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I felt this was an okay movie but I expected more considering the hype surrounding it. I am curious to the next sequel but will not purchase it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, May 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Hunger Games (Bilingual) [Blu-ray + Digital Copy] (Blu-ray)
This is exactly what I command. Great movie with great features! Can't wait fort the third chapter next november! Great price also!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great movie, April 29 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought both Hunger Games movies at the same time. waiting for the next two movies in this series to be available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hunger Games (Bilingual) [Blu-ray + Digital Copy]
CDN$ 31.99 CDN$ 11.99
Usually ships in 1 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews