Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ancient Rome in a Modern Technological Setting
The Hunger Games is a very good movie. Exceptional production, directing, and acting along with great writing. This is an easy film to view.

The Hunger Games is a modern version of the gladiator arena of ancient Rome, whereas in this case the participants are mostly unwilling and our put forward as a "tribute" to the capital, almost like a ritual sacrifice, by...
Published 4 months ago by Moodywoody

versus
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, but digital copy does not work in Canada
Just a warning to others about this particular edition. The digital copy does not work in Canada. It is US-only. I now have a disappointed kid. I bought this edition specifically to get the digital copy for her laptop. When I entered the code I got an error message that the code could be used only in the US. The other problem with this being a US version is that the audio...
Published 9 months ago by Matthew West


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, but digital copy does not work in Canada, Oct. 23 2013
By 
Matthew West "progjam" (Atlantic Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Hunger Games [DVD + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (DVD)
Just a warning to others about this particular edition. The digital copy does not work in Canada. It is US-only. I now have a disappointed kid. I bought this edition specifically to get the digital copy for her laptop. When I entered the code I got an error message that the code could be used only in the US. The other problem with this being a US version is that the audio tracks are English and Spanish, not English and French, so the description of the product is wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is the US version of the DVD, not the Canadian., Nov. 15 2013
This review is from: The Hunger Games [DVD + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (DVD)
This is the US version of the DVD, not the Canadian.

The Digital Download only works on a US iTunes account or a US Ultraviolet account. The code may also not be valid after August 18, 2013.

The second language is also not French, but Spanish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ancient Rome in a Modern Technological Setting, March 23 2014
By 
Moodywoody (Ottawa, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Hunger Games [DVD + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (DVD)
The Hunger Games is a very good movie. Exceptional production, directing, and acting along with great writing. This is an easy film to view.

The Hunger Games is a modern version of the gladiator arena of ancient Rome, whereas in this case the participants are mostly unwilling and our put forward as a "tribute" to the capital, almost like a ritual sacrifice, by the twelve districts that provide the capital with its wealth and labour. But unlike other films of centre on violence, this film is somewhat different in that the violence really serves as a background to the complex character development and emotional story lines of the characters in the film.

Jennifer Lawrence is terrific in this film. Her performance is actually quite powerful, and consequently unforgettable.

Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Tame Caricuture of the Future, March 5 2013
By 
Ian Gordon Malcomson (Victoria, BC) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hunger Games [DVD + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (DVD)
I watched this movie over the week-end when I had little else to do. While only mildly entertaining as far as dramatic action goes, this film's portrayal of a future age was hardly convincing. On the one hand, it is not hard to make a film these days that appeals to a mass audience that shows how young people can actually survive in an overly competitive world corrupted by adult values based on the lure of a reality-TV culture. All one has to do is to blend features of modern culture gone bad with a new take on the apocalyptic and you have a flick that might just fire the viewer's imagination as to how they might have to live in a future world if they hope to survive. However, this film's focus on an emerging society, driven by its need to institutionalize competition in the form of annual gladiatorial games in order to preserve and entertain itself, is more a throw-back to medieval times than a look forward to a bone-chilling 'brave new world'. It just doesn't do enough to stir my sense of real danger and evil. Yes, I get what this film, based on a very popular book series, is trying to tell young people but that doesn't make it a great piece of cinematic construction. First, we have an America that is divided into prefectures or territories that have hand-appointed representatives to fight for them in a contest to the death. Factored into this setting is a national ritual based on a version of the Reality TV game show, "Who Wants to be a Millionaire?". Each of the participants will pair up to engage mortal combat that consists mainly of their ability to use a bow and arrow and their own natural survival instincts. Second, the sense of hunger in these games has nothing to do with food and everything to do with winning, not by chance or manipulation, but by self-initiative and honor. These are values that reflect, in the mind of the filmmaker, the true mind and heart of a champion. This message, while part of a growing survivalist trend, hardly squares with our modern world. While we want to be true to ourselves and the ones we love by acting on the courage of our convictions when the chips are down, we will invariably be controlled by the culture of the day that demands that we play the game according to rules set by our masters. If you want to watch a film that really captures the challenges of living and surviving in a new world, try "Battle Royale".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An intriguing story goes slightly awry!, Nov. 6 2012
By 
Robert Badgley (St Thomas,Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hunger Games (DVD)
The Hunger Games(released Mar/12)stars Jennifer Lawrence as Katniss Everdeen,Josh Hutcherson as Peeta Mellark,Liam Hemsworth as Gale Hawthorne,Woody Harrelson as Haymitch Abernathy,the mentor,Stanley Tucci as Caesar Flickerman,the show host,Donald Sutherland as President Coriolanus Snow and many others.It is a solid cast in an overly long movie that the film makers successfully pull you into at the beginning,but bog down in unnecessary detail during the actual games.
The story finds the country divided into districts,12 of them to be exact.After a bloody uprising over 75 years before,society has rebuilt a dystopian world for itself.Each district annually must bring forth two volunteers who compete in a life or death scenario;in an age group of 12-18 years.This is in payment/tribute for past sins while ensuring obedience for the future.The games are held in the capitol city and the farther away people travel to the games,the more impoverished their district is.Our protagonist is Katniss who comes from district 12.She lives a hand to mouth existence and when the call comes for people to register for the games,the scene is something out of a concentration camp.
This year Katniss's younger sister is picked but Katniss volunteers to take her place;a gutsy move.Katniss and another local lad are whisked into the capitol city aboard an opulently styled train,filled with food and other delights,none have ever seen before.This is two weeks before the actual games.During that time the two are assigned a mentor,appear on local TV and the more favour they garner,the more sponsors they can pick up.The sponsors can actually help them during the games.It is a whirlwind two weeks,much of it media geared,but at the end the games DO inevitably begin.
24 teens are thrust together in a forested area,with a cache of weapons and supplies within reach,but when the alarm sounds to begin Katniss rushes away from the cache to higher ground;advice she follows from her mentor.The cache soon becomes a killing ground and only half the number remain.Katniss is pursued relentlessly by a group,one of which is her friend from her district.When she is chased up a tree her pursuers wait her out.She spots a nest of tracker-jackers,genetically engineered wasps.She drops it on them and while one out of the group perishes,she is also stung.She comes down but is delirious.Her friend from her district tells her to run but she only goes so far before she collapses.A young girl from a different district helps her.They become fast friends and work together,until the girls untimely demise.Katniss eventually finds her friend from her district in a bad way and nurses him back to health.However the two have become close and the media plays it up as two star crossed lovers and even change the rules to allow two victors from the same district instead of one.
The games continue until finally the two friends and one of the favoured males from the first district come together on top of a weapons cache.Not only do they struggle against each other but there are four big and vicious cat-like creatures below waiting to feed.The district one male goes over and the two remain.Suddenly the rules are changed once more to allow only one victor.They agree to eat poison berries together,but before they do so,the rules are changed back.They have to have someone as a victor,and their deaths would have denied that;they must not let the public down.
The film ends as Katniss and her fellow district 12 friend,return home once more to a rousing reception.
The film,in the beginning,takes its time to show you the world you are about to enter and once it grabs you it keeps you;for a time.The absolute decadence of the capitol city compared to the desolate countryside and deprivation there is stark,to say the least.When the actual games begin,that is where this film bogs down.Too much detail and an overly long scenario takes place there.Judicious editing should have been the word of the day here.We also expect our heroine to be more assertive and powerful during the games,than she is.We soon come to realize that she is just as ordinary as anyone else,strong personality aside.And of course this is going against formula and that is perfectly alright,and I get that.However more than once she is saved from certain death by the most formulaic of circumstances;for example,she is about to be killed by another district female and she is in turn killed by the partner of the little girl she befriended who comes out of nowhere,as an altruistic gesture of thanks,or we have the actual killing of the little girl,as a sword flies through the air and should have hit Katniss,but hits the girl instead(bait and switch).That,of course,is bound to give our heroine the extra strength she needs to carry on;as formulaic as it comes.Despite these criticisms,the cast is strong and the plot,despite its obvious weak points,is still an interesting one overall.
Technically speaking the film is in its w/s a/r of 2:40:1 and is clear and crisp.There are no extras on the one disc DVD which I am reviewing here.
All in all an intriguing look at a future complete with death games,worked into its dystopian dynamic.The film moves along fine until too much attention to detail bogs the film down in what should be its most exciting moments.Unfortunate.3 1/2-4 stars.It could/should have been better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I volunteer as tribute!", April 4 2012
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
Every year, twenty-four teenage "tributes" are brought to the Capitol of Panem, and sent out into the arena to kill each other on live TV. Only one will survive.

This chilling premise is at the center of "The Hunter Games," a brilliant, powerful movie adapted from the first book of Suzanne Collins' bestselling trilogy. It's a slow-burning thriller twined with some barbed satire (reality TV!) and an oppressive government -- but at heart, it's an uplifting story about a young woman fighting to be free.

Katniss Everdeen (Jennifer Lawrence) lives in the impoverished District 12, hunting food to provide for her mother and her beloved little sister Prim (Willow Shields). But on the day of the reaping, Prim is selected. And Katniss does something no one else has done -- she volunteers to go instead. Along with the male tribute, Peeta Mellark (Josh Hutcherson), she is swept away to the Capitol.

Once there, the tributes are pampered, tutored, styled and turned into celebrities -- until they're released into the arena, and start killing each other to survive. Katniss must evade murderous gangs, traps, and genetically engineered beasts.

But because Peeta publicly declared his love for Katniss, the audience has taken a shine to the impoverished young "lovers" and are rooting for them to triumph. But if both Katniss and Peeta are to survive, they must learn how to play the game that the gamemakers and polticians are playing -- and use the Hunger Games against them.

I'm not sure why so many people compare "The Hunger Games" to the Twilight movies, because it literally has everything that "Twilight" does not. It has plenty of action, adventure, a subtle romance, and some barbed social commentary -- and it has a raw, passionate quality that easily matches its strong-willed heroine.

The movie also shows us what a rotten place Panem is, whether it's the sleek, colorful superficiality of the Capitol or the faded squalor of District 12. But "Hunger Games" is at its best when it's in the forests of the arena -- there's a primal, wild quality to Katniss' adventures there, tempered with tenderer moments (such as when she cares for the gravely wounded Peeta).

The romance with Peeta is also refreshingly uncliched, leaving the audience unsure of how much of their love was for the audience's benefit (although we glimpse some flickers of real love between them). The biggest problems are that a lot of the violence seems rather toned down, and the shakycam becomes rather annoying at times.

But Jennifer Lawrence does an excellent job bringing Katniss to life, imbuing her with strength, fear, brains and a fiery temper -- exactly what the "girl on fire" needs to have. Josh Hutcherson is equally good as Peeta, and there are a string of great performances by Woody Harrelson, Stanley Tucci, Lenny Kravitz, Elizabeth Banks and Amandla Stenberg. There's a lot of passion in even the minor actors' performances.

"The Hunger Games" successfully mingles dystopian sci-fi, romance and a tale of rebellion, giving us a brilliantly raw, passionate movie. A must-see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not as great as the original movie but sequels seldomly are, July 11 2014
Not as great as the original movie but sequels seldomly are! Still enjoyed it and it is a great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 3 2014
By 
Gabriel Daniel (Montreal, Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hunger Games [DVD + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (DVD)
Très bon service et produit.
Merci,
Gabriel Daniel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, great quality, June 29 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great movie, great quality.
This is one of my favorite movies so I had to buy it on blu-ray.. and the price made it even better. Shipping was very fast, it actually arrived sooner than it was supposed to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hunger Games [DVD + Digital Copy] (Bilingual)
CDN$ 27.99 CDN$ 8.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews