Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Battleship (blu ray)…a box-office disaster, but a winner on blu ray, with top-notched audio/video transfer and lots of action!
VIDEO:

Battleship arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 2.40:1 encode. Tobias A. Schliessler's photography is simply stunning, crisp and immaculate, with one gorgeous panoramic shot of Hawaii after another while the overall picture maintains brilliantly vivid and comfortably bright. Black levels are inky rich and penetrating with top-notch delineation of...
Published on Aug. 29 2012 by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars McHale's Navy vs Aliens
This movie is not bad to me, even this movie makes me think of McHale's Navy. It is a fairly good war movie to me. I find this movie as enjoyable as McHale's Navy. That is why I gave this movie three stars.
Published on Oct. 17 2012 by Kevin Barton


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Battleship (blu ray)…a box-office disaster, but a winner on blu ray, with top-notched audio/video transfer and lots of action!, Aug. 29 2012
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Battleship (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
VIDEO:

Battleship arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 2.40:1 encode. Tobias A. Schliessler's photography is simply stunning, crisp and immaculate, with one gorgeous panoramic shot of Hawaii after another while the overall picture maintains brilliantly vivid and comfortably bright. Black levels are inky rich and penetrating with top-notch delineation of background information within the shadows. The entire video has a nice three-dimensional feel to it and comes with an attractive cinematic appeal. There are tremendous sharp fine details. The faces of the cast are probably the most shocking, exposing every pore, wrinkle, and superficial blemish. Stitching and threading in the various uniforms are plainly visible as is every distinct line, bolt and piece of equipment aboard the destroyers at the beginning and the battleship at the end. The creatures' spacesuits also display terrific definition of scars and minor imperfections. If you have anamorphic lens, you will truly appreciate the grandeur of the video, filling up completely on my 12 foot wide screen. This high definition transfer is simply flawless. (5/5)

AUDIO:

This DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 lossless track is incredibly loud, especially when the battle commences and things start exploding. The surrounds consistently come alive with extraordinary accuracy and directionality, filling the room with the sounds of objects flying everywhere. Missiles and shells from naval guns fly overhead to their target while the alien peg-like bombs whiz by side speakers and land in the back. Amid the boisterous mayhem, vocals and conversations remain crystal clear and precise so that we can hear every ridiculous piece of dialogue uttered by the entire cast. The soundstage is expansive with excellent fidelity and warmth. Dynamics and acoustics are fantastic. This is a fantastic soundtrack. (5/5)

STORYLINE:

Filmmaker Peter Berg (Hancock) helms this sci-fi-action epic, which takes its inspiration from the classic Hasbro board game of the same name. In the film, a hostile alien presence invades Earth, and only a military battleship under the command of a shiftless Naval lieutenant (Taylor Kitsch) stands between the creatures and total global domination.
(movie: 3/5)

TRIVIA:

Battleship has an estimated budget of $209 million, and its worldwide gross was only $302 million. This was considered a major flop in the box office. Battleship and John Carter were the two major box-office disasters in 2012. Coincidentally, Taylor Kitsch starred in both movies.

This is singer Rihanna’s acting debut.

The movie is based on the Milton Bradley game "Battleship" that has been manufactured since 1931. The original paper and pencil version of the game predates World War I.

When the USS John Paul Jones (DDG 53) was shown for the first time they were clearly showing DDG 65.

The crew of John Paul Jones is shown being able to ready the USS Missouri for combat within the space of an hour or two despite the vessel's status as a museum, albeit with the help of retired battleship veterans. The process or reactivating and modernizing the Iowa-class battleships in the early 80's took two years.

The boilers on the Missouri are shown being able to generate steam pressure instantaneously, so that the ship could be moved free of its moorings. In reality, the boilers of an Iowa-class battleship require between 9 and 14 hours to generate enough steam pressure to move the ship.

When the alien ship fires an ultrasonic attack, all the glass windows on the destroyer break. Once the ultrasonic sound stops, we can see that the team on the destroyer stand up and some of them use binoculars. The glass on these binoculars should also have been broken since it was directly exposed to the alien ship's ultrasonic sound.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

It is really too bad that both John Carter and Battleship were box-office disasters. I enjoyed both movies on blu ray in my home theatre. In the case of Battleship, both video and audio are top-notched and flawless, definitely demo-worthy. Further, the price has recently dropped down to $24.99, then $22.99! The price is certainly right. This disc is highly recommended.

I hope the above review is helpful to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars CHICKEN BURRITO?, Feb. 23 2014
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
After seeing "Battleship," the first thing I did was check IMDB to see if Michael Bay had directed, produced or written this lump of steaming, festering tripe.

No, apparently Bay has fanboys who aspire to make the same kind of movies -- monstrous, overblown explosionfests that borderline fetishize the American military. Peter Berg isn't QUITE as bad as Bay, but that's like saying that a punch to the gut is less painful than a kick in the crotch. It may not be the worst, but you might still get serious damage.

Our story follows slacker Alex Hopper (Taylor Kitsch), who robs a convenience store and gets tased by the police. Why? Because Sam Shane (Brooklyn Decker), daughter of Navy Admiral Shane (Liam Neeson), wanted a chicken burrito, and he was trying to impress the bimbo. Sadly, it works.

His brother Stone (Alexander Skarsgård) forces him to go into the Navy to get his life together, where Alex continues screwing up. In fact, he screws up so badly after a soccer game against the Japanese navy that Admiral Shane plans to kick him out. But for some reason, they allow him to command a ship in the RIMPAC, presumably so he can continue to embarrass the United States in front of the whole world.

But the RIMPAC is interrupted when a group of alien ships arrive on Earth -- and suddenly Hawaii is sealed off by a giant forcefield, with only a few ships on the inside. And after his brother's ship is destroyed, Alex suddenly finds himself in command -- and must find a way to destroy the alien ships before a full-scale invasion can attack Earth.

First, some faint praise. "Battleship" is not QUITE a bad as a Michael Bay movie, mainly because it doesn't have the blatant sexism and racism. And while Bay practically fetishizes the American military, director Peter Berg seems to have genuine admiration for our soldiers -- consider a moving subplot about a double-amputee soldier who fights the aliens despite his disability. Or the elderly veterans who appear to help destroy the alien ships.

However...

Everything else is Michael Bay fanfiction. Unfunny comic relief, idiotic dialogue ("He said we ain't alone. He said one day, either we'd find them, or they'd find us"), and prolonged scenes that are nothing but explosion after explosion after explosion. And in case you're wondering, the titular Battleship does not even appear until almost two hours into the movie.

It also has the most pathetic aliens in film history. They look pretty cool when they have their helmets on, but underneath they're grunting goat/ape hybrids, and they invaded a planet that they cannot tolerate. Oh, and their spaceships are so fragile that they fragment when they hit a stationary satellite, and they have easily-shattered GLASS for windows.

And for some reason, Berg seems to believe that the Japanese and Americans working together is somehow surprising... even though the countries have been allies for decades. But hey, it briefly allows a COMPETENT commander to take over the American warship.

When elderly, real-life Navy veterans are able to out-act a cast of actual actors... you're in trouble. Taylor Kitsch's Alex is possibly the least likable "hero" I have ever seen in a movie -- he's a hotheaded, selfish child-man who values his own revenge over the life of his crew. The only reason he ever succeeds at ANYTHING is because other people implement his ideas.

Pop singer Rihanna has the acting talents of a log, and Liam Neeson's contemptuous (and brief) performance practically screams, "I'm just doing this for the money, so please leave me alone." Actually, there is only one likable character in this whole mess: Tadanobu Asano as a Japanese naval captain who is competent, cool and smart. When he briefly replaces Kitsch as captain, nobody utters a peep of protest.

"Battleship" should have replaced the last letter with a T. Despite the respect it shows America's veterans, it's a Michael-Bay-style eruption of pure ineptitude -- so ignore this mess unless you have a lot of booze and friends who like to riff bad movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars McHale's Navy vs Aliens, Oct. 17 2012
By 
Kevin Barton (Whitby, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Battleship (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
This movie is not bad to me, even this movie makes me think of McHale's Navy. It is a fairly good war movie to me. I find this movie as enjoyable as McHale's Navy. That is why I gave this movie three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Battleship, Oct. 17 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It is a good movie, but a little farfetched in some scenes being an ex sailor.The sher magnitude of the film was great with lots of action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Save your hard earned cash, Aug. 30 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Battleship (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
One star is too many for this drivel. It just shows that special effects do not a movie make.
Plot-stupid. Acting-awful. Dialogue-juvenile. Shame on you Taylor Kitsch for chasing the cash instead of the script. I've seen some bad films in my time but this ranks near the top.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Battleships is a great movies with lots of special effects and actors need ..., July 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Battleships is a great movies with lots of special effects and actors need to worked to destroys that aliens troup from another planet and anything like that can happen in our time and we need to be restist about those alien ok that a movies but could be real in hour times...some alien are pacific but other are real nasty and had in thier mind killing are there Priority to kill not to onderstood earth humans...tThank's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 3 2014
By 
Gabriel Daniel (Montreal, Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Battleship (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Très bon service et produit.
Merci,
Gabriel Daniel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Popup, May 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Battleship (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Good action movie but those director popups are a pain. I just want to watch the movie don't really care about the behind the scenes stuff.. Doesn't seem to have an option to turn this "feature" off... Not saying that there isn't one but I have not found it...
Seems to be integral to the movie. So while your watching the popups you're missing a part of the movie.
Might just ditch the BluRay and keep the DVD...

Movie arrived on time as stated..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars In the Name of Iran, May 2 2014
By 
Peyman ADLDOUSTI (Persian Gulf) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I really did not like this movie. I thought it would be exciting movie, but it was not. Actors and actress were playing were cheesy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling Adventure at Sea & on Land as U.S. Navy with Some Help from Other Armed Forces Fights Valiantly Against Alien Invasion, April 11 2014
By 
Jerry (Celil) Parker (Abitibi region of Québec) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Battleship (DVD)
I love movies, if they are at all well done, that are about the Navy. That is true whether the ships and fleets in question are Canadian, U.S., British, Australian, German, Japanese, or whatever, whether of the two World Wars or afterwards. Although I have spent more of my life in the Dominion of Canada, where I was naturalised a citizen, and I identify more readily as a Quebecker and Canadian than as an American, especially as the U. S. of A. has been sinking ever further into bankster/crony neo-mercantilism, other economic and political corruption, oppressive surveillance, and national insolvency. However, I had spent childhood, youth, and early adulthood in the U.S., including military service (during the Kennedy years) in the U.S. Navy, and it always is impressive in some detached, objective way (however perversely) to see a naval war machine act so efficiently and effectively as it does in this film, even that only amounts to mere fiction convincingly enacted on the screen.

Just as I was beginning to think of this motion picture as merely another pleasant Navy movie, and one that can be just a bit annoyingly hokey in spots, ON CAME THE U.S.S. MISSOURI, that actual ship herself, which had been trotted out to make this film on her, along with those old veteran sailors who come out to help the youngster Navy men to handle the superb old ship as marshalled together to do battle with aliens to save Planet Earth. Suddenly my emotional sense of involvement with this film surged mightily and I admit that I really got choked up about the setting and the doings. Some of the old sailors of W.W. II and more of them from the Korean War, still would have been on active duty when I was a Navy lad myself so many years ago. I had some of the same feeling that I experienced on seeing "Under Siege", of which I also have the DVD, and that also partly had been filmed on the U.S.S. Missouri. My naval service was on a destroyer built during World War II, so it was a wonderful feeling to see the older warship after seeing so many modern smaller ships of like displacement tonnage to the one on which I served. Destroyers now, in the early 21st century, look very different than they did back in the early 1960s, especially than the ships which continued in use after W.W. II was over, such as the Gearing Class destroyer escorts (some acting as destroyers, as "my" ship did thus intermittently), the type with which I was so familiar.

The U.S. Missouri continued in service for many years longer than most W.W. II vintage ships and therefore continued to undergo overhauls and refitting at the naval yards to keep it up to date with modern technology. For all of that, however, the Missouri still has the basic look of a ship of the earlier era, so the shock of recognition, although not complete, was pleasant to experience on seeing U.S.S. Missouri in this film. In the Navy, it always was awesome to go from a destroyer to a larger ship in the course of work, e.g., to a cruiser (beautiful ships equal in their own ways to the grandeur of a battleship, though not so large as one of them) or to a repair ship, supply ship, or oiler, since the sheer scale on which such large ships were designed and constructed dwarfs something like a destroyer.

Fans of naval ships get both worlds in this movie, the ultra-modern destroyers of today and the vintage wonder that is (and remains) the U.S.S. Missouri. What a delight! It's worth it, believe me, to see the film if only for that! "Battleship" is full of action and the special effects are exciting. Those who like sci-fi and/or action films will find much to savour in this movie. I wish that the script's dialogue had been better at points than it is, to avoid some corniness and gauche chauvinism (referring to the nationalist, not to the gender-related kind, since women have an important part in the movie). Just avoid being nit-picky about that kind of thing, pull out the snacks, and enjoy one really entertaining motion picture, as this one surely is, reasonably well acted, and more authentic than a lot of Navy and other seafaring films that I have seen over the years! Even viewers not so "invested" in Naval lore, as guys like myself unsurprisingly are, should find much to savour in this thrilling cinematic work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Battleship (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 30.99 CDN$ 9.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews