Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Cyber Monday Deals Week in Home & Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Home, Kitchen and Garden Gift Guide

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars31
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
TOP 100 REVIEWERon February 24, 2013
All told, this is an excellent movie. It is definitely a dramatic and very intense version of Snow White. Definitely not for children.

The acting was intense, as the entire movie is a dark tale. Brad Pitt and Charlize Theron do an exceptional job acting out their roles. The non-romanticized version, showing all the mud, muck and dirt of the times a few centuries back - was well done.

The only real issue with the movie (reason it was not a 5 star), was the scene where Snow White leads a battalion to overtake the castle. An ill-thought out plan, that ultimately overtakes a well fortified castle - seemed extra-ordinarily naive and wishful. This type of wide-eyed optimism just did not seem in place or suitable in this dramatic recount of Snow White.

Otherwise, very enjoyable as a mature, dark version of an old favourite tale. Definitely worthy of a Friday night timeslot!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on November 22, 2014
The kind of movie I like. It didn't get 5 stars because of the end, where the hero, Snow White, becomes the leader of the army, leading the soldiers to the final fight, while she has been kept in a tower for the past years. How is she supposed to know how to fight ??? Too big for me. The rest of the movie is fascinating, well done, realistic, well played, well produced, etc. Just the last ten minutes leave to be desired. It kept me very interested, captivated until this point. On my 110 inch screen, pictures from my BenQ 1070 1080p projector are outstanding. Watching from 10 feet is awsome, no screendoor effect, I didn't even adjust the colors according to recommendations on revew sites yet, and it is blasting nice. I definitely recommend both the movie and the projector, much cheaper than a plasma or LED TV. As usual, Amazon is the best place to buy movies.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
on July 3, 2012
I was nervous going into this retelling of Snow White given the spilt reviews. After seeing it for myself I can say it's a worthy retelling of the legendary tale. Kristen Stewart, in my opinion, was a great Snow White. I feel like Kristen will be forever tainted as a terrible actress by viewers because of her role in the Twilight Saga which is very unfortunate. I believe she will win an Oscar sometime in her life. Charlize Theron was an even better Evil Queen. But like many other people have noted, her performance is a little over dramatic at times and I couldn't help but giggle (yes, giggle) at her extremeness. Chris Hemsworth did great in his role as the Huntsman and I didn't see any resemblance to Thor in his performance. The film barely dragged in the middle.
On a side note, Mirror Mirror sucked donkey balls.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon November 9, 2013
In past movies we have seen several different off takes form the original Snow White story. Each has its strengths. And as with Shakespeare each generation of contemporary actors have to try their hand at it. We have seen the cartoon version and even vicious witches and giant midget versions. This version displays the advances in CGI and loud noise between the dialogs forcing you to keep your finger on the volume control.

In this story we see Ravenna (Charlize Theron) was deprived as a child. Her mother told her that you can have everything if you just maintain your beauty. She strives to have it all by overcompensating and in the process a few people will have to be dispatched and others suffer their own depravation, oops deprivation.

Ravenna needs to obtain Snow White's heart to maintain that cute smirk. But for some reason Snow White (Kristen Stewart) prefers to keep her own heart right where it is and escapes with it to the black forest. Ravenna sends a forest savvy huntsman (Chris Hemsworth) to bring back Snow White. Confronted with Snow's demise the huntsman becomes her ally in recovering her kingdom from its usurper.

We as viewers have to decide just whose side we are on. Even Snow feels sorry that she cannot share her heart.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2013
I thought i would never of loved hear me now loved this movie but boy was i wrong
what A great Snow White concept and totally different from what i know
growing up.i did'nt even get to see those lily white shoes.why would people
pick on Kristen Stewart the girl has a lot to learn about Hollywood and sex in the
big city.but the movie is so good i forget all of that trash talk.the only thing that
strike me as odd was Charlize Theron acting she seam to be over-Acting and her last
movie was the same [Prometheus] even though she did'nt get much lines in that one.but
she was dam good i have to say even to look At.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful

Snow White and The Huntsmen arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 2.35:1 encode. This magnificent transfer stands as a stunning testament to the most enchanting aspects of the film: director Rupert Sanders' dark fairy tale aesthetic, Greig Fraser's seductive cinematography and Cedric Nicolas-Troyan's visual effects. Colours are gorgeous, dripping with bewitching reds, ornate golds and bronzes, chilling grays and charcoals, and fittingly ominous inky blacks. Details are jaw-dropping. Edges are sharp, perfectly defined and, perhaps most importantly, free of troublesome ringing. Fine textures are revelatory, showcasing every inch and seam of Colleen Atwood's costumes, every smudge of dirt and errant hair on Snow White's head, and every one of the Huntsman's scrapes, scars and bits of stubble. The Extended Cut has 4 more minutes than the Theatrical Cut. (5/5)


This DTS-HD Master Audio 7.1 lossless track equals to the video quality in excellence. Directionality is convincing and precise, pans are smooth as silk, and dynamics are incredibly polished and refined. The soundfield is immersive and enveloping, giving a very realistic presentation of the action in the movie. Dialogue is clear, precise and perfectly balanced. Indeed, this soundtrack is as good as it looks. (5/5)


Snow White and the Huntsmen is the third release in this year’s Snow White-a-rama movie battle. The first one was direct-to-video’s Grimm’s Snow White in March 2012, which I saw on local TV. The second was Mirror Mirror. (reviewed elsewhere). Of the three, this release has won the box office championship, grossing over $309 million. It has an estimated budget of $170 million, which contributes to the great video and audio…money well spent!

The cast is solid and outstanding, led by Kristen Stewart as Snow White, the ever so beautiful Charlize Theron, a standout as the very disturbing Ravenna and the handsome Chris Hemsworth as Eric, the Huntsman. (movie: 4/5)


During filming Kristen Stewart accidentally punched co-star Chris Hemsworth in the face giving him a black eye.

Production of the film was temporarily shut down in October 2011 after Kristen Stewart tore a ligament in her thumb during an attack scene with the dwarves. Stewart also suffered from a foot injury sustained on set.

Kristen Stewart admitted while filming the fight scenes that she had to overcome a fear of horses dating back to a mishap at nine-years-old in which she sustained a fractured elbow.
Lily Collins auditioned for the lead role but lost to Kristen Stewart. She was later cast in the other Snow White movie, Mirror Mirror.

Director Rupert Sanders' insistence on realism in scale meant minimal miniature model work. The huge castle in the enchanted forest, for example, took 6 months to construct. The gigantic trebuchet, consisting of a metal skeleton interior and wooden exterior, weighed 6.5 tonnes. This spending partially contributed to the high budget, but the result was outstanding realism.


After watching Mirror Mirror, I find that Snow White and the Huntsmen is the best of this year’s Snow White releases. In this blu ray release, an extended version is included. Both the video and audio are simply majestic and glorious: the video filling up my entire 12 foot wide screen (using anamorphic lens) while the top notched audio roared from my nine Wilson WATT/Puppy speakers. This was a very gratifying and enjoyable experience. This set is highly recommended.

I hope the above review is helpful to you
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2013
I was glad I bought this at a discounted price as I did not feel it was a great movie. It is an interesting spin on the Snow White and Seven Dwarves story. Snow White and the Huntsman characters did not seem to have much depth. Definitely the evil queen's performance stood out.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2014
watched it once wasn't too into it but I thought I'd give it another try a couple months later and I surprisingly REALLY liked it for some reason, give it a try, you won't regret it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2013
i have seen alot of snow white and the dwarfs lately and this has to be the best so far.
the special effects were great..i want to watch it again thats how good it is
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2014
From the first viewing of this movie I knew I would get a copy.
I waited for a good price.
This is a really good adaptation of the classic fairy tale.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Maleficent [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Bilingual)
Maleficent [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) by Angelina Jolie (Blu-ray - 2014)
CDN$ 19.96