Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Code of Princess is surprisingly fun
While Code of Princess is a niche title, and most people wouldn't give it a second look (I used to be one of those people), the game has exceeded my expectations and is very fun to play, once you get over how the protagonist dresses. It's a side scrolling beat em up game based on the Guardian Heroes series with RPG elements that allow you to level up your characters...
Published 20 months ago by Jasmeet Gill

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Overrated game
I put 3 start because the game run at 30fps & the move are way too much simple. I paid full price for a indie game. Unimpressed by the content & the quality of the product.
Published 1 month ago by Sopheap Deap


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Code of Princess is surprisingly fun, Nov. 10 2012
Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Code of Princess - Nintendo 3DS Standard Edition (Video Game)
While Code of Princess is a niche title, and most people wouldn't give it a second look (I used to be one of those people), the game has exceeded my expectations and is very fun to play, once you get over how the protagonist dresses. It's a side scrolling beat em up game based on the Guardian Heroes series with RPG elements that allow you to level up your characters (every character, including NPCs and enemies can be unlocked to play) and play and replay many stages. Missions aren't very long, so you can play the game in bite sized chunks.

Pros:

-The gameplay is addicting, and you'll want to replay the stages over and over again to level up over 50 characters (the stronger you get, the faster you'll find yourself beating stages)

-The voice acting is top notch, and I believe it features some very well known VAs such as Laura Bailey. The story is also written wonderfully, with a nice mix of mostly comedy and a bit of drama

-The marriage of the two above points leads to an enjoyable storymode as well as tougher bonus missions and free play

-Online is fun when you do match up with an opponent. Usually you will find yourself playing against the highest ranked players

-All copies of the game seem to come with a soundtrack CD and a short art book

Cons:

-There is slowdown when there is a lot of action on the screen. To be honest, it doesn't bug me at all in single player, but it does make online player a bit frustrating

-The online play is usually dead due to this being a niche title (use online forums such as the Atlus forums to get people to go online in order to play multiplayer if you can't find a match up)

-Some people would feel that the 40 dollar price tag doesn't suit the game, but the price will only rise as the game gets harder to find,as Atlus games usually do

In conclusion, if you enjoy beat em ups and liked the trailers, you'll enjoy this game. If you're on the fence, check out gameplay videos,trailers or even just play Guardian Heroes and see if you want a similar game for your 3DS. At this point in time, Code of Princess is the best game of its genre for the 3DS (barring the DS).

I'd recommend getting it sooner, rather than later, or else you might find yourself paying upwards of 60 dollars for the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Code of Princess - Nintendo 3DS Standard Edition (Video Game)
Great side scrolling rpg game. Quite unique and enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Overrated game, June 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Code of Princess - Nintendo 3DS Standard Edition (Video Game)
I put 3 start because the game run at 30fps & the move are way too much simple. I paid full price for a indie game. Unimpressed by the content & the quality of the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonably fun beat 'em up., May 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Code of Princess - Nintendo 3DS Standard Edition (Video Game)
It's a decent little side scrolling beat 'em up, although the amount of content feels a little sparse. If you're not down with revealing fantasy style armor, you should probably steer clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A niche title that completely fails at what it sets out to deliver., Dec 10 2013
By 
Lucas - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Code of Princess - Nintendo 3DS Standard Edition (Video Game)
Code Of Princess is a niche title that combines beat-em-up gameplay with RPG elements (think Double-Dragon but your characters level up and you get to assign skill points in whatever section you want). I'm a pretty big fan of beat'em'ups', but Code Of Princess is a game that really, really sucks. Not just in terms of gameplay, but music and level design all suffer from what I can only describe as laziness.

It's very obvious from the first moment you pick Code Of Princess where the advertising appeal is supposed to be: the scantily clad princess who you can play as throughout the game. The story has some funny moments; but for the most part it's painfully badly written and told through uninteresting text sequences.

The gameplays first big problem is how floaty it is: what, is this game on the moon or something? Solange and her companions move slow - and I mean slow. It feels like there's a huge delay between the press of a button and the characters actually doing something. Combos play no real importance in this game; I found myself easing through it until bosses and enemies until the game decides to twist your arm behind your back and force you to repeat earlier stages to level up so you're strong enough to fight them. Sitting down and running straight through the game with a max level character takes half an hour. It takes a full hour starting at level 1 to beat it, but probably two hours considering the game will force you to grind levels on bosses you will kill in 3-4 seconds flat so you can stand a chance against the slew of enemies in the next mission. (I'm not even kidding.)

The levels are just boring backdrops that repeat over and over until you kill all the enemies you have to. THat's basically it for level design, and there's no real interaction between the character and the world. Infact, the character models look distinctly out of place with the entire backdrop of the game.

Unless this game was dirt cheap, I honestly can't recommend buying it to anyone. It's sad because there aren't many beat'em'up games on the 3DS, and this game could've been something special. Instead it's just an ugly mess when you compare it to games like Ocarina Of Time, Mirror Of Fate, or any other slew of 3Ds games that showcase what the system can do, it's painfully aware that the developers took absolutely no step to make use of the processing power in their hands. Everything in it is dirt ugly. The music is awful and repetitive, (you're going to be hearing a lot of the same two songs.)

The only thing I can praise this game for is it's huge roster of characters. But they should have worked on the actual gameplay before they decided to add a massive roster of characters for an experience that's only worth going through once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, Aug. 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Code of Princess - Nintendo 3DS Standard Edition (Video Game)
I primarily bought this game because of the character designer, who also did art for the Zero Escape series. I'm not an avid player of beat-em-up side-scrollers but I loved this game! The first playthrough took me about 6 hours, but then I started playing with the extra characters and it took a really long time to beat it with all of them, too. Not only that, but you can also play the game as the enemies (and some NPCs) that you fight, even bosses!

The soundtrack is really really good (I have it in my music library and still listen to it sometimes), and the voicework is what you'd expect from a localized Atlus game: pretty good.

It'll take at least 30 hours to unlock all the playable characters, and beat the game with the main 4 party members (this is what I accomplished in 30 hours), but there's still more to do after that; There's a challenge mode, and you can still play through the campaign as the unlocked enemies and NPCs.

There's an online mode but it's dead, so unless you have a friend who also has this game, don't buy it just for the multiplayer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Old school 2d fighter in a fake 3d stage,, July 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Code of Princess - Nintendo 3DS Standard Edition (Video Game)
There is a lot of characters to unluck, the combat can be either too easy or too difficulty. The story looks really simple but the loveable characters helped me enter this simple story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have in your game collection!, Nov. 11 2012
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Code of Princess - Nintendo 3DS Standard Edition (Video Game)
I quite enjoy playing the game & the outfit doesn't hurt either. Great story, it was interesting & funny at times. I hope they make more Code of Princess. How she fights in that outfit & hold the giant sword is beyond me, but it sure nice to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Eh......, Oct. 31 2012
By 
Golok Z Buday (Vancouver, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Code of Princess - Nintendo 3DS Standard Edition (Video Game)
After past games, well, it's not so great. It's a decent time waster. Aside from Zozo, the characters aren't much and I rather like Zozo as a memory back to the Final Fantasy Mime. No use of street pass, it's highly limited and it looks like you pick characters from the start, no you don't. Totally mislead. Given the expectations it should be recalled. The general slash and dash is as I say a good time waster, not worth what it's cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Code of Princess - Nintendo 3DS Standard Edition
CDN$ 29.99 CDN$ 26.33
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews