Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Tools

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars15
3.6 out of 5 stars
Price:$26.36+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on November 10, 2012
While Code of Princess is a niche title, and most people wouldn't give it a second look (I used to be one of those people), the game has exceeded my expectations and is very fun to play, once you get over how the protagonist dresses. It's a side scrolling beat em up game based on the Guardian Heroes series with RPG elements that allow you to level up your characters (every character, including NPCs and enemies can be unlocked to play) and play and replay many stages. Missions aren't very long, so you can play the game in bite sized chunks.


-The gameplay is addicting, and you'll want to replay the stages over and over again to level up over 50 characters (the stronger you get, the faster you'll find yourself beating stages)

-The voice acting is top notch, and I believe it features some very well known VAs such as Laura Bailey. The story is also written wonderfully, with a nice mix of mostly comedy and a bit of drama

-The marriage of the two above points leads to an enjoyable storymode as well as tougher bonus missions and free play

-Online is fun when you do match up with an opponent. Usually you will find yourself playing against the highest ranked players

-All copies of the game seem to come with a soundtrack CD and a short art book


-There is slowdown when there is a lot of action on the screen. To be honest, it doesn't bug me at all in single player, but it does make online player a bit frustrating

-The online play is usually dead due to this being a niche title (use online forums such as the Atlus forums to get people to go online in order to play multiplayer if you can't find a match up)

-Some people would feel that the 40 dollar price tag doesn't suit the game, but the price will only rise as the game gets harder to find,as Atlus games usually do

In conclusion, if you enjoy beat em ups and liked the trailers, you'll enjoy this game. If you're on the fence, check out gameplay videos,trailers or even just play Guardian Heroes and see if you want a similar game for your 3DS. At this point in time, Code of Princess is the best game of its genre for the 3DS (barring the DS).

I'd recommend getting it sooner, rather than later, or else you might find yourself paying upwards of 60 dollars for the game.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2015
I like this game a lot. Its quirky and fun. This game is slightly over priced in my opinion but, you can't find this game anywhere else cheaper, at least not the hard copy. It plays sorta slow but I recommend you watch some YouTube reviews of the gane before you buy so you know what youre getting. Keep in mind that a lot of reviews praise it for coming with a soundtrack. This version doesnt come with a soundtrack, which I didnt realize when I purchased it. Overall great game I might buy my friend a copy so we can play multiplayer!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2015
Pretty good game, although it's quite repetitive. It's all about who you should level up and be the most useful to be able to defeat averyone. I usually used only 2 different characters for the whole game, because the others weren't as useful for the missions
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2014
It's a decent little side scrolling beat 'em up, although the amount of content feels a little sparse. If you're not down with revealing fantasy style armor, you should probably steer clear.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2015
I was surprised by this game. I expected a role playing game with a bad plot but instead I got a beat em up game (with a mediocre plot). Fun game
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2014
Great side scrolling rpg game. Quite unique and enjoyable.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2015
Fast shipping, game not bad, but not great.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on December 10, 2013
Code Of Princess is a niche title that combines beat-em-up gameplay with RPG elements (think Double-Dragon but your characters level up and you get to assign skill points in whatever section you want). I'm a pretty big fan of beat'em'ups', but Code Of Princess is a game that really, really sucks. Not just in terms of gameplay, but music and level design all suffer from what I can only describe as laziness.

It's very obvious from the first moment you pick Code Of Princess where the advertising appeal is supposed to be: the scantily clad princess who you can play as throughout the game. The story has some funny moments; but for the most part it's painfully badly written and told through uninteresting text sequences.

The gameplays first big problem is how floaty it is: what, is this game on the moon or something? Solange and her companions move slow - and I mean slow. It feels like there's a huge delay between the press of a button and the characters actually doing something. Combos play no real importance in this game; I found myself easing through it until bosses and enemies until the game decides to twist your arm behind your back and force you to repeat earlier stages to level up so you're strong enough to fight them. Sitting down and running straight through the game with a max level character takes half an hour. It takes a full hour starting at level 1 to beat it, but probably two hours considering the game will force you to grind levels on bosses you will kill in 3-4 seconds flat so you can stand a chance against the slew of enemies in the next mission. (I'm not even kidding.)

The levels are just boring backdrops that repeat over and over until you kill all the enemies you have to. THat's basically it for level design, and there's no real interaction between the character and the world. Infact, the character models look distinctly out of place with the entire backdrop of the game.

Unless this game was dirt cheap, I honestly can't recommend buying it to anyone. It's sad because there aren't many beat'em'up games on the 3DS, and this game could've been something special. Instead it's just an ugly mess when you compare it to games like Ocarina Of Time, Mirror Of Fate, or any other slew of 3Ds games that showcase what the system can do, it's painfully aware that the developers took absolutely no step to make use of the processing power in their hands. Everything in it is dirt ugly. The music is awful and repetitive, (you're going to be hearing a lot of the same two songs.)

The only thing I can praise this game for is it's huge roster of characters. But they should have worked on the actual gameplay before they decided to add a massive roster of characters for an experience that's only worth going through once.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2015
Received! Great game!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2015
Mediocre game.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question

Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Shin Megami Tensei IV - Nintendo 3DS
Shin Megami Tensei IV - Nintendo 3DS by Atlus Software (Nintendo 3DS)
CDN$ 31.58