Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thatgamecompany's masterpieces
thatgamecompany is an incredible development studio, that looks at game design differently. Sony is a wonderful company for supporting developers and games such as these.

Here's the bonuses that the game includes, aside from the 3 games (flOW, Flower and Journey)

*Thirty-minute behind-the-scenes documentary about the making of Journey...
Published 19 months ago by Elvick

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure what the big deal is about this game
It is very artsy, I'll give it that. But is it a traditional game? No. It is actually kind of boring and was disappointed that I beat it first time I picked up a controller and pressed power. To each his own, this should not be in the same league as other highly rated AAA games.
Published 8 months ago by Mike Vloet


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thatgamecompany's masterpieces, Sept. 25 2012
By 
Elvick (British Columbia, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Journey Collector's Edition (Video Game)
thatgamecompany is an incredible development studio, that looks at game design differently. Sony is a wonderful company for supporting developers and games such as these.

Here's the bonuses that the game includes, aside from the 3 games (flOW, Flower and Journey)

*Thirty-minute behind-the-scenes documentary about the making of Journey
*Creator Commentary playthroughs of all three games
*Three exclusive mini-games from thatgamecompany
*Concept art and screenshot galleries for all three games
*Original soundtracks for all three games
*PS3 dynamic themes and wallpapers
*PSN avatars including eight exclusive new Journey avatars never released before
*Official game trailers and developer diary videos
*Reversible cover art

flOw is great, though their 'worst' game. That's not saying much, because it's still a good game. The tilt controls can get a bit wonky at times though. Once you get used to it though, you're good to go. You basically play as an organism, going through it's evolutionary process. It sounds weird, and it is a bit. You eat other organisms and grow. That's about all there is to it, going through 'layers' (sortof levels) until you unlock a new 'class' of organism to play through it's life.

The art design is incredible, the game has a screenshot feature for a reason.

Flower, my favorite of the 3. You play as a pedal in the wind, gathering more pedals from flowers. You fly around using tilt, hitting any button to speed up. You hit a flower and a musical queue is played along with the INCREDIBLE music. It blends so well. When you bloom a flower, you gain another pedal.

As you bloom more and more flowers, the world becomes beautiful again.

There is no death, so you can just focus on the emotional journey that Flower is. It's hard to really explain this game, it's an experience that you just have to try for yourself. The emotional impact it had on me is unmatched by any game. It's art. No matter what people say about it. If you play it with an open mind, then you'll understand.

Journey, probably thatgamecompany's biggest success. It's incredible as well, and very close to Journey. The story of the world is magical and mysterious. You go through the world, collecting glyphs that extend your scarf. Which allow you to glide/fly further.

The online is innovative. You'll randomly be connected to other players (only one other at a time), going on their own Journey. You're able to follow them, or ditch them and do your own thing. And the online is so good, that you'll more than likely end the game thinking you've been through the game with one person. Only to see the names of multiple people you met on your Journey after the credits roll.

There's a lot of attachment to that other character when you go on a Journey together. The bravery they had to avoid any form of real world communication (voice, text, usernames while playing) really enhanced their overall game design and pushed the connection they wanted people to have with their companion to new heights.

The only form of communication you have is a 'call'. You can hold it for a different amount of time for different sounds. Calling near another Journey-er restores your scarfs 'energy'. Which allows you to fly. Through limitation comes creativity. People have to pay attention if they want to figure out what their new friend is trying to say. It's a lot of fun to communicate this way. It puts everyone on even ground.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Journey of the Flower, Jan. 11 2013
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Journey Collector's Edition (Video Game)
I have Journey and flower, flower is my favorite it's an eloquent emotional journey, it's very relaxing to wind down after the zombie and action filled games I play, it's very meditative, the graphics are gorgeous, the experience is indescribable, Journey is excellent also, you can Journey with a random anonymous person online, which is neat, the graphics are beautiful. Definately worth buying these games, you'll love them, and possibly love yourself more for trying them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't get enough of this game!, Jan. 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Journey Collector's Edition (Video Game)
This is definetly a worthwhile purchase! The use of visual imagery over verbal communication in all three of the main games only enhances the storylines; Journey's in particular was very moving. A very straightforward control system is quickly mastered and allows for the player to pay better attention to the details of their surroundings as opposed to the controls. Has good replay value as you'll pick up more of the story with each playthrough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Journey, Feb. 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Journey Collector's Edition (Video Game)
Very unique and touching experience. Beautiful soundtrack. Extremely suitable for all ages and a single playthrough can be accomplished in just a few hours.

Parents can be comfortable with their children playing a game like this.

Not for those preoccupied by leaderboards, kill counts, competition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars really like it - different, Jan. 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Journey Collector's Edition (Video Game)
my boys (who have the ususal action stuff) really liked this! Different. The extra games very cool too. My daughter - who does not game - liked this one even (kids are 15-20)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good games, Oct. 18 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Journey Collector's Edition (Video Game)
Good games, not much meat, fun to just waste time and glaze your eyes over while you look into a pretty image box. Journey is really just about the journey, don't expect much of a story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best, Oct. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Journey Collector's Edition (Video Game)
These indie games really get you into it. Flower was probably my favourite because of the soundtrack really. It's so soothing and beautiful at every turn. Journey is also great where you explore and solve puzzles and progress. All of these have their own unique talents and it was very enjoyable playing them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A magical and spiritual journey, Sept. 16 2013
By 
Big Al "Alan Rivière" (Southwest, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Journey Collector's Edition (Video Game)
This review is on Journey.

It is really hard to tell the genre of this game. It is unlike any video game I ever played. I like to call it spiritual adventure. The game involves the player in a journey from a desert to a mountain summit filled with light and ends with the player walking into the void, followed by a cutscene of a sparkling shooting star retracing the journey and returning to the very same spot where the journey begins. The story strongly hints at the endless cycles of birth, death, and rebirth in eastern religions.

The game is also fun. The player assumes the role of a cloaked figure with a magical scarf as she walks, runs, slides, and flies through various environments. The scarf is charged with magic every time she touches a cloth creature or the ground (in white cloak only) and the magic runs down as she flies. As she discovers glowing symbols along the way, the length of the scarf grows and hence enables her to stay airborne longer. In the final ascent to the summit, the player is challenged to stay airborne all the way by hitting the waving seaweed-like and jellyfish-like cloth creatures and the magical waterfalls.

The multi-player mode can't be simpler. The player meets other players on the way and travels together. There is no competition. Players can choose to help each other by showing the way and the locations of glowing symbols and glyph sites, or by re-charging the magical scarf by touching or shouting at each other, or they can choose to ignore each other, just like real life. There is no spoken language in the game. Players communicate with each other and other cloth creatures with shouts and chirps of musical notes.

The player is immersed in one of the best classical music score I have ever heard - inside or outside of video games. The music is composed by the famed American composer of film and video game scores Austin Wintory. His music score in Journey was nominated for a Grammy Award. Don't miss out on this fabulous and one of a kind video game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A peaceful yet exciting journey!, July 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Journey Collector's Edition (Video Game)
I had an idea of what to expect from the game since I watched some online reviews, but that didn't prepare me for how awesome Journey is! When you meet up with your fellow traveller you end up building a camaraderie that, in my opinion, is enhanced by the fact that you can only communicate with each other via little musical "chirps" with a symbol over your head.

The game is short, which disappointed me, but I think that if it went on any longer it may wear on you. There are enough trophies to aim for that you'll have a good excuse to replay it.

When I first received the game I got an error code 80028F10. I thought it was because I live in Canada and the game came from the UK (I was assuming that ps3 games were regional like dvds are). The seller promptly replied to my email and suggested I try using an HDMI cable. That worked perfectly!

Now on to the two other games and the many mini-games!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Epic? Just get it (or as I should say - them)!, April 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Journey Collector's Edition (Video Game)
Finally could play without having to download - All 3 games are fun to play.

Other thoughts:
- Great purchase for the price!!!
- I also have "Flow" for the PSP and its great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb39b1810)

This product

Journey Collector's Edition
Journey Collector's Edition by Sony Computer Entertainment (PlayStation 3)
CDN$ 29.99 CDN$ 14.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews