Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Two Series of a Superb Period Drama
Downton Abbey is already close to an institution as the most popular costume drama for about 30 years coming out of the UK which makes something of a speciality of this sort of thing. So far we have two series, with a third yet to arrive on DVD which will take us up to the 1920s with doubtless more to come. This DVD set covers the first two series, with 16 episodes, 7...
Published on Oct. 7 2012 by Brett H

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Get the PBS one
I loved the series, but have learned that the PBS copy has the Christmas Episode included in Season 2. This one doesn't but it is available for another $15. Too late for me unfortunately, but hope it helps someone.
Published 22 months ago by Kerry52


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Two Series of a Superb Period Drama, Oct. 7 2012
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
Downton Abbey is already close to an institution as the most popular costume drama for about 30 years coming out of the UK which makes something of a speciality of this sort of thing. So far we have two series, with a third yet to arrive on DVD which will take us up to the 1920s with doubtless more to come. This DVD set covers the first two series, with 16 episodes, 7 from the first series and 8 from the second and the Christmas special.

The first series covered the period from 1912, just after the sinking of the Titanic, up to the start of the first world war in 1914 and much of the story line is about the matchmaking within the Crawley family where financial and social influences have a major bearing. Of course the interaction between the family and those who serve them `below stairs' is a continual contributor to the excellent story lines. The second series picks up two years on from the first series in 1916, in the middle of World War 1. Downton Abbey has been converted into a convalescent home for injured servicemen and the action covers the period from the Battle of the Somme up to the end of the war. The Christmas Special is post the first world war and includes a dramatic trial. In both series topical events of the period, political, economic and military are covered.

There are many superb individual performances but mention must be made of Maggie Smith. What a stroke of genius to cast her as Violet. She dominates every scene she appears in and often has some very funny lines.

This box set will appeal to viewers who may have missed out first time round and also to the many who enjoyed this superb production and will want to revisit it. Roll on Series 3!

Incidentally, in answer to the question raised by the other review I can confirm that this is the original UK version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Get the PBS one, Jan. 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I loved the series, but have learned that the PBS copy has the Christmas Episode included in Season 2. This one doesn't but it is available for another $15. Too late for me unfortunately, but hope it helps someone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Downton Abbey Blu Ray DVD, Nov. 16 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Masterpiece Classic: Downton Abbey: Seasons One & Two (Limited Edition) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The 'very best' Series in a long time ... The Acting by the cast; 'Upstairs' and 'Downstairs, every character is superb!!!!

The costumes are magnificent in the beautiful setting of the Abbey, congratulations to Jullian Fellows for writing such a beautiful piece and to all those who had a hand in the production!.

Maggie Smith steals almost every scene she is in and the interaction between her and 'Mrs. Crowley' is brilliantly done! I have no favourites; I love them all! I cannot wait for the 3rd Season; so hurry ...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Downton Abbey Series 1 and 2, Feb. 1 2012
The product was delivered in good time and I was kept up to date by the shipper all the way. Well done. As for the content, it is riveting to watch with many plots and sub-plots regarding the nobility in the post Titanic era. The acting is magnificent and the scenery spectacular. A byegone age maybe, but one full of intrigue, scandal and love conflict.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Limited Edition?, Oct. 2 2012
I have not purchased this yet because I am confused. Friends have warned me that there are two versions of Downton Abbey - the original UK full length edition, and a shortened edition which PBS broadcast in the US. Critics say that inevitably much is lost in the shortened edition. This offering is a "Limited Edition". Which is it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Downton Abbey DVD no good on North American DVD machines!!, Oct. 1 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was so happy to receive my Downton Abbey SEASONS ONE AND TWO DVD to give it as a gift to my sister for her birthday. Little did I know that the version purchased on Amazon.ca cannot be played in North America on our DVD machines!!! Why would Amazon.ca sell this in North America?? How can I get a credit, return this product and get a version that CAN be played on North American machines?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-See, Jan. 27 2012
This is a wonderfully written and produced story which takes place in early 20th century England. It follows events of a very wealthy and titled family, and their house staff, for many years before, during and after WWI. The events, personalities and interrelationships are all beautifully intertwined and revealed. One of the absolute best multi-viewing experiences to be had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT what was advertised!, Dec 30 2012
By 
P. Field "avid reader" (Ottawa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I had been warned to be careful to only buy the UK version of Downton Abbey, and this "limited edition" said just that!

So, trusting Amazon, I put this edition on my Christmas list and it was under the tree on the 25th. WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT!!!!

Here is the link to what was advertised BEFORE Christmas :
http://www.amazon.com/Downton-Abbey-Seasons-Limited-Edition/dp/B008FYZIVY/ref=br_lf_m_1000863171_1_1_img?ie=UTF8&m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&s=movies-tv&pf_rd_p=1436866502&pf_rd_s=center-3&pf_rd_t=1401&pf_rd_i=1000863171&pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_r=0F6S2MAFHV4YV5FKPBXN

Note it says "Original UK version" ... these words are now missing from it now!

Naughty amazon!!! SHAME!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Two Series of a Superb Period Drama, Aug. 23 2012
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
Downton Abbey is already close to an institution as the most popular costume drama for about 30 years coming out of the UK which makes something of a speciality of this sort of thing. So far we have two series, with a third promised which will take us up to the 1920s with doubtless more to come. This DVD set covers the first two series, with 16 episodes, 7 from the first series and 8 from the second and the Christmas special.

The first series covered the period from 1912, just after the sinking of the Titanic, up to the start of the first world war in 1914 and much of the story line is about the matchmaking within the Crawley family where financial and social influences have a major bearing. Of course the interaction between the family and those who serve them `below stairs' is a continual contributor to the excellent story lines. The second series picks up two years on from the first series in 1916, in the middle of World War 1. Downton Abbey has been converted into a convalescent home for injured servicemen and the action covers the period from the Battle of the Somme up to the end of the war. This boxed set would appear to be the UK edition which does not contain the Christmas Special which time wise is after the Second Series. If this is important to you, you should check before purchasing.

There are many superb individual performances but mention must be made of Maggie Smith. What a stroke of genius to cast her as Violet. She dominates every scene she appears in and often has some very funny lines.

This box set will appeal to viewers who may have missed out first time round and also to the many who enjoyed this superb production and will want to revisit it. Roll on Series 3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really Great Watch, July 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I watched it while I exercised! It made me want to get up early to exercise because I wanted to see what would happen next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Masterpiece Classic: Downton Abbey: Seasons One & Two (Limited Edition) [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 67.99 CDN$ 64.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews