march boutiques-francophones snsflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars328
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 23, 2012
We only heard about this movie a couple of weeks ago. A movie critic on the radio mentioned it was fairly good and the radio announcer said he just saw it and agreed. So we took a chance and watched it mainly because of the fabulous seasoned actors whom we love in most movies. Can't say enough about it! Very, very enjoyable, quality acting, feel good movie. You don't need all that foul language or stupidity like so many other movies.
0Comment|57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2012
What a change from the ordinary movie. The fact that 90% of the film was directly "in the heart" of India was fabulous. You saw the real India (not that I have been there, but I'm sure that's how it is...dusty, crowded, noisy). The sun was always shining and the colours were gorgeous. Down-to-earth characters, and some of the best actors in the business all added to a wonderful story. A story with different people facing their own demons a consequences of life. A story that would easily happen in true, everyday life...not just a way-out story. Just a nice, easy movie to watch and enjoy. Lovely to watch with friends after dinner - which we did!!
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2012
I bought this movie without knowing much about it and was almost prepared to be disappointed. I was very pleasantly surprised! This was just a feel good movie all round. You got to feel a wide range of emotions and connect with the characters but it wasn't over the top and draining, nor was it emotionally manipulative or corny. The pace was good - it didn't have a flat spot in the middle where you could take it or leave it like a lot of movies have. Another noteworthy aspect was each scene didn't tell too much - everything wasn't all neat and tidy and summed up and this helped keep the pace going. Some have criticized the characters as lacking depth but I truly feel that we knew enough to start out and ending up knowing enough as well. All the details aren't important - it's the spirit and feel of the story that's important. I can't imagine this movie not appealing to everyone!
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2014
Shows the vulnerable stage when one lives to this age, regardless single or married. There is always the happy side in life if you allow yourself to look for it. We always have options, negative or positive take your pick. Stay healthy and be happy. Life is short, make the best of it!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2015
The film opens up by giving us quick and witty introductions of the main characters. For one reason or another, they are opting to go live at the Marigold Hotel in India. They are the first guests of this Indian entrepreneur Sonny Kapoor (Dev Patel,) in a Hotel that has more character than convenience. Once in India and over the culture shock, our group start to adapt at different rates. Evelyn Greenslade (Judi Dench) keeps an on-line blog about the events which adds some first person narration to the tale.

In India, the scenes switch back and forth to the various guests' activities which intersect at times, similar to many indie movie scripts. During this time we get to know the characters much deeper and see them change in a nation of contrast of old traditions and the modern era. The film touches on the caste system and prearranged marriages which are common themes in Bollywood films also.

The acting and script were top notch. The film contain the right amount of comedy, drama, and even romance to make for a delightful tale. Dev Patel, whose acting ability I thought was undeveloped in "Slum Dog Millionaire" takes it up a notch with this all-star cast. Kudos to Maggie Smith who managed to play a difficult character with perfection.

PARENTAL GUIDE: 1 quick totally unnecessary f-bomb with an accent, sexual references, minor back nudity.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2012
This is a lovely movie, sad, funny, beautiful location, tugs at your heart strings. What a great cast. Love everyone of them. They are such great actors and the story speaks to me as I am a senior and it shows you how life changes but how each person copes with the new reality, some cannot and others welcome and adapt to change.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2012
The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel is a bargain; seven stories for the price of one. It begins like most ensemble plots in an apparent tangle, with several characters all dissatisfied with their waning lives. Trying to revive love, health, libido and to resolve old conflicts, the hopeful seniors congregate in the dilapidated Marigold Hotel. All are at first shocked by the state of their accommodation, but the pageant of Indian daily life captures and distracts them.

Six stories develop and entwine with the struggle of the young hotel manager to make his business a success. Through a skillful weaving of plot the characters get what they need if not what they want. The acting is excellent and balanced by subtle direction, (any of the principal actors could have stolen the movie) the scenics evoke beauty from the harsh reality of the urban Indian landscape.

We bought the dvd and watch it repeatedly. Like all good fairy tales it does not dilute with repeated telling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2013
Having been a visitor to India some years ago, I could relate to all the images, and the situations in which the players found themselves. Sounds, sensations and the colours and the constant movement the tuk-tuks and the lack of circulation of traffic brought back memories. The images of India of long ago together with the current trend of Help Line jobs from all over the planet being answered in India brought a sense the enormous changes taking place with the work for youth and the diminishment of the class system reality that was so obvious in the past. I believe that a good film takes me into another reality in a way that is believeable and entertaining....this film did so in spades. I've watched it several times and I won't soon tire of seeing Judi Dench going off to work with the young women and of the hotel room with big open windows (not really windows) just openings allowing visual access to the street in ways I could not envision.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon November 6, 2013
Unrelated British retirees each for their own reason and economics find an advertisement for a beautiful and reasonable retirement "Best Exotic Marigold Hotel." When they get there they find that the advertised hotel may have been a little exaggerated. As they are each making the best of the situation in his/her own way they come to embrace the change. This is not to say that there are not trials and tribulations on their journey though life.

Some viewers may be drawn into the movie by the names of some great actors but soon will come to know the characters as well.

This film looks like it is getting a good rating by viewers that already know what to expect. In reality there is something for everyone. This is formula and we know what the ending will be but it is the journey and how it is presented that makes the movie extraordinary.

If you like this movie then you will appreciate "Enchanted April" (1992).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon June 15, 2014
Super story. Excellent cast. This is a movie for older people. Don't get it if you are twenty years old, you won't "get" it's meaning. This is the story of various people, older, looking to move in to a safe, different, happy kind of place to finish up their lives. There is a good mix of people with various complications. It's very good and certainly out of all the characters each of us can relate to one or more of them. They see an ad for a lovely hotel, The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, in India offering cheap accommodation to older folks to go and spend their latter days there. What goes on is funny, poignant, adventurous, and exciting. Their lives are given a boost by the injection of a different culture, a culture they were all apprehensive about but that works for their good. It is a heart warming movie and I have watched it 3 times and enjoy it every time. Great actors. Highly recommended..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse