Customer Reviews


There are no customer reviews yet.  Create your own review
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, Nov. 4 2012
By 
Leslie Hallett (Dartmouth, Nova Scotia Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rock of Ages [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
This was an excellent movie.... Tom cruise really "rocked" the role. The music was fantastic and Russell brand surprised with his singing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great New Musical...! Get It!, Aug. 14 2012
This review is from: Rock of Ages [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
This is a new-style musical with all the good stuff... great musical selection--many classics you should easily recognize--and a very endearing and believable love-story development which will keep you on the edge of your seat.

"How will they ever get back together?"

It contains some great original recordings of original classics... but what I like best is how the story brings out a new depth of meaning to the songs. It gives them a new sort of relevance and depth. The songs emerge throughout the development of the story, according to the development of their relationship, and more... which packs a great punch... I now think differently about some of these--their lyrical import--whenever I hear them.

And it enriches them... rather than taking away... this movie helps them shine in full... it fleshes them out in a very good way... legit but imaginative...

I first saw it in theaters with a couple close friends... we all liked it a lot! Happily anticipating its release...

:]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seemed a bit corny at first, but then so lovable., May 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rock of Ages [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
I initially borrowed this movie from the library. When I watched it the first time around I thought it was a bit corny, but after so many laugh out loud moments and hearing all the music, I had to watch it again and was soon hooked and purchased my own copy.

Unbelievable performance by Tom Cruise and Paul Giamatti. Russell Brand and Alec Baldwin were hilarious. Julianne Hough and Diego Boneta super adorable. Hey Man the monkey stole the show time and again.

It's an outrageous movie, great comical escape, and the good ole rock'n'roll mash ups will have you singing along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Une très bonne comédie musicale, Jan. 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rock of Ages [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Je ne suis pas un grand fan de comédie musicale, mais celle-ci en franchement drôle! Je le conseille fortement !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprised, Jan. 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rock of Ages [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
I don't care for musicals as a general rule-of-thumb, but I really liked this one! It was funny, and the soundtrack made me want to sing along. Very famous cast of characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock of Ages (blu ray)…lots of great rock n roll songs from the 80s beautifully done by all + Julianne Hough’s singing and danci, Oct. 10 2012
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rock of Ages [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
VIDEO:

Rock of Ages arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 2.40:1 encode. Shot with ARRI 2.8K cameras, this transfer looks stellar. The reconstructed Sunset Strip is eye-poppingly gorgeous, with bright, well saturated and well defined colours and strong contrast. Blacks are deep, with plenty of shadow detail. Detail in general is quite strong, showing off every aspect of the intricate production design and slavishly reproduced costumes. (4.5/5)

AUDIO:

Rock of Ages comes with DTS-HD 5.1 Master Audio lossless track. Music - obviously front and center here - comes across with strong fidelity and soaring clarity. This soundtrack is free from distortion, and other than the bass, which is lacking, the overall dynamic range is excellent. When the music is playing, the sound is very warm, with the vocals in particular coming in strongly. The mid-range sounds excellent. When Julianne Hough hits those high notes, you feel it. (4.5/5)

MOVIE:

Rock of Ages does have a full cast: Tom Cruise (Stacee Jaxx), wife Catherine Zeta-Jones (Patricia Whitmore), Julianne Hough (Sherrie Christian), boyfriend Diego Boneta (Drew Boley), with Alec Baldwin (Dennis Dupree) as the owner of the club going broke, with Russell Brand (Lonnie) and Mary J. Blige (Justice Charlier). For the WWE wrestling fan, you will notice Kevin Nash as Stacee’s bodyguard. Other than Tom Cruise's electric performance, Rock of Ages is a lifeless, listless, rudderless production. The all-star cast and slick production can't overcome the laughably bad script and Shankman's meandering direction. (3/5)

TRIVIA:

With an estimated budget of $75 million, the movie only grossed $38 million.

SONGS:

01 Paradise City – Tom Cruise (original: Guns N Roses)
02 Sister Christian/Just Like Paradise/Nothin’ But A Good Time – Julianne Hough, Diego Boneta, Russell Brand and Alec Baldwin (original: Night Ranger/David Lee Roth/Poison)
03 Hit Me With Your Best Shot – Catherine Zeta-Jones (original: Pat Benatar)
04 Waiting For A Girl Like You – Diego Boneta and Julianne Hough (original: Foreigner)
05 More Than Words/Heaven – Julianne Hough and Diego Boneta (original: Extreme/Warrant)
06 Wanted Dead or Alive – Tom Cruise and Julianne Hough (original: Bon Jovi)
07 I Want to Know What Love Is – Tom Cruise and Malin Akerman (original: Foreigner)
08 I Wanna Rock – Diego Boneta (original: Twisted Sister)
09 Pour Some Sugar on Me – Tom Cruise (original: Def Leppard)
10 Harden My Heart – Julianne Hough and Mary J. Blige (original: Quarterflash)
11 Shadows of the Night – Julianne Hough and Mary J. Blige (original: Pat Benatar)
12 Here I Go Again – Diego Boneta, Paul Giamatti, Julianne Hough, Mary J. Blige and Tom Cruise (original: Whitesnake)
13 Can’t Fight This Feeling – Russell Brand and Alec Baldwin (original: REO Speedwagen)
14 Any Way You Want It - Mary J. Blige, Constantine Maroulisand Julianne Hough (original: Journey)
15 Undercover Love – Diego Boneta
16 Every Rose Has Its Thorn - Julianne Hough, Diego Boneta, Mary J. Blige and Tom Cruise (original: Poison)
17 Rock You Like A Hurricane – Tom Cruise and Julianne Hough (original: Scorpions)
18 We Built This City/We’re Not Gonna Take It – Russell Brand and Catherine Zeta-Jones (original: Starship/Twisted Sister)
19 Don’t Stop Believin’ - Diego Boneta, Julianne Hough, Mary J. Blige, Tom Cruise, Alec Baldwin, Catherine Zeta-Jones and Russell Brand (original: Journey)
20 Juke-Box Hero/I Love Rock N Roll - Diego Boneta, Alec Baldwin, Russell Brand and Julianne Hough (original: Foreigner/Joan Jett)

FINAL THOUGHTS

Rock of Ages was very successful on Broadway, but it fell flat on the screen. What’s lacking in script, we have plenty of great songs beautifully done by all. These are great rock songs from the 80s by famous groups, as noted above. If you ignore the story and script, and just enjoy the music, then, you shall have a great time. Personally, I Love Rock N Roll. This is also the movie that shows off the singing/dancing/acting talents of Julianne Hough, who also has a successful dancing career and also a country and western singing star. This set is recommended for all rock and roll fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, Jan. 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rock of Ages [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Not sure if I'm required to write a movie review or rate the actual bluray? The video is new and vacuum sealed. Plays in the PS3 and image is amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fails to be the tribute it hopes to be, Jan. 15 2013
By 
Tommy Sixx Morais (The Great White North) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rock of Ages [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
This review is coming from a 21 year old who is huge fan of 80's music, fashion and culture that borders on the obsession. After hearing about the Rock of Ages project I feared it would be a big Hollywood production that would end up as a B film as best and wouldn't pay proper tribute to the 1980's, the music and the scene it attempts to tribute. This is more of less exactly what happened. There are some nice moments and entertaining parts, and some versions of the songs are actually decent but it fails to be a modern day Grease or whatever it was that they attempted it to be. It's as if they didn't know what they wanted to do with this except have some popular 80's tune, a bit of a throwback to the fashion of the era and try to hold it together with songs, Grease and some of the other musicals I've seen had heart.

Rock of Ages is set in L.A. on the Sunset Strip in 1987, to start it has the time and setting properly set. The look and atmosphere is just about right which are sure to bring back memories. The song selection is for the most part very good and much of what you would expect musically wise: "Don't Stop Believin'" (Journey) "Wanted Dead or Alive" (Bon Jovi), "Pour Some Sugar On Me" (Def Leppard), 'Hit Me With Your Best Shot' (Pat Benatar), "I Wanna Rock" (Twisted Sister), "Sister Christian" (Night Ranger) and many others.

Tom Cruise as Stacee Jaxx is one of the few actual things that does work for Rock of Ages. His performances and duets were the more enjoyable ones due to his given Rockstar character and his portrayal of Stacee. Cruise's character comes off as a true rockstar of the 80's and it looks like he based his performance on the rockers of the era (Axl Rose mostly in terms of style and fashion). It's not amazing acting but he is likeable as the sleazy rockstar. I like Russel Brand usually but even if he almost always looks like and carries a rockstar vibe was lame in this film. His character's interactions with his bar owner friend are homoerotic and almost uncomfortable to watch. Julianne Hall and Diego Boneta as and Sherrie and Drew the two stars are likeable and well cast and Rock of Ages really revolves around their story.

I started watching Rock of Ages with little hope of it actually good, but with an open mind and expecting at least to be entertained. It more or less succeed at being a 'good' film in my opinion and misses in some areas I thought. To me the big problem with Rock of Ages is that it doesn't tell a story to which you can relate or get into land as a musical, that's not good. I love the 80's but my friends who saw this couldn't get why or what I like about the decade and it does't make it look cool and I don't think it would make any audience want to live them just for one day. It somehow misses and doesn't connect with it's audience because it's too self-obsessed with being a parody to create genuine feelings that can be related to, it just doesn't work all that well.

Overall, it comes off as karaoke with some interesting versions and some rather poor ones and what seemed like a potentially good story was thrown away. It's a big production with big names to appeal to the general public but it fails to pay proper tribute to the 1980's which was the main goal unfortunately. I'm sure there was a market for this film just as I'm sure there are quite a few 80's enthusiast and nostalgics who are downright embarrassed by Rock of Ages. It lacks heart an substance and was very Glee-like. Towards the end it was getting a little to painful to watch for this viewer as it was getting long. I like that they wanted to pay homage to the 80's and the music but the story wasn't anywhere near captivating and although some of the musical numbers are fun and entertaining, Rock of Ages falls short of what it hopes to be. It doesn't translate to film so well. 2.5 out of 5.

P.S. there's a great bonus feature 'Legends of the Strip' mini documentary of the era with major rock artists that lived the 80's and tell tales and stories about the Sunset Strip, the music and the fashion. that's worth watching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money, May 23 2013
By 
Sylvain Bilodeau (Montreal, Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rock of Ages [Blu-ray] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Acting was bad, I kept wondering if Paul Giamatti was paid enough to waste is talent in this movie. As far as the music goes it felt like a cheap compilation cd without the original artist you can buy at walmart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rock of Ages [Blu-ray] (Bilingual)
CDN$ 24.99 CDN$ 11.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews