march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage snsflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars59
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$9.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERon September 15, 2012
I went to see it opening night, and without preconceptions found it to be a highly enjoyable experience.

Rock of Ages has now run as a successful musical on Broadway for three years, while the musical as a movie genre seems to have died a death on the movie screen in recent years. Moulin Rouge though derivative of pop music did very well. Chicago in 2003 won numerous Oscars. Phantom of the Opera did very well, and Mamma Mia was a huge hit. Nine the musical was spectacularly unsuccessful despite a cast stuffed with Oscar winners, and experts said there would be no more Hollywood musicals, that it was now dead as a genre.

Burlesque, starring Cher, Christina Aguilera, and Julianne Hough in a minor role was dismissed as a flop, though it was quite entertaining.

Rock of Ages stars Julianne Hough in her first leading role, and also stars Alec Baldwin, Russell Brand, and Tom Cruise among others. As an entertainment experience, I find it outstanding. Many musicals fail because the music is not good. Mamma Mia could not go wrong with Abba music, and Phantom of the Opera had numerous hit songs.

Almost all the songs on Rock of Ages are classic rock anthems from the likes of Def Leppard, Journey and others.

Julianne Hough plays the wide eyed ingenue who lands on the strip and gets mugged. She finds a job at a rock venue, and has to conceal the fact she can sing. She falls in love with someone who works there. Everybody has a dream of making it big. So far, so like Burlesque.

The premise of the movie, though hardly original, nevertheless sweeps you along, and someone in the row behind me started clapping. I had to give him the three quarter head turn. The scenes are well put together, and musical production standards are outstanding. All the actors did their own singing. Tom Cruise does an incredible job as Stacey Jaxxx, the crazed rock singer, Baldwin as the club owner, and Brand looks the part. Catherine Zeta Jones who won the Oscar for her performance in Chicago, gives a star turn as well to do political wife on a mission to close down the rock venue, and Stacey Jazzz is her arch nemesis. Paul Giamatti plays the sleazy agent.

In Burlesque the club owner played by Cher struggles financially, fending off developers. In ROA the club owner played by Baldwin struggles financially fending off activists, and the authorities.

I found many parallels between this movie and Burlesque, although Rock of Ages is much better. Our heroine experiences some setbacks. The relationship becomes complicated by stardom, and misunderstandings, and finally we have the dark side of the dream. There are too many memorable scenes to mention, the scenes had a thematic relationship to the songs being sung, and there is a monkey named Heyman who added some comic relief.

One of the funniest scenes is between Russell Brand and Alec Baldwin, simply priceless, and Tom Cruise and the girl from Rolling Stone. Cruise proves that he is an outstanding actor not only in action movies, but in any genre, and does an outstanding job on the vocals.

Julianne Hough offered outstanding pitch perfect vocals, and I loved her harmonising. She can sing, she can dance, she can act. It does not hurt that she is also very cute. I don't know how much of a future she will have if she stays in this genre, but any director casting a musical would be foolish I think to overlook her as she does such a good job here.

At the end of the movie, applause shook the theater. Last time that happened was three years ago. I left the movie feeling elevated like I was walking on air. I will probably buy the soundtrack.

As for the critics, Rock of Ages opened to a $14.4 million weekend, making it the sixth highest opening weekend for a musical, not good enough for the critics who said Cruise was losing his star power, even though Cruise did not play the main character, and did they see Mission Impossible 4 the highest grossing movie of his career. That was 6 months ago, and $600 million. Rock of Ages is a blip on the radar screen of a stellar career where his movies have grossed $3.6 billion domestically.

Although you could wait to get the movie on dvd, I do recommend seeing it in release if you can. If you like musicals,rock music or just to be entertained, I see no reason why you would not love this unless you hate rock music.

I think you will love it, and I hope this was helpful.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2012
This was an excellent movie.... Tom cruise really "rocked" the role. The music was fantastic and Russell brand surprised with his singing
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I went to see it opening night, and without preconceptions found it to be a highly enjoyable experience.

Rock of Ages has now run as a successful musical on Broadway for three years, while the musical as a movie genre seems to have died a death on the movie screen in recent years. Moulin Rouge though derivative of pop music did very well. Chicago in 2003 won numerous Oscars. Phantom of the Opera did very well, and Mamma Mia was a huge hit. Nine the musical was spectacularly unsuccessful despite a cast stuffed with Oscar winners, and experts said there would be no more Hollywood musicals, that it was now dead as a genre.

Burlesque, starring Cher, Christina Aguilera, and Julianne Hough in a minor role was dismissed as a flop, though it was quite entertaining.

Rock of Ages stars Julianne Hough in her first leading role, and also stars Alec Baldwin, Russell Brand, and Tom Cruise among others. As an entertainment experience, I find it outstanding. Many musicals fail because the music is not good. Mamma Mia could not go wrong with Abba music, and Phantom of the Opera had numerous hit songs.

Almost all the songs on Rock of Ages are classic rock anthems from the likes of Def Leppard, Journey and others.
Julianne Hough plays the wide eyed ingenue who lands on the strip and is mugged. She finds a job at a rock venue, and has to conceal the fact she can sing. She falls in love with someone who works there. Everybody has a dream of making it big. So far, so Burlesque.

The premise of the movie, though hardly original, nevertheless sweeps you along, and someone in the row behind me started clapping. I had to give him the three quarter head turn. The scenes are well put together, and musical production standards are outstanding. All the actors did their own singing. Tom Cruise does an incredible job as Stacey Jaxxx, the crazed rock singer, Baldwin as the club owner, and Brand looks the part. Catherine Zeta Jones who won the Oscar for her performance in Chicago, gives a star turn as well to do political wife on a mission to close down the rock venue, and Stacey Jazzz is her arch nemesis. Paul Giamatti plays the sleazy agent.

In Burlesque the club owner played by Cher struggles financially, fending off developers. In ROA the club owner played by Baldwin struggles financially fending off activists, and the authorities.

I found many parallels between this movie and Burlesque Bilingual, although Rock of Ages is much better. Our heroine experiences some setbacks. The relationship becomes complicated by stardom, and misunderstandings, and finally we have the dark side of the dream. There are too many memorable scenes to mention, the scenes had a thematic relationship to the songs that being sung, and there is a monkey named Heyman. One of the funniest scenes is between Russell Brand and Alec Baldwin, simply priceless, and Tom Cruise and the girl from Rolling Stone. Cruise proves that he is an outstanding actor not only in action movies, but in any genre, and does an outstanding job on the vocals.

Julianne Hough offered outstanding pitch perfect vocals, and I loved her harmonising. She can sing, she can dance, she can act. It does not hurt that she is also very cute. I don't know how much of a future she will have if she stays in this genre, but any director casting a musical would be foolish I think to overlook her as she does such a good job here.

At the end of the movie, applause shook the theater. Last time that happened was three years ago. I left the movie feeling elevated like I was walking on air. I will probably buy the soundtrack.

As for the critics, Rock of Ages opened to a $14.4 million weekend, making it the sixth highest opening weekend for a musical, not good enough for the critics who said Cruise was losing his star power, even though Cruise did not play the main character, and did they see Mission Impossible 4 the highest grossing movie of his career. That was 6 months ago, and $600 million. Rock of Ages is a blip on the radar screen of a stellar career where his movies have grossed $3.6 billion domestically.

Although you could wait to see the movie, I do recommend seeing it while still in release. If you like musicals,rock music or just to be entertained, I see no reason why you would not love this unless you hate rock music.

I think you will love it, and I hope this was helpful.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2012
This is a new-style musical with all the good stuff... great musical selection--many classics you should easily recognize--and a very endearing and believable love-story development which will keep you on the edge of your seat.

"How will they ever get back together?"

It contains some great original recordings of original classics... but what I like best is how the story brings out a new depth of meaning to the songs. It gives them a new sort of relevance and depth. The songs emerge throughout the development of the story, according to the development of their relationship, and more... which packs a great punch... I now think differently about some of these--their lyrical import--whenever I hear them.

And it enriches them... rather than taking away... this movie helps them shine in full... it fleshes them out in a very good way... legit but imaginative...

I first saw it in theaters with a couple close friends... we all liked it a lot! Happily anticipating its release...

:]
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2013
I initially borrowed this movie from the library. When I watched it the first time around I thought it was a bit corny, but after so many laugh out loud moments and hearing all the music, I had to watch it again and was soon hooked and purchased my own copy.

Unbelievable performance by Tom Cruise and Paul Giamatti. Russell Brand and Alec Baldwin were hilarious. Julianne Hough and Diego Boneta super adorable. Hey Man the monkey stole the show time and again.

It's an outrageous movie, great comical escape, and the good ole rock'n'roll mash ups will have you singing along.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2012
Let me start off by saying this is a musical. Don't expect a classic. If it's not your type of thing, this movie won't change that. Now that we got that out of the way I have to say that I actually liked it. It's starts off okay unfortunately. I'm not a big fan of people just singing a song and every random person joins them. I know you're going to tell me that pretty much every musical do that, but no. The good ones have a certain thing that connects the people, what they want to say and the songs. Not randomly start singing just to sing. That said, it gradually gets better and to the point of me smiling when a song started. Tom Cruise is amazing on stage. I really believed he was a rockstar when he sang. His stage presence is amazing. If you're hoping to see the same rock of ages from Broadway to the screen, you are going to be disappointed. The story is different, and there are a few songs that weren't in the broadway musical. For the story, well it doesn't do anything new. You can pretty much tell what's going to happen, two young people with big dreams meet and fall in love and you can guess the rest. But don't let that get in the way if you like musicals. I had a great time watching it in theaters. I give it a 7.5 on 10 because I still had a pretty good time. I don't regret watching it. It's not a classic by any means, but it is nonetheless entertaining and worth your time.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2013
Lots of old 80's songs with likable actors. Tom Cruise is surprising in the Stacey Jaxx roll, he pulls off the rock star vibe and the singing as well. Most men I have talked to aren't into this must be the musical thing. Not every line is song in the movie which is a relief . A fun pass time with all the old songs you know.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2013
Warning: There is singing! I love musicals and really enjoyed the movie! But music isn't for everybody! There are so many well - known songs that you can sing along to if you want! And tons of famous people to make things interesting!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is perhaps the best rock and roll fable since "Streets of Fire." The music incorporates 80's rock songs into a fictitious 1980's Los Angeles setting. The mayor's wife (Catherine Zeta-Jones) is leading a crusade against rock, especially Stacee Jaxx (Tom Cruise) a heavy metal rocker god in the midst of a waning career needing a kick start. Julianne Hough and Diego Boneta star as the two wanna-be rock stars. Oh if they could just get their break....

The music is both the plus and minus side to the film. It comes across as a movie which upholds the standards of rock, but succumbs to the evils such as lip syncing and mistaking glam rock for heavy metal. I enjoyed the cliche filled predictable story. The seasoned veterans of the film seemed to have enjoyed making this production as it lacks any seriousness. I spent most of the movie waiting for the talking to get over and the next song to begin. My biggest problem with this film was believing the character of heavy metal rock star Stacee Jaxx which rhymes too much with Terry Jacks (Seasons in the Sun). The could have done better.

PARENTAL GUIDE: 1 f-bomb, no nudity other than butt cheeks. There are a number of suggestive/kinky scenes, such as a spanking, undressing, a near grope, stage dancing, and near or suggestive sex. A little too adult for the kids, a little too immature for adults. The heavy PG-13, near R rating may save it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
At first, I did not want to watch this movie. I think this would be an amazing musical to watch live in a live-theatre production, I thought the movie version would be disappointing. Then Tom Cruise and Russel Brand seemed an unlikely stars to be able to perform musically. I must even admit that at the beginning of the movie, I was still not convinced or enthusiastic about it.

About 30 minutes into it, the great selection of 80's hits, and the cute storyline - gets to you. By the end, I was loving this movie! It really gets you involved, and is just a fun throwback to that time. Great movie. They did not over-saturate it with singing-only.

For less then $10 - this is definitely one to add to the collection that you will probably watch over and over.
Inspiring and puts you in a great, energized, positive mood.

Can't wait for the live-theatre release... I want to see that one too! :-)

Would I watch this again? YES
Would I recommend this movie? YES
Would I suggest you buy it? YES (it's a keeper)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse