Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good one
She has a beautiful voice. I look forward to more CDs. I am glad Jackie is not photographed inappropriately for her age on the inserts. Nice accompaniment from her brother.
Published 16 months ago by Safari

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars FLOP!
This little girl's voice captured and enchanted me. She actually sounds like a woman, not a child, which makes her believable when she sings grow up songs. On the cd her voice is still crystal clear but I really do not like the arrangements and interpretation. Sadly, it will be first in the box for my next garage sale!
Published 1 month ago by Gilmore Girl


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good one, Dec 16 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Songs From The Silver Screen (Audio CD)
She has a beautiful voice. I look forward to more CDs. I am glad Jackie is not photographed inappropriately for her age on the inserts. Nice accompaniment from her brother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jackie's music of the movies, Oct. 2 2012
By 
Big Al "Alan Rivière" (Southwest, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Songs From The Silver Screen (Audio CD)
Jackie's angelic voice has lit up many of my dreary days. Her artistry continues to develop since her last album. Her tone has brightened and her enunciation of the lyrics is much more precise. Her stagecraft has also evolved. She begins to realize that she is in command of the stage and that the orchestra plays at her pace; she is experimenting with her vocals in a delightful way. Watch her on stage and you'll see her new found confidence and mastery of her craft, and marvel at the way she projects her emotions with ease and grace. All these are evident in her recent concerts, including her latest PBS Music of the Movies performance at the Orpheum Threater, and now in this companion album "Songs From The Silver Screen".

The songs are movie themes - from Andrew Lloyd Webber's film version of the Phantom of the Opera to Disney's animated classic Lion King. Jackie's older brother Jacob and a number of guest musicians also contribute to this album. Jackie and Jacob Evancho sing the love theme duet "I See the Light" from the 2010 Disney's computer generated musical Tangled. Jacob Evancho has a decent pop voice. I wish him well in his music career.

Among the notable musicians in this album is the American trumpeter and composer Christopher Botti, who plays the trumpet in Jackie's "The Summer Knows" from the award winning 1971 movie classic Summer of '42.

The Croatian cello duo 2Cellos, with Luka Sulic and Stjepan Hauser, accompanies Jackie in "Se" from the 1988 Italian film Cinema Paradiso.

The Canadian Tenors perform alongside Jackie in her song "Come What May" from the 2001 romantic musical movie Moulin Rouge!.

American violinist Joshua David Bell plays the violin in Jackie's "My Heart Will Go On" from James Cameron's 1997 blockbuster romantic film Titanic, starring Leonardo DiCaprio and Kate Winslet. Teenage girls were known to weep at the mere mention of DiCaprio's name, the way I get misty eyes at the beauty of Jackie's music. Don't miss out on this star-studded album by Jackie Evancho - an extraordinary tribute to the music of the movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How can you not love her?, Nov. 4 2012
By 
Michel Pageau - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Songs From The Silver Screen (Audio CD)
There are no more superlatives left for me to describe the talent of this young lady. She can bring a lump in the throat of the most hardened man. The duo with her brother is the only fly in the ointment; like putting diet Pepsi in a 50 year old scotch. Hence my four star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WHAT ATALENTED YOUNG LADY, Sept. 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Songs From The Silver Screen (Audio CD)
JACKIE HAS STOLEN THE HEARTS OF SO MANY PEOPLE WITH HER TALENT, HER INNOCENCE AND HER FRIENDLINESS, NOT TO MENTION A MATURITY BEYOND HER YEARS. HER VOICE IS ANGELIC. SHE WILL BECOME ONE OF THE GREATS . SO REFRESHING.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, Aug. 2 2013
By 
Jeffrey J. Hoff "Chilli56" (Chilliwack, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Songs From The Silver Screen (Audio CD)
My first CD by her and I must say that I am impressed. A beautiful voice mixed in with several great song selections makes for an enjoyable CD, one I will be listening to many times. Jackie shows a more than talent and I for one have become a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a voice, this little Angel!, May 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Songs From The Silver Screen (Audio CD)
Listening to this CD, it's hard to believe that she is only 13, she sounds like an accomplished classical crossover singer that has been around for a few years. "Pure Imagination" from Willy Wonka, "Music of the Night" (Phantom of the Opera)she really sings from the depth of her soul, great orchestral arrangement, 'Can you feel the love tonight (Lion King), beautifully done by Jackie, Reflection (from Disney Mulan), she sings this song so beautifully it brings tears to your eyes,
"The summer knows",(from the Summer of '42) a haunting melody and lyrics that Jackie does so well, "I see the light" (From Disney's Tangled), duet with her brother Jacob, "What a Wonderful World", (from Good morning Vietnam) but made famous by trumpet player Louis (Satchmo) Armstrong, "SE", (from Cinema Paridiso) beautiful lyrics in Italian as Jackie can sing, "My Heart will go on" (from Titanic), Celine did this one very well, but Jackie does it as well also, "Come what may" (from Moulin Rouge) with The Tenors," Some Enchanted Evening" ( from Rodgers and Hammerstein's South Pacific), "When I fall in Love" (from Sleepless
in Seattle). Bravo Jackie...you have come a long way from America's Got Talent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars FLOP!, Feb. 17 2014
By 
Gilmore Girl (Montreal, Qc, CANADA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Songs From The Silver Screen (Audio CD)
This little girl's voice captured and enchanted me. She actually sounds like a woman, not a child, which makes her believable when she sings grow up songs. On the cd her voice is still crystal clear but I really do not like the arrangements and interpretation. Sadly, it will be first in the box for my next garage sale!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars La voix surprenante..., March 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Songs From The Silver Screen (Audio CD)
... de Jackie continue de faire des miracle sur ce deuxième album. Qu'on aime ou non tous les choix de chansons, la magie opère toujours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Singer, Jan. 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Songs From The Silver Screen (Audio CD)
This little angel has a delightful voice. Music was okay, I would have enjoyed some more upbeat songs from this young chanteuse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mesmerizing!, Jan. 15 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Songs From The Silver Screen (Audio CD)
A great selection of songs! What makes this album so special is not just Jackie's beautiful voice but also her incredible interpretations of these classic movie songs. She feels every note, every word, with passion and conviction, and as you listen, you become totally enchanted and mesmerized. Beautiful album! All the selections are wonderful, but the duet with The Tenors is incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb150f3e4)

This product

Songs From The Silver Screen
Songs From The Silver Screen by Jackie Evancho (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews