Customer Reviews


143 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prometheus (2D) blu ray combo…another masterpiece from Ridley Scott with top-notched audio/video transfer!
VIDEO (2D):

Prometheus arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 2.40:1 encode. This transfer is simply stunning. Using Red Epic digital cameras mounted to 3ality Technica Atom 3D rigs, the film was shot almost entirely on Pinewood Studio's famed—and enormous—007 lot, allowing Ridley Scott and cinematographer Dariusz Wolski complete control over the...
Published on Oct. 9 2012 by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Does not live up to expectations. But, it is still a good sci-fi movie. Great performance by Fassbender.
If this were made by any other director, it would qualify as a good sci-fi movie. However, expectations were very high from this Ridley Scott movie. This was supposed to be a comeback sci-fi project for the director of Alien and Blade Runner, two of the most beloved sci-fi movies. Therefore, despite being a decent movie, it disappointed many of his fans. It's like asking...
Published 3 days ago by Nat Hawthorne


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prometheus (2D) blu ray combo…another masterpiece from Ridley Scott with top-notched audio/video transfer!, Oct. 9 2012
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prometheus (Bilingual) [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Blu-ray)
VIDEO (2D):

Prometheus arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 2.40:1 encode. This transfer is simply stunning. Using Red Epic digital cameras mounted to 3ality Technica Atom 3D rigs, the film was shot almost entirely on Pinewood Studio's famed—and enormous—007 lot, allowing Ridley Scott and cinematographer Dariusz Wolski complete control over the lighting of the magnificently detailed sets. The combination of a great camera system, high-quality Zeiss lenses, and precise manipulation of the direction and degree of light makes for an image that is terrifically sharp. The level of clarity is exemplary for a live-action film. Fine detail is ever-present in the textures of the actors' faces, the fabric of their clothing, and the intricacies of the props and set design. The film's distinct colour palette is also outstanding, including the inky depths of the pyramid, the yellow LED lights inside the explorers' helmets, the cool fluorescence inside Prometheus, the spatters of blood. (5/5)

AUDIO:

Prometheus’s DTS-HD 7.1 Master Audio lossless track is spectacular, like the video. From start to finish, it delivers room-quaking dynamics, pristine clarity, and polished, realistic, puts-you-right-in-the-middle-of-the-action sound design. From the opening scene on the barren planet Earth we get deep sub-woofer engagement, the lapping, crashing, and bubbling of a massive waterfall, and the thunderous rumble of an alien ship overhead. The sense of all-surrounding immersion puts you right in the middle of the action. The actors' voices, which—besides being well-balanced and easily understood—always reflect the acoustics of their surroundings, flatter aboard the ship, slightly muffled inside their helmets, echoing and wet inside the pyramid. All this is backed up by Marc Streitenfeld's enormous-sounding orchestral score, which alternates between quiet uneasiness and sheer bombast. (5/5)

MOVIE:

A team of scientists travels through the universe on the spaceship "Prometheus" on a voyage to investigate alien life forms. The team of scientists becomes stranded on an Alien world, and as they struggle to survive it becomes clear that the horrors they experience are not just a threat to themselves, but to all of mankind. At the end of the movie, Dr. Elizabeth Shaw and David went to investigate the origin of life and why our Maker changed His mind to destroy mankind. Do I smell a sequel to this prequel coming? After checking some websites, my hunch is correct. Prometheus 2 is in early discussion with return of Noomi Rapace and robot David
(movie 4.5/5)

TRIVIA:

Prometheus has an estimated budget of $130 million, but grossed $302 million worldwide.

Prometheus was originally conceived as a prequel to Ridley Scott's Alien, but Scott announced his decision to turn it into an original film. Some time later it was confirmed that while the movie would take place in the same universe as Alien and greatly reference that movie, it would mostly be an original movie and not a direct prequel.

Director Ridley Scott named the film Prometheus, seeing the name aptly fit the film's themes: "It's the story of creation; the gods and the man who stood against them." In Greek mythology, the Titan Prometheus was a servant of the gods, who stole and gave to mankind the gift of fire, an immeasurable benefit that changed the human race forever (for better AND worse).

Did you know that the androids' names in the Alien films follow an alphabetical pattern: in Alien it's Ash, in Aliens and Alien³ it's Bishop, in Alien: Resurrection it's Call and in this film it's David.

OTHER THOUGHTS:

Being an experienced obstetrician, I thought I was pretty fast in doing a Caesarian section: from skin to skin in 10 minutes. But in this movie, the robot beat me by a whopping 9 minutes. Wow! What more can I say!

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Any movie directed by Ridley Scott or starring Charlize Theron is good enough for me. Our heroine Noomi Rapace (as Dr. Elizabeth Shaw) is also outstanding. Plus, it has top-notched audio/video. It will be grouped next to my Alien Anthology box set. At $24.99, this is of great value. Get it before the price will definitely be going up. Of course, it is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flawed, but well worth seeing for fans of Alien or Sci-Fi, Sept. 23 2012
By 
Steven Aldersley (Oshawa, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I've had the pleasure of seeing Prometheus twice. The first occasion was my first exposure to IMAX/3D and it was easily the best presentation I have ever seen in a theater. That prompted me to share the experience with two UK friends who were in town for my 50th birthday. Yes, I'm old.

The most difficult thing to overcome when reviewing Prometheus is separating the incredible presentation from the story. Should I review the experience, or just the movie itself? I have chosen to comment on both elements.

The opening shots immediately draw you in and establish that you are about to witness something special in terms of presentation. As the camera pans over the surface of a moon, you are part of the experience. As with Avatar, you are transported to a different world. The first shot of the ship is also effective, with the roar of the engines. Kubrick would probably turn over in his grave at the technical error of portraying sound in space, but it does add something for the viewer.

Prometheus is quite ambitious. It does a good job of explaining some of the events that led up to the mission in Alien. We are shown some of the discoveries which prompted the Weyland Corporation to explore deep space. A crew is sent to search for an incredible secret, which I won't reveal here. Unlike other films in the Alien franchise, the presence of an android is explained from the beginning. David (Fassbender) is accepted for what he is without anything being hidden. The one thing that does remain consistent is that the android knows more than he admits. Where did he get that information?

There is more than one alien species present in Prometheus, plus the humans. The story explains the origin of the type of ship discovered in Alien and we experience a small thrill of recognition. Ridley Scott balances new information with previous events in an effective way. I came away feeling like I knew a lot more about this universe, but I didn't feel that the original film had been betrayed in any way.

It took me several viewings over a number of years to raise my rating for Alien to 4.5/5. Perhaps because I know that film so well, Prometheus had more of an immediate impact. However, there is one thing preventing me from rating the film as highly. The character of Fifield (Sean Harris) is a blatant flaw in the film. He's a British geologist with the personality of an idiotic criminal. He's clearly intended to provide comic relief, and I admit that the audience did laugh at his comments during both viewings, but his inclusion felt so out of place. Up until that point, the film had me fully engaged. The story seemed plausible and interesting. Fifield would never have passed any serious attempt at psychological screening by the Weyland Corporation and would never have become part of the crew in any realistic scenario. His inclusion pulled me right out of the movie as soon as he spoke his opening dialogue. His scenes with Millburn (Rafe Spall) were all ludicrous and I'm forced to deduct half a point just because of their presence.

Everything else worked.

I'm not against the idea of humor in a serious movie. Vickers (Theron) and Janek (Idris Elba) did have an amusing exchange which was handled in a far more intelligent manner. Theron played her part well and her icy personality was believable.

The highlight of the film for me was the unexpectedly wonderful performance from Noomi Rapace. I liked her portrayal of Lisbeth Salander in the original Dragon Tattoo trilogy and was pleasantly surprised to see her tackling a role in English. Like Alien, the movie ends with a fight for survival, and Shaw (Rapace) is the equivalent of Ripley. There's one sequence which made me laugh because it was so outlandish, but Rapace played it totally straight and still had me on the edge of my seat and rooting for her. This will upset some people, but I think she was a more effective character than Sigourney Weaver's Ripley. I like both tremendously, so I guess it doesn't matter.

Prometheus delivers in terms of story, action, and special effects, and most of the acting is good. The conclusion left the possibility of a sequel and I wouldn't be sorry to see that happen. It's always tricky when a franchise is continued after a long absence, but Scott really pulled it off. See it in IMAX/3D while you can and buy the Blu-ray when it is eventually released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Taking back fire might backfire. Theatrical release review, Oct. 13 2012
By 
L. Power "nlp trainer" (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Prometheus (Bilingual) [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Blu-ray)
In Greek Mythology Prometheus presumed to steal fire from the gods for the progress of mankind. He was banished, punished and bound for daring to interfere with domain of the gods.

Similarly the author of Frankentein called her book the modern Prometheus, where a scientist presumed to usurp the very process of creation itself, and created a monster using lightning.

In Prometheus the movie scientist Elizabeth Shaw played by Noomi Rapace, and her partner makes a series of scientific discoveries which shows that we were put here by extraterrestrials, and embark on a funded mission to a distant planet to meet these aliens.

While the scientists aims are pure other people on board have mixed agendas. We have a soulless humanoid played by Michael Fassbender, and a ruthless female leader played by Charlize Theron and the mysterious owner of the company.

Director Ridley Scott directed Alien starring Sigourney Weaver, and I think Prometheus will please fans of Alien and win new fans. Like Alien we have a heroic female protagonist played by Noomi Rapace from the Girl with the Dragon tattoo series. Their arrival on the planet sets in motion a series of events with implications beyond the mission.

While it appears to be a dead planet there is mischief on board the craft and danger on the planet itself.

The alien planet is menacing as you expect, (so rarely do we meet friendly aliens), and if there are alien life forms they may not be friendly.

There are several surprises and some well crafted scenes, which were quite originally done, including the duffel bag, and an improvised medical procedure which I found highly intriguing.

One of my favorite lines from the movie: 'We may have gotten off on the wrong foot.'

I love movies with a strong female protagonist, and Noomi Rapace really excels at this type of role. If you have seen the Alien movies, I think you will appreciate that he has given a style of science fiction that he pioneered a fresh and interesting twist. Who can forget that famous scene with John Hurt in the original Alien?

Will Prometheus spawn a sequel? You could argue that it already has. I cannot speak as yet to how it will be on Blu Ray except to say that it was a visually stunning experience in the theater.

I think most people will love and I trust this was helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent addition to the Alien collection., Nov. 2 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I won't bother reviewing the actual movie itself here. Others have done a fine job and there's nothing else I could add to it. This is just a simple praise for the product and packaging.

What you get here is a 4 disc set:

1 3D Blu-ray
1 2D Blu-ray
1 Special Features Blu-ray: It took me 3 nights to get through the exhaustive but captivating documentary and tons of bonus features. It couldn't be any more complete. You even get over 30 different trailers @_@. Excessive but it's all here. My favourite bonus features are Noomi Rapace's screen tests. Not done like other screen tests you've seen.
1 SD DVD with Digital Copy.

And you get all of this for $24.99!!! A friend of mine bought just the DVD the day it came out and paid $19.99. 5 bucks more for this and look at all you get!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars How Long a Wait Will it be for the Conclusion?, Dec 16 2014
By 
ATC123 - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
After being an Aliens fan for years it was great to see another episode in that franchise come out that was both fresh and entertaining. At the end of the original series, it was clear that the scripts/acting were pretty sad. Prometheus combines excellent acting, good special effects and an excellent story-line. I would have given it 5 stars except for the fact that the ending is basically a "cliff-hanger" that is designed to draw us into the next installment in this series rather than being a reasonable conclusion to the movie. The problem I have with this is that the sequel may not be made or it may take years for it to show up. This may be a great way for studio to keep the cash-flow going but it is poor for fans who would like to see the "end" of each movie make it self-contained. This is a movie that does benefit from 3-D and I am glad that I got it in that format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Does not live up to expectations. But, it is still a good sci-fi movie. Great performance by Fassbender., Dec 22 2014
This review is from: Prometheus (Bilingual) [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Blu-ray)
If this were made by any other director, it would qualify as a good sci-fi movie. However, expectations were very high from this Ridley Scott movie. This was supposed to be a comeback sci-fi project for the director of Alien and Blade Runner, two of the most beloved sci-fi movies. Therefore, despite being a decent movie, it disappointed many of his fans. It's like asking M Night Shyamalan to make another Sixth Sense every time he makes a new movie.

So, all that being said, this is an intelligently made movie with many good performances, especially by Fassbender as a humanoid robot. He brings more emotions and intelligence into his roles than the other supposed humans. If not for anything else, watch this movie for Fassbender's critically acclaimed performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meet your makers, Feb. 22 2014
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
"Prometheus" is an ambitious movie -- it wants to answer (in a sci-fi way) the questions that have haunted humanity for eons.

And... it doesn't. This sorta-kinda-maybe prequel to the "Alien" franchise raises a lot of scientific/philosophical questions and never really answers them. But if you can bypass that, it's still a very solid, harrowing sci-fi adventure, with some powerful lead performances and truly brilliant direction by Ridley Scott.

Dr. Elizabeth Shaw (Noomi Rapace) and her partner Charlie Holloway (Logan Marshall-Green) have discovered ancient star maps that may lead to the Engineers, aliens responsible for making the human race. So with the funding of elderly bazillionaire Peter Weyland (Guy Pearce), they set out to a remote moon on board the Prometheus.

Upon landing, the crew finds a vast torc-shaped spaceship, filled with the dead bodies of Engineers. But there is also a bizarre black liquid that ravages anyone who is exposed to it -- and leaves Shaw threatened by a bizarre alien life form. As she discovers the ugly true reason behind the expedition, she also finds that the Engineers are not what she expected...

"Prometheus" can be kind of frustrating -- it has a lot of unanswered questions and dangling plot threads, and eventually it makes you feel like it's the first half of a two-part story. And there's a lot of scientific/philosophical/religious stuff that is lightly touched on, but isn't really handled in an insightful way (although it was nice to see a scientist who is also religious).

But despite those flaws.... "Prometheus" is actually a really enjoyable movie. There's a lot of passion and earnest intensity to this movie, and it was clearly made with a lot of love.

And Ridley Scott's direction is absolutely brilliant -- he interweaves slimy tentacled horror with sleek, shadowy sci-fi, until they are indistinguishable from each other. Everything grows more intense as the black liquid starts mutating the crew members, until the climax explodes into a chaos. Things just spiral more and more out of control, and you never quite know what's going to happen.

You also wouldn't recognize Rapace as the girl with the dragon tattoo here -- she's elfin and luminous, with enormous expressive eyes and a mop of rumpled hair. She handles the role of Shaw beautifully -- a person who is deeply religious but also devoted to science, extremely intellectual but also very strong (particular in the... um, medical procedure scene).

She's also flanked by awesome performances by the icy, rigid Charlize Theron and the pleasant, charming Idris Elba. But the scene-stealer is Fassbender, who plays a charming, elegant android who occasionally shows some flickers of human emotion. At times he seems soulless and cold, but then we see him watching his favorite movie or asking questions about faith.

"Prometheus" is a riveting sci-fi story, albeit a flawed one that never answers most of our questions. Here's hoping "Prometheus 2" is a bit more satisfying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie and the DVD extra's do not disappoint., Dec 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prometheus (Bilingual) [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Blu-ray)
I love this movie. Add Prometheus + Alien + Aliens to your collection for a perfect trilogy of "space terror" from a master of the genre.

However, one of the ways in which Prometheus really shines (and does so unexpectedly, considering what most DVD releases offer you) is in the DVD extras. I can honestly say I found them almost as entertaining as the movie itself. The care and attention given to them is obvious: they were intended to complement and enhance the main story and they do this beautifully, making some very clever observations about our society along the way. View the extras in the context of our current knowledge about space exploration, robotics, bio-engineering, and mass surveillance and you will see what I mean. Ridley Scott seeks not only to entertain us, but to issue a warning as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have 3D bluray set, Oct. 15 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love almost every scene in the movie, except the parts that have to do with Fifield and Millburn. Fassbender deserves an Oscar for his portrayal of DAVID. I consider Prometheus is the best example of how 3D effects work smoothly and harmoniously with the movie storyline. The 3D bluray set comes with 4 discs with 3D version, regular bluray version, dvd version with digital copy, and special features. I basically spent my entire weekend on watching the movie, then the movie with Ridney Scott commentary, and then almost half a day on the special features. Just the Weyland files in special features deserve extra $10 for the set (and Amazon has nicely cut down the price to $24.99).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed. All along the movie I could point out ..., Nov. 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Prometheus (Bilingual) [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Blu-ray)
Very disappointed. All along the movie I could point out mistakes the characters were about to make and forecast the subsequent events etc... I was hoping for better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prometheus (Bilingual) [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy]
CDN$ 21.99 CDN$ 4.47
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews