Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well Done For What It Was
The Peter Parker we find in this film is grittier, more real than one in Sam Raimi's previous trilogy. He's kind of a spaz and he looks it. The kind of guy you could easily imagine geeking out with all his geeky friends, playing World of Warcraft between hits on a bong. Not that there's anything like that in this movie (where's Harry Osborn when you need him?), but you...
Published 12 months ago by Theo

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun Big Screen Entertrainment... yet not too sappy
Unlike the other Spiderman movies, this latest version provides more depth of character to Peter Parker. Seemed slow at first with the character development, background, and family life episodes. However, in retrospect that is what makes this version unique. It also provides a more realistic (far fetched, I know) - view of how this would really play out in real life. That...
Published 7 months ago by Charles Dimov


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well Done For What It Was, April 10 2013
By 
Theo (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man / L'extraordinaire Spider-Man (Bilingual) (DVD)
The Peter Parker we find in this film is grittier, more real than one in Sam Raimi's previous trilogy. He's kind of a spaz and he looks it. The kind of guy you could easily imagine geeking out with all his geeky friends, playing World of Warcraft between hits on a bong. Not that there's anything like that in this movie (where's Harry Osborn when you need him?), but you get the idea. It's this more "real" take on Peter Parker, not quite so perky and preppy as Toby McGuire's version, that's the thing I liked most about this movie.

Other than that, there's not a huge amount to say. Emma Stone's Gwen Stacy is cute but utterly unremarkable, and so too for most of the other performances. Sally Field injects more than we are used to seeing into Aunt May, but that's about it. I'm not entirely sure that Martin Sheen was even trying. For long time spider fans, or even just those who've watched a handful of superhero summer blockbusters, this isn't a film with too many surprises. Or even, dare I say it, any surprises. It's an entertaining extravaganza, but it's not the kind of thing that very many people over the age of 15 will feel the need to see more than once. You may want to bear that in mind when making the decision whether to rent or buy.

It is worth noting that this film is clearly designed to set up a sequel, and more than likely a trilogy. There are questions raised and themes presaged that are then just left hanging within the scope of this individual movie.

The only thing I would say actively went wrong in this film was its attempt to have Spider-Man spout the kind of witty banter he uses when fighting his comic book battles. You may be able to get away with that kind of thing on the printed page. But in this medium the pace of the banter was totally out of sync with the blitzkrieg action of the fighting itself. For this reason it came across as completely forced, and to be frank, as a rather poor and awkward voice-over. Fortunately, although glaringly obvious, this flaw was rather minor and forgivable in the scope of the movie as a whole.

Finally, I might as well make my own prejudices clear. I personally am quite sick of the endless reboots that plague the genre. I think things at least have the potential to get far more interesting when the universe is left running for longer periods. There is at least the chance for writers to move beyond endless recapitulation of the same basic storylines - a form of writing that once again I believe is a plague upon the genre. I know that Bruce Timm's work in the DC Animated Universe was far, far more interesting back when all the shows made up a definite continuity: a true universe with scope and depth and history and a future that the viewers and the writers got to explore together.

What I personally would most love to see are productions that allow for real development and change. That don't require all the principles to be treated as such valuable pieces of intellectual property that they must be preserved forever in aspic. Or perhaps, to go with a more apt analogy, treated like action figures who must never be removed from their packaging because to do so would annihilate their value on the collectables market.

A hopeless dream, I know.

Theo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh what a tangled web we weave, Nov. 5 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Based on The Marvel Comic Book by Stan Lee and Steve Ditko, it was appropriately directed by Mark Webb.

Usually but not always the remakes lack the originality and the following of the first. Well this version very much surpassed any previous versions and the character of Peter Parker (Spidie) is better rounded and his background that made the character is better told. The whole story seems better rounded and consistent with the magazine.

I appreciate the mix of actors some well known to many others well know to followers. Each made their character come alive.

I do not want to go into too much detail as the fun is anticipating the events. There are some of us that do not need to compare not seeing any original movies or magazines. So it is well worth a look.

There are several DVD and down load combinations of this presentation. If you have the opportunity to watch the extras they only add to the experience of the movie. I liked the voiceover commentary with Mark Webb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun Big Screen Entertrainment... yet not too sappy, Sept. 22 2013
By 
Charles Dimov (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man / L'extraordinaire Spider-Man (Bilingual) (DVD)
Unlike the other Spiderman movies, this latest version provides more depth of character to Peter Parker. Seemed slow at first with the character development, background, and family life episodes. However, in retrospect that is what makes this version unique. It also provides a more realistic (far fetched, I know) - view of how this would really play out in real life. That being: Peter Parker would not just suddenly have a SpiderMan suit. He would not suddenly be liked by all. The storyline grew this as an evolution.

Also a nice touch to add that among the first few criminal captures turn out to get bungled (capturing a police insider).

It still had all the Big Screen action, sound and graphics effects you would expect from a Marvel movie. However, it did not completely patronize the audience, by having just the 'bad' guy die... but did have some limited 'good guy' deaths, and some emotional repercussions.

Well done. Likeable movie. Great Friday night viewing with a good high quality surround sound system.
Don't expect too much artistic depth... but definitely an improvement for Hollywood and an enjoyable action movie all-around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, Jan. 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Just like its title. this movie will not fail to impress. Its has great action scenes and a great story line
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars As advertised, March 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Nothing much to say except it's as advertised. Gave the toy to my son who played with it for a few minutes. Movie is so so but good special effects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Buy, Feb. 26 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Got it as a lightning deal for $10. Statue alone is worth the 10 dollars. Good quality, and a great movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "You seriously think I'm a cop? Cop in a skin-tight red and blue suit?", Feb. 23 2014
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: The Amazing Spider-Man / L'extraordinaire Spider-Man (Bilingual) (DVD)
There was a lot of automatic backlash when it was announced that after three Sam Raimi movies, the franchise was being completely rebooted.

But to be honest, "The Amazing Spider-Man" is a pretty solid reboot -- while not as necessary as the "Incredible Hulk" reboot was, it's a thoroughly solid little superhero movie that is pretty enjoyable when seen just for itself. It's gritty and has some dark moments, but it also has a lot of wisecracking wit and a new Spiderman who fits the bill perfectly.

Peter Parker was left with his Aunt May (Sally Field) and Uncle Ben (Martin Sheen), while his parents fled for parts unknown. Then they were killed in a plane crash.

Years later, Peter (Andrew Garfield) finds a battered briefcase with a bunch of his father's old papers. Wanting to find out more about his dad's research, he sneaks into Oscorp Tower to find his father's old buddy, Dr. Connors (Rhys Ifans). But while he's there, he accidentally wanders into a room of glowing spiders -- and one of them bites him. Within hours, he's gained super-strength, amazing reflexes, and the ability to cling to any surface he touches.

But then Uncle Ben is murdered after a squabble with his nephew, and a distraught Peter begins hunting down all criminals who resemble the killer. He even creates a "luge" costume and mask to hide his identity. At the same time, Dr. Connors puts his research to work -- and becomes a monstrous reptilian creature determined to make all the people in the city like him...

First, a warning: "The Amazing Spider-Man" is not really the same story as Sam Raimi's "Spiderman" -- the basic bitten-by-radioactive-spider thing is the same, but the circumstances, plot and villain are all vastly different. Even the love interest is vastly different. Mary Jane is nowhere to be seen in this story; it's all about Gwen Stacy.

And the simplicity of having the Lizard as a villain allows more time to explore the "early days" of Spiderman. We get to see how Peter practices swinging around in an abandoned warehouse, the origin of his mask and his "luge" suit, how he built his webshooters, and even his webslinging goes from awkward and panicked to downright polished by the end.

And the writing is pretty entertaining -- lots of web-slinging action, some nice romantic tension with Gwen (and plain ol' tension with her father), and some good fight scenes. But there's also lots of funny stuff as well -- Peter gets in a lot of wisecracks ("Nobody seems to grasp the point of the mask!") and scenarios (Stan Lee's cameo).

The biggest problem is a scene -- complete with inspiring music -- where ALL the construction workers help a wounded Spiderman by lining cranes up for him. The cheese in that scene is so thick, it smells of Camembert.

It also has some lovely characterization on all fronts. Andrew Garfield is wonderful as Peter -- he looks geeky and weedy, but still with the wiry look of a fighter and the sensibilities of a teen boy ("CROOOOTTCH!"). And he plays some of the more comedic scenes with just the right amount of humor (such as when Peter ACCIDENTALLY beats up a bunch of thugs on a subway).

The rest of the cast is also quite good -- Ifans plays Connors as a tragic man obsessed with his lost arm, and driven half to madness by the serum. He's a totally plausible villain, yet there are moments where you pity him. And they flesh out all the supporting characters nicely, from Chief Stacy (who becomes overly obsessed with catching Spiderman to the exclusion of, oh, I dunno... THE GIANT KILLER LIZARD) to Flash, a bully who begins to change his ways when Peter shows him up.

"The Amazing Spider-Man" is a solid reimagining of the Spiderman origin story -- it's gritty, solid, and shows a believable transition into superherodom. On to the second movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rating for this product (not the mediocre film), Feb. 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The statue of spidery could have had a better pose -looks like it was designed only to fit in the box of this size. Includes everything but a Digital Copy, unfortunate considering the price premium. Otherwise, great product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, Jan. 31 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Was delivered intact and on time. The figurine was just as advertised no suprises there. The 3D is not as good as The Avengers tho but thats my opinion :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice to have, Jan. 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've bought it with good price. Looks cool at the first sight. It even include a small Spider-Man statue. Overall is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb72f1bb8)

This product

The Amazing Spider-Man / L'extraordinaire Spider-Man (Bilingual)
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 14.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews