Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Classics relived again.
Published 1 month ago by Hubert Szewczyk

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Bargain For $20 But Could Be Better
I picked this up on Amazon for just under $20. If I didn't already own the previous Looney Tunes Golden Collections, I'd say it's a great bargain for that price and a worthwhile purchase. However, I see no noticeable improvement in picture quality in going from DVD to BluRay, at least not for the vast majority of cartoons.

The real reason for buying the BluRay...
Published 2 months ago by From the Musician's Pen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Looney Tunes Platinum Collection: Volume Two [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Classics relived again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Bargain For $20 But Could Be Better, June 12 2014
By 
From the Musician's Pen (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Looney Tunes Platinum Collection: Volume Two [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I picked this up on Amazon for just under $20. If I didn't already own the previous Looney Tunes Golden Collections, I'd say it's a great bargain for that price and a worthwhile purchase. However, I see no noticeable improvement in picture quality in going from DVD to BluRay, at least not for the vast majority of cartoons.

The real reason for buying the BluRay over the DVD is the added 3rd disc with lots of bonus (again, mostly previously released stuff) and the extra Tex Avery cartoons. Looney Tunes fans have long wanted a proper release of Tex Avery cartoons, but here it's a mixed blessing because these were not remastered and do not look as good as the other cartoons. Also, if you've already got the previous collections, there are only about 10 "new to DVD" cartoons here.

The Golden Collections had 60 cartoons per set and lots of bonus features. These Platinum sets have only 50 cartoons each but are priced lower. However, most of the cartoons were already released and few are new to collectors which makes it hard to justify the cost. A new, third Platinum Collection is due out soon... from what I've read on-line so far, it doesn't seem worth buying as it has hardly any new to DVD cartoons. Again, if you don't already own the Golden Collections, these platinum BluRay collections are good when you find them on sale, otherwise wait for the sale.

Cheers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what's up doc, July 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Looney Tunes Platinum Collection: Volume Two [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
another excellent collection of saturday morning fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Extremely disappointed, Oct. 17 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Looney Tunes Platinum Collection: Volume Two [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I ordered this item because of the Tex Avery MGM cartoons included in it. Wow! "Red Hot Riding Hood," "Swingshift Cinderella" et al on Blu-ray! Sharp, brilliant high definition! Imagine my disappointment when the product arrived, I loaded up the disc containing said MGM Avery treasures, and it looked like I was watching them on VHS. Thanks for making it clear, Product Information, that these Avery cartoons are in "standard definition" (though they look even worse, with those intermittent comb-like parallel black lines that appear occasionally in the image in certain digital videos). My excitement face-planted to disappointment just like that.

Caveat emptor... suckers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best cartoons in Blu Ray!, March 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Looney Tunes Platinum Collection: Volume Two [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Wacthing these cartoons on a 72" screen, fully restored in Blu ray is a real threat, the picture is nice and clean, the colors are vibrants. There is a lot of cartoons that I never saw on TV before, and I'm also too young to have seing them at the Cinema. This set is Fun to wacht, because of those unseen cartoons that are like new for us!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Aug. 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Parfait en tout point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, April 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Looney Tunes Platinum Collection: Volume Two [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
There are a TON of toons on this Platinum Vol 2 col. but I found the majority to be kind of boring, I mean how many different ways can Elmer Fudd try and get bugs bunny? After the 3rd episode of that time I was bored to death. This set is good in the way that it has a lot of rare older shorts that have been restored and lots of interviews with the makers of these (but then you get the unknown/super articulate nerdy guys who sit and dissect every ounce of it for an hour like it's the second coming) . If you are into that stuff it's a great set but after seeing it all once I think I've had my fill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cartoons, March 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Looney Tunes Platinum Collection: Volume Two [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I really loved this package. Fond memories from when I was little. My great nephew loves bugs bunny and the looney tune characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, Nov. 21 2012
By 
Eli Farfan (Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Looney Tunes Platinum Collection: Volume Two [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
we want all of them!!!!!, all Looney Tunes Show on blu ray yes, yes, yes on HD, they luke really good!!!!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Item arrived with a partly broken case, disc not in place, Dec 6 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Looney Tunes Platinum Collection: Volume Two [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Though the item arrived new and unopened, there were pieces of the case broken on the inside and one disc was dislodged from its holster. This would have been due to poor shipping and handling of the item. Thankfully no scratches or other damage was evident once I opened the item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Looney Tunes Platinum Collection: Volume Two [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 43.98 CDN$ 18.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews