Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ice Age Continental Drift (2D blu ray)…top-notched video/audio and a heart-warming story = fun for all in the family!
VIDEO (2D):

Ice Age 4: Continental Drift (2D) arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 2.40:1 encode. I personally prefer 2.40:1 because with my anamorphic lens, the video filled up my entire 12 foot wide screen with no black bars. This transfer is immaculate, with sharp images, and highly dimensional even without 3D glasses. Just look at the finely textured...
Published 21 months ago by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good thing for Scrat!
They may have taken this series too far. It's good that they have Scrat to entertain us!
Published 1 month ago by Vid Junkie Bill


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ice Age Continental Drift (2D blu ray)…top-notched video/audio and a heart-warming story = fun for all in the family!, Dec 13 2012
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
VIDEO (2D):

Ice Age 4: Continental Drift (2D) arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 2.40:1 encode. I personally prefer 2.40:1 because with my anamorphic lens, the video filled up my entire 12 foot wide screen with no black bars. This transfer is immaculate, with sharp images, and highly dimensional even without 3D glasses. Just look at the finely textured ruffles of Manny's fur, the mossy yellow patina of Gutt's gross-out teeth, the sheen of the ice and the ripples of water — everything is wonderfully realized, with consistent clarity and presence. Colour is immaculately conceived as well — from the punchy foliage greens and sky blues to the fleshy interior of a whale's mouth — and contrast is tight, balancing deep shadows and crisp highlights. (5/5)

AUDIO:

Ice Age 4: Continental Shift 2D comes with DTS-HD Master Audio 7.1 lossless track. The audio is an immersive energetic mix. The sonic goodness starts early—the deep rumbling of the earth's crust, rocks compressing and shattering, water spraying, bubbles glug-glugging up out of the depths — and relents only for the quieter, dialogue-centric scenes. The onscreen hijinks and danger are complemented by a huge-sounding orchestral score by Hans Zimmer protege John Powell — composer for the Bourne series — who borrows and bastardizes Beethoven's 9th Symphony to surprisingly decent effect. The voice acting throughout is clear and expressive, balanced perfectly among the numerous other noises. The choices of Ray Romano, Ally Romano, John Leguizamo, Denis Leary, Jennifer Lopez and Queen Latifah as voice for Manny, Meghan, Sid, Diego, Shira, and Ellie, are simply priceless. Did you recognize the voice of Steffie as that of Nicki Minaj? (4.5/5)

TRIVIA:

Ice Age 4 Continental Drift has an estimated budget of $92 million, but grossed an amazing $877 million worldwide, right behind its predecessor Ice Age Dawn Of The Dinosaurs at $890 million. They are ranked just behind the top grossing animated feature Toy Story 3 ($1,062 million) and The Lion King ($951 million). Ice Age franchise has really made many surprising millions for 20th Century Fox. Amazing feat indeed!

PACKAGING:

The 2D combo set consists of 2 discs: 1 2D blu ray disc, and 1 DVD with Digital Copy.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Ice Age 4 Continental Drift has a heart-warming story with interesting characters that will keep both adults and kids entertained. The 3D version is well done, with some special out-of-the-screen effects that will please all. If you don’t have a 3D TV, the 2D version has equally impressive video, along with the fun soundtrack with all the familiar voices of characters result in a fun journey for all. With the 4 Ice Age movies, this franchise has made an impressive $2,797 million for 20th Century Fox on box office returns, not counting merchandise and blu ray/DVDs. Would Ice Age 5 be far behind? This set is highly recommended for all – young and old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ice Age Continental Drift (3D/2D blu ray)…top-notched video/audio and a heart-warming story = fun for all in the family!, Dec 12 2012
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
VIDEO (2D):

Ice Age 4: Continental Drift (2D) arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 2.40:1 encode. I personally prefer 2.40:1 because with my anamorphic lens, the video filled up my entire 12 foot wide screen with no black bars. This transfer is immaculate, with sharp images, and highly dimensional even without 3D glasses. Just look at the finely textured ruffles of Manny's fur, the mossy yellow patina of Gutt's gross-out teeth, the sheen of the ice and the ripples of water — everything is wonderfully realized, with consistent clarity and presence. Colour is immaculately conceived as well — from the punchy foliage greens and sky blues to the fleshy interior of a whale's mouth — and contrast is tight, balancing deep shadows and crisp highlights. (5/5)

VIDEO (3D):

Ice Age 4: Continental Drift (3D) arrives at blu ray with MVC @ 33 mbps encode. The image is just as impressive. The picture is immersive, making great use of both depth and projection. There are a few pop-out-and-jab-you-in-the-eye moments — with fish-bone swords darting out of the screen or Gutt's long face looming towards us — but these feel more integrated than gimmicky. Clarity holds up remarkably well. Colours are just as vibrant, maybe just slightly dimmer when one compares with the 2D version. (5/5)

AUDIO:

Both 3D and 2D versions have the same DTS-HD Master Audio 7.1 lossless track. The audio is an immersive energetic mix. The sonic goodness starts early — the deep rumbling of the earth's crust, rocks compressing and shattering, water spraying, bubbles glug-glugging up out of the depths — and relents only for the quieter, dialogue-centric scenes. The onscreen hijinks and danger are complemented by a huge-sounding orchestral score by Hans Zimmer protege John Powell — composer for the Bourne series — who borrows and bastardizes Beethoven's 9th Symphony to surprisingly decent effect. The voice acting throughout is clear and expressive, balanced perfectly among the numerous other noises. The choices of Ray Romano, Ally Romano, John Leguizamo, Denis Leary, Jennifer Lopez and Queen Latifah as voices for Manny, Meghan, Sid, Diego, Shira, and Ellie, are simply priceless. Did you recognize the voice of Steffie as that of Nicki Minaj? (4.5/5)

TRIVIA:

Ice Age 4 Continental Drift has an estimated budget of $92 million, but grossed an amazing $877 million worldwide, right behind its predecessor Ice Age Dawn Of The Dinosaurs at $890 million. They are ranked just behind the top grossing animated feature Toy Story 3 ($1,062 million) and The Lion King ($951 million). Ice Age franchise has really made many surprising millions for 20th Century Fox. Amazing feat indeed!

PACKAGING:

The 3D set consists of 3 discs: 1 3D blu ray disc, 1 2D blu ray disc, and 1 DVD with Digital Copy.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Ice Age 4 Continental Drift has a heart-warming story with interesting characters that will keep both adults and kids entertained. The 3D version is well done, with some special out-of-the-screen effects that will please all. If you don’t have a 3D TV, the 2D version has equally impressive video, along with the fun soundtrack with all the familiar voices of characters result in a fun journey for all. With the 4 Ice Age movies, this Ice Age franchise has made an impressive $2,797 million for 20th Century Fox on box office returns, not counting merchandise and blu ray/DVDs. Would Ice Age 5 be far behind? This set is highly recommended for all – young and old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ice Age: Continental Drift, Jan. 9 2013
By 
Duchess "Duchess" (Edmonton, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ice Age: Continental Drift (Bilingual) (DVD)
We ordered this because we liked the other movies of this series. We have watched it at least twice since we bought it and both times have enjoyed it. We have now another fun animated movie for our DVD library, but I wouldn't recommend buying it unless it's about $17 because we think that NO movie is worth paying much more than that. If you liked the first couple of this series, you might like this one too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sequel is Stellar, Jan. 5 2013
This review is from: Ice Age: Continental Drift (Bilingual) (DVD)
This film is the exception to the rule that sequels fail.

There is an engaging story against an improbable backdrop of continental drift and roving pirates. The characters, hilariously anthropomorphized, are worth our caring. Familiar characters take on novel problems except in one case (our favorite squirrel still is seeking the perfect acorn). New characters, especially the pirates, headed by an orangutan captain, _are_ the problems.

Ray Romano, Denis Leary, Queen Latifah, Patrick Stewart, and Peter Dinklage are lead voices.

Co-director Mike Thurmeier worked on some of the earlier Ice Age films.

Having said all that, I think I'll watch it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As advertised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good, April 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ice Age: Continental Drift (Bilingual) (DVD)
Cute and funny movie. Predicable, but with a great new character - Sid's granny.
I have only seen this movie and the original Ice Age in this series, but plan to watch the rest soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!!, April 13 2014
By 
Kevan Yuck - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
We really love this movie. The kids really over it and it is very entertaining!! I would purchase again for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Film, Feb. 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This has been watched over times over one year time, kids love it. Good value to keep it. I recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great movie for the kids, Jan. 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ice Age: Continental Drift (Bilingual) (DVD)
This movie was really good. It was funny and very entertaining. Not as good as the first or second movie but it was good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Kid's Film..., Jan. 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very enjoyable. Love the characters and the 3D is excellent. It's hard to do bad 3D with computer animation. Sid and Scrat make the film, like the rest in the series. I enjoy them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ice Age: Continental Drift (Bilingual)
Ice Age: Continental Drift (Bilingual) by Michael Thurmeier (DVD - 2012)
CDN$ 16.98 CDN$ 9.51
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews