Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The harrowing adventures of a red haired heroine
If you're like me you may not watch many animated movies yet you may love animated love movies such as the beautiful art of the The Secret World of Arrietty [Blu-ray + DVD]from Studio Ghibli, or be impressed by Madagascar 3 from Dreamworks. If so, I think you will probably love Brave.

Brave continues Pixar's amazing run becoming the studios 13th movie in a...
Published on June 25 2012 by L. Power

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Pixar ode to feminism and personal freedom
It feels as though Pixar's recent movies (ever since Disney bought them, that is) are not as fulfilling as they once were.

The movie centers around a young woman whose parents arranged for her to be married to someone she doesn't even know or likes. Deciding to compete against all odds, she "fights" for her own hand, claiming her own freedom to choose. Sure,...
Published 8 months ago by Simon Bergeron


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The harrowing adventures of a red haired heroine, June 25 2012
By 
L. Power "nlp trainer" (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
If you're like me you may not watch many animated movies yet you may love animated love movies such as the beautiful art of the The Secret World of Arrietty [Blu-ray + DVD]from Studio Ghibli, or be impressed by Madagascar 3 from Dreamworks. If so, I think you will probably love Brave.

Brave continues Pixar's amazing run becoming the studios 13th movie in a row to open number one at the US Box Office, with a highly impressive $66.7 million opening weekend.

A young redheaded princess named Merida, with a fiery sense of independence, the princess rebels against her princess training. When the queen attempts to marry her off, Merida can barely bear it, takes matters into her own hands, and challenges her suitors in an archery competition, setting events in motion that will change everyone's life.

We have a mysterious woman in the forest who may or may not be a wi..., I mean a woodcarver, and a bad bear. We also have her mischievous brothers. All of them are a bit wild, and Merida is a bit of a tomboy.

The distinctive voice of Billy Connolly voices the overly muscled King, with Emma Thompson playing the svelte queen, other well known actors such as Robbie Coltrane (Cracker) and Craig Ferguson voice the other parts, Julie Walters voices the witch and newcomer Kelly MacDonald does an excellent job voicing Merida.

Setting the tale in Scotland I think adds to it and offers unique opportunities for humor, and developing Merida as a personality who is independent makes her somewhat admirable, rather than the standard depiction of a beautiful princess, which lets face it, is somewhat cliche at this point. I do not usually go to see a Pixar movie unless the premise grabs me, and this one did.

Some people say the movie might be scary for young children, but I think children do need to experience the whole range of emotions, and I personally did not find it scary. I did find it humorous.

I think most people will love it, and I hope this was helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More action than most Pixar titles, but still has a little magic, July 2 2012
By 
Steven Aldersley (Oshawa, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Pixar has produced some of the best animated films ever made, and even the worst offerings are better than the work of most rival studios. However, after seeing trailers for Brave, I found myself wondering whether it would live up to my expectations. People running into walls or being hit in the groin are usually there to get a few cheap laughs and I expect more from a Pixar movie.

I shouldn't have worried.

Brave is aimed at a younger audience than Pixar's best work like Ratatouille and Up. Although it does contain deeper themes, such as conflict between mother and daughter, and dealing with society's expectations, the story is easy to follow. There were quite a few small children present in the theater when I saw the movie and I could hear them laughing and curiously asking questions about the characters. It also worked for me, and I'm by no means a small child.

A few of the action scenes and some of the scenes set in the dark forest might worry very young children, but I don't think there's anything frightening enough to stop anyone seeing Brave.

Those who were complaining that Pixar hasn't featured a female protagonist finally have a reason to celebrate; Merida (Macdonald) is featured heavily throughout, and she's a princess, although not in the traditional Disney style. You will hear a couple of songs, and there is a witch in the story, but Brave is not simply rehashing the formula exhausted in Snow White, Sleeping Beauty and Cinderella. Instead, Merida is like a tougher version of Rapunzel from Tangled.

Brave is a coming-of-age tale set in ancient Scotland. The main clan-leaders all have sons, and Merida is expected to marry one of them. Unfortunately, she doesn't feel ready for marriage and wants time to discover how she feels about adult pursuits. All she really wants to do is enjoy her childhood, ride her horse, and practice her archery. This is essentially a story about a girl trying to change her fate.

Some of the supporting characters are funny. Her potential suitors are an interesting bunch of misfits, and they supply a few laughs early in the story. Merida's three younger brothers appear regularly and are used in very inventive ways.

Be prepared to hear Scottish accents throughout the movie. It reminded me somewhat of How to Train Your Dragon in that respect. I didn't find myself rooting for Merida as strongly as I rooted for Remy in Ratatouille because the outcome never really felt in doubt. Although Merida faces considerable peril, I never suspected that things would end badly.

The voice acting was particularly good. Merida's father (Connolly) stole a lot of scenes and was the source of much of the humor. Kelly Macdonald did well as Merida and kept her likable, even though some of her actions were misguided. I also noticed how effective Patrick Doyle's score was. Unlike most Pixar movies, Brave is full of action, and the music enhanced those sequences considerably.

The opening five minutes provided some of the strongest scenes in the movie as we were able to see Merida as a small girl and the relationship she had with her parents. Other magical moments included her encounter with will o' the wisps in the forest. Both of these elements reminded me of Studio Ghibli works, but Brave couldn't maintain that high standard for the whole movie.

What we are left with is an enjoyable 90 minutes with plenty of laughs. There's less substance than that found in the best Pixar movies, but it's still a worthy addition and I will buy the Blu-ray when it is released. The overall look of the animation does match Pixar's excellent standards and it's hard to imagine it looking any better. Be prepared for a few cheap laughs, but don't miss it in theaters. I saw the 3D version and I don't think it added anything to the experience, so stick to the 2D version if you want to save a few bucks.

I was pleasantly surprised by the full movie after being disappointed by the rather formulaic trailers. I should also mention that La Luna, the latest short from Pixar, airs immediately before Brave. That's well worth your time too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Pixar ode to feminism and personal freedom, Dec 29 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It feels as though Pixar's recent movies (ever since Disney bought them, that is) are not as fulfilling as they once were.

The movie centers around a young woman whose parents arranged for her to be married to someone she doesn't even know or likes. Deciding to compete against all odds, she "fights" for her own hand, claiming her own freedom to choose. Sure, the plot is predictable, most of the humorous situations are really funny, but there's something that feels 1990s in this. The feminist message feels old, a few steps backwards, in fact. All this negativism said, the positive outweighs its counterparts with quirky dialogs, stunning animation and wonderful characters. This feels like "How to train your Dragon" without the dragons... as if Pixar and Dreaworks were entered into a personal war to upstage the other, and if you ever thought that, you may not be too wrong.

I remember a time when Toy Story was a surprise for kids and adults alike, all up until Toy Story 3 back in 2010. Since then, well, let's say the visual quality is as beautiful as ever, with many interesting characters and all, but ("Brave" included) there's a part of a soul that's missing, something that made Monsters, Inc., The Incredibles, Wall-e, Finding Nemo, Ratatouille and more to be so cherished and watchable over and over again.

The second disc, hosting most of the special features, doesn't contain a lot. It looks like a lot, but there's a lot left to be desired. Almost no one from the voice acting is interviewed, and it focuses majorly on the technical feats achieved by the Pixar gang. Don't get me wrong, I love knowing about the technical aspect of things, but having so few meaningful featurettes makes me wish we were back in the old days when special features covered almost the entire production and didn't need to be too long to justify a second disc.

"Brave" is entertaining, good fun, but is riddled with something Disney-esque, which doesn't help the movie feel entirely "Pixar"'s own project. If that is the case, I wish Disney would leave them create alone without having a word to say in the future. It's starting to hurt the quality and it's been years I haven't watched a Pixar movie in the theatres... 5 years to be exact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRAVE [2012] [3D Blu-ray + 2D Blu-ray + Bonus Blu-ray] [UK Release], Aug. 19 2014
By 
Andrew C. Miller - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
BRAVE [2012] [3D Blu-ray + 2D Blu-ray + Bonus Blu-ray] [UK Release] A TRUIMPH OF ANIMATION!

PIXAR Animation Studios, the creator of ‘Toy Story 3,’ whisks you away on an astonishing adventure to an ancient land full of mystery and tradition. Bursting with heart, unforgettable characters and Pixar’s signature humour.

Take a heroic journey with Merida, a skilled archer and headstrong daughter of King Fergus and Queen Elinor. Determined to carve her own path in life, Merida defies an age-old custom sacred to the unruly and uproarious lords of the land. When Merida’s actions inadvertently unleash chaos in the kingdom, she must harness all of her skills and resources – including her clever and mischievous triplet brothers – to undo a beastly curse before it’s too late, and discover the meaning of true bravery. It’s legendary on a PIXAR/Disney Blu-ray with never-before-seen bonus features!

FILM FACT: ‘Brave’ is the seventh PIXAR film to be an Oscar winner for Best Animated Feature at 85th annual 2013 Academy Awards®. It also won Animated Feature Film for Mark Andrews and Brenda Chapman. It also followed success at the Baftas and Golden Globes.

Voice Cast: Kelly Macdonald, Billy Connolly, Emma Thompson, Julie Walters, Robbie Coltrane, Kevin McKidd, Craig Ferguson, Sally Kinghorn, Eilidh Fraser, Peigi Barker, Steven Cree, Steve Purcell, Callum O'Neill, Patrick Doyle and John Ratzenberger

Directors: Brenda Chapman and Mark Andrews

Producers: Andrew Stanton, John Lasseter, Katherine Sarafian, Mary Alice Drumm and Pete Docter

Screenplay: Brenda Chapman, Irene Mecchi, Mark Andrews and Steve Purcell

Composer: Patrick Doyle

Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 2.39:1

Audio: English: 7.1 Dolby TrueHD, English: 7.1 Dolby Digital Plus, English: 5.1 Dolby TrueHD, French: 5.1 Dolby Digital, English: 2.0 Dolby Digital, French: 2.0 Dolby Digital, Portuguese: 2.0 Dolby Digital, Russian: 2.0 Dolby Digital, Castilian Spanish: 2.0 Dolby Digital, Catalan Spanish: 2.0 Dolby Digital, Ukrainian: 2.0 Dolby Digital, Kazakh: 2.0 Dolby Digital, and English: Audio Described English

Subtitles: English, English SDH, French, Portuguese, Russian, Castilian, Spanish and Ukrainian

Running Time: 93 minutes

Region: All Regions

Number of discs: 3

Studio: PIXAR / Walt Disney Home Entertainment

Andrew’s Blu-ray Review – Chafing under the domination of her mother Queen Elinor [Emma Thompson], Princess Merida [Kelly Macdonald] isn’t interested in being groomed for the throne and is definitely not ready to be betrothed to one of a trio of grisly young men from three other Scottish clans. So, she happens on a witch [Julie Walters] in the forest who offers her a spell-ridden cake for her mother which Merida hopes will change her mother’s point of view about her daughter’s future. But as is often the case with magic, what appears fool proof on the surface goes awry as one bite of the cake turns her mother into a bear. With the fearsome bear Mor’du having bitten off her father’s [Billy Connolly] leg as a young man, Merida knows bears aren’t popular around the castle, so she hastens to get her mother away from the clans and hopes she can find the witch to reverse the spell. When that fails, Merida and her mother find their bond becomes stronger in their common search for an answer to her dilemma, but time is running out to change her mother back as the spell becomes permanent after two days.

The story flows smoothly as we watch Merida grow from a young girl to a young woman becoming a proficient archer along the way. Even with the setting of 13th century Scotland, much about the dynamics between the parents and children in the movie have a distinctly modern ring to them, and Merida’s recalcitrance at being forced into something she’s not emotionally ready to undertake with no possibility of stating her own case will be easy to identify with for almost any audience (Merida’s showdown with her three suitors in an archery tournament is one of the film’s high points). While the writers get a bit too cute with the Witch’s personality in her two sequences, she’s undeniably entertaining if a bit too modern to fit comfortably among these rustic warriors of old. The film’s production design, however, is simply jaw dropping as Scotland comes alive in these majestic, detailed CGI renderings, and the directors use their ravishing settings to stage a number of memorable sequences. The highlight of the film remains a bucolic sequence when Elinor as Mum-bear learns to forage for food in a stream where gorgeous animation provides both tender moments and slapstick comedy in the best PIXAR tradition.

Kelly Macdonald is full of feisty sass and plenty of pluck as Merida, and her Scottish brogue (as is the case with the other Scottish actors hired for the film) is never too thick to prevent understanding of what she’s saying. Emma Thompson has a noble carriage and the gentle art of diplomacy as Elinor while Billy Connolly’s braying; clumsy Fergus is always a treat. The three Scottish clan leaders putting their sons up for selection are played in the expected extroverted manner by Robbie Coltrane, Kevin McKidd, and Craig Ferguson. Julie Walters has all kinds of fun with the eccentric witch who moonlights as a wood carver, bears a specialty.

The animation is, of course, spectacular, with meticulous attention paid to the smallest of details. The performances are fine, too, infused with enough enthusiasm and warmth to make the characters as dimensional as the images they populate. And after a couple of sequels (there's that Disney influence once again), it's nice to see PIXAR return to an original story that transports us to a foreign setting and simpler time, and give young girls a spunky role model they can learn from and emulate.

At 93 minutes, 'Brave' is one of PIXAR's shorter films, but despite its efficient storytelling, it still possesses a fair amount of depth. Though the characters it depicts may reside on a rarefied plane, the issues they confront are universal and timeless, and the ultimate message emphasizing the strong bonds of family, however trite, is presented in a poignant and effective manner. 'Brave' may not be as bold as its title, but it's a solid PIXAR effort, celebrating not just girl power, but the power of understanding and mutual respect.

Blu-ray Video Quality – The film’s theatrical widescreen aspect ratio of 2.39:1 is faithfully rendered in this awesome 1080p encoded image. Whether in 2D or 3D, the images are breathtakingly beautiful. The details in hair, clothes, a tapestry (where you can see individual strands), trees, moss, stone, and other objects just defy description. Colours are bold and deeply saturated with Merida’s red, red hair coming close to but never quite blooming. Black levels are rich and deep, and the image is as perfect as one should expect. The film has been divided into 37 chapters.

As with most PIXAR 3D films, outward projections are not of primary importance to the animators though there are arrow tips and hands that reach beyond the frame for split seconds. But the sense of depth in the image is often quite staggering, and the 3D version of the film is much more interesting visually with its complex placement of people, animals, and objects within their environments which 3D exploits to the maximum.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – The 7.1 Dolby TrueHD sound mix is a miracle of audio design with split sound effects occupying the fronts and rears at an almost constant pace. There are pans across and through the sound field, and the rear back channels are used to make smooth transitions for sounds at the rear of the field. Patrick Doyle’s music and the Gaelic ballads of Julie Fowlis get remarkably fluid renderings in the fronts and rears aiding immeasurably in establishing the time and place of the action. Dialogue has been beautifully recorded and has been placed in the centre channel.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

Audio Commentary: Director Mark Andrews, co-director Steve Purcell, Editor Nick Smith, and story supervisor Brian Larsen sit down for a lively commentary that allows us to see inside the creative minds of the filmmakers. From an abandoned alternate opening and a homage to 'The Sound of Music' to character insights and scene analyses, the quartet shares a wealth of interesting information in an easy-going, accessible style. They talk about, among other things, adding fresh elements to stereotypical figures, such as princesses and witches, various concepts that never materialised, balancing comedy and dramatic intensity, managing the movie's pace, and the incredible amount of trial and error that go into making an animated film. Kids may find the discussion a bit dull, but adults, especially animation fans, will find this commentary a worthwhile time investment.

Pixar Short Film: La Luna [HD] [7:00] This whimsical, magical tale of a young boy who climbs up to the moon with his father and grandpa exudes a subtle sense of wonder and is filled with beautiful imagery.

Behind-the-Scenes [HD] [50:00] Eight behind-the-scenes documentaries are available on the feature film disc. "’Brave Old World’ follows the Pixar team on a research trip to Scotland. ‘Merida & Elinor’ digs into the lead female characters with the voice cast, designers and animators. "Bears" should be even more self-explanatory to those who've seen the film. ‘Brawl in the Hall’ looks at the development and animation of the comedic clash of the clans. ‘Wonder Moss’ delves into the complex mathematical creation of the movie's background moss, something most people will take for granted. ‘Magic’ dissects Brave's fairy tale roots and magical elements. ‘Clan Pixar’ introduces the artists and animators, touching on their daunting task and intense efforts. And ‘Once Upon a Scene’ offers a glimpse into various versions of Brave's opening, key scenes and story.

Fergus & Mor’du: An Alternate Opening [HD] [7:00] A cautionary fable about the pitfalls of jealousy, ambition, and forsaking one's family, this dark tale ties nicely into the plot and themes of 'Brave' as it charts the development of the movie's scariest villain.

Documentary: Fallen Warriors [HD] [2:00] This montage of deleted shots and snippets celebrates the hard work that goes into even the tiniest sequences in an animated film.

Documentary: Dirty Hairy People [HD] [4:00] This piece shows how the animators stayed true to the movie's time period with regard to personal hygiene and appearance. Rotted teeth, unkempt hair, and sullied clothing are a few of the challenges they faced in composing their subjects.

Documentary: It is English . . . Sort of [HD] [4:00] This documentary showcases the numerous Scottish actors who lent their voice talents to 'Brave,' and examines the various dialects they employ, as well as some of the foreign Scottish words and phrases sprinkled throughout the film.

Documentary: Angus [HD] [3:00] Animating a Clydesdale horse wasn't easy, and here we learn about the particulars of hair, movement, and body language - all vital components of Merida's horse that needed to be subtly but accurately conveyed to the audience.

Documentary: The Tapestry [HD] [4:00] This piece shows us what went into animating this critical element of the 'Brave' story that symbolises family unity and structure. Achieving the proper texture and movement of this object required a surprising amount of research and various trials.

Documentary: Promotional Pieces [HD] [15:00] A collection of five fun promos and three trailers from the U.S.A, Japan, and Great Britain that comprise this section. ‘Feast Your Eyes’ [4:00] is a clever, amusing, and visually dazzling sampler of 'Brave' characters and personalities; ‘Relics’ [1:00] introduces us to the lovable, bumbling, comedic trio that comes to court; ‘Clan Dun Broch’ [1:00] introduces us to Merida's family via a vigorous swordfight with her dad; ‘Launch’ [0:30] shows us Merida's archery skills and the mischievous nature of her brothers; and ‘Flying Guts Theatre’ [1:00] gives us the backstory of the courtship of Elinor and Fergus as acted out by their three boys.

Art Gallery [HD] More than 470 images are spread across five galleries under the headings Characters (178 images), Colour Keys (95 images), Development Art (96 images), Environments (65 images), and Graphics (37 images). Different viewing methods and bookmarking capabilities allow you to somewhat tailor the viewing experience to your personal preference.

Sneak Peaks: Theatrical Trailers for Wreck-It Ralf [HD] [3D], Monster University [HD] [3D] and Planes [HD] [3D]

Finally, PIXAR shows its feminine side with its first princess movie, but 'Brave' is no shrinking violet. With as much muscle as its more masculine Pixar counterparts, this captivating portrait of wilful, free-thinking lass in 11th century Scotland combines action and mysticism with a relatable emotional core to produce a period piece that's refreshingly contemporary and utterly entertaining. And like all the Blu-rays in the Pixar canon, this disc shows off the film in the best possible light. A drop-dead gorgeous video transfer (that's even more mesmerising in 3D), exceptional audio, and a wealth of supplements spread across two Blu-ray discs make 'Brave' a dazzling and memorable home theatre experience. Unlike Merida's archery skills, the film may not always hit the bull’s-eye, but this 3 disc set sure does, and without question, it comes with very high praise and now it has gone pride of place in my ever increasing PIXAR Blu-ray Collection, especially the 3D versions. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brave, Nov. 30 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This dvd is superb, not only for children, but for old people with a young heart. I saw it in a cinema and all I saw were mothers with their daughters, very enlightning and that's why I wanted to own the dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OK, so I’m a Pixar junkie., Nov. 27 2012
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I'll admit 'Brave' doesn't have quite the wall to wall boldness, rule-breaking and sheer brilliance of the very best
of Pixar's work, but I'll still take it over 95% of the Hollywood films I've seen this year. It never bored me, it made
me smile a lot, laugh a little, and was a more touching look at the complexity of mother and daughter
relationships than most 'grown-up' films that try to deal with the subject.

It also has a heroine who is a spunky, tough and first rate advocate for girl power, while still being heart-meltingly vulnerable
at just the right moments.

It has tremendously talented voice actors in Billy Connolly, Kelly Maccdonald, and especially Emma Thompson.

Most important, it has a twist half-way through that takes it in a delightfully unexpected direction. I will admit, for the first
half I was a bit under-whelmed, The film seemed more Disney than Pixar,with 'safe' humor and ideas. Just a touch disappointingly predictable.
But then a witch gets involved in this medieval Scottish tale, and with a twist that's more Shakespearian comedy than Disney, suddenly this is
a new film we haven't seen before. The second half easily won me back over, and I was left feeling, as I always seemed to be, that working
for Pixar must be just about the greatest job in movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brave, Nov. 21 2012
By 
Duchess "Duchess" (Edmonton, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Brave (Bilingual) (DVD)
This is another excellent movie with a fun storyline. We chose this based on the previews we saw of it, and also the fact that the movie was developed by a familiar name -- John Lasseter. This is the same man who also was involved in such storylines as Tangled, The Princess and the Frog, Ratatouille, Up et al. We enjoyed these other movies that were done by him and so we took our chances. I don't think that there is anything more that I can say in regards to how to explain the storyline as others have explained the storyline just fine. My husband and I both had some good laughs out of it and we also thought that the price was not too bad. (Now that the price has gone up because of the Christmas season coming up, I'd wait until after the New Year to get it though, unless you can get it for a more reasonable price somewhere else). We both feel that this is another good investment to our movie library and would recommend it to anyone else that likes these kind of movies. The cinematography was great, the storyline was just as good and for the price I paid for it, it was worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of spunk, Aug. 27 2012
By 
OpenMind "R Granger" (Calgary, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I usually like more unorthodox films, especially suspenseful or darkly comic ones...

...but I also LOVE Disney/Pixar movies. Some of my favourites are Monsters Inc., Finding Nemo, and Up, but I've seen many more. Brave falls into the middle of the pack as far as the narrative goes, but is still visually appealing and is worth a few laughs.

Brave follows the adventures of Merida, a lovely Scottish lass who's strong-willed and free-spirited. Her parents have decided to marry her off to one of the local chieftains' sons, but she has others ideas for her young adulthood, archery and equestrianism being among her top priorities. The only way she can conceive of to stop her wedding from going through is to seek help from a mysterious woman in the woods...which has unintended consequences (who would have thought?).

Merida's plan goes pear-shaped, hijinks ensue, and a tidy resolution occurs. The storyline is extremely basic and overall lacks suspense and danger, which is not to discount the heroine's courageous deeds.

Where Brave's strengths lie are:

1) Its artistic rendering. Beautiful landscapes, textures, and colours. Sorry to the otaku out there, but even the best anime has nothing on what Disney/Pixar are doing these days.

2) Its message (and I'm not one for trite morality tales). Disney reinvents its "princess" archetype with a plucky, pretty, modest, and quick-witted young woman who takes charge of her fate--unlike the princesses of yore, whose destiny and raison-d'etre were tied to the prince. This movie's themes are compromise, making amends, and considering one's actions on others.

3) Its humour. Billy Connelly (who voices Merida's father) is responsible for most of the laughs throughout the movie. It's unfortunate the writers couldn't come up with a few more gags and jokes for the rest of the film.

All in all, Brave should be purchased by those who want to add to their collection or who have young children looking for a good mix of action, cuteness, and humour (and who aren't picky about things like a well-crafted plot). For the rest of us, though, a simple rental will suffice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be careful what you wish for -- Absolutely Delightful :), July 7 2012
By 
Kathy W (Baltimore, MD, USA) - See all my reviews
What a wonderful family film! I guess it's a "kid's" film but I absolutely LOVED it! It has such wonderful lessons and it was done so well. The film is happy and sad, funny, and has emotional momemts, even a touch of magic is in the air. It is colorful and has music, even to the bagpipes of Scotland. This is a Disney Pixar film, so you have the wonderful animations that feel almost human.

The movie begins with the king and queen playing with their little red-haired daughter on her birthday. Even at the ripe old age of maybe 5, little Merida is headstrong, bright, and bubbly. And she sees the wisps, a kind of blue fairy type light that sends her in certain directions.

We watch Princess Merida grow, and be instructed in the ways of a Princess by her "Mum," the Queen. Now that she is of age, Mum decides it is time to have a suitor party so the gents can compete for her hand. But Merida has a mind of her own. Just to add a little extra excitement, Merida has three young brothers (triplets!)

Again, this is a fun flick with lots of funny moments, some even laugh-out-louds. And the bagpipes are always special to me (some of my heritage). Some valuable lessons for the children about perception, seeing things in a certain way, responsibilities, listening to others, considering alternatives, forgiveness and love. Many of you with children will likely buy this movie when it becomes available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brave 3D: Ultimate Collector’s Edition (blu ray)…another 3D/2D video/audio perfection from Pixar!, Nov. 14 2012
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
VIDEO (2D):

Brave arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 2.39:1 encode. Pixar's amazing animation is simply stunning and gorgeous, bringing breathtaking life to Merida's world, making her somewhat humble adventure even grander and more satisfying. The film's palette is nothing short of magical, with lavish reds, fiery oranges, lovely greens, disarming earthtones, bright blues and inky blacks, all delivered via perfect colour and impeccable contrast. Detail is magnificent, capturing every nuance the animators saw fit to incorporate into their already jaw-dropping animation, like tattered kilt seams, tight tartan patterns, pinpoint freckles, scraggly beards, errant whiskers, shaggy manes, scuffed armor, knicked blades, matted fur, the smallest droplets of water, thinnest blades of grass, tiniest leafs on distant trees... nothing misses the mark. Edges are sharp and clean. The image is as pristine as they come. (5/5)

VIDEO (3D):

Brave 3D arrives with MPEG-4 MVC encode. Capturing the rapturously inviting world of its characters with absolutely pitch-perfect technical acuity, the 3D elements on this disc are immersive without being gimmicky, and depth is handled sensationally across the board. And picture quality is top-of-the-line; to boot: colour accuracy is rock solid, detail is impossibly sharp and well-defined, and black levels are steady from top to bottom. All the descriptions in the 2D are included here, but with an added more immersive experience. (5/5)

AUDIO (2D & 3D):

Both the 2D and 3D versions have the same fantastic and outstanding Dolby TrueHD 7.1 lossless track, with the 2D version also in Dolby TrueHD 5.1 too. Even in the film's opening minutes, the quality of the experience becomes abundantly clear, like the wind rustling the tops of the trees, the grass crunching beneath Merida's feet, the sudden deafening roar of a demon intruder, and the weight of the girl's father charging into battle. It only gets better from there too as Merida strikes out beyond the castle grounds, into the wild wood and farther. The rear speakers, meanwhile, create a truly enveloping and immersive soundfield. (5/5)

MOVIE:

The impetuous, tangle-haired Merida, though a daughter of royalty, would prefer to make her mark as a great archer. A clash of wills with her mother compels Merida to make a reckless choice, which unleashes unintended peril on her father’s kingdom and her mother’s life. Merida struggles with the unpredictable forces of nature, magic and a dark, ancient curse to set things right. The choice of Kelly MacDonald, Emma Thompson, Billy Connolly and Julie Walters as voices for Merida, Elinor, Fergus and the Witch respectively, is simply perfect. (4.5/5)

TRIVIA:

Brave has an estimated budget of $185 million, but only grossed $236 million, a disappointment, when compared to Toy Story 3 ($1,062 million), Finding Nemo ($865 million) and Up ($727 million).

This film marks the first time a Pixar produced film has a female protagonist. Princess Merida is also the first Pixar character to be included in the Disney Princess line.

Two additional computer softwares were specially developed for this film by Pixar in the period of three years. One of them allows simulation of Merida's 1500 strands of hair curls to move together with her movements.

Brave is the first film to use the new Dolby Atmos sound system. The new system expands from the 5/7.1 channel sound mixes to 64 discrete speaker feeds and 128 simultaneous and lossless audio channels. Wow! A really holosonic soundfield!

PACKAGING:

It has a 3D lenticular cover, and consists of 5 discs: 3 BD-50 discs and 2 DVDs. The 3D and 2D versions are in separate blu ray discs, plus one BD-50 disc for Bonus Features. The 2 DVDs are standard DVD and Digital Copy.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Brave isn't Pixar at its best, but while watching this 3D Blu-ray edition of Brave, you probably won't care all that much: this release is a technical stunner, milking every drop of potential out of its high-def capacity. It is one of the best, if not the best 3D movie this year. If you have a 3D TV, this 3D/2D set is definitely preferred, because the pictures in both 3D and 2D are equally stunning, plus a top-notched audio track. This set is definitely very highly recommended.

UPDATE (FEBRUARY 24, 2013):

Congratulations to Brave who deservedly won the Oscar for Best Animated Film. Brave and Wreck-It Ralph (also nominated) are truly the better animated features in 2012. Merida in Brave also reminded me of the Best Actress Oscar winner Jennifer Lawrence who starred in The Hunger Games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brave  (Bilingual)
Brave (Bilingual) by Mark Andrews (DVD - 2008)
CDN$ 35.99 CDN$ 22.05
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews