summer boutiques-francophones Learn more snsflyout Pets All-New Kindle sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars579
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 15, 2004
I was in the library with my niece and she grabbed this DVD. How can you say no to someone with the most adorable eyes. So I checked out the DVD, we went home and had a wonderful, wonderful time. This is the kind of movie you can appreciate no matter how young or old you are. James P Sullivan (voiced by John Goodman), and Mike Wazowski (voiced by Billy Crystal) are monsters who work for Monsters Inc. Sulley is the best at getting his fair share of scares, but he has some competition in Randall who wants to be the top scare monster. The more screams collected, the more energy for Montropolis. The monsters are led to believe that if a child enters their "world" they will be contaminated and everything could be destroyed. The real fun part starts when this adorable human child named Marry (Boo buy Sulley) sneaks into Montropolis by accident. The kids are scared of the monsters, and the monsters are terrifiedof the kids. Sully and Mike try to get Boo back to her world, but she won't leave. Turns out Randall is her scary monster. Also turns out that Randal has a plan up his sleeve to extract screams that could put the other monsters out of work. It's up to Sully and Mike to save Montroplis and Monsters Inc. This is a fun, entertaining film that will leave with a happy, happy feeling when it's all over. Steve Bucemis I the voice for Randal Boggs, and other notable actors are James Coburn, and Jennifer Tilly (who has the perfect voice for animation, she should do more of it!!!) and Bonnie Hunt.
This is an adorable movie. One I will watch again, with or without my niece.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2009
Love this movie, but can't believe the Blu-ray price in Canada! On Amazon US, you can pick up both Monsters Inc. and Up for a combo price of US$32.98.

I guess I'm going to have to wait a year, when it's $19.99 at Best Buy.

Come on Amazon Canada, stop ripping Canadians off...please!!
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon September 7, 2012
Sully and Mike are regular working stiffs, just trying to do their jobs as best they can. They take pride in what they do, and they should, since they are really good at it.

Oh yeah, their profession? They are monsters, tasked with scaring little ones every night.

Boo
Sully and Mike are all fine and dandy until Boo arrives. This little girl is cute and precocious and is at the heart of a massive conspiracy which threatens all of monsterdom. Cue the scary music! Boo has an infectious laugh, which is instrumental in the finale, and will make you break out in giggles as well.

Doors
The old Three's Company theme song "Come On Knock On Our Door" is very apt for this modern classic. Doors of all types and styles are a prominent and hysterical part of Monsters, Inc. The great door slamming action at the end causes this ingenious plot device to come to life in very unexpected ways. Will the next one feature windows?

Googliebear
For years and years I tried in vain to find a most excellent nickname for my wife. And thanks to Monsters, Inc., one finally entered our lexicon. Mike's long suffering girlfriend Celia Mae is constantly conjuring up pet names for him. One of them struck our fancy, so now my beloved will be forever known as "Googliebear."

Monsters, Inc. provides thrills and chills and mind blowing kills. Well, not really, but that frying pan has got to hurt. Still, Sully and Mike and Boo will make you laugh. Laughing at what scares you is always a good thing.

Scoopriches
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2013
I'm always cautious when buying "Region Free" movies, but this one if fact does work flawlessly in North America. Very Happy with it, and the picture quality is superb.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2002
Monsters Inc. is the story of a monster named Sully and his sidekick Mike. Sully works for an energy company that uses children's screams to power the entire city of Monsteropolis. However, monsters must be very careful when scaring children because the touch of a child is extremely toxic. Therefore, when a child comes through the closet door porthole into Monsteropolis, Sully and Mike have a big problem on their hands.
I loved this movie because it was funny, had great animation, and was full of suspense. However, it seemed that the movie wasn't nearly as good for children. The adults in the theatre laughed throughout the whole movie, but the children barely laughed at all. The problem is that both the plot and the jokes were on an adult level. I would recommend this for fun-loving adults, but not necessarily for children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2010
I had bought this when it first came out on DVD. It was watched so much by my children that it got worn out. I then went and bought the blu-ray version. WOW!!! what an improvement over the DVD. Amazing.....that's all I can say!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2011
i didn't find Monsters,Inc all that funny,although i did chuckle a few times.i did find it very entertaining though.it's quite fast paced,and it's certainly never boring.i liked the witty banter between the two main characters James P. "Sulley" Sullivan(voiced by John Goodman)and Mike Wazowski(voiced by Billy Crystal).i loved all the characters,but Randall Boggs(voiced by Steve Buscemi)was probably my favourite. speaking of the voices,there couldn't have been a better cast.every actor/actress fit the voice of their character perfectly.there are a few mildly frightening scenes,but generally,this is a film the whole family can enjoy.for me,Monsters, Inc. is a 4/5
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon March 5, 2016
Purchased this DVD as a gift for my niece, who was absolutely delighted to have it again, as the original one was lent out to a friend and never returned. Needless to say she was absolutely delighted to have once again. This is a great movie for all ages; so take a break from a hectic day or unwind during the weekend and gather around the TV and be ready for lots of laughs from Sulley played by John Goodman, Billy Crystal and of course theirs "Boo", who turns all the monsters world upside down. Lots of action, excitement and as I said lol. Enjoy! Sincerely, Dianne, CANADA
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2004
"Monster's, Inc." combines a fantastic cast, cutting edge imagination, and a tender storyline into a wonderful, delightful family film . . . it may even cure the nighttime frights of your wee ones!
Most of us were scared stiff at some point in our childhood by the spooky, imaginary "monsters in the closet," usually after we've read "Where the Wild Things Are" for the first time. "Monsters, Inc." plays on that near-universal fear by creating a rational explanation -- monsters live in a parallel universe, connected to ours by closet doors, and they power their land by the energy contained in human screams. Makes perfect sense!
Sulley (the hilarious John Goodman) is a celebrity in Monstropolis as the leading scare-getter for Monster's, Inc. Sulley is generally a lovable big blue yeti-bear-creature, but he can be quite terrifying. Blissfully unaware of the terror he unleashes, he enjoys his job. Basking in Sulley's reflected glory is his sidekick and assistant, Mike Waznowski (Billy Crystal, perfect as ever). Mike is a lime-green-yellow glob with one giant eye and an even larger mouth. He helps Sulley get the screams and stay one step ahead of the competition.
And the competition is fierce. The dragon-chameleon Boggs (Steve Buscemi, suitably creepy without being too scary for the kids) is right on Sulley's heels to be the scream champion, and he's willing to go to any lengths to beat his nemesis.
All is well in Monstropolis until Boo, a human child, accidentally finds her way through the closet and into Monstropolis. It seems that as scared as kids are of monsters, the monsters are equally scared of the kids -- their touch (allegedly) brings death and ruin. (This misunderstanding leads to great comic scenes as X-Files-type HAZMAT crews invade every time there's a kid sighting, usually to the woe of the monster who has seemingly been infected by the kid!)
Like all Pixar films, the glories are in the details. Check out the gentle satire of Hollywood celebrity culture, of mindless bureaucracy, and the perils of romance in the office. The animation is also wonderful -- Pixar continues to evolve with every picture. For example, Sulley's fuzzy hair is fully articulated as he zooms through various escapades.
The story is fast-paced, with enough jokes to keep the adults laughing . . . which is good, 'cause your kids will likely keep throwing this into the DVD player.
Speaking of the DVD -- there are lots of fun extras on this two-disc set. Personal favorites include the fake "outtakes," similar to those at the end of "A Bug's Life," a short film featuring Mike showing Sulley his new hi-tech car (with hilarious consequences), and an Oscar-winning short film, "For the Birds," which shows how funny animation can be, even in short doses. There are additional extras that will keep the kiddies occupied for hours.
All in all, a must for the family's DVD library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2004
"Monster's Inc." is a great animated release of 2001, featuring the voices of John Goodman, Billy Crystal, and many others. It earned two Oscar nominations, winning one for Best Original Song (Randy Newman). Its hilarious and sensative plot is great for a variety of audiences to enjoy. Its uniqueness takes this film to a whole new level. This film desplicts a company in Monsteropolis that specializes in scaring kids by entering their closets. However, the kids live in another "world" that can only be entered through a door. If a kid enters Monsteropolis, disaster could occur. A kid enters.
The chain of events form a roller coaster ride that keeps audiences on the edge of their seats. The variety of themes gives the film the passion and the humor in the perfect scenes. All are wonderfully expressed uniquely by the actors. Some monsters become scarier, some become more sensative, some become more greedy, and some become more funny thanks to them. Such film quality blends perfectly with the animation. The characters' physical features match with their personalities and the film theme. The uniqueness offers many unforgettable images.
"Monster's Inc." is a great film that will surely keep audiences entertained. The quality value proves that this will become a classic in the following years. Those wanting more should watch the special features, including the process in the making, two short features, a tour of Pixar, and others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse