Customer Reviews


551 Reviews
5 star:
 (427)
4 star:
 (85)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A big Kid at Heart
I was in the library with my niece and she grabbed this DVD. How can you say no to someone with the most adorable eyes. So I checked out the DVD, we went home and had a wonderful, wonderful time. This is the kind of movie you can appreciate no matter how young or old you are. James P Sullivan (voiced by John Goodman), and Mike Wazowski (voiced by Billy Crystal) are...
Published on July 15 2004 by S. M. Anderson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This was rated G?
I enjoyed the movie as an adult, but why does Disney have to put in so much violence into their movies these days? Do they really feel that they have to scare the 3-4-5 year old kids. I was really disturbed when they clamped the 3 year old girl into a chair and were pushing a machine upto the childs mouth to suck the screams out of her. I looked at my daughter (who was 5)...
Published on March 14 2003


‹ Previous | 1 256 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A big Kid at Heart, July 15 2004
By 
S. M. Anderson "sma331" (Lithia Springs, GA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was in the library with my niece and she grabbed this DVD. How can you say no to someone with the most adorable eyes. So I checked out the DVD, we went home and had a wonderful, wonderful time. This is the kind of movie you can appreciate no matter how young or old you are. James P Sullivan (voiced by John Goodman), and Mike Wazowski (voiced by Billy Crystal) are monsters who work for Monsters Inc. Sulley is the best at getting his fair share of scares, but he has some competition in Randall who wants to be the top scare monster. The more screams collected, the more energy for Montropolis. The monsters are led to believe that if a child enters their "world" they will be contaminated and everything could be destroyed. The real fun part starts when this adorable human child named Marry (Boo buy Sulley) sneaks into Montropolis by accident. The kids are scared of the monsters, and the monsters are terrifiedof the kids. Sully and Mike try to get Boo back to her world, but she won't leave. Turns out Randall is her scary monster. Also turns out that Randal has a plan up his sleeve to extract screams that could put the other monsters out of work. It's up to Sully and Mike to save Montroplis and Monsters Inc. This is a fun, entertaining film that will leave with a happy, happy feeling when it's all over. Steve Bucemis I the voice for Randal Boggs, and other notable actors are James Coburn, and Jennifer Tilly (who has the perfect voice for animation, she should do more of it!!!) and Bonnie Hunt.
This is an adorable movie. One I will watch again, with or without my niece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great movie. Dreadful Blu-ray price!!, Nov. 10 2009
By 
G. Heywood (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Love this movie, but can't believe the Blu-ray price in Canada! On Amazon US, you can pick up both Monsters Inc. and Up for a combo price of US$32.98.

I guess I'm going to have to wait a year, when it's $19.99 at Best Buy.

Come on Amazon Canada, stop ripping Canadians off...please!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plays Perfectly in Canada/USA, Jan. 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm always cautious when buying "Region Free" movies, but this one if fact does work flawlessly in North America. Very Happy with it, and the picture quality is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This was rated G?, March 14 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Monsters, Inc. (VHS Tape)
I enjoyed the movie as an adult, but why does Disney have to put in so much violence into their movies these days? Do they really feel that they have to scare the 3-4-5 year old kids. I was really disturbed when they clamped the 3 year old girl into a chair and were pushing a machine upto the childs mouth to suck the screams out of her. I looked at my daughter (who was 5) and she was terrified. There was nothing humorous in the violence (it was not done tongue in cheek unlike the Bugs Bunny cartoons). This violence was intended to be hurtful and real.
I am afraid that Disney needs to build the murderous plots into their movies. Let's briefly look at the list:
1. Lion King - Uncle murders father
2. Beauty and the Beast - Gaston stabs beast with knife.
3. Monster's Inc. - Attempted murder, kidnapping
4. Hunchback of Notre Dame - Almost drops baby into well...
5. Lilo and Stitch - Aliens try to kill Stitch
6. Tarzan - Don't they kill the mother Gorilla and try to kill Tarzan?
Should these be rated G?
I am a big fan of the stuff done in the 60's and 70's. A lot of it was done with a wink and a nod and a sense of fun.
1. Winnie the Pooh
2. Mary Poppins
3. The computer who wore tennis shoes (The whole Dexter Riley series with Kurt Russel)
4. Herbie the Love Bug
5. Snowball Express
6. Most of the Wonderful World of Disney
I have to admit that even during this time Disney did a few movies which had murder in them (but not everyone). I think the writers at Disney could be more creative and write a good story without relying on lame murder themes. I think Walt would agree. These are kids.
PS: I loved the Matrix, but I don't want my kids to watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More Family Magic from Pixar! Great DVD Extras!, July 13 2004
By 
Scott Schiefelbein (Portland, Oregon United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Monster's, Inc." combines a fantastic cast, cutting edge imagination, and a tender storyline into a wonderful, delightful family film . . . it may even cure the nighttime frights of your wee ones!
Most of us were scared stiff at some point in our childhood by the spooky, imaginary "monsters in the closet," usually after we've read "Where the Wild Things Are" for the first time. "Monsters, Inc." plays on that near-universal fear by creating a rational explanation -- monsters live in a parallel universe, connected to ours by closet doors, and they power their land by the energy contained in human screams. Makes perfect sense!
Sulley (the hilarious John Goodman) is a celebrity in Monstropolis as the leading scare-getter for Monster's, Inc. Sulley is generally a lovable big blue yeti-bear-creature, but he can be quite terrifying. Blissfully unaware of the terror he unleashes, he enjoys his job. Basking in Sulley's reflected glory is his sidekick and assistant, Mike Waznowski (Billy Crystal, perfect as ever). Mike is a lime-green-yellow glob with one giant eye and an even larger mouth. He helps Sulley get the screams and stay one step ahead of the competition.
And the competition is fierce. The dragon-chameleon Boggs (Steve Buscemi, suitably creepy without being too scary for the kids) is right on Sulley's heels to be the scream champion, and he's willing to go to any lengths to beat his nemesis.
All is well in Monstropolis until Boo, a human child, accidentally finds her way through the closet and into Monstropolis. It seems that as scared as kids are of monsters, the monsters are equally scared of the kids -- their touch (allegedly) brings death and ruin. (This misunderstanding leads to great comic scenes as X-Files-type HAZMAT crews invade every time there's a kid sighting, usually to the woe of the monster who has seemingly been infected by the kid!)
Like all Pixar films, the glories are in the details. Check out the gentle satire of Hollywood celebrity culture, of mindless bureaucracy, and the perils of romance in the office. The animation is also wonderful -- Pixar continues to evolve with every picture. For example, Sulley's fuzzy hair is fully articulated as he zooms through various escapades.
The story is fast-paced, with enough jokes to keep the adults laughing . . . which is good, 'cause your kids will likely keep throwing this into the DVD player.
Speaking of the DVD -- there are lots of fun extras on this two-disc set. Personal favorites include the fake "outtakes," similar to those at the end of "A Bug's Life," a short film featuring Mike showing Sulley his new hi-tech car (with hilarious consequences), and an Oscar-winning short film, "For the Birds," which shows how funny animation can be, even in short doses. There are additional extras that will keep the kiddies occupied for hours.
All in all, a must for the family's DVD library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A New Look At Monsters In the Closet, June 25 2004
By 
"Monster's Inc." is a great animated release of 2001, featuring the voices of John Goodman, Billy Crystal, and many others. It earned two Oscar nominations, winning one for Best Original Song (Randy Newman). Its hilarious and sensative plot is great for a variety of audiences to enjoy. Its uniqueness takes this film to a whole new level. This film desplicts a company in Monsteropolis that specializes in scaring kids by entering their closets. However, the kids live in another "world" that can only be entered through a door. If a kid enters Monsteropolis, disaster could occur. A kid enters.
The chain of events form a roller coaster ride that keeps audiences on the edge of their seats. The variety of themes gives the film the passion and the humor in the perfect scenes. All are wonderfully expressed uniquely by the actors. Some monsters become scarier, some become more sensative, some become more greedy, and some become more funny thanks to them. Such film quality blends perfectly with the animation. The characters' physical features match with their personalities and the film theme. The uniqueness offers many unforgettable images.
"Monster's Inc." is a great film that will surely keep audiences entertained. The quality value proves that this will become a classic in the following years. Those wanting more should watch the special features, including the process in the making, two short features, a tour of Pixar, and others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The most groundbreaking animated Pixar film of all time., Feb. 10 2004
"Monsters Inc" gets my nod as my favorite of the trainload of CGI animated features that Pixar has brought forth during this great time for animated movies versus the awful period for music. "Toy Story" paved the way for these movies but I never thought it would happen but "Monster's Inc" does the unthinkable, it actually surpasses "Toy Story" not only in the excellent animation but also of groundbreaking graphics (Sully's Fur) and of a really, REALLY original story idea. I guess it's safe to say that this movie made me conquer my fear of going into the closets at night and if there are monsters, I'm no longer afraid of them. Just for a little humor. I haven't laughed so hard the way I did with seeing "Monster's Inc" and it's hard not to see why. That's why I love Pixar's movies. They aim for all ages from young children to elderly audiences and "Monsters Inc" is the best of them all alongside "Finding Nemo". The whole story plot idea is unbelievably original and unsurpassed by many movies since this one.
It all begins with a typical night with a monster who aims to scare a sleeping child by creeping out of the closet. The whole thing goes awry and turns out to be a simulation and we discover the reasons why monsters actually come out of closets and scare the children of the human world. The Monsters scare the children because they need to collect the children's screams to a utility power plant where the screams generate electricity for their city of Monstropolis. However the city of Monstropolis is facing a looming power shortage because the children of the human world are becoming harder and harder to scare and thus brownouts are becoming more and more commonplace, threatening the very well being of the monster world. The problems don't stop there. While the top scarer of the monster crew James P. Sullivan (John Goodman) continues his winning streak as the number one scarer, a nemesis co-worker named Randall Boggs (Steve Buscemi) is also causing some headaches. The CEO of the company Henry J. Waternoose is also ready to use any means to keep his company from collapsing from the power crisis gripping Monstropolis.
The main storyline though is of a much more chaotic incident. According to Waternoose's warnings, the humans possibly carry germs that may be deadly for monsters to become infected with and the crews take drastic measures to avoid getting touched by the humans that they try to scare. One night, as Sullivan is going to turn in his assistant Mike Wazowski's paperwork and finds a door that is activated. He opens it and unaware of it, a toddler escapes through the door and right into the monster factory. Unable to get her back into her right bedroom, Sullivan attempts to disguise her but fails and as utter pandemonium follows, and vast numbers of C.D.A. (Child Detection Agency) decontamination units scouring the city for the missing child, Sullivan along with his longtime friend Mike Wazowski are on a long quest to get Boo home without being caught by the C.D.A. Sully and Mike however are unaware that they have several enemies that are working within their own ranks which make their mission to return Boo home more complicated and more dangerous.
The computer generated animation effects are absolutely breathtaking in just aobut every way you look at it. The animation effects of Sullivan's turquoise blue fur is so well done that it looks almost like actual live footage of a costume. Even the movements look incredibly lifelike and the details in the movie are just incredible! This movie is just about perfect in so many ways. If there is any quibble I have aobut this movie, it's that it's only 90 minutes long. Perhaps I'm spoiled at the movie lengths after seeing the Lord of The Rings movies but I think "Monsters Inc" should've been at least two hours long for more fun but that's just my opinion.
The actors selected for the voices perfectly match the personalities of the characters they provided the voice work for. The late James Coburn perfectly fitted the elderly role of the longtime elder Henry J. Waternoose, CEO of the Monsters Incorporated Company which his family has owned for three generations and it's really sad that Coburn moved on so soon after such a great movie. My favorite of all is of John Goodman who provides the stadium sized voice of the great James P. Sullivan, the top scarer of the Monsters Inc. workforce. He sounds so incredibly funny when he screams especially during when he discovers Boo has escaped into the factory. Billy Crystal is incredibly awesome playing Sullivan's constantly agitated assistant and lifelong friend Mike Wazowski and his voice is perfectly especially when Wazowski is uptight about things. Steve Buscemi as Randall Boggs, Jennifer Tilly as Celia, they're all great.
While younger viewers will certainly have a great time with the charm factor of this movie, older audiences will likely get a truly good message of about how even fearsome-looking creatures or human beings can in reality turn out being very gentle and caring beings who wouldn't even hurt a fly. And while I don't believe that monsters necessarily exist in most places, this movie also explains the reasons why monsters do this, scaring the daylights out of the sleeping children, they need their screams to power their cities but the monsters are just as scared of the children as the children are of them.
Enough said, go and buy this DVD as soon as you can. This is one of the greatest animated movies that has ever been made and the crew behind it's conception deserve the utmost praise for it's creation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Moose Hole - 'Monsters' Scares Up Quality Entertainment, Feb. 7 2004
Talk about a success story! Ask any normal movie-goer before 1995 who Pixar was, they would have given you a direct blank stare. In fact, unless you were well familiar with animated shorts, you would be hard pressed to find an average Joe who really knew that such an animation facility was in operation. After 1995 and the prodigious success of their first full-length animated venture, Toy Story, Pixar Animation Studios grew with tremendous strength partnering with Walt Disney Pictures in distributing their future animated films. That deal is now in serious question on whether it will be renewed or will result in the parting of the two studios. On Disney's side, the executives may be leaning more and more toward giving in to Pixar's demands considering the animation studio's features have brought in a combined $600 million domestically alone and recouping their budgets with each release. This is opposite to several of Disney's animated feature films such as Fantasia 2000, Dinosaur, and Atlantis: The Lost Empire that have failed to meet expectations. What happens with the two studios after this may hinder on the success or failure of Monsters Inc.
The story center around the misadventures of two monsters that create havoc in the secret monster city. James P. Sullivan works for Monsters Inc., a company that provides energy for Monstropolis. How do they obtain this energy you ask? By going into the bedrooms of children, scaring the young ones and gathering their screams which power everything from cars to lights. Sulley is the best of the best, thanks in part to his buddy Mike Wazowski who helps him on the scare floor. What's more is that everyone seems to just love the big guy, everyone except Randall Boggs, who continuously attempts to pull ahead of Sulley in the scare numbers only to fail. Everything in Sulley's life seems to be going perfectly, that is until he accidentally lets a small little girl into the monster world. From there, all hell breaks loose. Disney and Pixar once again create a picture perfect story that is filled with humor and heart. If you don't usually cry while watching a movie, you'll be hard pressed to see a dry eye including your own while watching this charming tale.
One of the most engaging aspects of Monsters Inc. has to be the vibrant voices behind the delightful, and at times scary, characters. The teaming of Billy Crystal and John Goodman has to be one of the biggest, if not the best, highlights of the film with each actor playing off each other gracefully and showcasing perfect chemistry together within the course of the feature. Steve Buscemi gives an utterly chilling voice-over performance for the slippery and cunning Randall Boggs. The familiar voice, at least for many adults going to see Monsters, brings about much needed sinister-like quality to outweigh the humor and the heart-tugging emotions that might have over-flooded the feature had the character not been added.
Overall, Monsters Inc. serves as a perfect example of the blending of intensity, humor, and heart so perfectly, it could only have come from the talented artists and writers at Disney and Pixar. They manage once again to out-due their previous successes including the original Toy Story and its sequel in both quality and storytelling unlike most films which, from film to film, tend to take a step backward. As effective as the feature was, there were moments where the filmmakers try too hard pulling off tear-jerker moments and eventually the emotions become a bit much. The ending to the film was a bit of a disappointment especially after it brings the audience to such an emotional peak as the film draws closer to its finale. What makes the ending more disappointing is that it seems to hint at a possible sequel that could never happen under the current Disney and Pixar agreement. But those squabbles are nothing compared to the overall effectively entertaining humor and visuals from one of the best family features in quite awhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pixar Does It Again, Feb. 2 2004
"Monsters, Inc." is a funny addition to anyone's Pixar library. It's funnier than "A Bug's Life" and has a storyline that holds up better than "Toy Story." Sully and Mike are a great duo in this tale and it's fun to watch them interact with each other and Boo. The opening sequence in the test "Scare" room is funny, and the following sequence at Sully's house is hilarious. Steve Buscemi is a standout as Randall, the conniving culprit of the movie. He's devilishly funny and Mr. Waternoose isn't so bad either.
All of the monsters in this movie are designed with brilliancy. None of them come across as too scary for youngsters to watch. A cameo appearance by the "Abominable Snowman" leads to a funny moment with yellow sno-cones.
My 2 year-old wouldn't stop watching this movie for weeks after we purchased it, and now she's hooked on it again.
Humor for adults is included as well, but there is nothing offensive about any part of this movie. It's fun for everyone in the house and will hold the attention of even the toughest two year old critics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars See How The Other Half Lives!, Dec 13 2003
MONSTERS INC is yet another masterpiece from PIXAR / Disney. Flawless in both story and execution, MI is a treat for old and young alike. I watched it with my son and we both loved every minute! Billy Crystal & John Goodman are great as Mike and Sully (basically, the Laurel and Hardy of Monstropolis). They are as good as Woody and Buzz were in TOY STORY! Here we have an alternate monster universe, filled with interesting and hilarious creatures. Mike and Sully work together (and live together) at the Monsters Inc plant, where children's screams are turned into energy for the city. Monsters known as "scarers" go through doors into the closets of unsuspecting tots, making them scream in terror. This fills a tank back at the plant. Sully accidentally brings a little girl back with him, throwing everything into chaos. Will this tiny toddler of doom destroy all of Monstropolis? Can she be stopped? What is the horrible secret behind the scenes at Monsters Inc? Watch and find out...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 256 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monsters, Inc. (Ultimate Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Sous-titres français)
CDN$ 56.99 CDN$ 39.99
Usually ships in 3 to 5 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews