Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars War of the Roses (blu ray)…War of Oliver Rose and Barbara Rose with hilarious humour and deadly consequence!
VIDEO:

War of the Roses arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.85:1 encode. It is directed by Danny DeVito, who intentionally wants a softly photographed picture with a darker lean, thus retaining the cinematographic intent with a pleasing presence of grain, keeping the viewing experience filmic with little overt filtering. Details are there, from the...
Published 22 months ago by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Well acted, nasty, overlong, sour
The four terms in the heading sums up this film. Interestingly enough, in one of the special features--a deleted scenes montage--DeVito introduces the montage (as the director) and comments on how most comedies are about an hour and a half and this one was special; it's almost two hours.
Too long. The acting is excellent, no question. And there are some funny bits...
Published on April 12 2002 by LGwriter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars War of the Roses (blu ray)…War of Oliver Rose and Barbara Rose with hilarious humour and deadly consequence!, Oct. 1 2012
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: War of the Roses: Filmmaker Signature Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
VIDEO:

War of the Roses arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.85:1 encode. It is directed by Danny DeVito, who intentionally wants a softly photographed picture with a darker lean, thus retaining the cinematographic intent with a pleasing presence of grain, keeping the viewing experience filmic with little overt filtering. Details are there, from the tchotchkes that litter the Rose household to the thinness of fabrics, accentuating certain wardrobe naughtiness from DeVito. Facial response is excellent, with natural skin tones. (4/5)

AUDIO:

The 5.1 DTS-HD MA sound mix is fairly modest for a manic creation as this, maintaining a primarily frontal presence that makes little time for surround play. Dialogue is crisp and tight, with accurate separation. In 1953, Alfred Newman composed and recorded the 20th Century Fox Fanfare "with Cinemascope extension". In 1989, his son, David Newman re-recorded the fanfare for "The War of the Roses" in order to have the last note of the fanfare segue seamlessly into the first note of the opening titles music. Very clever! But the overall soundtrack is not outstanding. (3/5)

TRIVIA:

Oliver Rose (Michael Douglas) cuts the heels off his wife's (Kathleen Turner) shoes. In Romancing the Stone, Jack Colton (Douglas) cut the heels off Joan Wilder's (Turner) shoes.

While shooting the scene where Michael Douglas (Oliver Rose) and Kathleen Turner (Barbara Rose) are sitting in the chandelier, director Danny DeVito pretended to break for lunch while the two actors were 30 feet above ground. I wonder who had the last laugh.

PACKAGING:

There is only one BD-50 disc. But it has an excellent 26-page booklet, containing interesting insights into the story, the production, and the stars with many beautiful pictures. There are many quips in the booklet, and let me quote:

“Once in a lifetime comes a motion picture that makes you feel like falling in love all over again. This is NOT that movie.”

“A deliriously mean-spirited free-for-all…Michael Douglas and Kathleen Turner are evilly enchanting!”

I gather that the Filmakers Signature Series has no special meaning other than Danny DeVito’s signature is on the front cover.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

For some unexplicable reason, I skipped from my War of the Rose laser disc box set directly to this blu ray release. The title of the movie is rather clever: The War of the Roses (Oliver and Barbara Rose). Ever since Romancing the Stone and Jewel of the Nile, I love the chemistry between Michael Douglas and Kathleen Turner. They work in perfect “harmony” in this melodrama. Although the video and audio are not top-notched, the movie nevertheless is very enjoyable. According to director Danny DeVito the first assembled cut of the film ran 3 hours and 4 minutes! I pre-ordered this movie when the price dropped to $16.99 from $17.99, then rose to $21.99, and now it is gone down to $19.99. The price is still reasonable, and this set is recommended. The ending will send chills up your spine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, May 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: War of the Roses (DVD)
I am in the process of getting DVD's for all the VHS movies I have and this is one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic, Nov. 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: War of the Roses (DVD)
My husband had never seen this movie and I told him how good it was. I decided to buy it and we enjoyed it immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars War of the Roses, June 11 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: War of the Roses (DVD)
I loved this movie and wanted it for myself and to show a few friends.
I've just ended a 10 year relationship and I never played their roll but
I did get thoughts screaming in my head about it. I do believe every married couple should buy
this movie and watch it many times over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my new favorites, April 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: War of the Roses: Filmmaker Signature Series [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is such a funny movie. My boyfriend is slightly obsessed with Michael Douglas in Falling Down, which when we watched it together, honestly gave me a huge migraine.
So after hearing his synopsis on this movie and raving about how great it was, I was slightly skeptical. But this movie is hilarious. I may have to give Falling Down another chance....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still Love it!!, Jan. 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: War of the Roses (DVD)
Came just as described. Love this movie! It's going to add to my 80's collection I started a while back. Thank you! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Movie, Jan. 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: War of the Roses (DVD)
omg, this is such a funny movie. Hard to believe it was based on a true story. Stars Michael Douglas and Kathleen Turner. I have watched this movie several times and still love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Fave, Oct. 15 2011
This review is from: War of the Roses (DVD)
This is by far my favourite Michael Douglas & Kathleen Turner movie. I could watch it over and over. Do yourself a favour and buy it right now. You'll get tons of laughs & tears from this divorcing couple - it may seem a little over the top, but I've known many divorced couples who've done just as many inane things as these 2 characters.

Kudos to whoever wrote the dialogue for this movie script. Brilliant! I have yet to watch it on our large screen, but will do so this weekend and can't wait to enjoy it all over again. Why don't they make movies like this anymore?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good DVD of an under-appreciated film, June 27 2004
By 
pm444 "pm444" (Okemos, MI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
While critics (and audiences) were somewhat lukewarm in their response to this film when it was first released, I enjoyed it. Although it's a "black comedy", it never veers too far into total comedy or total darkness. DeVito's narration helps to hold the film together and keeps it from degenerating into a series of mind-numbing retaliations. The film is visually appealing, with interesting camera angles and a solid sense of composition that is often lacking in comedies. The movie has held up well and does not appear as dated as many films from the same time.
Douglas plays his role of a rather self-important and arrogant know-it-all quite well, and Turner is equally convincing as she exhibits growing distaste for him.
The DVD has a very good video transfer. The sound is surprisingly good for a 2-channel source, with reasonably good directionality in the front speakers.
There's a montage of deleted scenes that are arranged in chronological order so that it's easy for the viewer to mentally insert them in their proper place in the film. Unlike some deleted scenes, these have the same video and audio quality as the film itself.
Overall, this is a nicely done DVD of an under-appreciated film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Nightmare Divorce: A Dark Comedy, May 12 2004
By 
Rudy Avila "Saint Seiya" (Lennox, Ca United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The 1989 film "War Of The Roses" was the product of Danny Devito who conceived the idea. He directed the film and it stars Kathleen Turner and Michael Douglas. Their relationship in the film is nothing like their earlier partnership in Romancing The Stone. Here, the Roses are at war, in a modern parody of the historic British War Of The Roses, Tudors and Stuarts whose emblems were white and red roses. They are fabulously rich, they met traveling foreign lands and buying antiques. She's an experienced gymnist and he's a wealthy executive. Eventually, their love life and marriage falls apart and a divorce, long-lived and bitter, ensues.
The entire film is about that terrible divorce. It's a bit of a downer for happily married couples but it's still an enjoyable film as far as social satire and dark comedy. It's not really possible for any couple to conduct their divorce in the spiteful, nasty way these two go at it. Michael Douglas ruins his wife's dinner party, runs over her cat, and later Douglas eats his own dog which she had made into dinner. Their fighting becomes an all-out war, enacted inside their million dollar estate. At one point, they are hanging for dear life on a chandelier. Danny DeVito plays the lawyer and he is delivering absolute comedy. Remember, DaVito was a great choice for comic roles. Does anyone remember his partnership with Arnold Schwartznegger in the movie Twins ??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

War of the Roses: Filmmaker Signature Series [Blu-ray]
War of the Roses: Filmmaker Signature Series [Blu-ray] by Michael Douglas (Blu-ray - 2012)
CDN$ 25.99 CDN$ 21.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews