Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Madagascar 3: Europe’s Most Wanted (blu ray/DVD combo): 2D version, heartwarming, with dazzling video and great audio!
VIDEO (2D):

Madagascar 3 arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.78:1 encode. The transfer is defined by a dazzling display of rich colour and clarity. It delivers every hue with brilliant accuracy and vibrancy, all of them nearly blinding but nevertheless balanced and pleasant to the eye. Details are exceptional, too. The image is richly complex and...
Published 20 months ago by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average
I was disappointed with the 3rd movie. It didn't have the same flow of humour as the 1st or 2nd movies.
I think it was because of the replacement of the beloved "Granny from N.Y.C ".
I thought the animal control woman from France was a real turn-off. That was how they seamed this sequel together.

It took away from the characters and their way...
Published 19 months ago by Tight Quarters


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average, Feb. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was disappointed with the 3rd movie. It didn't have the same flow of humour as the 1st or 2nd movies.
I think it was because of the replacement of the beloved "Granny from N.Y.C ".
I thought the animal control woman from France was a real turn-off. That was how they seamed this sequel together.

It took away from the characters and their way of making it through their adventures.
The movie didn't have the same flow as the others did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Madagascar 3: Europe’s Most Wanted (blu ray/DVD combo): 2D version, heartwarming, with dazzling video and great audio!, Jan. 22 2013
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
VIDEO (2D):

Madagascar 3 arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.78:1 encode. The transfer is defined by a dazzling display of rich colour and clarity. It delivers every hue with brilliant accuracy and vibrancy, all of them nearly blinding but nevertheless balanced and pleasant to the eye. Details are exceptional, too. The image is richly complex and breathtakingly sharp. The 1080p resolution captures the finest little traces of animated texturing evident on a variety of surfaces, from rusty metal to fury bodies. This is a reference grade presentation from start to finish. (5/5)

AUDIO:

This 2D version comes with fantastic Dolby TrueHD 7.1 lossless track, which serves as the perfect complement to the jaw-dropping video. This is a big, robust sound presentation that's as sonically well defined as the image is visually precise. The track brings the world of Madagascar to life with startling efficiency and clarity. Sound spreads around the stage with a natural presence and high energy. The rears are used often for ambient effects, like the soothing sounds of the wilderness, the bustling noise of the city or the excited cheers of spectators. Dialogue is well-prioritized and intelligible amid the chaos and laughter, making this a highly-engaging and fun lossless mix. The choice of voices for different characters is also excellent: Ben Stiller as Alex, Chris Rock as Marty, David Schwimmer as Melman, Sacha Baron Cohen as Julien, and Cedric The Entertainer as Maurice. The overall result leaves us with a completely satisfied sound experience. (5/5)

TRIVIA:

Madagascar 3 has an estimated budget of $145 million, and the worldwide gross was $742 million!

Did you notice that on the ship at the end that is headed to Madagascar, DuBois' crew are in crates on the upper deck. On the sides of the crates is stenciled Freedom Fries, Freedom Dressing, Freedom Toast and Freedom Dip Sandwiches, a popular joke in the USA to eliminate the name "French" from certain foods?

PACKAGING:

This blu ray/dvd combo set comes with 2 discs: blu ray disc and DVD disc, plus Digital Copy.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

This is the 3rd instalment of the Madagascar franchise. Finally bringing the journey back home full circle, Madagascar 3 is a hilarious eye-dazzler, bursting with energy and a great deal of heart. Ben Stiller (Alex), Chris Rock (Marty), David Schwimmer (Melman) and Jada Pinkett Smith (Gloria) reprise their roles and make a few new friends in Martin Short (Stefano), Bryan Cranston (Vitaly), Jessica Chastain (Gia) and Frances McDormand (Captain Chantel DeBois). It's a fun new addition to the quartet's misadventures back to New York and arguably the best of the franchise. As far as video and audio presentation, this third segment is also the best of them all. This 2D version is highly recommended.

If you have a 3D TV and blu ray player, the 3D version (although not advertised by Amazon.ca, but labelled as Madagascar 3: Euriope’s Most Wanted (blu ray) is definitely preferred, plus having the same price as the 2D version (blu ray/DVD combo).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Madagascar 3: Europe’s Most Wanted (blu ray): this is actually a 3D version, heartwarming, with dazzling video & great audio!, Jan. 22 2013
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
MY ADVENTURE IN ORDERING:

It should be noted that Amazon.ca has mislabeled this set as blu ray + DVD + Digital Copy. The copy that I received was the 3D version (blu ray 3D + blu ray + DVD + Digital Copy). When this movie was first announced, I enquired about availability of 3D, and did not get a satisfactory answer. If you look carefully at the Amazon.ca website, the 3D version is nowhere to be found. I initially ordered this blu ray set with the colourful wig, and to my dismay, my order was cancelled because it was NOT available, but available at other Amazon.com website. I ordered this set when the price dropped down to $18.00. But, when I received this order, I was overjoyed to find that this set was the 3D version that I was enquiring before. But the trap for the middle spindle was broken. Amazon.ca promptly replaced with another 3D version. Now I am happy. But I notice that the price of Madagascar 3: Europe's Most Wanted (blu ray) has gone back up to $34.99.

VIDEO (2D):

Madagascar 3 (2D) arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.78:1 encode. The transfer is defined by a dazzling display of rich colour and clarity. It delivers every hue with brilliant accuracy and vibrancy, all of them nearly blinding but nevertheless balanced and pleasant to the eye. Details are exceptional, too. The image is richly complex and breathtakingly sharp. The 1080p resolution captures the finest little traces of animated texturing evident on a variety of surfaces, from rusty metal to fury bodies. This is a reference grade presentation from start to finish. (5/5)

VIDEO (3D):

Madagasgar 3 (3D) arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 MVC 1080p 1.78:1 encode. Besides all the good qualities described above, the transfer is also spectacular, stupendous and sensational. The 3D effects are simply out of this world. Right from the get-go during Alex's dream, the faces and noses of characters burst through the screen and often dangle inside my Lee TheatreHD home theatre. Melman's elongated face, in particular, does this to great effect quite a bit thanks to his long neck. The car chase in Monte Carlo is one the most exciting because objects occasionally fly all over the place with every explosion and threaten to smack you in the face. The presentation comes with astonishing depth and dimensionality, as separation of the background from the foreground is consistent throughout. Much of the picture has a fantastic pop-up book effect with a convincing sense of space and distance. This 3D version is definitely of demo quality and one of the best in 2012. Dreamworks have done a great job, and is edging very close to Pixar/Disney. (5/5)

AUDIO:

Both the 3D and 2D versions have the same fantastic Dolby TrueHD 7.1 lossless track, which serves as the perfect complement to the jaw-dropping video. This is a big, robust sound presentation that is as sonically well defined as the image is visually precise. The track brings the world of Madagascar to life with startling efficiency and clarity. Sound spreads around the stage with a natural presence and high energy. The rears are used often for ambient effects, like the soothing sounds of the wilderness, the bustling noise of the city or the excited cheers of spectators. Dialogue is well-prioritized and intelligible amid the chaos and laughter, making this a highly-engaging and fun lossless mix. The choice of voices for different characters is also excellent: Ben Stiller as Alex, Chris Rock as Marty, David Schwimmer as Melman, Sacha Baron Cohen as Julien, and Cedric The Entertainer as Maurice. The overall result leaves us with a completely satisfied sound experience. (5/5)

TRIVIA:

Madagascar 3 has an estimated budget of $145 million, and the worldwide gross was $742 million!

Did you notice that on the ship at the end that is headed to Madagascar, DuBois' crew are in crates on the upper deck. On the sides of the crates is stenciled Freedom Fries, Freedom Dressing, Freedom Toast and Freedom Dip Sandwiches, a popular joke in the USA to eliminate the name "French" from certain foods?

PACKAGING:

This set comes with 3 discs: 3D blu ray disc, blu ray disc and DVD disc, plus Digital Copy.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

This is the 3rd instalment of the Madagascar franchise. Finally bringing the journey back home full circle, Madagascar 3 is a hilarious eye-dazzler, bursting with energy and a great deal of heart. Ben Stiller (Alex), Chris Rock (Marty), David Schwimmer (Melman) and Jada Pinkett Smith (Gloria) reprise their roles and make a few new friends in Martin Short (Stefano), Bryan Cranston (Vitaly), Jessica Chastain (Gia) and Frances McDormand (Captain Chantel DeBois). It is a fun new addition to the quartet's misadventures back to New York and arguably the best of the franchise. As far as video and audio presentation, this third segment is also the best of them all, especially with very immersive 3D experience. If you have a 3D TV and blu ray player, the 3D version (although not advertised by Amazon.ca) is definitely preferred, and is highly recommended. Choose the title Madagascar 3: Europe's Most Wanted (blu ray), and hopefully you will receive the 3D version. Good luck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Main characters = snorefest. Sub characters = hilarity, July 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The main characters are a chore to watch, but all the sub-characters really make this movie. The penguin's suped-up nuclear-mobile versus the moped-from-hell makes for one of the best chase scenes ever. Sasha the circus-bear and the lemur-king make for the best/weirdest cartoon couple ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, Jan. 29 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Best of the Madagascar series. You don't have to be a kid to enjoy it. A must see for everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as food as the first few Madagascar movies, July 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Unfortunately this Madagascar movie isn't as good as the other series but my kids like it.

The shipping is affordable and showed up in good shape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Parfait!, June 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
J'aime bien les films de la série "Madagascar". Ils sont parfaits pour les enfants et les adultes qui ont gardé leur coeur d'enfant! Je recommande pour les jours de pluie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars g, April 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
great movie! got it on time. it works great. I would say other people would like to see this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun movie!, Jan. 14 2013
By 
Christina Andrei (calgary, AB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Our family enjoyed this movie very much, it was really entertaining! It was fun to hear & see the movie characters from the past movies, they didn't disappoint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Madegascar 3: Europe's Most Wanted, Jan. 9 2013
By 
Duchess "Duchess" (Edmonton, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This movie was another enjoyable movie and had another good storyline. Like Shrek, it was also well written and again had a 'different' storyline from all the rest. My husband and I have now seen this movie a few times since it came out. Bottom line, yes, I would recommend this movie to anyone who liked the first 2 movies of this series. If you liked Americal Tail 1 and 2 which was also produced by Steven Spielberg, then you might like this movie as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Madagascar 3: Europe's Most Wanted (+ Wig) [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy]
CDN$ 48.99 CDN$ 34.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews