Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Sci-Fi... AND need to think a bit
Very entertaining movie. Keeps you intrigued to see where things go... with a few twists. There are some parts you have to think through, and to which you must pay particular attention. Not to worry, it does not take too much effort to figure out what happened. Time-travel movies are always like that, in terms of needing to think through the paradox.

There are...
Published on April 7 2013 by Charles Dimov

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Loopy!
AS with most movies involving time travel the plot makes no sense. If you can look beyond that though, it is a beautifully crafted flick with a classical tale told in an interesting way. With shotguns!
Published on June 8 2013 by eeyoore


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Sci-Fi... AND need to think a bit, April 7 2013
By 
Charles Dimov "Charles Dimov" (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Looper (Bilingual) (DVD)
Very entertaining movie. Keeps you intrigued to see where things go... with a few twists. There are some parts you have to think through, and to which you must pay particular attention. Not to worry, it does not take too much effort to figure out what happened. Time-travel movies are always like that, in terms of needing to think through the paradox.

There are a few tough parts to swallow - especially if you are a parent (you will understand when you watch the movie).

Overall, interesting as it keeps you thinking, and enjoying the glimpses into the near future world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars MEN ARE LIKE SPIDERS, IT'S THE LITTLE ONES THAT GET YOU, June 7 2015
This review is from: Looper (Bilingual) (DVD)
The movie takes on some unique aspects. Perhaps the best way to describe the film is that it reminded me of "Terminator" without cyborgs. This is a film that deals with time travel. It addresses some of the paradoxes of time travel, but ignores others. In the near future, time travel is possible and outlawed. As the old saying goes, "If time travel is outlawed, then only outlaws will time travel." Weirdly the outlaws use time travel to dispose of bodies. People are transported to the past where they are shot/killed/ and disposed of by people called Loopers who are well paid in silver.

Something happens to the system as Loopers are rounded up and sent back to be killed by their younger selves. To add to the weird, there suddenly appears mutant humans who have mild amounts of "TK" or telekinesis powers.

I liked the movie as it was a fresh approach to the use of time travel. Decent script. Decent acting. Good ending.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, no real sex, nudity (Piper Perabo)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Underrated Masterpiece!, April 30 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Looper (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
This was a solid, clever and well executed action movie that offered originality at a time when super heroes, sequels and remakes dominate the genre. Bruce Willis kicks ass while showing vulnerability. Joseph Gordon-Levitt wasn't highly believable as a young Bruce Willis but he was solid nonetheless. But ultimately I love the fact there's no clear-cut hero, that it can be so dark and blur the lines between wrong and right, and that they pulled off a believable movie from a ridiculous plot that I feel could have flopped in the hands of people less talented and less intelligent. And the ending brings the movie all together and ultimately made me fall in love with this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Looper (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
short and sweet a++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great flick, April 23 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Looper (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
I like this new twist on an old sci-fi theme.

The "protagonist and antagonist" balance well together in their futuristic / current world. In both the script and the actors acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Here we go loopty loo, Feb. 26 2014
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Looper (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Here we go loopty loo
Here we go loopty li
Here we go loopty loo
All on a Saturday night
All on a Saturday night
All on a Saturday night

In the year 2042, Joe (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) has a unique profession as a "Looper"; he dispatches people from the future for the mob. After thirty years on the job a Looper is retired by being sent back 30 years in time to himself for the purpose of being dispatched. Older Joe (Bruce Willis) is fine with this until an inappropriate shot dispatches the love of his life. So now he must go back and correct the system by removing the person who made this shot possible.

Will he succeed yes or no? In either case what will be the outcome? Will younger Joe cow-down to his wishes or learn something from this experience? We watch this presentation and wonder what we would do if we were either Joe. We too must make decisions in life and this movie may help us or not in making those decisions. In any case it's worth watching this movie at least a couple of times.

The story is really about relationships and choices. It is not really a sci-fi story about time travel. The time thing is just one dimension to help show the outcome of the choices we make.

The presentation even though having lots of action does not contain a lot of gratuitous gore. It also does not rely on a lot of CGI. There may be a tad too much background music but not enough to distract from the presentation.

There is a big logic flaw. I cannot go into detail without placing a spoiler. But the trigger that created the antagonist could not have happened the first time around in the loop. You not let this distract you from the purpose of the movie.

If you're watching the streaming version then you're going to miss the voiceover commentaries which in this case are just as good as the original presentation and give you an insight as to what they were trying to accomplish. Naturally I saw this in Blu-ray which is now old hat and does not change the story at all but does add to the viewing experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Kind of a silly premise., June 4 2015
By 
B. Armitage (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Looper (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Kind of a silly premise. Why have someone waiting to kill the guy from the future if they could just send him out in the middle of the ocean... or above a volcano like the Scientologists believe?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super cool movie!, Aug. 4 2014
By 
K. Wark "Born Again Book Worm" (Chestermere, AB) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Looper (Bilingual) (DVD)
This flick has time travel and twists with great actors and a "keep you thinking" story line. A must have for my DVD collection as I'll watch it repeatedly and still love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars thx 3, Sept. 22 2014
This review is from: Looper (Bilingual) (DVD)
Was a good video - as i wasn't sure what to expect. Delivery - packaging of the product was excellent and I thank-you. R
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, Feb. 19 2013
By 
Gale/S (Surrey, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Looper (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Good movie; some ideas a bit far fetched but still enjoyable. It does have some nice twists and turns and following the "loop" might give some people a headache. Thoroughly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Looper (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Bilingual)
Looper (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Bilingual) by Rian Johnson (Blu-ray - 2012)
CDN$ 21.99 CDN$ 7.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews