Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Sci-Fi... AND need to think a bit
Very entertaining movie. Keeps you intrigued to see where things go... with a few twists. There are some parts you have to think through, and to which you must pay particular attention. Not to worry, it does not take too much effort to figure out what happened. Time-travel movies are always like that, in terms of needing to think through the paradox.

There are...
Published 17 months ago by Charles Dimov

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as other Bruce Willis Movies.
This movie was OK but I would have chosen another Bruce Willis Movie over this one if I had the time back. Lacks action and the story line is kind of cheesy.
Published 12 months ago by Emeuser 2


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Sci-Fi... AND need to think a bit, April 7 2013
By 
Charles Dimov (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Looper (Bilingual) (DVD)
Very entertaining movie. Keeps you intrigued to see where things go... with a few twists. There are some parts you have to think through, and to which you must pay particular attention. Not to worry, it does not take too much effort to figure out what happened. Time-travel movies are always like that, in terms of needing to think through the paradox.

There are a few tough parts to swallow - especially if you are a parent (you will understand when you watch the movie).

Overall, interesting as it keeps you thinking, and enjoying the glimpses into the near future world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
short and sweet a++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 3 2014
By 
Gabriel Daniel (Montreal, Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Très bon service et produit.
Merci,
Gabriel Daniel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great flick, April 23 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I like this new twist on an old sci-fi theme.

The "protagonist and antagonist" balance well together in their futuristic / current world. In both the script and the actors acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Here we go loopty loo, Feb. 26 2014
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Here we go loopty loo
Here we go loopty li
Here we go loopty loo
All on a Saturday night
All on a Saturday night
All on a Saturday night

In the year 2042, Joe (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) has a unique profession as a "Looper"; he dispatches people from the future for the mob. After thirty years on the job a Looper is retired by being sent back 30 years in time to himself for the purpose of being dispatched. Older Joe (Bruce Willis) is fine with this until an inappropriate shot dispatches the love of his life. So now he must go back and correct the system by removing the person who made this shot possible.

Will he succeed yes or no? In either case what will be the outcome? Will younger Joe cow-down to his wishes or learn something from this experience? We watch this presentation and wonder what we would do if we were either Joe. We too must make decisions in life and this movie may help us or not in making those decisions. In any case it's worth watching this movie at least a couple of times.

The story is really about relationships and choices. It is not really a sci-fi story about time travel. The time thing is just one dimension to help show the outcome of the choices we make.

The presentation even though having lots of action does not contain a lot of gratuitous gore. It also does not rely on a lot of CGI. There may be a tad too much background music but not enough to distract from the presentation.

There is a big logic flaw. I cannot go into detail without placing a spoiler. But the trigger that created the antagonist could not have happened the first time around in the loop. You not let this distract you from the purpose of the movie.

If you're watching the streaming version then you're going to miss the voiceover commentaries which in this case are just as good as the original presentation and give you an insight as to what they were trying to accomplish. Naturally I saw this in Blu-ray which is now old hat and does not change the story at all but does add to the viewing experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super cool movie!, Aug. 4 2014
By 
K. Wark "Born Again Book Worm" (Chestermere, AB) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Looper (Bilingual) (DVD)
This flick has time travel and twists with great actors and a "keep you thinking" story line. A must have for my DVD collection as I'll watch it repeatedly and still love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, Feb. 19 2013
By 
Gale/S (Surrey, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Good movie; some ideas a bit far fetched but still enjoyable. It does have some nice twists and turns and following the "loop" might give some people a headache. Thoroughly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars not really action packed but had a good cast and good story line, July 29 2014
By 
Toronto - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
decent movie,not really action packed but had a good cast and good story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A smart film with a very clever plot twist, Nov. 29 2012
By 
Derek Draven - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
On the surface, Looper is about as implausible a story as you can possibly get. It's the future, and time travel has been outlawed by world governments. This doesn't seem to stop the criminal element from somehow gaining access to this technology, and using it to eliminate wanted targets by sending them back through time to be killed by specialized 'Looper' agents, thereby making them impossible to find in the future. It seems the future mafia has never heard of hydrochloric acid, but I digress. Joe Simmons (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) is one such Looper, who collects his reward in the form of silver bars strapped to bodies of his victims as they are sent back through time. A nonchalant, selfish drug addict, Simmons lives for the moment with no regard for anything except the very next day. Things begin to go haywire when fellow Looper Seth Richards begs to hide out at Simmons' apartment, in fear of his own life. Seth has failed to "close his own loop," which means killing his own future self in order to terminate the contract with the criminal syndicate. Simmons is forced to give up Seth's location or lose his established wealth. Shortly after, Simmons is faced with the same predicament when his own future self (Bruce Willis) is thrown back through time. Before he can react, the older Simmons knocks him out cold and makes his escape. Faced with the same death penalty, Simmons begins a personal manhunt for his future self, while avoiding syndicate hit men who have orders to shoot on sight. But the older Simmons has journeyed back through time for the most personal of reasons, and both become embroiled in something far greater and more far-reaching than they had first anticipated.

Looper deserves maximum credit for tackling a wholly unique kind of story. Yes, we've had action movies centered around time travel before, but not in this vein. The pacing of the film leaps back and forth between loud and boisterous, and tense and introspective. Simmons is the thread that binds the entire story together from start to finish. It's the ultimate display of man vs. himself, in the most literal of senses. The younger Simmons is a crooked, selfish villain, while the older Simmons is driven by a warped, aggressive sense of justice. As different as they are, both are permeated by a deep brutality and penchant for impulsively violent acts. As the story progresses, both of them turn into mirror images of each other by trading places and seeing their lives from a different vantage point, be it for better or worse. It's impossible to give out too much detail without spoiling the film, but that's merely scratching the surface. Looper pulls a fast one on the audience by swinging the entire story in a completely different direction that wasn't even hinted at in trailers or promotional material. The twist is handled with such precision that I found myself sitting up straight in my seat, completely focused on what was going on. Smart filmmaking, indeed! Rest assured, Looper utilizes all the elements of a sci-fi action movie, from future-violence and dystopia, to headache-inducing time paradoxes. Yet, I never quite got the feeling that audiences would be analyzing and debating the subject matter of Looper over say...the Matrix trilogy and its rich symbolism. It's just not that kind of film. Joseph Gordon-Levitt is barely recognizable as the younger Bruce Willis, incorporating minor prosthetics and contact lenses in such a manner as to suggest an entirely different actor. Willis has less stake in the film, acting as a plot device with brief moments of intense emotional delivery that serve more as a reference point to the contrasting personality of his younger self, and how both come full circle in relation to one another. The ensemble cast is a great fit as well, with the only odd man out being Jeff Daniels as the ruthless head of the criminal organization. Dumb & Dumber has seen fit to curse Daniels from ever being taken seriously as a threat in any movie, ever again. There are some great action scenes in the film, but they're only shown for the purpose of explaining the consequence of an action. Never once does the film feel like it's heading in the direction of a carefully constructed gun battle or explosion-fest. When the action does come, it's both natural and fitting in relation to the story. That's rare!

Looper may not have been the biggest film of 2012, but it's certainly one of the smartest and most original. You don't need to be an expert in time travel and quantum physics to understand what's going on. The subtlety of the film serves to quietly explain the goings-on without forcing anyone to fumble for the Pause button and ask a friend for help. It's tense, and nerve-wracking up to the very end. Threats and foreboding come from the most unlikely of places. In short...if you think you've got this movie pegged based on watching the theatrical trailer, then think again! While you're at it, grab yourself a copy, sit down, and get pulled in.

On Blu-Ray, Looper benefits from a very good visual transfer, complete with rich detail and strong, healthy colors. The palette can fluctuate dramatically between night shots in the city, and daytime shots in the countryside, where grass can appear slightly more yellow, rather than green. I'm being overly fickle, as I am a fan of saturation, but Looper doesn't overdo it, and that's a good thing. It's 99% devoid of visual defects, including DNR or crush. The DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 track is a huge standout, and delivers the one thing that I personally demand from Blu-Ray titles: a solid and clear voice channel. Blunderbuss shots thunder across the bass channel with tremendous power, while farmland sounds buzz about and create a rich audio atmosphere, setting the appropriate tones for each scene. On the extras side, Looper is respectable, featuring a Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Emily Blunt, and director Rian Johnson commentary track, plus an hour of extra content split up between deleted scenes and some brisk featurettes. This combination makes the Looper Blu-Ray a solid first-run investment, and perfect for any sci-fi fan's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional, April 9 2013
That kid did his homework! Uncanny, how well he imitated Bruce's mannerisms. The story line is great but we laughed because of some the inconsistencies, and well, it's Hollywood time travel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Looper (Bilingual)
Looper (Bilingual) by Rian Johnson (DVD - 2012)
CDN$ 27.99 CDN$ 21.80
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews