Customer Reviews


245 Reviews
5 star:
 (195)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lawrence of Arabia Collector’s Edition box set (blu ray)…perfect video/audio transfer with a priceless box set!
RESTORATION:

"We wanted to return this film to as pristine a condition as possible to honour its anniversary release," says Grover Crisp, EVP of Asset Management, Film Restoration and Digital Mastering for SPE. The original camera negative was scanned at 8K and the film went through a painstaking process of repairing problems inherent to the 50-year old film...
Published on Nov. 14 2012 by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 1988 Restoration found wanting
The Lawrence of Arabia boxed set released by Columbia TriStar Home Entertainment is based on a 1988 restoration of the film. This version omits some of the very best scenes from the original picture; specifically, the long, tense, horse & camel charge on Akabar. The "1988" version only has about a 30 second mish-mash of footage from the original picture...
Published on May 5 2002


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lawrence of Arabia Collector’s Edition box set (blu ray)…perfect video/audio transfer with a priceless box set!, Nov. 14 2012
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
RESTORATION:

"We wanted to return this film to as pristine a condition as possible to honour its anniversary release," says Grover Crisp, EVP of Asset Management, Film Restoration and Digital Mastering for SPE. The original camera negative was scanned at 8K and the film went through a painstaking process of repairing problems inherent to the 50-year old film elements. Using the latest digital imaging technology, the colour grading and re-mastering was completed in 4K at Colorworks, Sony Pictures Entertainments' digital intermediate facility. "The original negative was seriously damaged in a number of ways, some problems dating from the original release and some accumulated over the years." says Crisp. "But, until now, we did not have the tools available to address these issues. We think fans of the film will be as amazed as we are at the detail and resolution in the imagery captured by cinematographer Freddie Young to compliment David Lean's immaculate direction." How true!!

VIDEO:

Lawrence of Arabia arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 2.19:1 encode. Now through the high scrutiny lens of blu ray comes an image of the greatness in the look back at Lawrence of Arabia that today requires only the gift of sight to see in all of its filmic glory. Sony's meticulous 4K restoration is not just a treat, it's a revelation and perhaps the definitive blu ray catalogue release, if not the format's finest presentation. It is a beautiful picture, to say the least, every frame lovingly cared for and displayed on blu-ray with the sort of attention to detail and, indeed, flawlessness that a film of this magnitude commands. Sony's picture dazzles from the opening shots of Lawrence speeding down very well-defined pavement and past sharp and accurate foliage. Detail remains exacting throughout the film; whether fine grains of sand, sweeping desert vistas, intricate clothing lines, or complex facial textures, there's never a frame in which the picture doesn't dazzle with its perfect film-like elements. The image is absolutely clean, showing no signs of wear and succumbing to no unwanted artifacts or digital tinkering. Colours are equally resplendent. Gold trim, bright reds, lush natural greens, and all variety of colours simply dazzle in every scene. Black levels are perfect, as is shadow detail. It is the sort of timeless image that transfixes and immerses, one that is so precise that viewers will become absolutely lost in the beauty of the film. One should watch it twice in succession, once for the transfer and once for the movie. (5/5)

AUDIO:

Lawrence of Arabia makes its long-anticipated blu-ray debut with a DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 lossless soundtrack that's up to the task of sonically carrying the film and supporting its splendid visuals. The prologue music plays with superb clarity, excellent separation and distinctive notes, natural heft, effortless balance, and fine spacing, including a prominent but natural surround element. Music is certainly the sonic highlight throughout the film and a necessary ingredient in dramatically shaping the Lawrence of Arabia experience. Maurice Jarre's stunning score has never sounded better on a home video release. This is a high quality vintage soundtrack that's the perfect compliment to a classic film and its first-class video transfer. (5/5)

AWARDS:

Academy Award Winner (1963):

Best Picture (Sam Spiegel)
Best Director (David Lean)
Best Original Music Score (Maurice Jarre)
Best Cinematography (Freddie Young)
Best Sound (John Cox)
Best Editing (Anne V. Coates)
Best Set Direction, Colour

Academy Award Nominations:

Best Actor (Peter O’Toole)
Best Supporting Actor (Omar Sharif)
Best Writing, Screenplay

TRIVA:

Did you notice that almost all movement in the film goes from left to right? David Lean said he did this to emphasize that the film was a journey.

While filming, Peter O'Toole referred to co-star Omar Sharif as "Fred," stating that "no one in the world is called Omar Sharif. Your name must be Fred."

The film missed out on a 11th Oscar nomination - for Best Costume Design - because someone forgot to submit Phyllis Dalton's name for consideration.

PACKAGING:

This Limited Edition box set is quite large, measuring 12” x 12”, larger than regular box sets like The Sound of Music, Singin’ In The Rain, etc. This huge box really reminded me of those huge laser disc box sets from the days gone by. The white box is sheathed in a clear plastic slide-on cover that lists specs and supplement info. Inside, there is a fantastic 88-page coffee table book of the same size, with rare behind-the-scenes photos. There is an individually numbered 70 mm mounted film frame.

There are 4 discs: disc 1: Feature Film with secrets of Arabia: Picture-in-Graphics Track; disc 2: Special Features; disc 3 (gift set exclusive disc), containing never-before-released deleted scenes, the lure of the desert: Martin Scorsese on Lawrence of Arabia, Lawrence at 50: a classic restored; In love with desert; King Hussein visits Lawrence of Arabia set; Wind, Sand and Star (Original 1963 version); archival interviews with William Friedkin, Sydney Pollack and Steven Spielberg; trailer & TV spots; disc 4: Soundtrack CD with original score from the film, with 2 previously unreleased tracks.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

2012 is a very good year for vintage catalogue blu ray releases. Thankfully, they all had careful and detailed restoration. Thus, we are blessed with the best editions on blu ray in our collection, including E.T., Jaws, Indiana Jones, Cinderella, etc. And we end the year with the ultimate release of Lawrence of Arabia. Thanks to Sony for doing such a magnificent job in restoring this vintage classics to its original glory. This large box set is priceless, and will be displayed next to my other blu ray box sets, like Singin’ In The Rain, The Sound of Music, The Ten Commandments, The Wizard of Oz, Gone With The Wind and Ben Hur. This is indeed a special treat for all the Lawrence of Arabia fans. There are two blu ray discs of Special Features, and I shall take my time to slowly go through and enjoy each section. The song listing for the original score CD is found on the page within the case. There are two previously unreleased tracks: Entracte and Exit Music. The sound of the CD is very well remastered.

All in all, this box set has so many goodies: restored film with tons of Special Features in HD, large book with gorgeous pictures and information about All You Want To Know About Lawrence of Arabia, the well-remastered soundtrack CD with bonus tracks, plus the authentic film frame (70mm film print)…my conclusion: priceless! Naturally, this box set is very highly recommended! The 2-disc movie only edition is of course also highly recommended, but you will be missing out on a lot of bonus features, plus all the goodies stated above. Personally, I find the higher cost for the box set is definitely worthwhile, and just opening the box set to discover all the different goodies is already a gratifying experience, like a child again looking for all the goodies.

I hope the above review is helpful to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They Don't Make 'em Like This Anymore, Sept. 1 2002
By A Customer
It's a wonder this film was made at all. As Omar Sharif famously said (I'm quoting from memory, but this is close): "Say you are the man with the money at the studio. Someone comes to you and says he wants to make a film that's four hours long, with no action, no love story, no women at all, very little dialog, and no stars in the lead roles, and you want to go to one of the most remote places in the world to film it. What would you say?"
Fortunately, it was made, and stands to this day as the greatest epic ever filmed. The dialog is indeed sparse, but memorable. There's not a wasted word in this movie. There is action, but it's not the focus of the film, this isn't an "action" movie. O'Toole and Sharif were relative unknowns at the time, but this film made them international stars. There is indeed no love story. Lawrence is believed to have been homosexual, and that aspect of his character is hinted at in the film, but not really addressed (this was 1962, after all). They did in fact film it in the vast, remote Jordanian desert, and that desert is as much a character in the film as any of the actors. If there was ever a more beautifully filmed movie, I haven't seen it. To say the cinematography is breathtaking is to fail to do it justice. The DVD looks spectacular, you have to remind yourself constantly that you're looking at a movie filmed over 40 years ago. The sound has also been remastered, and Maurice Jarre's score sounds glorious. Don't listen to those who say Lawrence of Arabia is overrated. It's impossible to overrate this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical Lawrence, Aug. 22 2012
Praise is often lavished too readily but for "Lawrence of Arabia" all the accolades are justified. This film owes its place among cinema's greatest achievements because of a quality which occasionally emerges when talent combines to create something special.

It's impossible not to admire the grandeur of the sweeping desert scenes, photographed by Freddie Young in Super Panavision 70 (no CGI here!), blending with Maurice Jarre's majestic soundtrack; the imaginative transitional editing which so inspired the likes of Steven Spielberg; Robert Bolt's provocative screenplay with its ironic twists and character complexities; the spectacular battle sequences full of swirling colour; and not least the mesmerising Peter O'Toole as Lawrence, superbly supported by Omar Sharif, Anthony Quinn, Jack Hawkins and the rest.

All these elements were moulded under the hands of director David Lean into a film that has become an enduring masterpiece. His vision, understanding of the subject matter, mastery of technique, eye for detail and uncompromising standards present us with a riveting desert saga based on the exploits of enigmatic British army officer, T.E. Lawrence, during the Arab Revolt in the First World War. Lean's work is now restored to its original pristine state, the transfer to blu-ray injecting it with a refreshing vitality.

Some find it difficult to accept western actors in Arab roles and the film is indeed a product of the early 'sixties, when such things were common practice. But it should be remembered that Alec Guinness as Faisal was mistaken for the Prince on the set by people who knew him, and that Lean himself did not recognize Anthony Quinn when he first arrived made up in Arab costume. To my mind both actors appear perfectly natural alongside Omar Sharif, an ethnic Arab, in their scenes together.

O'Toole's portrayal of Lawrence has drawn criticism also as too egotistical. The truth is that T.E. Lawrence was a difficult man to understand and that cinema by its nature must distort to some extent in order to create the illusion of reality. Where the film unquestionably succeeds is in its depiction of a character with divided loyalties struggling to reconcile personal demons amid the horrors of war. Although the real Lawrence comes across as a more subdued personality in his book "Seven Pillars of Wisdom"--which Bolt studied for his script--it's clear that he was a tortured soul.

Such issues are, anyway, superfluous because this is not an historical documentary. It is an epic adventure story staged in a landscape of austere and perilous beauty. For newcomers to the film I should do no better than to quote the Lawrence character: "It's going to be fun." To say they don't make films like this anymore may be a cliche but in the case of "Lawrence of Arabia" they really don't.Lawrence of Arabia Giftset (Restored Version) [Blu-ray]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Historical Epic Ever, July 12 2004
LAWRENCE OF ARABIA is, without a doubt, the greatest historical epic ever filmed and the crowning achievement of David Lean's career. It's also the film that makes best use of the majestic desert landscape with shots of extraordinary rock formations, dunes, shimmering "mirages," and caravans making their way across seemingly endless sands.
LAWRENCE OF ARABIA tells the story of T.E. Lawrence and his adventures in the Middle East during World War I as he led the Arab revolt against the Turks. It is loosely based on Lawrence's book, THE SEVEN PILLARS OF WISDOM.
Even though there are battle scenes in LAWRENCE OF ARABIA, this film is, first and foremost, a character study of Lawrence who was, by anyone's account, a fascinating figure. Even the battle scenes serve to enhance the character of Lawrence rather than detailing the horrors of war and we see Lawrence's dark, embittered side as well as his heroic one.
Although Peter O'Toole wasn't David Lean's first choice to play Lawrence (both Marlon Brando and Albert Finney were offered the part), I can't imagine anyone else in the title role.
Omar Sharif is impressive as Sherif Ali Ibn El Kharish. Prior to this film, he was a virtual unknown, but LAWRENCE OF ARABIA launched Sharif on a long career that made him instantly recognizable the world over.
Even though O'Toole and Sharif weren't well-known when they starred in LAWRENCE OF ARABIA, the film's supporting case is certainly stellar: Alec Guiness, Anthony Quinn, Jose Ferrer and Claude Raines.
Although I think LAWRENCE OF ARABIA is best viewed on a large theatrical screen, this doesn't mean anyone should pass up the DVD. It's just too good for that, especially the Director's Cut (but do make sure you get the widescreen edition; this film demands it).
Don't watch LAWRENCE OF ARABIA expecting to get a history lesson. Watch it to learn more about the fascinating man who was T.E.Lawrence. If you do, I can't see any way you'll be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best film of David Lean!, July 1 2004
By 
Hiram Gomez Pardo (Valencia, Venezuela) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is simply , a towering movie. Just a few films show with so splendor the epical sense as this one. Not only it established a standard as the best work filmed in the desert: the kinetic existence of this well educated man who fights in a conflict absolutely out his concerns . It's impossible not remind to Lord Byron when he died in Greece , fighting by a noble cause.
All the cast was incredible. Alec Guiness , Omar Shariff, Anthony Quinn , Jack Hawkins and Claude Rains and obviously this legendary actor Peter O'Toole who lost the prize as best actor in 1962 with Gregory Peck in To kill a mockingbird.
David Lean adapted the book the seven pillars of wisdom with overwhelming results.
Lensed in Jordan and Spain , the film has countless astonishing sequences , but I 'd really wanted to underline , just ywo of them.
When the army has crossed the Akaba desert , there's a man who apparently fell from the camel. Lawrence decides go bacj for him : and then he listen the warning : you won't get back from the journey don't challenge the destiny . Obviously Lawrence ignores the warning and goes for him . When he arrives with the half dead man , he states those brilliant lines: the destiny is just right here and he touches his head.
The other scene is just the opening sequence when he crashs his motocycle and dies in an absurd accident.
The hero's life doesn't have any sense after the the triumph of the last battle. Something similar happens with Gladiator >
I can't imagine the hero thinking in quiet life or a normal life as the rest of the human being . The hero has completed his mission , has completed his own cycle and the time comes for him to fade . This mythical cycle makes the death of Lawrence,has been more than casual .
This work is much more than simply an extarordinary film ; it's a real triumph of the western world ; an artistic treasure ; a timeless picture!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest movies ever, May 8 2004
By 
David Lean's epic masterpiece on the tale of Col. T.E. Lawrence of Arabia is an outstanding masterpiece. It is difficult to reproduce a movie of such proportion now. Consider the actors: Peter O'Toole, Alec Guiness, Omar Sheriff, Anthony Quinn, Claude Rains, Jack Hawkins, all of whom give great performances. Most important was the cinematography, filmed in Morocco and Jordon for almost 2 years, which is breathtaking especially the desert scenes starting from the first point when they show the desert at sunrise. Also commendable is the music by Maurice Jarre, which goes beautifully with the picture.
Most important is the screenplay by Robert Bolt that beats all movies that I can recall. The movie is about an insignificant person who becomes a great person, raises the Arabs to unite in the first World War and revolt against the Turks and capture Damascus. Though he believes he could be anything, he realizes the limits of his abilities. In the end, when General Allenby realizes that Lawrence has outlived his purpose, he says,
"By the way, you have been promoted Colonel now".
Lawrence, "Yes, why"?
Prince Faisal, "Take the honor Colonel, be a little kind. There is nothing here for a warrior. Young men make wars and the virtues of war are the virtues of young men, courage and hope for the future. Then, old men make peace, and the vices of peace are the vices of old men, mistrust and caution. It must be so."
General Allenby to Lawrence, "Godspeed then."
After this, when Lawrence leaves and they squabble over who should keep what part of Damascus.
Prince Faisal, "But El Aurens is a double edged sword. We are both equally glad to be rid of him, are we not?"
Gen. Allenby, "I thought I was a hard man Sir."
Prince Faisal, "You are merely a general, I must be a king."
Col. Brighton leaves in disgust over this.
It is so sad that movies nowadays place less importance on the quality of the screenplay. I cannot think of a single director who can put together something like this which transcends time. The AFI rates this movie #5. It could easily beat "Gone with the Wind" and the "Godfather" for its depth. The only issue with this movie is that it does not have any romance and there are no women in the movie, which may rule out a large group of people from enjoying the movie. Otherwise, it is a timeless masterpiece.
A lot of the present day movies that have made it big such as "Titanic" pale in any category beside this movie. I would urge any person starting a collection to start with this movie and any person interested in directing, photography, acting or screenplay to start with this movie. They do not come better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 1988 Restoration found wanting, May 5 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Lawrence of Arabia (VHS Tape)
The Lawrence of Arabia boxed set released by Columbia TriStar Home Entertainment is based on a 1988 restoration of the film. This version omits some of the very best scenes from the original picture; specifically, the long, tense, horse & camel charge on Akabar. The "1988" version only has about a 30 second mish-mash of footage from the original picture. There are also other shorter, less dramatic, but "arguably" important scenes missing from this version.
I only saw the movie for the first time in 1991. A restored version was being played in Austin, TX and a friend insisted that we simply had to go see it on the big screen. Needless to say, I loved it. But, my absolute favorite part was the charge on Akabar. When I bought the video, I actually fast-forwarded through to see the "charge"?! Imagine my suprise when it was not there. If you can find a more complete version than the one TriStar currently has available, I heartily recommend buying it instead of this current release. I wish I had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read the book, then watch again in awe., July 8 2004
By 
Richard Arant "Toun" (Lanesville, Indiana USA) - See all my reviews
I have seen this masterpiece many many times, but only after reading T.E. Lawrence's book "The Seven Pillars of Wisdom" this year do I now begin to understand. This movie is a product of two of the century's greatest minds, one an author and soldier, the other a film maker. The power of Lawrence's descriptions of the desert matches the great cinematography. No film could fully project the power of the inner thoughts of this most introspective man; for that you absolutely need the book to fill in the gaps. Many of the scenes take on a much deeper meaning once you have read the book in detail. The Columbia Tri-Star two-DVD edition is faultless, something I will always treasure. I find it hard to believe that someday a better movie could possibly be made, but we can hope against hope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lawrence of Arabia (50th Anniversary Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray], Nov. 25 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
All I can say is WOW. This blu-ray is absloutely astounding. What a great gob in video quality for a blu-ray disc. The transfer to Blu-ray is from a 4K source. The box set is of great quality and measures about 12 inches x 12 inches x 1.75 inches and must weigh at least 4 Pounds. It even comes with a music soundtrack CD. You get 3 Blu-ray discs and 1 CD. The box is very sturdy and comes with a protective plastic cover. A 70mm film frame and a book. And, of course, the story of Lawrence in Arabia. The desert scenes alone are breathtaking on blu-ray. An excellent restoration job. You'd swear you had sand in your shoes after watching this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lawrence of Arabia, Jan. 21 2011
When this film was made, i am just 2 years old. Now, the more i am getting older, i
start to love reading historical and biography novels and watching true movie stories.
This film is exceptional, I do not buy it yet, I just borrow at library at least
4 times to watch it. Before i really do not understand T.E. Lawrence, this year
i start to search his biography and begin to read it around 3 weeks. His biography is very interesting. He is a great man.

After reading his biography, I re-watch this film again. I realized , the director
Mr. David Lean had created a memorable historical film to reflect the life of T.E.Lawrence.

This film will never be out of date for younger generations to see, because it is a historical film.

So, in order to appreciate fully this historical movie, i recommend people shoud read T.E. Lawrence biography first.

Now, most widesreen movies makers require a lot of human nature actions, scenes , battles are mostly constructed by computer technologies like the film Gladiator.

I really do not like it, because I do not feel the sensation of real human nature, real natural scenes, the touch of the earth, the touch of desert sand like in this film. The great effort of humans being to reach their destination via camel through the desert , which is the only mean of transportation at that epoch.

The beauty of this film is marvellous. Great actors also contribute to the sucess
of this film. I recommend people who like history should see and buy this film as historical film collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lawrence of Arabia (Restored Version) / Lawrence d'Arabie (Bilingual [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 26.99 CDN$ 19.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews