Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars call the midwife seasonone, Dec 31 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Call the Midwife: Season One (DVD)
It has been a very long time if ever that I have seen a series so well produced and acted the special effects and the facial/body language was so real it was as if you were there in real life.I hear there is another series coming and I just can not wait,an excellent job all round,
Sandy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a superb series!, Feb. 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Call the Midwife: Season One (DVD)
After all the awful stuff on TV these days..this show stands out heads and shoulders above all! it is well done, well written, meaningful and interesting to watch..you cannot help but like it! maybe i am old fashioned..but shows that mean something and reflect life either now or as it once was are important to have..all these "reality shows" mean nothing..and will they be remembered in 20 years? probably not..
shows like Bonanza, The Waltons, and todays Murdoch Mysteries..are the true meaning of entertainment without profanity and sex...and Call the Midwife is a classic example of a series that will become a "classic" in its time..thanks for making this available to the public..
heather smith
tatamagouche , nova scotia
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Video, Nov. 25 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Call the Midwife: Season One (DVD)
Watched this series on TV and just could not get enough of it, so I had to buy the video. I enjoy watching over again. All my friends love the series so the video will get passed around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Nov. 26 2012
By 
George Jones - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Call the Midwife: Season One (DVD)
When we first ordered this series, I was concerned that it might be boring and we would be sorry that we had bought it. I was very mistaken. Even though some of the births are quite realistic, this is a delightful movie. We laughed and cried. There's enough humor to ease the tension in the tough episodes. The acting is very good. I recommend this to people who enjoy finding out what life was really like in a former era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, Feb. 24 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Call the Midwife: Season One (DVD)
I really loved this series, had seen one episode on PBS and was captivated. I am hoping there is a season 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE NEW MIDWIFERY VERSUS THE OLD .. 50s 80s present 2014, Sept. 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Call the Midwife: Season One (DVD)
READ THE BOOK FIRST
LOVED IT

I TRAINED AS A MIDWIFE IN 1980 IN EAST END OF GLASGOW, SCOTLAND
SIMILAR POVERTY, AND BRILLIENT PEOPLE OF GLASGOW as those discussed in this DVD.

DIFFERENT MIDWIFERY TIMES FROM THE 50S TO THE 80S TO 2014 CURRENT PRACTISE
WE HAVE EVOLVED FROM , BULLY MIDWIVES, NO DADS ALLOWED IN THE DELIVERY ROOM, BABIES UNDER 28WKS NOT RECUSITATED
INTO : FAMILY CENTERED CARE WITH THE WOMAN AND HER FAMILY THE MOST IMPORTANT PEOPLE AT THE BIRTH

COMPASSIONATE MIDWIVES, WHO LOVE THEIR JOBS, BUT ALSO THEIR CLIENTS.

FAMILIES ALLOWED AT DELIVERY.

EVEN DADS EXCLUDED AT THEIR OWN CHILDRENS DELIVERY, DUE TO RIDGID POLICIES, ATTEND THEIR GRANDCHILDRENS BIRTH

I HAVE WORKED IN SCOTLAND, ENGLAND, AND AM NOW BASED IN VANCOUVER , CANADA.

TODAYS FAMILIES HAVE THE BEST OF CARE , FROM HIGHLY TRAINED,MIDWIVES, PRACTISING RESEARCH BASED MIDWIFERY, BUT MORE IMPORTANT, WITH THE WOMAN AT THE CENTRE AND NOT THE MIDWIFE...

ALL BABIES ARE RESUCITATED IF VIABLE ( IE WEIGHT, GESTATIONAL AGE, ALL TAKEN INTO CONSIDERATION)

DISABILITY NOT SEEN SO MUCH AS A DIS.. BUT AT TIMES VERY LIVABLE ABILITY

MISCARRAIGE TREATED WITH RESPECT

STILLBIRTH , NOW A FAMILY AFAIR, IF THE FAMILY WISH, AND NOT DISCARDED AND HIDDEN FROM THE MOTHER ESECIALLY ( ASK ANY WOMAN WHO HAS SUFFERED THIS TERRIBLE FATE, SHE WILL REMEMBER EVERY KIND WORD AND DEED, EVEN IF SHE IS 95YRS OLD)

I AM PRO WOMAN CHOICE

BIRTH IS PART OF LIFE, AND ALONG WITH DEATH, THE SAME LOVING CARE MUST GO INTO LOOKING AFTER THE FAMILY

IT IS ALSO A POLITICALLY LOADED EVENT, WITH OPINIONS ON BOTH SIDES ( PRO CHOICE OR NOT) THE SCOPE OF WHICH IAM NOT GETTING INTO HERE

I HAVE , THE BOOK, THE 2 CDS , AND AWAIT ANY NEW DVDS COMING OUT
WOULD LIKE TO SEE A PRESENT DVD OF TODAYS MIDWIFERY PRACTISE

HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS SERIOUS TO ANY ONE CONCERNED ABOUT BIRTH AND LIFE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very powerful series, really beautifully done, July 21 2014
By 
killerwhaletank - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Call the Midwife: Season One (DVD)
This is a fantastic show, following the stories of the midwives serving a poor East End community in London in the late 1950s. The series just isn't about the midwives, though, it's all about the people in the community as well... the midwives, the nuns, and most especially the mothers. The stories are very compelling and real, the characters are wonderful and rich. I have had tears in my eyes by the end of all of the episodes so far, and the hope and strength of all the ladies (and the men) in the show makes it so worth watching, especially when you see their courage in the face of extreme poverty.

The best part is, there are no actual "villains" or dislikeable characters. There characters are just real people that you want to see succeed.

Beautiful show. What more can I say? It will touch your heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars call of the midwife, Feb. 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Call the Midwife: Season One (DVD)
my wife got hooked on it and loved the dvd. I was pesonally delighted with the time it takes to be delievered to my door step
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Call the Midwife, Feb. 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Call the Midwife: Season One (DVD)
Based on a true story, really well done, very good actors. One of the best serie. Just ashame that there are only 6 episodes. Can't wait for the second sesond to come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Call the Midwife, Feb. 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This series is wonderful. The setting and the characters are portrayed so well. I laughed and I cried and I cheered. Another great series from the Brits who are so good at attention to details and choosing the actors. I can't wait for season two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Call the Midwife: Season One
Call the Midwife: Season One by Philippa Lowthorpe (DVD - 2012)
CDN$ 37.48 CDN$ 19.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews