Customer Reviews


146 Reviews
5 star:
 (96)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Les Miserables (blu ray): A blu ray (not movie) review…beautiful video and audio…an absolutely enthralling experience!
VIDEO:

‘Les Miserables’ arrives on blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.85:1 encode. Director Tom Hooper and cinematographer Danny Cohen favour a gritty, and quite often dark, ambience for this film. There is a slow but steady evolution from darkness to light in the film, obviously done intentionally. That means the first part of this film often has a...
Published 21 months ago by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Saved by the score
This is a movie that contains some superb performances, cinematography and emotion evoking scenes while at the same time contains a few disappointing moments that stop it from having that WOW factor. Russel Crowe brings his big star name but that is all - poor casting in my opinion. Hathaway as Fantine - Cosette's mother - is stunning, Jackman as Jean Valjean is very good...
Published 20 months ago by Stuart Bourn


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Les Miserables (blu ray): A blu ray (not movie) review…beautiful video and audio…an absolutely enthralling experience!, March 22 2013
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Les Miserables [Blu-ray + DVD + UltraViolet] (Sous-titres francais) (Blu-ray)
VIDEO:

‘Les Miserables’ arrives on blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.85:1 encode. Director Tom Hooper and cinematographer Danny Cohen favour a gritty, and quite often dark, ambience for this film. There is a slow but steady evolution from darkness to light in the film, obviously done intentionally. That means the first part of this film often has a murky, ill defined ambience, though it is to the credit of this high definition presentation that fine detail and shadow detail still remain commendable almost all of the time. Close-ups in fact often offer a staggering amount of fine detail, an aspect which only improves once the film moves into brighter territory. The first half or so of the film has been colour graded fairly aggressively toward the blue end of the spectrum, with the second half imbued with more of a golden amber hue. The blacks are perfectly rendered. Hooper's intended close-ups reveal a ton of fine facial detail: from strained faces, furrowed brows, anguished age lines, pores, facial hair, dirt, scrapes, bruises, and blood. What I like the best is Hooper uses ultra-close-ups on the actors faces as they are belting out their lines. This is something you are rarely privy to when watching a stage play. The sheer distance of the audience from the actors on stage makes it difficult to discern slight facial expressions. Here everything is on display. The grief, the anguish, and the pain. It's all there. It may not be pretty to look at, but it sure gets the story's point across. (4.5/5)

AUDIO:

‘Les Miserables’ comes with an absolutely stellar DTS-HD 7.1 Master Audio track, that truly engulfs the viewer. The weight of the music and the lyrics being belted by the actors is tremendous. The front channels provide a very loud and very clear rendition of the famous songs being sung. Every lyric is crystal clear. The bass is beautifully deep. The deep rumbling of the bass in the opening number is fantastic to hear and feel. One of the best things about this film is the incredibly smart mixing of ambient environmental sounds with the continuing underscore and vocals. This can be rather subtle at times, as with the crash of waves in the opening sequence, or more immediate and apparent, as in the huge barricade sequence. Even the sung elements feature discrete channelization which open the film up aurally and present a well defined sense of space within the frame. Overall, this is an all around spectacular audio experience. The only weak point is Russell Crowe’s singing. However, Anne Hathaway's rendition of 'I Dreamed A Dream' was the highlight, done with lots of feelings and warmth. I have listened to Elaine Paige's, and Susan Boyle's versions, but I like Anne's version the BEST! (5/5)

AWARDS:

2013 Academy Award Winners:
Best Supporting Actress: Anne Hathaway
Best Achievement in Sound Mixing
Best Achievement in Makeup and Hair Styling

2013 Academy Award Nominations:
Best Picture
Best Actor: Hugh Jackman
Best Original Song: Suddenly
Best Achievement in Costume Design
Best Achievement in Production Design

TRIVIA:

‘Les Miserables’ has an estimated budget of $61 million, and its worldwide gross was $429 million.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

I found the entire movie to be an enthralling experience. It isn't without its faults though. Russell Crowe is outmatched by the immense singing talent surrounding him. Anne Hathaway destroys them all though. Her performance alone is worth the money, with the highlight of her singing ‘I Dreamed A Dream.’ With absolutely beautiful video and audio, ‘Les Miserables’ comes highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Les Miserables, C'est Fantastique, C'est Magnifique, Dec 28 2012
By 
John Kwok (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Les Misérables (DVD)
Director Tom Hooper has literally rewritten the book with regards to filming critically and popularly acclaimed musicals like "Les Miserables" in his riveting, excellent cinematic adaptation of one of the world's most beloved musicals, while hewing more closely to the original text of Victor Hugo's novel; it is both a fantastic and magnificent cinematic adaptation of the musical. Hooper gambled that he could film "Les Miserables" by having the actors singing their roles during the actual filming without having them dubbed later in post-production, and not only has it succeeded beyond the expectations of many, it truly feels as though you are hearing a live outdoor performance of "Les Miserables". The cast is superlative starting with Hugh Jackman's compelling portrayal of Jean Valjean, as a conflicted soul trying to escape from his penal past; his singing is exceptional, most notably in his soliloquy "Bring Him Home", hoping the young revolutionary Marais (Eddie Redmayne) escapes from the Paris 1832 student-led uprising, so he can be united with his adopted daughter Cosette (Amanda Seyfried); so too are Anne Hathaway (Fantine) and Russell Crowe (Javert), with Hathaway giving an especially poignant rendition of "I Dreamed A Dream", widely regarded by many as the unofficial "anthem" of "Les Miserables". (Crowe has been condemned by some critics for his singing, but he shows his ability to sing nearly as well as his co-stars, especially towards the end, and offers viewers an emotionally complex portrayal of Javert that remains true to Hugo's depiction of him as a loyal civil servant intent on upholding French law.) Both Sacha Baron Cohen (Thenardier) and Helena Bonham Carter (Madame Thenardier) are especially memorable as the hustlers who are the guardians of the young Cosette (Isabelle Allen) until Valjean steps in, appearing later towards the end of the film, and so too, Colm Wilkinson - the original Jean Valjean in the London and Broadway stage productions - as the Bishop. Along with the excellent cast of actors, the movie features excellent musicianship from the likes of harpist Skaila Kanga and composer/arranger/pianist Anne Dudley, who has contributed additional music to the film score. "Les Miserables" is one of the best cinematic adaptations of a musical I have seen and will be remembered as such for years to come; without question, it is among the best films of 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars oh the tears..., June 12 2014
By 
Richard Schwindt (Kingston, Ontario) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Les Misérables (DVD)
My elderly mother was in town and wanted to see it. I groaned inside then manned up and took her. Not because I hated the idea of the movie but because I knew what was coming. Maybe thirty minutes in I had to run out of the theatre and cry. That was embarrassing. Regaining my composure I returned and had a thoroughly good time with this excellent production. Hugh Jackman is charismatic in any role and as everyone knows Anne Hathaway gives a performance that could draw tears from a stone. I am not sure how this could have been done better. It's easy to quibble about a few points (Russell Crowe?) but this movie does exactly what it set out to do and does it well. Best seen on Sunday night with hankie at the ready.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Synergy: sum was better that the parts.., Sept. 19 2014
By 
Schuylercat - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Les Misérables (DVD)
Say what you want about Jackman's thermonuclear vibrato, and Crowe's vocals: they tore this up. Jackman was a superb Valjean and Crowe was a perfect Javert. All the girls were miles ahead of the boys in terms of vocals, except the kid who who played Enjolras. He was really good. The real star of the movie is the little Huttlestone kid as Gavroche. Also, in case you're wondering, I do not think the French "Les Miserables" translates to "The Wretched Ones" as some people say. I think it actually means "almost everybody dies."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Saved by the score, April 20 2013
By 
Stuart Bourn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Les Miserables [Blu-ray + DVD + UltraViolet] (Sous-titres francais) (Blu-ray)
This is a movie that contains some superb performances, cinematography and emotion evoking scenes while at the same time contains a few disappointing moments that stop it from having that WOW factor. Russel Crowe brings his big star name but that is all - poor casting in my opinion. Hathaway as Fantine - Cosette's mother - is stunning, Jackman as Jean Valjean is very good with a superb voice, but lacks the powerful performance given by Liam Neeson in the non-musical version. Miss Bonham-Carter helps to brighten the rogue couple's moments but it is hard to block out her portrayal in Harry Potter - evil to ridiculous in back-to-back movies is tough on us viewers. Some images give you hope of a superb film but they are weakened by lower grade special effects and jaded use of zoom and swoop (mostly to help Mr. Crowe's moments). Of course the magnificent score is what attracts most of us to this production and thank goodness the sound is superb (choice of DTS 5.1 or 7.1). Orchestration does not dominate and in fact could have received a little more emphasis. I am fortunate enough to have attended the Broadway stage musical which stirred memorable emotions in all who were there - one's imagination covers for limitations on the stage and I suspect we all expect a movie to do better - not so here. The highs beat the lows enough to say i don't regret making this purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensational, March 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Les Miserables [Blu-ray + DVD + UltraViolet] (Sous-titres francais) (Blu-ray)
True to the origional live play but much much bigger in content and special effects not possible on the stage.Thouroughly enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars their is lots of signing in this, Sept. 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Les Miserables [Blu-ray + DVD + UltraViolet] (Sous-titres francais) (Blu-ray)
i knew it was a musical but thought their would be just a bit more dialog
was good all the charters are amazing!
but some parts were hard to hear even with the TV turned way up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars well worth watching, April 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Les Miserables [Blu-ray + DVD + UltraViolet] (Sous-titres francais) (Blu-ray)
Although I have seen this story on the stage, I was riveted by the movie. The singing and acting were both very good. Even though I knew how it ended it still had me in tears in places. The sets and atmosphere of the movie took you back in time. You must be a fan of musicals to best enjoy it, but since I am, no problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the effort, April 24 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Les Miserables [Blu-ray + DVD + UltraViolet] (Sous-titres francais) (Blu-ray)
Loved the book so we were very excited to see the movie. We were very disappointed.....some of the Russell Crowe and Hugh Jackman signing scenes were "painful".....did not like this movie at all...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful music, April 24 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Les Miserables [Blu-ray + DVD + UltraViolet] (Sous-titres francais) (Blu-ray)
Enjoyed this movie but think they should have used professional singer/actors for the lead roles. The power of the voices was missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Les Miserables [Blu-ray + DVD + UltraViolet] (Sous-titres francais)
CDN$ 30.99 CDN$ 9.47
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews