Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit more substance than most action movies
Director Christopher McQuarrie won an Oscar for his screenplay on The Usual Suspects, and he also wrote the screenplay for Jack Reacher. If you have seen the trailer, you might think that the movie is a pure adrenalin rush in the same vein as Taken, but that's not exactly correct. There is plenty of action, but McQuarrie also gives his characters time to breathe, and we...
Published 18 months ago by Steven Aldersley

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Tom Cruse is a poor Jack Reacher
The Jack Reacher series of novels specified that Jack was a large man, Tom Cruse was a poor casting choice. Jason Stratham would have been believable.
Published 14 days ago by Donald Fisher


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit more substance than most action movies, Dec 29 2012
By 
Steven Aldersley (Oshawa, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jack Reacher [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + UltraViolet] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Director Christopher McQuarrie won an Oscar for his screenplay on The Usual Suspects, and he also wrote the screenplay for Jack Reacher. If you have seen the trailer, you might think that the movie is a pure adrenalin rush in the same vein as Taken, but that's not exactly correct. There is plenty of action, but McQuarrie also gives his characters time to breathe, and we learn a little about the backgrounds of most of the major players.

The movie begins with someone shooting five apparently random strangers from long range with a rifle. This is shown in close-up. In fact, this movie has more close-ups than any I have ever seen. It includes facial shots, point-of-view shots, and objects. The camera angles are also interesting. Perhaps the intention was to place us right among the action?

A man is arrested for the shooting and asks for Jack Reacher (Tom Cruise). Unfortunately, Reacher is something of a mystery and nobody knows how to contact him. When he does eventually appear, it's on his terms. We learn that he was an investigator of sorts while in the army, and he's enlisted by Helen (Rosamund Pike), who is the lawyer representing the accused man. Reacher isn't sure he's even guilty.

I don't think that I should give away many more plot points, so I'll talk more generally about what you can expect. But I will say that the story is fairly predictable.

I'm not a big fan of Tom Cruise, but I think this is one of his best performances and I would put it up there with Collateral. At 50 years of age, he's still a convincing action star, and I believed that he had the skills to do what he does in the movie. McQuarrie also keeps some of the action scenes realistic and things don't always work out perfectly for the hero.

You'll see Reacher investigating the crime, and we are shown how some of his realizations come to pass. There's an enjoyable cameo from Robert Duvall, and nobody gives a truly bad performance in the entire movie.

Action fans will enjoy a few fight scenes, a car chase, and a big shootout, but there's a story present at all times. This isn't a movie without substance. Reacher is the only character who is given much to do. At times it seems as though everyone else is standing around waiting to see what happens.

Jack Reacher won't blow you away, but it's better than the standard genre offerings. I could easily see it spawning a sequel, and I would probably go and see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Tom Cruse is a poor Jack Reacher, July 7 2014
By 
Donald Fisher (Eden Grove Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jack Reacher [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + UltraViolet] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
The Jack Reacher series of novels specified that Jack was a large man, Tom Cruse was a poor casting choice. Jason Stratham would have been believable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie, June 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jack Reacher (Bilingual) (DVD)
Don't really enjoy the star usually but this was another one of those great movies that you have to work out. Enjoyed it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super Movie, May 16 2014
By 
Trishmtl (Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jack Reacher (Bilingual) (DVD)
We enjoyed this movie very much and are very happy with this product. We would recommend shopping with Amazon to all our friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best movie from a book ever, May 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jack Reacher (Bilingual) (DVD)
What a fantastic surprise this movie was...I wasn't sure about getting it, thinking how so many movies from books are nothing like the author's story...and when you like the author that is a HUGE disappointment. This movie was so accurate I was blown away and had to go back and read the book 'One Shot' again as I have most of Lee Child's books and hope more of them will be in movie form. Tom Cruise did an exceptional job, producing and acting, I figured he must have read some or all of Lee Child's bestsellers. This movie is a new favorite for me so of course, 5 stars for every category. It is definitely a movie I'll watch a number of times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FABULOUS, June 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jack Reacher (Bilingual) (DVD)
big follower of Lee Child. Love Love Loved this movie. kept me at the edge of my seat through out. Awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, May 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jack Reacher [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + UltraViolet] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
This movie must be in my top 25 of all time. I can watch it over and over. I love this character and look forward to seeing more in future movies. Even if you are not a Tom Cruise fan...you have to like his version of Jack Reacher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, May 23 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jack Reacher (Bilingual) (DVD)
Fun movie if you like Tom Cruise... not his best though... I prefer his Mission impossible films. However, that being said it was fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome!, May 18 2013
This review is from: Jack Reacher [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + UltraViolet] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
JAck Reacher.... don't care what they say. its an awesome movie.. worth the money! action, drama... I love it... and trust me when I say this.. if it sucked .. I would say it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than I was expecting, May 14 2013
By 
Robert Badgley (St Thomas,Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Jack Reacher (Bilingual) (DVD)
Jack Reacher(released Dec/12)stars,among others,Tom Cruise as Jack Reacher,Rosamund Pike as Helen Rodin,Richard Jenkins as Alex Rodin,David Oyelowo as Emerson and Werner Herzog as Zec.I found this to be an imaginative whodunit with alot of unexpected twists and turns.The film does have a tendency to over analyze on the details but over all I found it better than expected.
The story starts with the "random" shooting of five individuals in an open waterfront park in Pittsburgh.The perp is picked up and brought in.The only thing he will tell them is to find one Jack Reacher.They send him to a holding cell but on the way he gets beaten up by fellow prisoners and has memory loss,winding up in a hospital bed.The police look into the perps record and Reacher's.It seems the perp is an ex army sniper and Jack is an ex military MP,who has purposely dropped off Government radar.Just as the D.A. and lead detective are having a pow wow about their next move,in walks Reacher himself.The defense attorney appointed to defend the perp is there and she happens to be the D.A.'s daughter.She grabs Reacher right away and has a good talk to him about what they know so far about the case.Reacher reveals more of his military past and it seems he once tried to convict the perp of a deliberate killing of mercenary troops,but it didn't stick as evidence and witnesses were hushed up.Reacher told the perp if he ever got in any trouble back home,he would be there to see him taken down.
Reacher right away cottons on to some facts of the case that don't make sense,and he is convinced the perp is innocent.Reacher agrees to help the defense attorney and this leads them both on a long and complicated search for the truth.The identification of one person,leads to another higher up and so on.Reacher at one point attends a firing range many miles out of town run by an ex military man,who at first denies he had ever seen the perp.After a small test of firing skill by Reacher,the man retracts his denial of the perp and agrees to help Reacher when push comes to shove later.
Reacher's extensive nosing has finally uncovered the man behind the killings in the park.His name is Zec,a Russian who spent many years in the Gulag.He runs a construction conglomerate and it was his men that took out the people in the park,not the one arrested.In fact the other four people killed were collateral damage to mask the killing of just one woman who would not sell her business to him.Reacher,with the gun range owners help,zero's in on Zec and his men at a gravel pit.They have captured the defense lawyer and are holding her as bait for Reacher.Reacher takes them down one by one,including the lead detective in the case who was Zec's patsy,until he reaches Zec,sitting behind the lawyer.He has a few short words with Zec and "ends" the conversation abruptly.As the police sirens wail in the background signalling their imminent arrival,Reacher and the gun range owner leave the defense attorney to mop up the scene of carnage left behind.
The film finishes as the defense lawyer interviews the now innocent sniper.Though he does not recall the shooting,he still thinks he did it.He also believes Reacher will one day show up,as promised,to prosecute him,not knowing Reacher was there already and proved his innocence.
The film builds to a heightened tension rapidly and manages to generally keep it there throughout the film.There are some nail biting moments throughout with Reacher being involved in car chases,shootings and fights.The only criticisms I can make of this film is that there may be a bit too much attention to detail,as the film's 130 minute running length attests to.And the final ending of the gravel pit shootout,leaving the defense attorney to come up with some plausible explanation for all the dead bodies around,seems a bit of a stretch.Considering all that has come before it it seems far too convenient and an easy way out.I was surprised to see acting vet Robert Duvall in his small but nice role as the gun range owner.
Technically speaking the film is in its original w/s a/r of 2:35:1 and is clear and crisp.There are no extras.
All in all a surprisingly good thriller/whodunit,with Mr Cruise on top of his game.The film's length is a bit of a bother as is the over attention to detail,but generally speaking it satisfies,and that's what counts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jack Reacher [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + UltraViolet] (Bilingual)
CDN$ 39.99 CDN$ 10.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews