Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit more substance than most action movies
Director Christopher McQuarrie won an Oscar for his screenplay on The Usual Suspects, and he also wrote the screenplay for Jack Reacher. If you have seen the trailer, you might think that the movie is a pure adrenalin rush in the same vein as Taken, but that's not exactly correct. There is plenty of action, but McQuarrie also gives his characters time to breathe, and we...
Published 15 months ago by Steven Aldersley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Romantic Hero
I order to rte this movie, I looked at content/script, som crdibility, acting and directing. Jack Reacher is a romantic hero, appearing out of nowhere to defend the inocent and decent folks. Enticing and having a certain charm. Tom Cruise is a good action hero, even though I wonder how can he beat up big and mean guys at hie height of 5'8". An entertaining movie, with...
Published 10 months ago by Gheorghe Weisz


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit more substance than most action movies, Dec 29 2012
By 
Steven Aldersley (Oshawa, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jack Reacher [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + UltraViolet] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Director Christopher McQuarrie won an Oscar for his screenplay on The Usual Suspects, and he also wrote the screenplay for Jack Reacher. If you have seen the trailer, you might think that the movie is a pure adrenalin rush in the same vein as Taken, but that's not exactly correct. There is plenty of action, but McQuarrie also gives his characters time to breathe, and we learn a little about the backgrounds of most of the major players.

The movie begins with someone shooting five apparently random strangers from long range with a rifle. This is shown in close-up. In fact, this movie has more close-ups than any I have ever seen. It includes facial shots, point-of-view shots, and objects. The camera angles are also interesting. Perhaps the intention was to place us right among the action?

A man is arrested for the shooting and asks for Jack Reacher (Tom Cruise). Unfortunately, Reacher is something of a mystery and nobody knows how to contact him. When he does eventually appear, it's on his terms. We learn that he was an investigator of sorts while in the army, and he's enlisted by Helen (Rosamund Pike), who is the lawyer representing the accused man. Reacher isn't sure he's even guilty.

I don't think that I should give away many more plot points, so I'll talk more generally about what you can expect. But I will say that the story is fairly predictable.

I'm not a big fan of Tom Cruise, but I think this is one of his best performances and I would put it up there with Collateral. At 50 years of age, he's still a convincing action star, and I believed that he had the skills to do what he does in the movie. McQuarrie also keeps some of the action scenes realistic and things don't always work out perfectly for the hero.

You'll see Reacher investigating the crime, and we are shown how some of his realizations come to pass. There's an enjoyable cameo from Robert Duvall, and nobody gives a truly bad performance in the entire movie.

Action fans will enjoy a few fight scenes, a car chase, and a big shootout, but there's a story present at all times. This isn't a movie without substance. Reacher is the only character who is given much to do. At times it seems as though everyone else is standing around waiting to see what happens.

Jack Reacher won't blow you away, but it's better than the standard genre offerings. I could easily see it spawning a sequel, and I would probably go and see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MacGoo says, July 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jack Reacher [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + UltraViolet] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Not a big fan of the man, but I just LOVE his movies - can't explain it..This film didn't please the critics, but I enjoyed it a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Action/Thriller, July 23 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jack Reacher (Bilingual) (DVD)
Tom Cruise plays ex-military investigator Jack Reacher, who's incredible skills are brought to bear in defense of a criminal suspect. As the investigation procedes to unlock the mystery, Jack must deal with a slew of scumbags bent on his destruction. Tom is in top form in this well paced action/thriller, with great action sequences and a mystery that will keep you guessing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reaching for Reacher, June 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jack Reacher (Bilingual) (DVD)
I didn't expect to like this much having already read the book upon which it was based - Lee Child's 9th novel "One Shot" about the adventures of ex Military Police Major Jack Reacher who is drifting across America. In the book Reacher is 6'5" and Tom Cruise is somewhat shorter than that! But I was very pleasantly surprised - it was brilliant and Tom Cruise did well - although I was mildly disappointed when the story deviated significantly from the book at the end but I realized to follow the book closely would have required a more complex and much longer movie.

Basically the story is that in a heartland city in America a sniper commits five murders with six shots. The police quickly identify and arrest a suspect, and build a slam-dunk case with iron-clad evidence. But the accused man claims he’s innocent and just says “Get Jack Reacher”. Reacher himself sees the news report and turns up in the city. The defence is relieved; but Reacher has come to bury the guy because he knows he did it once before in Kuwait, and got away with it. Shocked by the request of the accused, Reacher sets out to confirm for himself the absolute certainty of the man’s guilt, but comes up with far more than he bargained for.

I've read all the Lee Child / Reacher books and hope for more movies made from them, especially if they are as good as this one - mind you the books will always be better than the movies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, June 27 2013
By 
Dave (BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jack Reacher [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + UltraViolet] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
One of Cruise's better movies....he acts a little more mature, plus there are many twists and turns in the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars not bad but I would not let a 13 year old watch it., June 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jack Reacher [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + UltraViolet] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
this was an ok movie, a slow starter but it did get better, tom cruise tries to hard acting though, i liked mission impossible ghost protocol better. If you are looking to just to relax with a movie and not expecting oscar material, you will probably like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Romantic Hero, June 13 2013
By 
Gheorghe Weisz "George" (Burlington, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jack Reacher [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + UltraViolet] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
I order to rte this movie, I looked at content/script, som crdibility, acting and directing. Jack Reacher is a romantic hero, appearing out of nowhere to defend the inocent and decent folks. Enticing and having a certain charm. Tom Cruise is a good action hero, even though I wonder how can he beat up big and mean guys at hie height of 5'8". An entertaining movie, with no pretenses, but not memorable. One will forget it after 48 hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars love tom cruise, June 6 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jack Reacher (Bilingual) (DVD)
I 'm always intrigued when I hear that Tom cruise is in a new movie. This movie hopefully has more to follow. Am looking forward to the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FABULOUS, June 1 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jack Reacher (Bilingual) (DVD)
big follower of Lee Child. Love Love Loved this movie. kept me at the edge of my seat through out. Awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, May 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Jack Reacher [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + UltraViolet] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
This movie must be in my top 25 of all time. I can watch it over and over. I love this character and look forward to seeing more in future movies. Even if you are not a Tom Cruise fan...you have to like his version of Jack Reacher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb6af68b8)

This product

Jack Reacher [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + UltraViolet] (Bilingual)
CDN$ 39.99 CDN$ 32.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews