biss boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage snsflyour Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Own the 2016 GRAMMY Nominee Album featuring the Biggest Hits from Music's Biggest Night Exercice Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars116
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:$10.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 3, 2013
Definitely Quentin Tarantino's best movie in recent years and definitely one of his films period. I have watched this movie from beginning to end multiple times and it's still exciting every time. Like Quentin's older flicks the jokes don't get old, they get quotable. Django Unchained has everything mixed together perfectly, plot, action, character development, suspense, aaaaaand over the top swearing, with all of it paced just right for the stories needs. Jamie Foxx gives one of his best performances as Django and Christopher Waltz as Dr. King Schultz has certainly stolen the show with his humor and exceptional beard. Leonardo DiCaprio plays a villain you start to like immediately. Certainly not for his cruel actions but for his gentleman hospitality that he extends to Django and Dr. King even though he has his suspicions. Now we all know that we don't watch Tarantino movies for the action, we watch them for the dialog. Quentin always writes the most interesting dialog and Django Unchained is no exception. Every time I saw this movie everyone kept quite, glued to the screen, and at full attention just waiting to hear what would come out of the characters mouths next. Now there were a couple scenes that made me wonder if the Quentin went to far with how slaves were treated but that just helped me realize we're not as desensitized to violence as politicians like to think and that things can still have a real impact on viewers. If you have the opportunity you should definitely take the chance to view this movie because it truly is a one in ten thousand.
0Comment13 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2013
You could describe "Django Unchained" as a Spaghetti-Western buddy-movie cousin of "Kill Bill". Jamie Foxx and Christoph Waltz evolve, through a series of jaw-droppingly unpredictable scenarios, into a deadly duo on a heroic quest of rescue and revenge. The plot twists are unpredictable and compelling, and the acting by the two heroes, and by Bruce Dern, Don Johnson, Samuel L. Jackson and Leonardo DiCaprio as a series of villains who must be disposed of a la "Kill Bill", is superb.

Some viewers have an understandable problem with the mayhem and gore, but as in "Kill Bill", the violence quickly becomes so over-the-top that as you begin to emotionally discount the overkill, you come to understand how other movies and filmmakers use the withheld promise of impending violence to manipulate you. In contrast, Tarantino mocks such clumsy and overt manipulation by quickly taking the physical mayhem to cartoon levels, thus removing it from the equation as a driver of plot. He doesn't key you up for a shootout climax of violence like so many action and Western movies do, because by the climax, any thirst for blood you might have had has long been washed away by flowing hemoglobin. Instead, you thirst for justice and fulfillment, and the tension over how and if that might be achieved is what drives the suspense that makes the movie.

Some critics of the film seem to feel that black slavery was actually a walk in the park with a benevolent Grandma for its victims, and they're horrified at the fact that slaves were forced to fight to the death, or were whipped and branded, or were raped at will, and were treated as animals. That truth is too much of a clash with their narrative of America as the special and perfect creation of gentle Jesus meek and mild. Donald Trump spoke out against the movie as "racist", and you can imagine the part he liked least was flamboyant plantation-owner Don Johnson leading a bumbling proto-KKK lynch mob. It probably evoked too many parallels with recent birther yup-fests that idolize The Donald as their heroic leader.

This movie is a masterpiece. It makes you care about the characters, and it involves you so masterfully that you take away lasting emotional and intellectual consequences from having lived the experience. It will leave you thinking about a number of important things long after you have the pleasure of watching it.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2013
This movie is clever, well written and extremely entertaining. A must see for any adult as long as you don't mind crude language and a lot of blood.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2013
GREAT GREAT Movie!!! So that is why I am giving it a 4. I was sooo disappointed in the lack of special features. I would say there is a total of 30 minutes extra on the blu-ray only.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2013
Full of realistic situations as they would have occurred back in the wild west this southern slave gone bad is a very entertaining and full of suspense. Not for the faint of heart.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2013
I waited awhile before actually watching this movie after I purchased it. I was unsure I would like it's topic!.
How mistaken could I have been...a great movie and superb casting. Love Christoph Waltz and Jamie Foxx, well actually loved them all, even the EVIL ones. How can you not love the acting of Leonardo de Caprio and Samuel L. Jackson, superb. I loved the cameo's also.
Definitely recommend, close your eyes if slo-mo blood and gore offend you!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2013
One of Tarantino's best movies to date, mash up of grand story telling(screenplay) and amazing camera shots with stellar acting has become a hallmark of Tarantino's work.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon December 29, 2012
I admit that I was at first reluctant to watch "Django Unchained" because I was unsure if I was going to be able to handle all of the movie scenes. However, I instantly changed my mind when one of my younger sisters treated me to the film on Christmas day. The film was better than I imagined and includes some of the following characters pivotal to the plot: Kerry Washington as the emotionally tough slave Brumhilda, meanwhile Jamie Foxx and Christopher Waltz brilliantly play a strong tag team via the roles of Django and Dr. King Schulz. Leonardo Dicaprio plays a wealthy plantation owner by the name of Calvin Candie while Samuel Jackson plays his crafty assistant Stephen. Dicaprio and Jackson play evil men, but in all fairness, both men also performed their roles in a superb fashion. Quentin Tarantino also makes an appearance in "Django Unchained." "Django Unchained" is a good movie for those who like unconventional western films.
0Comment9 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2014
I don't even know how you write such an awesome story like this one. Amazing movie. Great deal, and it comes with the Blu-Ray and DVD.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
You always know what to expect from Tarantino – a superb soundtrack, plenty of action, witty dialogue and, of course, a lot of graphic violence. This movie is no exception. We are great Tarantino fans but for some reason we never got around to buying Django Unchained, having been put off by the early very mixed review scores but thankfully it was recently aired on UK television. We will now definitely be adding the Blu-ray to our collection.

Like every other Tarantino film, even Inglorious Basterds, Django Unchained is incredibly well observed and founded upon a deep understanding of and familiarity with the genre. He, like many of us, plainly grew up on a diet of Westerns and every genre tick-box is neatly checked but it is definitely an homage rather than a derivative pastiche. It is actually a tribute to a 1966 Italian film ‘Django’ by Sergio Corbucci whose star (Franco Nero) has a cameo appearance and the two films share the same theme song. (Thanks, Wiki, for that bit of info). Hitchcock style, Tarantino also puts in his usual appearance.

[Very minor spoiler alert] Dr. Schultz (Christoph Waltz), a bounty hunter posing as a dentist rescues Django (Jamie Foxx) from slavers as he can recognise Schultz’s current objective. It is soon evident that Django has a talent for the work and Schultz agrees to train him and to help in his search for his wife.

That is the nub of the plot and, like every other Western, it is pretty simple but the principle cast’s performance, the dialogue, pace, soundtrack and the incredible cinematography make this one of Tarantino’s most coherent and accessible films to date. There are some superb set pieces, the top of the heap being the masked lynch mob / KKK parody – simply superb and worth watching the film just for that. The film was justifiably nominated for a number of awards and is Tarantino’s most critically acclaimed and commercially successful film to date. Absolutely superb.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse