Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 6 out of 5 stars
Definitely Quentin Tarantino's best movie in recent years and definitely one of his films period. I have watched this movie from beginning to end multiple times and it's still exciting every time. Like Quentin's older flicks the jokes don't get old, they get quotable. Django Unchained has everything mixed together perfectly, plot, action, character development, suspense,...
Published on April 3 2013 by Scott Flower

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good movie about settings.
Too long with such details. Also, too much back-and-forth flashing.
Published 9 months ago by Yourpaled


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 6 out of 5 stars, April 3 2013
By 
Scott Flower (New Brunswick, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Django Unchained [Blu-ray + DVD + UltraViolet Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Definitely Quentin Tarantino's best movie in recent years and definitely one of his films period. I have watched this movie from beginning to end multiple times and it's still exciting every time. Like Quentin's older flicks the jokes don't get old, they get quotable. Django Unchained has everything mixed together perfectly, plot, action, character development, suspense, aaaaaand over the top swearing, with all of it paced just right for the stories needs. Jamie Foxx gives one of his best performances as Django and Christopher Waltz as Dr. King Schultz has certainly stolen the show with his humor and exceptional beard. Leonardo DiCaprio plays a villain you start to like immediately. Certainly not for his cruel actions but for his gentleman hospitality that he extends to Django and Dr. King even though he has his suspicions. Now we all know that we don't watch Tarantino movies for the action, we watch them for the dialog. Quentin always writes the most interesting dialog and Django Unchained is no exception. Every time I saw this movie everyone kept quite, glued to the screen, and at full attention just waiting to hear what would come out of the characters mouths next. Now there were a couple scenes that made me wonder if the Quentin went to far with how slaves were treated but that just helped me realize we're not as desensitized to violence as politicians like to think and that things can still have a real impact on viewers. If you have the opportunity you should definitely take the chance to view this movie because it truly is a one in ten thousand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars such a good movie, Oct. 16 2013
This movie is clever, well written and extremely entertaining. A must see for any adult as long as you don't mind crude language and a lot of blood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tarantino is brilliant, Sept. 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Django Unchained [Blu-ray + DVD + UltraViolet Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Full of realistic situations as they would have occurred back in the wild west this southern slave gone bad is a very entertaining and full of suspense. Not for the faint of heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The D is silent", Sept. 6 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
One of Tarantino's best movies to date, mash up of grand story telling(screenplay) and amazing camera shots with stellar acting has become a hallmark of Tarantino's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where are the special features, April 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Django Unchained [Blu-ray + DVD + UltraViolet Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
GREAT GREAT Movie!!! So that is why I am giving it a 4. I was sooo disappointed in the lack of special features. I would say there is a total of 30 minutes extra on the blu-ray only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic Movie, Jan. 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Django Unchained [Blu-ray + DVD + UltraViolet Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
I don't even know how you write such an awesome story like this one. Amazing movie. Great deal, and it comes with the Blu-Ray and DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I LIKE THE WAY YOU DIE, April 28 2015
This review is from: Django Unchained [Blu-ray + DVD + UltraViolet Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Dr. King Schultz (Christoph Waltz) is a well spoken bounty hunter who acquires Django (Jamie Foxx) to find and kill some men who are wanted, "dead or alive." Dr. Schultz isn't too keen on the "live" part.

The film divides itself into two parts. After the bounty hunting episodes are through, our duo conceive a plan to rescue the wife of Django (Kerry Washington) by purchasing her from Candie Land plantation. Dr. Schultz has no stomach for slavery or slave owners. Leonardo DiCaprio doesn't enter the film until the second part.

Like Tarantino films it incorporates humor. The bag over the head scene was reminiscent of something we might have seen in "Blazing Saddles." The flashbacks are minimal and not confusing. There is of course the over the top climatic ending and plenty of blood.

I have to question the use of the MF bomb several times in this picture. The first know usage of the word is the 1930s. It is speculated the phrase originated during slavery as a way to describe white owners who would take black mothers as comfort women. The phrase would of had a specific meaning and not used in the generic sense that Samuel L. Jackson tossed about.

Tarantino fans will not be disappointed. Great sound track.

Parental Guidance: F-bomb,N-word, nudity (Kerry Washington). No sex. Killing and slow motion blood splatter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I Think I’m Filled After Watching This..., Jan. 15 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Django Unchained [Blu-ray + DVD + UltraViolet Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
“I think Quentin Tarantino” give us movies that makes us look at our self more carefully, the one
scene with Dogs, would make anyone uneasy, and very queasy, but the most shocking aspect of this is,
is the part played by “Samuel L. Jackson” a man who’s determination to keep his life as comfortable as he
could, an the dedication to his master is unprecedented beyond believe, it’s like he lost all hope for himself
an his fellow slaves, I have a new found love for “Leonardo Dicaprio” a guy I never like, until I saw Blood Diamond”
an Aviator” watching the terror in his eyes playing Calvin Candie” was most engrossing,
Christoph Waltz” you are amazing to watch in your craft, and the naked Kerry Washington, um yum???
Widescreen 2.40:1 1080p High Definition.
English 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio.
Runtime 165 Min.
I Think I’m Filled After Watching This...Django.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting. Fun. Entertaining. Classic Tarantino., Dec 23 2014
By 
Nat Hawthorne - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Django Unchained [Blu-ray + DVD + UltraViolet Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
This is not Trantino's best movie. That honor belongs to Reservoir Dogs. But, this was one of the most interesting movies of 2012. This is definitely the most memorable Jamie Foxx movie. I would say Ray ranks second and Collateral ranks third. Foxx gives a very memorable performance as the titular hero, and is ably supported by Christoph Waltz and Dicaprio. For those interested in the story, it is this: Django used to be a slave and had lost the love of his life, and was searching her when he finds out that she has been bought by a notorious slaveowner played by Dicaprio. He decides to go get her from him. The rest of the movie is filler details. As with any Tarantino movie, the dialogues are sharp and the action is great. And, there's a lot of style. Also, watch out for an excellent performance by Sam Jackson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Django and Schulz Unleashed, Dec 29 2012
I admit that I was at first reluctant to watch "Django Unchained" because I was unsure if I was going to be able to handle all of the movie scenes. However, I instantly changed my mind when one of my younger sisters treated me to the film on Christmas day. The film was better than I imagined and includes some of the following characters pivotal to the plot: Kerry Washington as the emotionally tough slave Brumhilda, meanwhile Jamie Foxx and Christopher Waltz brilliantly play a strong tag team via the roles of Django and Dr. King Schulz. Leonardo Dicaprio plays a wealthy plantation owner by the name of Calvin Candie while Samuel Jackson plays his crafty assistant Stephen. Dicaprio and Jackson play evil men, but in all fairness, both men also performed their roles in a superb fashion. Quentin Tarantino also makes an appearance in "Django Unchained." "Django Unchained" is a good movie for those who like unconventional western films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Django Unchained [Blu-ray + DVD + UltraViolet Copy] (Bilingual)
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 9.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews