Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magic Mike
Outstanding eye candy but it's sort of All About Eve only with strippers. But let's face it I didn't exactly buy this movie for the plot lines.
Published on Oct. 26 2012 by Katherine J. Mitchell

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars You're gonna feel cheated
This comedy/drama lacks an important core element; a storyline! Magic Mike is all about a stud named Mike who takes part in striptease with a bunch of straight guys for an all-female gathering. He appears to be sleeping around with other women while his buddy (Alex Pettyfer) is a pill-popper!

I ended up skipping and fast-forwarding parts. Mainly because they...
Published 3 months ago by Anglophilechap263


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magic Mike, Oct. 26 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Magic Mike (BIL/ Blu-ray) (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Outstanding eye candy but it's sort of All About Eve only with strippers. But let's face it I didn't exactly buy this movie for the plot lines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars You're gonna feel cheated, Jan. 24 2015
This review is from: Magic Mike (Bilingual) (DVD)
This comedy/drama lacks an important core element; a storyline! Magic Mike is all about a stud named Mike who takes part in striptease with a bunch of straight guys for an all-female gathering. He appears to be sleeping around with other women while his buddy (Alex Pettyfer) is a pill-popper!

I ended up skipping and fast-forwarding parts. Mainly because they made me cringe with unimaginable embarrassment! That southern cowboy hick creeped me out from the sexually charged nonsense he said throughout Magic Mike! The widescreen format helped ruin the film all the more.

Magic Mike seems designed to be titillating for viewers, but isn't really trying! So there's one brief five second naked shot of Channing Tatum's untanned rear. Plus, a couple topless ladies. Big deal! If it's a stripping movie, how come there's minimal nudity? That's another thing Magic Mike is lacking; eye candy! The film nearly turned me a heterosexual bloke! I'm not kidding! ''Fun, hot and sexy'', my foot! Why couldn't director Steven Soderbergh who did Erin Brockovich have chosen American bodybuilder John Safar as the leading role? At least that beefy hunk's actually a real hottie!

The only moral of this story is that stripping is a very sleazy job. These men were basically selling their own bodies to those women while getting paid! It's more about debauchery! What sort of people would degrade themselves just to earn a ton of moolah?

Magic Mike's a total sham, a contemptible failure! Who does Channing Tatum think he's fooling in his Tweet, informing internet users they'll be working on a sequel to the first Magic Mike movie? Dream on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Movie, Dec 27 2014
By 
K. Fabisch (Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Magic Mike (BIL/ Blu-ray) (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Soooooo.....

How does one begin on THIS movie?
...
Steven Soderbergh made a movie about male strippers..... into something that ISN'T trash.

I mean there's a chance this movie could have been another Showgirls and yet.... it's actually a terrific movie.

Channing Tatum, I believe this is technically the first time I've seen him in a proper role in a movie other than his cameo as Pretty Boy Floyd in Public Enemies. And he's fantastic. For a muscle-bound former stripper..... he's a pretty good actor.

Looking forward to seeing him in Jupiter Ascending AND of course The Hateful Eight.

The whole cast is strong..... except for Cody Horn, who stood out a bit. Soderbergh's movies, the acting's always top-notch. I don't know what he did with her, but she's kinda blah in the movie.

Olivia Munn.... she's good in the movie, but I wanted more of her. She's a very good actress and I hope she does a lot more work in film.

I thought Gabriel Iglesias was good in the movie, he surprised me.

But it's Matthew McConaughey who steals the movie as Dallas, the master of ceremonies at Xquisite. He's very over the top, BUT.... it's a very over the top kind of character that fits perfectly into the movie. Great opening scene, too.

One MORE MM performance that just proves he is probably the best actor working in America at the moment.

Not too many actors could play someone like Killer Joe, Rust Cohle, Spaceship guy from Interstellar AND give that opening speech in Magic Mike and be great each time.

Magic Mike's a good movie.

Can't believe I watched AND liked this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars eye candy only, Oct. 30 2012
By 
This review is from: Magic Mike (Bilingual) (DVD)
I saw this movie in the theatre and laughed for most of it. Some good dancing, some great beefcake and a lot of laughs. Unfortunately, I found it doesn't translate well to the small screen. I watched it at home, with a group of women and I was disappointed. I think it was the crazy atmosphere in the theatre that made it such a great experience. I also suspect that the large screen, and therefore larger than life beefcake, contributed. On the average TV, you just don't get the same effect.

That being said, with a big screen TV, a little alcohol and some good friends with a sense of humor, you will probably still enjoy it. Just don't expect an actual plot. This movie has about as much plot as an episode of Seinfeld.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magic Mike, March 18 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Magic Mike (Bilingual) (DVD)
Good movie for a ladies night. . . Lots of fun . . . . . . and eye candy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it!, Dec 10 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Magic Mike (Bilingual) (DVD)
Fun movie for girls night! Your friends will really enjoy it. Channing Tatum is very good in this movie plus lots of other hot guys too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good movie!, Nov. 24 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Magic Mike (Bilingual) (DVD)
I liked this movie even more than I thought I would. It has a decent storyline and Channing Tatum is amazing in it. I'll be watching it often!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great for the ladies! and maybe their husbands after?, Aug. 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Magic Mike (BIL/ Blu-ray) (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
This movie is for the ladies!

hard bodied men dancing around ... they actually dance very well.

I thought it was ok since they thru in some female nudity as well as the male but my wife says she liked it so I give it 4 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, July 7 2014
This review is from: Magic Mike (BIL/ Blu-ray) (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
It is definitely a movie for women of all ages, not a strong story, but enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magic Mike, April 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Magic Mike (DVD)
Storyline

Mike Lane is a thirty-year old living in Tampa,Florida. By day he works as a roofer whilst at night, as Magic Mike, he is the star attraction of the Kings of Tampa, a group of male strippers. Secretly he wants out in order to further a projected furniture-making business but his credit rating precludes a bank loan for this despite his considerable savings. One night Adam, a teen-aged work-mate of Mike, follows him to the club and, when one of the acts is unable to go on,he is prevailed upon to strip - becoming a huge hit. However success goes to his head and his foolish actions not only threaten to jeopardize his sister Brooke's relationship with Mike but Mike's ambitions as well. Written by don @ minifie-1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Magic Mike (BIL/ Blu-ray) (Bilingual)
Magic Mike (BIL/ Blu-ray) (Bilingual) by Steven Soderbergh (Blu-ray - 2012)
CDN$ 24.99 CDN$ 11.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews