countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Home All-New Kindle Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
59
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$8.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 26, 2012
Outstanding eye candy but it's sort of All About Eve only with strippers. But let's face it I didn't exactly buy this movie for the plot lines.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon December 27, 2014
Soooooo.....

How does one begin on THIS movie?
...
Steven Soderbergh made a movie about male strippers..... into something that ISN'T trash.

I mean there's a chance this movie could have been another Showgirls and yet.... it's actually a terrific movie.

Channing Tatum, I believe this is technically the first time I've seen him in a proper role in a movie other than his cameo as Pretty Boy Floyd in Public Enemies. And he's fantastic. For a muscle-bound former stripper..... he's a pretty good actor.

Looking forward to seeing him in Jupiter Ascending AND of course The Hateful Eight.

The whole cast is strong..... except for Cody Horn, who stood out a bit. Soderbergh's movies, the acting's always top-notch. I don't know what he did with her, but she's kinda blah in the movie.

Olivia Munn.... she's good in the movie, but I wanted more of her. She's a very good actress and I hope she does a lot more work in film.

I thought Gabriel Iglesias was good in the movie, he surprised me.

But it's Matthew McConaughey who steals the movie as Dallas, the master of ceremonies at Xquisite. He's very over the top, BUT.... it's a very over the top kind of character that fits perfectly into the movie. Great opening scene, too.

One MORE MM performance that just proves he is probably the best actor working in America at the moment.

Not too many actors could play someone like Killer Joe, Rust Cohle, Spaceship guy from Interstellar AND give that opening speech in Magic Mike and be great each time.

Magic Mike's a good movie.

Can't believe I watched AND liked this movie.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2012
I liked this movie even more than I thought I would. It has a decent storyline and Channing Tatum is amazing in it. I'll be watching it often!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2012
Fun movie for girls night! Your friends will really enjoy it. Channing Tatum is very good in this movie plus lots of other hot guys too!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2014
This movie is for the ladies!

hard bodied men dancing around ... they actually dance very well.

I thought it was ok since they thru in some female nudity as well as the male but my wife says she liked it so I give it 4 stars
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2013
Good movie for a ladies night. . . Lots of fun . . . . . . and eye candy!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2012
I saw this movie in the theatre and laughed for most of it. Some good dancing, some great beefcake and a lot of laughs. Unfortunately, I found it doesn't translate well to the small screen. I watched it at home, with a group of women and I was disappointed. I think it was the crazy atmosphere in the theatre that made it such a great experience. I also suspect that the large screen, and therefore larger than life beefcake, contributed. On the average TV, you just don't get the same effect.

That being said, with a big screen TV, a little alcohol and some good friends with a sense of humor, you will probably still enjoy it. Just don't expect an actual plot. This movie has about as much plot as an episode of Seinfeld.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2014
Storyline

Mike Lane is a thirty-year old living in Tampa,Florida. By day he works as a roofer whilst at night, as Magic Mike, he is the star attraction of the Kings of Tampa, a group of male strippers. Secretly he wants out in order to further a projected furniture-making business but his credit rating precludes a bank loan for this despite his considerable savings. One night Adam, a teen-aged work-mate of Mike, follows him to the club and, when one of the acts is unable to go on,he is prevailed upon to strip - becoming a huge hit. However success goes to his head and his foolish actions not only threaten to jeopardize his sister Brooke's relationship with Mike but Mike's ambitions as well. Written by don @ minifie-1
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2013
I'm a guy and I like it a lot! It was humorous, upbeat and serious. Considering it is a stripper movie, there's a decent plot and if you don't think there is then what were expecting? Inception? It's a stripper movie! And honestly there was enough stripping and skin, but don't expect it in every scene like so many people think going into it and end up disappointed. I find it funny that a lot of people complain that there isn't enough nudity... there's actually a lot. I guess they were expecting porn. I liked the drug subplot. It kept it in reality and kept it interesting. Highly recommended and I hope there is a sequel (which there will be given how it ends).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2014
Il n'y a pas d'histoire pendant la première heure. Le scénario prend beaucoup de temps à se mettre en place. La deuxième heure est meilleure. La danse est bonne et sexy. J'ai été déçue que le personnage de Matt Bomer ne parle presque pas :(
Overall, on achète le film juste pour voir les boys danser!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse