Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Grand Farewell To the 1980's
A classic pop swan-song to the 1980's, this masterful and well-crafted piece of pop genius still resonates with me today. The music of the 80's is constantly trashed by today's musical "know-it-all's" as being too bland, faceless, and overly-produced. It's all a joke to them. My argument would be simply be, what is wrong with listening to music that has...
Published on March 9 2004 by R. Carpenter

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe they were trying too hard?
It has become pretty well known that Roland Orzabal, the guiding light behing TFF has had a tendency to be a little too much of a perfectionist. Let me start off by saying that the title cut is probably the most fantastic sonic adventure I have ever experienced (although its sound is very Beatlesque Sgt. Pepper period it is original on its own and a true masterpiece). The...
Published on Oct. 1 2001 by Carl Mack


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Grand Farewell To the 1980's, March 9 2004
By 
R. Carpenter "Hickory Wind" (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seeds Of Love (Audio CD)
A classic pop swan-song to the 1980's, this masterful and well-crafted piece of pop genius still resonates with me today. The music of the 80's is constantly trashed by today's musical "know-it-all's" as being too bland, faceless, and overly-produced. It's all a joke to them. My argument would be simply be, what is wrong with listening to music that has multiple layers and multiple production values? The Beach Boys did it with "Pet Sounds" in 1966, and the greatest albums from the Fab Four were all production milestones.
The 1980's were filled with great music, and many of the best groups from England were able to produce that smoky, languid, shimmering, late-at-night sounding British pop that still sounds fresh to me today. Check out Thomas Dolby's "The Flat Earth," the Blue Nile's "Walk Across Rooftops" and "Hats," Nick Heyward's "I Love You Avenue," Prefab Sprout's "Two Wheels Good," and countless others by artists such as Alphaville, Deacon Blue, and others.
"Seeds of Love" is THE definitive masterpiece of the 1980's, a devastatingly beautiful album of pop gems that was a fabulous goodbye to the decade. Every song on the CD is almost like a mini-suite in itself; there is not one even remotely unsure moment on this one, but the highlights would have to be the achingly beautiful "Swords And Knives" and the astonishing "Advice For the Young At Heart." Listen to this album on a beautiful morning with your windows down, or late at night with the moon as your only source of shadows....I predict that you will fall in love with it over and over as I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Advice for the Young at Heart"......, July 29 2013
By 
Breadmanwalking (Toronto, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Seeds Of Love (Audio CD)
Good, solid, clean remaster of this TFF album from August 1989.
They re-issued 10 years later in '99 and this is what arrived in
my mailbox today. Cost....less than $9.00! Not the best album of
all time.....but it's enjoyable. Their "hits package" and the first
disc..."The Hurting" are in my stable as is "Songs From the Big Chair"....
I'm covered! Seller "BonnieScotland offered the best deal on this.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfect Albumn, Jan. 22 2008
This review is from: Seeds of Love (Audio CD)
As impressive as the singles from this albumn are, I think the tracks that were'nt release as singles are even more impressive. Produced with a budget of over a million pounds ( 2 million dollars ), this albumn was a considered massively expensive for its time... and well worth the money. Besides the singles. "Woman in Chains", "Sowing the Seeds of Love" and "Advice for the Young at Heart" the rest of the albumn in particulare " Year of The Knife", and "Standing on The Corner.." are equally fantastic. The energy and compositional complexity of this albumn, with layer upon layer of tracks both instrumental and vocal, make it the most intricate production ever created by Tears for Fears or any band for that matter. In fact the break up of the band shortly after the completion of this albumn was largly believed to have been due to Roland Orzabal painful and frustrating approach to production... It is simply one of the greatest albumns ever created.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great range and very talented songwriters and musicians, Dec 9 2003
By 
craig (Kansas City) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Seeds Of Love (Audio CD)
This is the "Sgt Pepper's" of the late 1980's, and it even looks similar! A great CD from an under-rated band. Thier range of musical styles and talent has been underappreciated because of thier being lumped into the "80's" pop band genre. Don't be misled by critics, this is outstanding from beginning to end. Of special note is the work by Oleta Adams, who was discovered by the band, and the singing of Curt Smith. Curt doesn't have the range of voice that his bandmate Roland does, but adds more soul. Also, try and get the VCD of "Going to California" which is the live tour from this release. Takes the music to an even higher level and adds some treats as well. One of the best recorded works of the 80's, and "timeless". The extra tracks are also excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking and Inspirational, Oct. 22 2003
By 
JSN (Beverly, MA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Seeds Of Love (Audio CD)
If you love music, well now you've found your favorite CD! Seeds of Love is my absolute favorite CD out of the 450+ I own. It is poetic, beautifully written, incredibly creative and heartstopping. Woman in Chains will make you cry and Badman's Song will make you jump up, dance and sing. You will find yourself closing your eyes and physically absorbing every lyric. Turn it up loud and let the sweet but powerful music wash over you. You will love and cherish every single note!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best ever recorded?, Sept. 13 2003
This review is from: Seeds Of Love (Audio CD)
While this CD was recorded over 14 years ago the music resonates as powerfully today, perhaps even more than when it was released as it was a bit ahead of its time. In fact, the songs here seem to fit as easily into the 60's/70's rock and roll era of Pink Floyd, the Beatles and Led Zeppelin as they would into the 80's pop scene or the darker moods of the 90's era. This re-released version has four extra tracks that are worth the effort.
Truly representing a wide range of styles starting with the smooth ballad "Woman in Chains" featuring the soulful voice of Oleta Adams. The highlights are the following two tracks: "Badman's Song", a bluesy jazz number and "Sowing the Seeds of Love" the hit single inspired by the Beatles better work. The track "Year of the Knife" is a powerful rock and roll song. "Famous Last Words" and "Advice for the Young At Heart" round out the single releases. Both are great songs.
The extra tracks include a jazz instrumental, and a couple of unique blends of late 80's pop, including a rap version with the "Sowing the Seeds" lyrics called "Johnny Panic".
I have to say this is among my favorite recordings ever. From the deep lyrics to the wide range of musical styles, the CD has no weak spots for me. If all you know of Tears for Fears are top 40 pop hits, then try this one out. One of the best CDs from any era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Timeless Classic, April 4 2003
By 
This review is from: Seeds Of Love (Audio CD)
SOL has been one of my all time favorite albums even until today and I guess this says a lot about the band. There has not been another album quite as superb as this (if anyone has found one please let me know) and it certainly puts the band high up in my list of favorite albums of the 20th century.
Roland Orzabal is definitely the genius here and it is sad that he has not been able to repeat this astounding feat in the later years. The techniques employed in this album are so superb and the layers of orchestration are so amazing and bordering on opulence, it is not surprising that this is one album that will beg for your attention on your first and subsequent listening.
The first single "Sowing The Seeds Of Love" immediately brought in rave reviews and favorable comparisons to the Fab Four. But it is the other songs that are real gems. Oleta Adams with her soulful and endearing vocals opens the album with gusto in "Woman In Chains". This is then followed by what I believe is one of the most accomplished song ever written in pop history - "The Badman's Song" - just listen and marvel at its most intricately wound verses of vocals and instrumentations! Simply heavenly!
"Advice for the young at heart" features the excellent voice of Curt Smith to the fore and this one well written song which truly deserve to linger forever in our memories of sweet love songs that will never be overplayed till death. "Year Of The Knife" will certainly put all other rock bands in their respective lower rungs and "Famous Last Words" definitely places Orzabal among the most respected songwriters of the century.
The rest of the songs do not dissapoint either and they all feature the same impeccable vocals and mesmerizing instrumentations that somehow manages to blend themselves into one unholy union of incredible tunes.
Credits have to be given to the producers, technicians and guest artistes too but I really believe Roland is the dude here. He deserves all the applause and you definitely deserve to listen to this album even if this is one last rock album you will ever buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TFFs best album, bar none!, Nov. 30 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Seeds Of Love (Audio CD)
I don't care what the critics say, The Seeds Of Love is their best album ever! Nothing like the New Wave influences of their debut, or the synthesized production of The Big Chair, The Seeds Of Love finds TFF shedding their electronic synth pop sound, in favor of an earthier, more soul-rock sound and it couldn't have been better. The cover art perfectly demonstrates the creativity put into the music. 1989 was such a great year for music and this CD topped out the year and the 80s. Sure the next two albums they made were very good but they haven't impressed me as much as this one did. Everyone must have this CD. The bonus tracks are great too especially Always In The Past & the jazz instrumental Music For Tables.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This CD is absolutely wonderful., Aug. 24 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Seeds Of Love (Audio CD)
I still remember how blown away I was when I first heard the title track back in 1990 and now after more than a decade this song and the album are now my favorites from TFF. A mix of blues, rock, jazz & pop, this CD is a must have. The bonus tracks are great as well.
Sure The Big Chair was great but this CD is much more sophisticated in my opinion. Go and buy this CD. It's a wonderful treat for the ears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, Aug. 14 2002
This review is from: Seeds Of Love (Audio CD)
TFF are the best band in the entire world! The Big Chair made TFF my favorite band of all time. However the album that made TFF my favorite band in the world for good is this one, The Seeds Of Love.
SOL is the most incredible, most colorful album that I've ever heard from a rock band. It's hard to believe that the mechanical sounding Big Chair and the soul-rock sounding Seeds Of Love are by the same band.
My favorites are ever so wonderful Advice For The Young At Heart the Gospel tinged Standing On The Corner of The Third World, & the eight & a half minute jazzy blues-rock influenced Badmans Song.
Go out and by this CD. It's so worth the money and buy the remastered edition with the four bonus tracks. It's so worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seeds of Love (Vinyl)
Seeds of Love (Vinyl) by Tears for Fears (LP Record - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews