Customer Reviews


236 Reviews
5 star:
 (203)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


83 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Outstanding Period Drama
The much anticipated Downton Abbey Series 3 starts in Spring 1920, carrying on from the superb Christmas Special which was set over the 1919/20 holiday period. The first episode picks up with Lady Mary and Matthew Crawley at last about to get hitched, but as usual there is quite a lot going on at Downton both above and below stairs and you just know that nothing is going...
Published 24 months ago by Brett H

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars defective
I was unable to view Season 3 because the DVD was defective. I tried two different DVD's and both had the same problem.
Published 13 months ago by Sharon McGladdery


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Outstanding Period Drama, Sept. 29 2012
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(#1 HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Masterpiece: Downton Abbey Season 3 (U.K. Edition) (DVD)
The much anticipated Downton Abbey Series 3 starts in Spring 1920, carrying on from the superb Christmas Special which was set over the 1919/20 holiday period. The first episode picks up with Lady Mary and Matthew Crawley at last about to get hitched, but as usual there is quite a lot going on at Downton both above and below stairs and you just know that nothing is going to go smoothly.

Shirley Maclaine makes her appearance as Martha Levinson, Lady Grantham's American mother. As usual, Violet, played by Maggie Smith manages to set the scene with some rather pithy comments. Martha has no time for the stuffy English and their traditions and is not slow to voice her opinion. Clearly she was introduced as a foil to Maggie Smith and the interplay between the two does work very well as one suspected it would. Violet seems to manage to continue to dominate any scene she is in.

There are plenty of dramatic moments in the new series, as life on the Downton estate returns to more as it was shown in the first series, before the First World War when it served as a convalescent home for injured servicemen. However, there are new challenges for Downton in the post war period. The interaction between the family and those that serve them `below stairs' continues to be a rich source of story lines for the script writers and is a major contribution to the success of the show.

Downton Abbey is the most successful costume drama from British TV since Brideshead Revisited some thirty years ago - and this is quite an accolade as they produce a lot of this sort of drama in the UK. Regular viewers of Downton will have been holding their breath wondering whether Series 3 could possibly keep up the very high standards of the previous episodes. However, we need not have worried and few will be disappointed will the latest series. You really wonder how far Downton can go - personally I would not be surprised if it runs up to the 1930s in due course so hopefully plenty to look forward to! The really good news is that we know there will be a two hour Christmas Special in 2012 and although a fourth series has not yet been announce it will be very surprising if it does not follow.

Although the UK issue of this DVD does not include the Christmas 2012 Special, it is very likely that the North American one will - certainly the North American Series 2 DVD did include the 2011 Christmas Special. US and Canadian buyers would therefore be advised not to order the separate Christmas 2012 DVD until this point is clarified as they may well find it is included with Series 3. The UK DVD also includes 68 minutes of extra features which one would expect that the North American DVD will also include. The special features are Downton Abbey in 1920, The Men of Downton Abbey, Two Weddings, an Interview with Shirley Maclaine and Behind the Scenes - The Cricket Match.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not here yet but I can hardly stand the wait, Jan. 14 2013
By 
Geri (Trail, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Masterpiece: Downton Abbey Season 3 (U.K. Edition) (DVD)
I am one of those people that is totally addicted to this AMAZING series. I jokingly 'count the sleeps between each Sunday episode.
I have also warned my husband that when my season 3 dvd's get here he will need to 'fend for himself' cause I will be curled up on the sofa, eyes fixed and ears attuned to the tv.
20 more sleeps till my dvd's are here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's with the commercials, Aug. 28 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Masterpiece: Downton Abbey Season 3 (U.K. Edition) (DVD)
The show is marvelous! Well written and acted. I purchased the first two seasons from Amazon UK and enjoyed them thoroughly. The problem with this set is that it is full of commercials. They don't occur during the episodes, but there are introductions by the American Masterpiece Theatre and adverts for a cruise line and a clothing company which pop up far too frequently. I purchase DVD TV seasons specifically so that I don't have to watch commercials and this was a total annoyance. It should be noted in the product description that there are commercials included in the set. Other than that the show itself is wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A series characterized by interpersonal tensions with sprinkles of humour, Feb. 17 2013
By 
S Svendsen "Uni" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Masterpiece: Downton Abbey Season 3 (U.K. Edition) (DVD)
Julian Fellowes, the writer and master puppeteer of this period drama series has to be acknowledged as the world’s most superb craftsman of TV dramatics. This, the third season, is perhaps the best of the three in terms of dramatic surprises, historic authenticity, outstanding acting and quirky humour. The strength of this grandiose project must also be credited to the vast amount of financial resources available to Fellowes and the producers. The revolving cast of over thirty main characters allows maximum creativity with never a dull moment for the viewing audience. For the fun of it I researched one-on-one interpersonal conflicts and tensions in part five and I found at least eighteen! But these are offset by an equal quantity of positive, affectionate and problem-solving incidents. The humorous comebacks and rejoinders lighten the dialogue whenever it is in danger of becoming too serious or sentimental. This is where Hollywood has much to learn. So many of America’s TV productions are either too crassly edgy, too schmaltzy maudlin and lacking in finesse.

The only weak point in a lengthy series like this is the danger of main characters having to be written out because the actors will no longer continue participating. But, actors have lives too, so we must forgive them. But it presents challenges for the writer to find credible solutions. Being confronted by this necessity to eliminate a main character before the start of the fourth season I thought Fellowes took the easy way out this time. Frankly I thought it lacked realism and could have been done much more creatively. But overall, that misstep does not detract largely from the masterpiece which makes up all of the third season. Bravo!!

Being a huge fan of this series, I hope Maggie Smith will live forever! She is without a doubt one of the top ten British actors of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never gets old, Jan. 3 2014
This review is from: Masterpiece: Downton Abbey Season 3 (U.K. Edition) (DVD)
The Downton Abbey series is an outstanding drama which I find very addictive. Every day I watch an episode or two, sometimes even a whole season! It gives you a real taste of what life was like back in the early 1900's, even though it is based on the wealthier families of the time, it still has it's share of the poverty and shows how it affected people back then. Season 3 is very gripping and keeps you on the edge of your seat. Will Bates get out of prison? What will happen between Mary and Matthew? All of these questions are answered in the third season. My copy of the DVD arrived safely without any damage to the packaging and case and it arrived on time. The case is quite sturdy and it comes with 3 DVD's inside.The acting for the series is just amazing because they make it seem real, at some points in the third season I actually cried. In my opinion it is worth every penny, and I can watch it over and over again and the best part is, it never gets old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what can one say about this brilliant serie other than excellent, Jan. 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Could be rated as one of the all time great series, great story lines with twists which at times come from far "left field"

Worth every minute of your time watching,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DOWNTON ABBEY DOESN'T DISAPPOINT, Jan. 3 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Masterpiece: Downton Abbey Season 3 (U.K. Edition) (DVD)
I'M A BIG FAN, SO HAVING SEASON 3 TO WATCH AT MY LEISURE IS GREAT!
I LOVE THE TWISTS AND TURNS IN THE STORY AND THE EXTRAS ON THE DVD ARE REALLY FUN TO WATCH!
SO MUCH BETTER THAN JUST WATCHING THE TV SHOW EVERY WEEK....
CAN'T WAIT TIL SEASON 4
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series!, Nov. 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Masterpiece: Downton Abbey Season 3 (U.K. Edition) (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed this series! Love it that the characters have different story lines. Can't wait the watch Season 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Downton Abbey Season 3 (U.K. Edition) (Masterpiece), Oct. 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Masterpiece: Downton Abbey Season 3 (U.K. Edition) (DVD)
This is a great series.. The DVD set arrived promptly and as described. I am very happy with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Oct. 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Masterpiece: Downton Abbey Season 3 (U.K. Edition) (DVD)
Great Character development, Great story. I love the play between the nobility and the servants. Fantastic cinematography. Interesting time in history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Masterpiece: Downton Abbey Season 3 (U.K. Edition)
CDN$ 52.99 CDN$ 19.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews