Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Over aggressive camera work prevents this from being a 5-star release, but it's close. CD suffers from loudness wars.
Coldplay's first new live release since the Sidney, Australia, 2003 DVD is a welcome one, albeit a completely different type of live release. Where "Live 2003" was the entire night of an Australian show on the Rush of Blood to the Head tour, "Coldplay Live 2012" was shot at several venues and incorporates elements of a film/documentary instead, with five insightful...
Published 20 months ago by Bricktop

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What an absolute shame!
Aside from the poor grainy detail it's almost impossible to watch with the constant camera angle changes. There are spots where it literally changes every second. What in the world were they thinking? This is a concert not an MTV video. The stage set, lighting and performance of this tour must of been awesome to see live but you won't appreciate it with this terrible...
Published 20 months ago by Brent A. Carson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What an absolute shame!, Nov. 22 2012
By 
Brent A. Carson (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coldplay Live 2012 Blu Ray/ CD [Blu-ray] [Import] (Blu-ray)
Aside from the poor grainy detail it's almost impossible to watch with the constant camera angle changes. There are spots where it literally changes every second. What in the world were they thinking? This is a concert not an MTV video. The stage set, lighting and performance of this tour must of been awesome to see live but you won't appreciate it with this terrible production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Over aggressive camera work prevents this from being a 5-star release, but it's close. CD suffers from loudness wars., Nov. 20 2012
By 
Bricktop (Earth) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coldplay Live 2012 Blu Ray/ CD [Blu-ray] [Import] (Blu-ray)
Coldplay's first new live release since the Sidney, Australia, 2003 DVD is a welcome one, albeit a completely different type of live release. Where "Live 2003" was the entire night of an Australian show on the Rush of Blood to the Head tour, "Coldplay Live 2012" was shot at several venues and incorporates elements of a film/documentary instead, with five insightful interviews with the band members dotted throughout the "set list" as "intermissions".

High marks for the Blu-ray, which was released in scope format and will have black bars at the top and bottom of your screen even if you're watching on a 16:9 widescreen HDTV. This IS normal, no need to try and adjust your set. Coldplay released this in the cinemas for a short engagement and that is likely the reason behind the aspect ratio choice, although I would have welcomed it being released re-cut to 16:9 for home video release given that it is a concert film and no real loss would have occurred unlike what can happen with movies or TV shows. The cover incorrectly lists the aspect ratio as 16:9, but it is actually 2.39:1. Picture quality was stable throughout and it wasn't until the credits that I noticed a strange anomaly with some blurring. Luckily it's redundant as you don't really care about this part of the Blu-ray. The entire program looks good outside of this. Some Alexa cameras were used in the Stade footage which looks particularly clean, there is obviously a mix of different cameras used which means you'll see some grain here and there from the ones being shot on film. Thankfully EMI chose not to scrub this out with over-zealous digital noise reduction which would have further reduced the high frequency detail Blu-ray is capable of resolving.

The 5.1 dts-HD Master Audio track throughout is very capable, fidelity is great and the sound of a live venue is accurately captured through the ambience of the rear speakers. The running time of a Coldplay show is likely a little longer given that they usually take the stage at 9pm and play until 11pm. It's a shame they couldn't include a full evening's worth of songs on here as a special "director's cut". For example, looking up the setlist for the Montreal show featured in the program shows that 21 songs were played that night. With the dual layer 50GB Blu-ray they used for this release they could have easily fit more songs on to give a full tour, or included the ones they didn't want to use in the film as extras. There are only two extra songs included in the "Extras" section, where are the rest of the songs they played on this tour? It was in the extras watching "The Scientist" (note the extra two songs don't offer 5.1 surround options) that I noticed some pixelation during the lighting which is quite busy. Perhaps they could have used some additional passes in the encoding?

My favorite of the new Coldplay tracks from Mylo Xyloto is here, Major Minus. This song reminds me most of Coldplay around the Rush of Blood days, with a little influence from "The Verve". Coldplay are on good form here, every song is exciting to listen to but what really pushed this release to the 4-star mark for me, overcoming the lack of sheer concert footage included, were the excellent intermissions giving a candid look at the band on the road. The 1st intermission was my favorite, with Martin describing what it's like just before you go on stage and what gets him motivated and excited for every single performance. The other intermissions are also well worth watching of course, as usually you only get to hear Chris Martin predominantly in Coldplay interviews. Here each member gets their own intermission segment before a final one again with Martin. I really enjoyed hearing Guy talk as he's the one you usually hear the least from. The wristband segment was really fun to watch and looks amazing on this Blu-ray. One of the biggest flaws of this is how busy the camera shots can be during certain songs. You want to pay attention to what's going on but the director decides you need to "feel" the busy parts of the song by going to quick scene shots. When you're at the concert, do you start darting your eyes from left to right about the stage, panning around to quickly look at the audience, back to Guy, quickly to Will, Chris, back to audience? If not then why would people include this as a style? It's bad enough in the movies, it should be intolerable in a concert release. Coldplay are not The Prodigy. Fortunately there are songs in here that don't suffer as badly. I though God Put A Smile was one of the worst. Also, you can shut the picture off and just enjoy the 24-bit/48kHz dts-HD Master Audio surround mix with your eyes closed, luckily they don't pan the surround mix like they do the picture, as you would in a movie. Wouldn't that make you vomit?

The CD's unfortunately don't fare well with audio quality like the Blu-ray did. The Blu-ray is thankfully free of egregious dynamic range compression, otherwise known as the "loudness wars". You can enjoy this dynamic performance in your home theater and turn it up. The CD's are already cranked and the dynamic range has been strongly reduced. If you can find a way to extract the 24-bit PCM stereo track from the Blu-ray and dither it to 16-bits and 44.1kHz sampling rate and burn that to CD it will sound much better than the included CD. Still, you're buying this for the Blu-ray and thus it's still a 4-star release.

This is a good Blu-ray release, good set list, great performance and has above average audio and video. I'd recommend it to new and old fans of the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't want my MTV..., Nov. 29 2012
By 
V (Whitehorse, Yukon) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coldplay Live 2012 Blu Ray/ CD [Blu-ray] [Import] (Blu-ray)
This concert comes across like an MTV music video (and that ain't good).

I LOVE the 2003 Sydney concert so I was hoping to have something comparable with some newer songs. There are too many lights, too many graphics on screen and too many shots of the audience.

Is it too much to ask to record and release one single concert instead of mixing in songs from multiple venues?

Good band with lots of great songs but this DVD won't be getting repeated plays in my home...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coldplay: Live 2012 (blu ray)…What a wonderful concert…Chris Martin is definitely THE MAN!, Nov. 24 2012
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coldplay Live 2012 Blu Ray/ CD [Blu-ray] [Import] (Blu-ray)
VIDEO:

Coldplay Live 2012 arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080i 2.38:1 encode. Most concerts are recorded at 1.78:1. In this case, with anamorphic lens, the 2.38:1 concert video fills the entire screen, which gives it a grander look. One small negative thing is the subtitles, which are projected slightly outside the picture. I notice it takes awhile for filmmakers to make sure that the subtitles are within the picture. This is a concert film. And I guess it has its learning process. This film consists of concert sequence interspersed with black and white clips and personal comments. The concert sequence sometimes features nonstop quick cutting in the concert sequences, with barely any shot lasting more than a couple of seconds. Some of the “whiz-bang” effects added include increased "grain" and smearing, not to mention tons of superimposed text and graphics. Details and focus are uneven. Fine detail is quite good in close-ups, showing the whiskers on Chris Martin’s face. You can also count the individual confetti in the air. Also, to see 20,000 LED bracelets lit up in different colours in the dark is a revelation. My, how time flies: from cigarette lighters to lighted cell-phones, now LED bracelets! Also to see 20,000 clapping their hands in unison (reminding me of Radio GaGa by Queen) is also a sight to see. Part of the sequence at the Bell Centre in Montreal was purposely filmed with hand-held camera, thus loosing the widescreen and clarity. If you look really closely, on one shot where calendar of different shows was shown, the last show that was crossed off was our Air Canada Centre in Toronto. Lastly, I would have preferred a pure concert with more clarity and no added gimmicks needed. (4/5)

AUDIO:

Coldplay Live 2012 comes with DTS-HD 5.1 Master Audio or LPCM 2.0 (48kHz, 24-bit). It offers superior fidelity, with precise recreation of the massed midrange that Coldplay loves to evoke. Coldplay’s music is very melodic, and is fully displayed in this soundtrack. Chris Martin was in top form, and so was the entire band. All the instruments are clearly heard. (4.5/5)

CONTENT:

This is really where the concert shines. There are 16 songs, beautifully performed. I normally prefer studio versions, but in this case, the “live” versions are definitely more vibrant, with higher energetic output. There are 3 added songs in the Extra. I think the black and white footage of personal comments should be extracted from the concert section, and put as Extra. I did learn quite a lot of insights into Chris Martin and the band from his personal comments. Imagine that he cares what the person at the far right top side of the stadium would see and hear. And he was also very clear about how the audience singalong and participation increase his energy. He hired a guy Misty to make those beautiful and colourful drawings on the floor, the instruments and piano. The appearance of Rihanna in Princess of China was also very special. A truly great concert. (5/5)

SONG LISTING (with chart position and source):
01 Mylo Xyloto (from the album Mylo Xyloto)
02 Hurts Like Heaven (UK 157/2012; from the album Mylo Xyloto)
03 In My Place (UK 2/2003; from the album A Rush of Blood to the Head)
04 Major Minus (from the album Mylo Xyloto)
05 Yellow (UK 4/2000; from album Parachutes)
06 Violet Hill (from the album Viva La Vida)
07 God Put A Smile Upon Your Face (UK 100/2003; from the album A Rush of Blood to the Head)
08 Princess of China (UK 4/2012; from the album Mylo Xyloto)
09 Up In Flames (from the album Mylo Xyloto)
10 Viva La Vida (UK 1/2008; from the album Viva La Vida)
11 Charlie Brown (from the album Mylo Xyloto)
12 Paradise (UK 1/2011; from the album Mylo Xyloto)
13 Us Against The World (from the album Mylo Xyloto)
14 Clocks (UK 9/2003; from the album A Rush of Blood to the Head)
15 Fix You (UK 4/2005; from the album X & Y)
16 Every Teardrop Is A Waterfall (UK 6/2011; from the album Mylo Xyloto)

PACKAGING & PRICES:

This set also includes a companion CD (Violet Hill excluded). The booklet is very colourful. I pre-ordered this set as soon as it was announced for $15.99. The price at one point shot up to as high as $24.99, but now has settled down to $21.99. One small tip to get the cheapest price for an item (non-major release): pre-order as soon as it is announced. The price usually will go up at one nears the release date. The opposite is true for major releases.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Chris Martin once said: “Not only the band was proud of the music, bracelets LED, fireworks and everything in tow, but mainly for the incredible audience before we played. Over the years, our audience has become increasingly part of the concert itself. They are amazing, varied, full of soul, and make the songs sound better than we already are able to do. We have tried to collect the incredible feeling that comes from them to carry it in the concert film". This concert film clearly demonstrates why Coldplay is one of the top bands in the world, loved by many. Their sound is very melodic, and lyrics encouraged crowd singalong. If you just simply ignore the filming technique of director Paul Dugdale and concentrate on the concert itself, you will find yourself totally immersed with the experience. This set is very highly recommended.

I hope the above review is helpful to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Strong And Intense Live Coldplay Performance, May 14 2014
By 
Stella Carrier "joyfulwoman2078" - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Coldplay Live 2012 DVD/CD (DVD)
I decided to purchase Coldplay Live 2012 (cd/dvd edition) after it was brought to my attention through the Walmart dotcom recommendations (I’m guessing from some online purchases I made). I also wanted to check out this cd because of my good luck in being able to catch a Coldplay concert during the summer of 2012 when they came to D.C. Just like the concert, I enjoyed the performance of Paradise the most from this cd/dvd. Reluctantly, I confess it is also because the song exactly describes how I have felt before. I also enjoyed the performance of “Clocks” on this cd/dvd edition. There are also some good bonuses on the dvd such as the performance of Don’t Let It Break Your Heart and The Scientist. There is also a photo gallery on the bonus dvd that is sourced from coldplaydotcom and tumblr.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Black square, March 15 2014
This review is from: Coldplay Live 2012 Blu Ray/ CD [Blu-ray] [Import] (Blu-ray)
There is a black square in my screen when I watch this Blu-Ray. Music CD is OK. The show is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great concert footage, Jan. 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coldplay Live 2012 DVD/CD (DVD)
Surprising high quality audio and footage, very well done coldplay! I really enjoyed the film overall and watched again with a few friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great performances but DVD is not so great., July 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coldplay Live 2012 DVD/CD (DVD)
The audio CD is great and easy to listen too. I bought this for my girlfriend who is a big Coldplay fan.
One thing I didn't like much is the DVD. It's not the performances there either and the extras are cool. The thing I didn't like is that it's like watching a videoclip at warp speed for an hour with changing images and viewpoints every second! We get that it's energic and that there are lots of things to show but it just gets hard to watch when you can get a good view point for no more than 1 or 2 seconds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome show, but a little disappointed, April 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coldplay Live 2012 Blu Ray/ CD [Blu-ray] [Import] (Blu-ray)
I was so excited to see this video. I went to their concert back in July 2012 and it was like a dream. I was expecting a lot more scenes from my town in this DVD, but it was almost all scenes from the Stade de France concert. They should have called this DVD "Coldplay Live in Stade de France 2012" since there is barely any footage from anywhere else (a few shots from other shows, but not enough, IMO)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, Feb. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Coldplay Live 2012 DVD/CD (DVD)
Wish I was there LIVE!!!!!
A must have for every fan of COLDPLAY.
The group meets the expectations as usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Coldplay Live 2012 Blu Ray/ CD [Blu-ray] [Import]
CDN$ 22.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews