Customer Reviews


134 Reviews
5 star:
 (106)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Led Zep For the Last Time? A Lot to Like
There is a lot to like in the CELEBRATION DAY: DELUXE EDITION package, including a Blu-ray
version of the December 2007 concert that is rich in colour and detail, yet easy on the eye.
The pair of cd's that duplicate the musical content on the Blu-ray in fine style are accompanied
by a very interesting dvd of a rehearsal of the show, recorded four days...
Published on March 7 2013 by Uldis Kundrats

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
meh, played it twice and thats it. just stick with the LZ audio...
Published 11 months ago by V


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Led Zep For the Last Time? A Lot to Like, March 7 2013
By 
Uldis Kundrats - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Celebration Day: Deluxe Edition (CD Digipak + Bonus Material) [2 CD + Blu-ray + DVD] (Audio CD)
There is a lot to like in the CELEBRATION DAY: DELUXE EDITION package, including a Blu-ray
version of the December 2007 concert that is rich in colour and detail, yet easy on the eye.
The pair of cd's that duplicate the musical content on the Blu-ray in fine style are accompanied
by a very interesting dvd of a rehearsal of the show, recorded four days before the big concert
itself.

Taken together, the elements in CELEBRATION DAY: DELUXE EDITION provide a fine and fitting musical
document that will please longtime fans and be a much-enjoyed momento of what will likely be the
last appearance for Led Zeppelin as the tour-de-force unit that shook the musical world with its signature live performances.

The set-list for the concert is first-rate, kicking off with Good Times, Bad Times, and
wrapping up with Rock'n'Roll. The numbers are performed with lots of verve--although
discerning listeners might miss the sonic abandon of earlier years. It would have been nice
to hear more of Zeppelin's fine keyboard-based material, such as In the Evening,
but it's a pleasure to see and hear the reunion concert in its entirety and to be
taken on an uplifting tour of most of Zep's best songs.

Jason Bonham does an excellent job sitting in on drums, but, in watching the video content, it
seemed to me that Page, Plant,and Jones weren't consistently having a whole lotta fun being with each other.
Smiles, moments of laughter, and mutual encouragement aren't much in evidence. I would guess
that the tension stemming from Page and Jones desiring to fulfill hopes for a reunion tour,
but being kept from achieving that goal by Plant's reluctance to participate could account for
the low-key interaction.

The band members' quotations featured as part of he little booklet that provides a detailed
run-down of the songs on the discs in CELEBRATION DAY provides some telling evidence about
the reasons for the one-off nature of the reunion. Bonham's comments are lengthy, emotionally-grounded
and sincere. Jones' remarks are brief, Page's somewhat scattered, and Plant's both cryptic and revealing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Last Time!!!, Dec 13 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I saw this concert movie at the single night it was released in the theatre. If you've got a decent sound system - crank it up to get the full impact of a stellar performance from arguably the greatest band ever. Thankfully the cameras were used properly and you don't get the MUCH MUSIC/MTV videos full of lightning fast edits that can make you feel seasick. Also, the band stays pretty close together so there are many group shots of the four of them. It is interesting to watch the bonus DVD that has the full set during a last minute rehearsal at Shepperton studios, and it's nice to have 2 CD's from the concert that are great in the car during long trips. This is a MUST-HAVE for any Zeppelin fan. Boy do they still have it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for the Zeppelin fan, March 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was a gift for a die hard Led Zeppelin fan. She thought it was fantastic and even liked the rehersal DVD better than the actual concert because the mix sounded more "live".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate reunion that ACTUALLY delivered!! WOW!!!, Nov. 21 2012
By 
RIGGER1 (CALGARY, ALBERTA.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Celebration Day: Deluxe Edition (CD Digipak + Bonus Material) [2 CD + Blu-ray + DVD] (Audio CD)
I've been hearing over the years how good this show was, I was skeptical.. To be honest, I bought a vinyl bootleg of this concert a few years back (at huge $$) and despite the average sound quality I was literally blown away!! The fact that this package is available in full blu-ray for my home theatre, plus I have the cd's for my truck while I'm away working, all in PRISTINE SOUND makes this a no brainer for me! The price for this collection, considering all the stuff you get is VERY REASONABLE!! An absolute must have for average to die hard Zeppelin fans! The awesome thing about this package is you rarely see 14 year olds and 64 year olds lining up to buy the same album! That was a weird line up folks, little awkward emo teens talking to adults about Zeppelin, can't say I didn't chuckle at that one!! Anyways, that is LED ZEPPELIN my friends, a power so strong it reminds you of when dinosaurs ruled the earth! The ULTIMATE superband that will never be seen again! This is the reunion, THE ONLY REUNION, it WON'T be done again.. EVER!! So buy it, enjoy it, and EVEN though years have passed, hair has turned to silver, and Jason Bonham is filling in for his dad (R.I.P John), it only takes a few minutes to realize that you're witnessing something MAGICAL and INCREDIBLE at the same time!! That power is Led Zeppelin my friends, the power and legacy of a band so huge that it will NEVER be replicated.. So enjoy.. It's freaking magic.. Highly recommended, this is the stocking stuffer EVERYBODY wants.. Have a good day, hope this helps..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's the best show in the movies from Led Zeppelin, May 16 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Je suis sous le charme à réécouter ce blu ray de Led Zeppelin , du rock et un spectacle au sommet de la puissance des rythmes sulfureux! ler dernier show du groupe réunis pour la dernière fois. Nhésitez pas d'acheter ce blu ray pour les fans du groupe du plus célèbre band de tout les temps et le plus aimé du monde entier. It's the best show in the movies from Led Zeppelin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What A Reunion CD/DVD Should Be..Excellent, April 11 2015
This review is from: Celebration Day: Deluxe Edition (CD Digipak + Bonus Material) [2 CD + Blu-ray + DVD] (Audio CD)
Well it's Christmas morning and I'm playing the new CD that my brother sent me before even having the coffee brewing. Great pick brother, and Merry Christmas. That evening we went down to the man cave and played the Concert DVD, I was blown away. This is an Epic reunion 30 years after the split.

I was surprised at Plant's vocals which were in my opinion pretty decent considering that as time goes by the old pipes can get rusty. Definitely not the case in this instance.

Jimmy Page was as usual at the top of his game. He effortlessly paraded across the stage while peeling off lead break after glorious lead break. The man is a god. John Paul Jones provides great bass and organ with some pretty fancy psychedelic moments which brought back the 70's feel once again. And of course, Jason sitting in for his father John, how appropriate. Filling his Dad's shoes with ease, fantastic.

The performance was top shelf as expected. Celebration Day captures a more streamlined band, men in their 60's determined to prove they can still cut it. Over 16 songs and two hours, they do just that.

A great gift brother. Again Merry Christmas.

For previews of music and videos not available on Amazon, check out You Tube for full concert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great package with attention to detail, April 24 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Having heard the performance before I bought the vinyl, I knew that I was getting I was going to like. The product itself was very well designed and put together. Heavy cardboard box contains the 180g wax in nice anti static dust sleeves, a must for anyone who collects,plus the extra paper sleeves with the artwork on it. A nice program style book is also a nice touch. I was pleasantly surprised that the vinyl had bubble wrap inside the box to protect the vinyl during shipping, a very nice touch indeed. The package met and exceeded my expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome recording from what will probably be the last time ..., July 28 2014
Awesome recording from what will probably be the last time the three remaining members of Led Zeppelin ever perform together. The addition of John Bonham's son Jason on drums makes this a special album. One word of caution, shop around as the price seems to fluctuate on Amazon and other retailers from as low as $28 up to $40 or more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great music... awful recording., Oct. 16 2014
By 
Toronto - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
great concert but quality of the recording is terrible,if your a audiophile you be very disappointed about sound quality of the music,everything sounds compressed and rolled off,sounds like hes singing in a closet rather than a large concert hall.DVD is great though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It was so great, why it couldn't last?, July 20 2014
By 
Customer from Quebec (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Celebration Day: Deluxe Edition (CD Digipak + Bonus Material) [2 CD + Blu-ray + DVD] (Audio CD)
There were so many high hopes for this reunion but it turned out to be only a moment in time. The show is impeccable with all musicians in exceptional shape. A great last document of Led Zeppelin's immense heritage. Maybe the scare of what's next?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews