Customer Reviews


119 Reviews
5 star:
 (91)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Led Zep For the Last Time? A Lot to Like
There is a lot to like in the CELEBRATION DAY: DELUXE EDITION package, including a Blu-ray
version of the December 2007 concert that is rich in colour and detail, yet easy on the eye.
The pair of cd's that duplicate the musical content on the Blu-ray in fine style are accompanied
by a very interesting dvd of a rehearsal of the show, recorded four days...
Published 19 months ago by Uldis Kundrats

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Only for big fans, and be careful with region locking.
This is a good Blu-Ray for big fans of Led Zeppelin, but for me the performance quality was disappointing. After all, the performers are not young anymore, so the concert sounded way too different than the original recordings that I am used to hear on other CDs. Jimmy Page is as greate as ever though.

I dislike the quality of the two discs included with the...
Published 3 months ago by Ivo P.


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Led Zep For the Last Time? A Lot to Like, March 7 2013
By 
Uldis Kundrats - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
There is a lot to like in the CELEBRATION DAY: DELUXE EDITION package, including a Blu-ray
version of the December 2007 concert that is rich in colour and detail, yet easy on the eye.
The pair of cd's that duplicate the musical content on the Blu-ray in fine style are accompanied
by a very interesting dvd of a rehearsal of the show, recorded four days before the big concert
itself.

Taken together, the elements in CELEBRATION DAY: DELUXE EDITION provide a fine and fitting musical
document that will please longtime fans and be a much-enjoyed momento of what will likely be the
last appearance for Led Zeppelin as the tour-de-force unit that shook the musical world with its signature live performances.

The set-list for the concert is first-rate, kicking off with Good Times, Bad Times, and
wrapping up with Rock'n'Roll. The numbers are performed with lots of verve--although
discerning listeners might miss the sonic abandon of earlier years. It would have been nice
to hear more of Zeppelin's fine keyboard-based material, such as In the Evening,
but it's a pleasure to see and hear the reunion concert in its entirety and to be
taken on an uplifting tour of most of Zep's best songs.

Jason Bonham does an excellent job sitting in on drums, but, in watching the video content, it
seemed to me that Page, Plant,and Jones weren't consistently having a whole lotta fun being with each other.
Smiles, moments of laughter, and mutual encouragement aren't much in evidence. I would guess
that the tension stemming from Page and Jones desiring to fulfill hopes for a reunion tour,
but being kept from achieving that goal by Plant's reluctance to participate could account for
the low-key interaction.

The band members' quotations featured as part of he little booklet that provides a detailed
run-down of the songs on the discs in CELEBRATION DAY provides some telling evidence about
the reasons for the one-off nature of the reunion. Bonham's comments are lengthy, emotionally-grounded
and sincere. Jones' remarks are brief, Page's somewhat scattered, and Plant's both cryptic and revealing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Last Time!!!, Dec 13 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I saw this concert movie at the single night it was released in the theatre. If you've got a decent sound system - crank it up to get the full impact of a stellar performance from arguably the greatest band ever. Thankfully the cameras were used properly and you don't get the MUCH MUSIC/MTV videos full of lightning fast edits that can make you feel seasick. Also, the band stays pretty close together so there are many group shots of the four of them. It is interesting to watch the bonus DVD that has the full set during a last minute rehearsal at Shepperton studios, and it's nice to have 2 CD's from the concert that are great in the car during long trips. This is a MUST-HAVE for any Zeppelin fan. Boy do they still have it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for the Zeppelin fan, March 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was a gift for a die hard Led Zeppelin fan. She thought it was fantastic and even liked the rehersal DVD better than the actual concert because the mix sounded more "live".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate reunion that ACTUALLY delivered!! WOW!!!, Nov. 21 2012
By 
RIGGER1 (CALGARY, ALBERTA.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
I've been hearing over the years how good this show was, I was skeptical.. To be honest, I bought a vinyl bootleg of this concert a few years back (at huge $$) and despite the average sound quality I was literally blown away!! The fact that this package is available in full blu-ray for my home theatre, plus I have the cd's for my truck while I'm away working, all in PRISTINE SOUND makes this a no brainer for me! The price for this collection, considering all the stuff you get is VERY REASONABLE!! An absolute must have for average to die hard Zeppelin fans! The awesome thing about this package is you rarely see 14 year olds and 64 year olds lining up to buy the same album! That was a weird line up folks, little awkward emo teens talking to adults about Zeppelin, can't say I didn't chuckle at that one!! Anyways, that is LED ZEPPELIN my friends, a power so strong it reminds you of when dinosaurs ruled the earth! The ULTIMATE superband that will never be seen again! This is the reunion, THE ONLY REUNION, it WON'T be done again.. EVER!! So buy it, enjoy it, and EVEN though years have passed, hair has turned to silver, and Jason Bonham is filling in for his dad (R.I.P John), it only takes a few minutes to realize that you're witnessing something MAGICAL and INCREDIBLE at the same time!! That power is Led Zeppelin my friends, the power and legacy of a band so huge that it will NEVER be replicated.. So enjoy.. It's freaking magic.. Highly recommended, this is the stocking stuffer EVERYBODY wants.. Have a good day, hope this helps..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Only for big fans, and be careful with region locking., July 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a good Blu-Ray for big fans of Led Zeppelin, but for me the performance quality was disappointing. After all, the performers are not young anymore, so the concert sounded way too different than the original recordings that I am used to hear on other CDs. Jimmy Page is as greate as ever though.

I dislike the quality of the two discs included with the Blu-Ray even more.

I cannot give an accurate review of the sound quality of the Blu-Ray as I could not view it on my own system (see below for reason why), but at my friend's house it seemed to be a little too bass-heavy. Beware that this might be a question of audio setup and not the Blu-Ray's fault.

Another thing that disappointed me is that the Blu-Ray seems to be region locked as it could not play on my PlayStation 3. This is a big issue because I would expect items sold in Amazon.ca to work in Canada. Luckily, I managed to run it on a friend's Blu-Ray player, so it seems that only PlayStations are affected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great package with attention to detail, April 24 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Having heard the performance before I bought the vinyl, I knew that I was getting I was going to like. The product itself was very well designed and put together. Heavy cardboard box contains the 180g wax in nice anti static dust sleeves, a must for anyone who collects,plus the extra paper sleeves with the artwork on it. A nice program style book is also a nice touch. I was pleasantly surprised that the vinyl had bubble wrap inside the box to protect the vinyl during shipping, a very nice touch indeed. The package met and exceeded my expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT SOUND QUALITY, April 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I HAVE NOT HEARD A CLEARER VERSION OF THIS ALBUM. BLU-RAY AUDIO IS FANTASTIC. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS ITEM TO ANYONE WANTING AUDIOPHILE QUALITY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome recording from what will probably be the last time ..., July 28 2014
Awesome recording from what will probably be the last time the three remaining members of Led Zeppelin ever perform together. The addition of John Bonham's son Jason on drums makes this a special album. One word of caution, shop around as the price seems to fluctuate on Amazon and other retailers from as low as $28 up to $40 or more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great music... awful recording., Oct. 16 2014
By 
Toronto - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
great concert but quality of the recording is terrible,if your a audiophile you be very disappointed about sound quality of the music,everything sounds compressed and rolled off,sounds like hes singing in a closet rather than a large concert hall.DVD is great though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It was so great, why it couldn't last?, July 20 2014
By 
Customer from Quebec (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
There were so many high hopes for this reunion but it turned out to be only a moment in time. The show is impeccable with all musicians in exceptional shape. A great last document of Led Zeppelin's immense heritage. Maybe the scare of what's next?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Celebration Day (Blu-ray Digipak) [2 CD + Blu-ray]
CDN$ 44.99 CDN$ 33.74
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews