Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Susan Boyle: Standing Ovation: Fantastic Fourth Album from Susan Boyle! Great Songs! Great Voice!
This is Susan Boyle’s 4th album: Standing Ovation: The Greatest Songs From The Stage. As the title implies, all the 11 songs are taken from stage shows. The songs are well chosen, and well known to all of us, and Susan Boyle put her own stamp and interpretation to them (like Somewhere Over The Rainbow). She is in top-form, and her voice is crisp and clear, smack in...
Published 18 months ago by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Missed the mark again!
I had high hopes or this disc. I am extremely disappointed. Where's the "belt" that these songs were written for? Somebody decided that using the echo chamber was sufficient instead of allowing her voice to soar: A BIG, BIG, DISAPPOINTMENT.
Published 19 months ago by Music Collector


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Susan Boyle: Standing Ovation: Fantastic Fourth Album from Susan Boyle! Great Songs! Great Voice!, Jan. 26 2013
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Standing Ovation: The Greatest Songs From The Stage (Audio CD)
This is Susan Boyle’s 4th album: Standing Ovation: The Greatest Songs From The Stage. As the title implies, all the 11 songs are taken from stage shows. The songs are well chosen, and well known to all of us, and Susan Boyle put her own stamp and interpretation to them (like Somewhere Over The Rainbow). She is in top-form, and her voice is crisp and clear, smack in the middle. The orchestration is very smooth and refined. The bonus is of course having her childhood idol, Donny Osmond, to do two duets with her, plus the phantom himself Michael Crawford doing The Music of The Night. The audio is very well remastered. Although the sale and chart position are not at the same height as her first powerful output I Dreamed A Dream, this disc peaked at #12 on Billboard 200 and #7 on UK Album Chart. Of course, Susan being Scottish, it reached #1 on Scottish Album Chart.

The song listing (plus source of stage show) is as follows:
01 Somewhere Over The Rainbow (from Wizard of Oz)
02 The Winner Takes It All (from stage show ABBA)
03 Send In The Clowns (from Stephen Sondheim’s A Little Night Music)
04 The Music of the Night (featuring Michael Crawford)(from The Phantom Of The Opera)
05 Bring Him Home (from Les Miserables)
06 Memory (from the stage show Cats)
07 As Long As He Needs Me (from Oliver The Musical)
08 All I Ask Of You (featuring Donny Osmond)(from The Phantom Of The Opera)
09 Out Here On My Own (from Fame)
10 You’ll Never Walk Alone (from Carousel)
Encore:
11 This is the Moment (featuring Donny Osmond)(from musical Jekyll & Hyde)

As you can see, there is a great variety of music. Michael Crawford’s voice is still oh so smooth and he can still hit the high note. As to Donny Osmond, he has come a long way from his “Puppy Love” days. His voice has matured. Being in the musical Joseph & The Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat in the past really helped with the maturation of his singing voice. But of course the star here is Susan Boyle. Her voice is still oh so pure and powerful. My personal favourite is “You’ll Never Walk Alone”…oh so powerful with so much feelings. The only minor negative aspect of this set is the lyric to each song: hand-written by Susan Boyle herself. Although it was legible, I still prefer the typed-written fonts variety.

The price of this CD has also dropped since its initial release, and at $9.99, it is very reasonable. The entire disc is totally enjoyable, and is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Susan Boyle Standing Ovation, Nov. 15 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Standing Ovation: The Greatest Songs From The Stage (Audio CD)
This CD is definately on my Christmas Gift giving list. I like the fact she makes the songs her own, does not copy the original artists. EXCELLENT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "Must Buy" for wonderful listening, Nov. 15 2012
This review is from: Standing Ovation: The Greatest Songs From The Stage (Audio CD)
This CD is Susan Boyle's best yet! Her heart is in theatre music and that is what Standing Ovation is all about. Susan puts her heart into every song, bringing great emotion to her work. You can't listen once. You'll find yourself playing this one over and over. This CD deserves high marks. Susan's voice and her interpretations are absolutely beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 3 2014
By 
Gabriel Daniel (Montreal, Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Standing Ovation: The Greatest Songs From The Stage (Audio CD)
Très bon service et produit.
Merci,
Gabriel Daniel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Standing Ovation: The Greatest Songs From The Stage, April 4 2014
By 
Jo-anne E. Ransome "hold4ransome" (Stouffville, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Standing Ovation: The Greatest Songs From The Stage (Audio CD)
beautiful singer, such a lovely voice and so much more richer than when she was on Britain's Got Talent. Highly recommended I will certainly be buying more of her albums
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars J’adore, Oct. 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Standing Ovation: The Greatest Songs From The Stage (Audio CD)
I follw her since the beginning.
She has the perfect voice. I bought every CD she make.
And I found this CD remarkable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Susan Boyle, July 31 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Standing Ovation: The Greatest Songs From The Stage (Audio CD)
Truly an inspiration to all the ordinary people on the face of the earth with "dreams" - it's triumphant to know she has proven herself as a professional and has "staying power". I look forward to new albums she creates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful CD, July 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Standing Ovation: The Greatest Songs From The Stage (Audio CD)
Susan Boyle's interpretations of the songs she chooses to record are usually excellent. Most of the pieces on this disc are no exception. "Bring Him Home" from Les Miz was exceptional. I wasn't sure what to expect as this song is not one that is sung by a woman but Susan sings this with incredible feeling and interpretation. Bravo! The only disappointment was "Over the Rainbow". This is not a song that I would think could be totally mangled but Susan did it. The phrasing of the song is very peculiar and doesn't make much sense. Had this song been left out, the CD would be outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!, July 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Standing Ovation: The Greatest Songs From The Stage (Audio CD)
Susan has such a powerful voice and combined with various talents provided on this album she excels beyond expectations! Every selection is perfect!!! She has the voice of an angel!!! I love this CD! A "must have" for anyone who appreciates music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love love love it, June 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Standing Ovation: The Greatest Songs From The Stage (Audio CD)
I read one of the books on Susan Boyle about a year ago and knew that she was a big fan of DONNY OSMOND, so was I when I was in my teens. So it was quite incredible to to hear the pair of them doing some duets and the one song with Michael Crawford
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews