Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dark Knight Rises combo (blu ray): a Best Buy at $22.99!!! Buy now before the Price Rises!
VIDEO:

The Dark Knight Rises arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 2.40 and 1.78 (Imax sequence). A few words about its predecessor The Dark Knight: Although its transfer earned top marks, however, contrast was raised to detail-quashing extremes, colour boosted, and severe edge halos littered the image. Thankfully, the transfer of the Dark Knight Rises did...
Published on Dec 5 2012 by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sophisticated Cinema , but Falls Short
A bold attempt to make a conclusion to a powerful franchise that falls short in places. Who is Selina Kyle/Catwoman in this film? "Smart and sexy" sure, but that's an outline for a character, not a description. She wasn't well developed and she barely has any background. Was she an orphan? With all hers skills why was she never able to make enough money to get settled...
Published 3 months ago by Neurosky


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dark Knight Rises combo (blu ray): a Best Buy at $22.99!!! Buy now before the Price Rises!, Dec 5 2012
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dark Knight Rises / L'Ascension du chevalier noir (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
VIDEO:

The Dark Knight Rises arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 2.40 and 1.78 (Imax sequence). A few words about its predecessor The Dark Knight: Although its transfer earned top marks, however, contrast was raised to detail-quashing extremes, colour boosted, and severe edge halos littered the image. Thankfully, the transfer of the Dark Knight Rises did not suffer the same fate. Cinematographer Wally Pfister's wind-swept Gotham palette is rich, satisfying and gorgeous. Warm hues adorn the decadent homes of the city's elite, dusty desert colours blanket Bruce's stint in prison, and crisp white snow falls on a captive Gotham. Colours are positively radiant at times. Black levels are deep and inky. Detail is nothing short of extraordinary. Edges are sharp and natural and fine textures are well resolved and revealing (particularly during the film's IMAX sequences). (5/5)

AUDIO:

The real showpiece of The Dark Knight Rises is its sternum-splitting, rib-cracking, ground-pounding DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 surround track. While it obviously isn't as thunderous or jaw-dropping as its IMAX counterpart, it still boasts remarkable power, prowess and presence. The opening hijack scene is worth the cost of admission alone. Hans Zimmer's score is simply enveloping and invigorating. Dialogue is clear. It is a great soundtrack to enhance the video. (5/5)

MOVIE:

Christopher Nolan and his creative inner circle -- co-writer David S. Goyer, co-writer Jonathan Nolan, producing partner Emma Thomas, cinematographer Wally Pfister, composer Hans Zimmer, and many more -- finally concludes their Batman saga. A journey begun nearly a decade ago, Batman Begins marked a new, dare we say, serious era of the super hero film. Grounded and ultra-real. The Dark Knight followed as a high concept crime drama. The Dark Knight Rises picks up some eight years after the previous film. Suffering from all his crime-fighting injuries, Bruce Wayne became a recluse, locked away in the east wing of his rebuilt manor. When a new terrorist -- the monstrous Bane, who has ties to the League of Shadows -- threatens Gotham City, Wayne, despite his wanted murderer status, will don his cape and cowl once more. This film really showed the human element and vulnerability of Bruce Wayne, being beaten soundly by the monstrous Bane. In the end, The Dark Knight Rises is a fun, larger-than-life movie and, in many ways, a fitting end to Mr. Nolan's trilogy. (movie: 4.5/5)

TRIVIA:

It has an estimated budget of $250 million, but earned $1,078 million worldwide. It is currently sitting at 7th place in the Worldwide Box Office Chart, behind Avatar, Titanic, The Avengers, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollows Part 2, Transformers: Dark of the Moon and Lord of the Rings: Return of the King. This is quite an achievement.

PACKAGING:

This combo contains 2 blu ray (BD-50) discs: one for the Feature Film and the other Special Features. There is also a standard DVD, plus instructions to get the Dark Knight Rises FX App to sync with the blu ray disc and to unlock exclusive content!

PRICES:

When The Dark Knight Rises was first announced, the price was $27.99. Later, the price moved up to $34.99, but thankfully, as the release date drew nearer, the price miraculously dropped to $26.99, and finally $22.97!!!! A definite best-buy!

FINAL THOUGHTS:

The Dark Knight Rises is an exciting, epic movie and, for the most part, a fitting end to the Nolan Batman era. In the past, I bought the Gift set of the Dark Knight mainly because of the toy: the two fat wheeled Bat-cycle. The Gift set for the Dark Knight Rises is not as appealing. I also do not recommend the Dark Knight Trilogy Limited Edition set because it contained only the three bare-bone movies. I am sure The Dark Knight Trilogy: Ultimate Collector’s Edition will be released next year. But for this blu ray combo, with The Price of only $22.97 is definitely Right, and order the Dark Knight Rises now before the Price Rises after releases. Of course, the Dark Knight Rises is highly recommended.

I hope the above review is helpful to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sophisticated Cinema , but Falls Short, Sept. 9 2014
By 
Neurosky "neurosky" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
A bold attempt to make a conclusion to a powerful franchise that falls short in places. Who is Selina Kyle/Catwoman in this film? "Smart and sexy" sure, but that's an outline for a character, not a description. She wasn't well developed and she barely has any background. Was she an orphan? With all hers skills why was she never able to make enough money to get settled into something less dangerous (which seems to be what she wants?) We saw what motivated Bruce into becoming Batman, so what made her into the best cat burglar in the city, and one so masterful in combat that she can fight confidently at Batman's side (taking down guys twice her size?) SPOILER: Likewise, as Bane's back story turns out to be Talia al Ghul's, he doesn't have much development either (he's just some lug who lovingly protected a young girl for reasons we aren't given.) Talia turns out to be the 'main villain' all along, but we spent too little time to get to know her, so we don't really care. Her brief love affair with Bruce wasn't that affective and added nothing to the story or to the characters. What good Bruce sees in Selina Kyle is beyond me. She protects a little kid for stealing an apple once, but besides that she's just a desperate-minded opportunist who just becomes good in the end because Bruce sees something in her, somehow. The Pit subplot just feels like filler; a way to keep Bruce/Batman distracted so he can then come and save it. It slows the pace at a time when it should be accelerating.

Overall though, it's still sophisticated cinema and was a good effort. The best part of this film was John Blake. I found him to be the most genuine and likeable character of the trilogy. When he discovers the Batcave I was actually interested to see him become Robin. More care should have gone into the writing, cutting out Talia completely and giving more time and development to Selina/Catwoman and her relationship to Bruce/Batman, and to give Bane the spotlight. I think he works fairly well as a villain if you don't compare him to The Joker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dark Knight Supreme., Aug. 7 2014
By 
W. H. Boudreau "SpecSpiFan" (Halifax, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dark Knight Rises / L'Ascension du chevalier noir (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The Dark Knight Rises is excellent movie making. Make no mistake while this is an outstanding superhero genre film…it “rises” (pun intended) to become so much more. Like its predecessor 2008’s “The Dark Knight”…this is an Oscar worthy masterpiece. While the Marvel/Disney juggernaut has the market cornered on Superhero films, in particular the linking of storylines into phases, DC, via the inimitable Chris Nolan has the humanistic, palpable meatier storytelling. Chris Nolan has made a handsome billionaire the subject of the viewer’s sympathy and compassion. He on the surface has it all, wealth, fame and prestige….but this film demonstrates the enormous physical toll such heroics bring. You might admire the Batman/Bruce Wayne, but with all the physical abuse he endures, you would not want to be him.

The film comes at an apt time, when the 1 percent argument is powerfully present. When one has a lot, one can occasionally have a lot to lose. Conversely, it is rather foolish to think that so few can have so much without any form of social outcry. Enter Bane, Batman’s nemesis, played with utter brilliance and demonic panache by Tom Hardy. He too is one to watch, if only for his physical transformations (see Bronson and Rock N Rolla). It is hard to believe this GQ looking fellow could become the physical monster that is Bane. His performance is made all the more formidable when one considers his face is nearly completely covered except for his eyes, through which he conveys everthing from contempt to humor and enraged fury. Though some have mocked his “Conneryesque” accent/speech affecation, I would offer that is merely adds to his mystique and larger than life character. Nothing about this character is low key. He is first and foremost a terrorist and as such terrorizes, though many I spoke with found the stock exchange blow out strangely satisfying. His revolutionary entrance is only part of his story, however, as his history and an old Batman foe’s are inextricably linked.

Only Chris Nolan (along with brother Jonathan) could produce such a strong social commentary of the haves and have nots cloaked (again pun intended) in a superhero film. I haven’t mentioned Bale as honestly he is so damn incredible in every performance since “Empire of Sun”, his earliest performance. Though not yet 40, Christian Bale has such a diverse acting portfolio that he is hard to pin down or typecast. He is however, to this date and beyond, the best depiction of Batman, surpassing earlier efforts by Tim Burton which were great in their own regard. Bale is simply effortless in his performances. His fellow English compatriot, Gary Oldman (mind numbingly denied an Oscar after numerous noms) is Jim Gordon. No one else can fill his shoes. His depiction too is poured from the pages of the comics. Anne Hathaway is probably the most solid Catwoman thus far, bringing a smouldering sensuality and intelligence not before brought to this character. She is the veritable yin to Batman’s Yang, rival, enemy and ultimately ally…….Marion Cotillard, previously seen in Nolan’s mind bending “Inception”, ably plays the mysterious Victoria Tate with seductive aplomb. When Michael Caine was initially suggested as Alfred Pennyworth, Batman’s long-suffering butler, medic and father-figure, I didn’t see it. I am now a convert and see no one else in the role. Equally solid is Morgan Freeman as Lucius Fox, Wayne Enterprises CEO and tech provider to the Dark Knight. His wry humor and wit prevent this role from becoming a cookie cutter support role. It is interesting to note that there are 4 Oscar winners for acting in this film, yet another mark of quality. Nolan freely surrounds himself with talent and it shows.

My wife and I have seen “Dark Knight Rises” 3 times in the theater, no mean feat considering the present economy, and have seen it countless times on DVD since. ıt is the veritable capper of the other two efforts. I would offer that it is every bit as good as “The Dark Knight” forever linked with everyone’s consciousness with Heath Ledger’s fantastically manic and unfortunately final performance. “The Dark Knight Rises” is solid, powerful and ultimately satisfying. Anyone taking over the franchise has their work cut out for them. I await with bated breath to see what Nolan can do as producer, creative force with “Man of Steel”, because if he can do for Superman what he did for Batman…..Marvel studios just might have something to worry about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... earlier because both the blu-ray and movie itself is awesome!. Blu-ray Review, July 26 2014
This review is from: The Dark Knight Rises / L'Ascension du chevalier noir (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
"The Dark Knight Rises / L'Ascension du chevalier noir (Bilingual)"
I owned "The Dark Knight Rises" on blu-ray for 2 weeks now and I wished I owned it earlier because both the blu-ray and movie itself is awesome!.

Blu-ray Review:

"The Dark Knight Rises" is an amazing looking blu-ray, the picture quality is top notch especially since half of the movie was shot on IMax, some people might find it annoying to watch the movie and have the picture size change from 2.4:1 to 1.78:1, it will take some eye used to as half the movie was shot on IMax. The picture quality on IMax looks even better than the typical widescreen, this is probably because of the full screen changes; makes everything more brighter. The audio on the blu-ray is also top notch, everything from the dialogue to the explosions sound like they should. This is by far one of my favourite blu-ray, if your a Batman fan then there's no way you can miss out on this!.

Picture quality:
10/10

Audio quality:
10/10

* I am not giving this a perfect rating because I am a Batman fan, but because this blu-ray truly deserves it!

Info on picture:

- 1080p High definition 16X9
- Variable 2.4:1 and 1.78:1 (IMAX Sequences)
- Subtitle: English SDH, Francais and Espanol.

Info on audio:
- 5.1 Dolby Digital surround sound
- Same selections on subtitle can be used for audio; that too all in 5.1 Dolby Digital surround sound
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best in the trilogy, Oct. 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dark Knight Rises / L'Ascension du chevalier noir (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
So I finished watching it after watching it in two parts. At 2.5 hours long this movie felt like it dragged along at times, and to some extent was a suitable end to this trilogy. Though the characters are portrayed a little differently from the comic books, it still came together pretty well near the last third of the movie. It should prove interesting to see what may be done for a follow up movie with the way this one ended. But since Bale is done with Batman I am not sure how it will go, and with the director also being done with it I am not sure we will get to see a Batman this really well done.

One thing that bothered me about the movie was the voice of the Bane character. I did not have a great deal of trouble understanding him on the blu-ray as a lot of people complained about. It is just his high pitched voice was so damn annoying and not suited to the character at all that kind of ruined things for me with the movie. Still a good movie though. If I could my rating would be 3.5 stars out of 5 and not 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My love of Batman knows no bounds, Dec 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dark Knight Rises / L'Ascension du chevalier noir (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
My love of Batman knows no bounds. To all of you softhearted people who wanted Batman and Bane to be best friends and have a happy ending....read the comics!!! The movies are true to those, not the bubble gum happy spewed out by Hollywood. If you want happy then watch Iron Man. That is why DC is not owned by Disney and it shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 3 2014
By 
Gabriel Daniel (Montreal, Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dark Knight Rises / L'Ascension du chevalier noir (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Très bon service et produit.
Merci,
Gabriel Daniel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dark Knight Rises / L'Ascension du chevalier noir (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Good item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice movie, April 12 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dark Knight Rises / L'Ascension du chevalier noir (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Its was a super deal and the product look fine. A bunch of year im waiting for a deal. Thanks a lot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT MOVIE!, April 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dark Knight Rises / L'Ascension du chevalier noir (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I PURCHASED THIS MOVIE FOR MY ADULT SON AT CHRISTMAS. HE ABSOLUTELY LOVES THIS MOVIE. GREAT ACTING AND FULL OF ACTION!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dark Knight Rises / L'Ascension du chevalier noir (Bilingual) [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 24.99 CDN$ 10.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews