Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dark Knight Rises combo (blu ray): a Best Buy at $22.99!!! Buy now before the Price Rises!
VIDEO:

The Dark Knight Rises arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 2.40 and 1.78 (Imax sequence). A few words about its predecessor The Dark Knight: Although its transfer earned top marks, however, contrast was raised to detail-quashing extremes, colour boosted, and severe edge halos littered the image. Thankfully, the transfer of the Dark Knight Rises did...
Published 16 months ago by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fine Movie, Not Many Features
The disc and case were fine. No skipping or issues in quality. I was however disappointed in the lack of special features as that is a favourite part of movies for my mother and it was a Christmas gift for her.
Published 2 months ago by Kayla


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Dark Knight Rises combo (blu ray): a Best Buy at $22.99!!! Buy now before the Price Rises!, Dec 5 2012
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
VIDEO:

The Dark Knight Rises arrives at blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 2.40 and 1.78 (Imax sequence). A few words about its predecessor The Dark Knight: Although its transfer earned top marks, however, contrast was raised to detail-quashing extremes, colour boosted, and severe edge halos littered the image. Thankfully, the transfer of the Dark Knight Rises did not suffer the same fate. Cinematographer Wally Pfister's wind-swept Gotham palette is rich, satisfying and gorgeous. Warm hues adorn the decadent homes of the city's elite, dusty desert colours blanket Bruce's stint in prison, and crisp white snow falls on a captive Gotham. Colours are positively radiant at times. Black levels are deep and inky. Detail is nothing short of extraordinary. Edges are sharp and natural and fine textures are well resolved and revealing (particularly during the film's IMAX sequences). (5/5)

AUDIO:

The real showpiece of The Dark Knight Rises is its sternum-splitting, rib-cracking, ground-pounding DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 surround track. While it obviously isn't as thunderous or jaw-dropping as its IMAX counterpart, it still boasts remarkable power, prowess and presence. The opening hijack scene is worth the cost of admission alone. Hans Zimmer's score is simply enveloping and invigorating. Dialogue is clear. It is a great soundtrack to enhance the video. (5/5)

MOVIE:

Christopher Nolan and his creative inner circle -- co-writer David S. Goyer, co-writer Jonathan Nolan, producing partner Emma Thomas, cinematographer Wally Pfister, composer Hans Zimmer, and many more -- finally concludes their Batman saga. A journey begun nearly a decade ago, Batman Begins marked a new, dare we say, serious era of the super hero film. Grounded and ultra-real. The Dark Knight followed as a high concept crime drama. The Dark Knight Rises picks up some eight years after the previous film. Suffering from all his crime-fighting injuries, Bruce Wayne became a recluse, locked away in the east wing of his rebuilt manor. When a new terrorist -- the monstrous Bane, who has ties to the League of Shadows -- threatens Gotham City, Wayne, despite his wanted murderer status, will don his cape and cowl once more. This film really showed the human element and vulnerability of Bruce Wayne, being beaten soundly by the monstrous Bane. In the end, The Dark Knight Rises is a fun, larger-than-life movie and, in many ways, a fitting end to Mr. Nolan's trilogy. (movie: 4.5/5)

TRIVIA:

It has an estimated budget of $250 million, but earned $1,078 million worldwide. It is currently sitting at 7th place in the Worldwide Box Office Chart, behind Avatar, Titanic, The Avengers, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollows Part 2, Transformers: Dark of the Moon and Lord of the Rings: Return of the King. This is quite an achievement.

PACKAGING:

This combo contains 2 blu ray (BD-50) discs: one for the Feature Film and the other Special Features. There is also a standard DVD, plus instructions to get the Dark Knight Rises FX App to sync with the blu ray disc and to unlock exclusive content!

PRICES:

When The Dark Knight Rises was first announced, the price was $27.99. Later, the price moved up to $34.99, but thankfully, as the release date drew nearer, the price miraculously dropped to $26.99, and finally $22.97!!!! A definite best-buy!

FINAL THOUGHTS:

The Dark Knight Rises is an exciting, epic movie and, for the most part, a fitting end to the Nolan Batman era. In the past, I bought the Gift set of the Dark Knight mainly because of the toy: the two fat wheeled Bat-cycle. The Gift set for the Dark Knight Rises is not as appealing. I also do not recommend the Dark Knight Trilogy Limited Edition set because it contained only the three bare-bone movies. I am sure The Dark Knight Trilogy: Ultimate Collector’s Edition will be released next year. But for this blu ray combo, with The Price of only $22.97 is definitely Right, and order the Dark Knight Rises now before the Price Rises after releases. Of course, the Dark Knight Rises is highly recommended.

I hope the above review is helpful to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the best in the trilogy, Oct. 30 2013
By 
RIP - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
So I finished watching it after watching it in two parts. At 2.5 hours long this movie felt like it dragged along at times, and to some extent was a suitable end to this trilogy. Though the characters are portrayed a little differently from the comic books, it still came together pretty well near the last third of the movie. It should prove interesting to see what may be done for a follow up movie with the way this one ended. But since Bale is done with Batman I am not sure how it will go, and with the director also being done with it I am not sure we will get to see a Batman this really well done.

One thing that bothered me about the movie was the voice of the Bane character. I did not have a great deal of trouble understanding him on the blu-ray as a lot of people complained about. It is just his high pitched voice was so damn annoying and not suited to the character at all that kind of ruined things for me with the movie. Still a good movie though. If I could my rating would be 3.5 stars out of 5 and not 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice movie, April 12 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Its was a super deal and the product look fine. A bunch of year im waiting for a deal. Thanks a lot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT MOVIE!, April 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I PURCHASED THIS MOVIE FOR MY ADULT SON AT CHRISTMAS. HE ABSOLUTELY LOVES THIS MOVIE. GREAT ACTING AND FULL OF ACTION!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars End to a great Trilogy!, April 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dark Knight Rises / L'Ascension du Chevalier Noir (Bilingual) (DVD)
This wraps up an amazing vision for the Batman story. An astounding cast with excellent story writing! I know have the complete trilogy! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars J'ai adoré, March 29 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
J'ai adoré le film. J'ai aimé autant que The Dark Knight : Le Chevalier noir même peut-être un peu plus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good conclusion!, March 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Even though its ranked 2nd place in the trilogy set in my opinion, it is still a far cry from Batman Begins! Now I can relieve the movie at home!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dvd, Feb. 19 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dark Knight Rises / L'Ascension du Chevalier Noir (Bilingual) (DVD)
this is a very high quality product that stands by it's description and functions exactly as described. I love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fine Movie, Not Many Features, Feb. 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dark Knight Rises / L'Ascension du Chevalier Noir (Bilingual) (DVD)
The disc and case were fine. No skipping or issues in quality. I was however disappointed in the lack of special features as that is a favourite part of movies for my mother and it was a Christmas gift for her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Batman The Dark Knight Rises - Christian Bale - a True Classic!, Dec 19 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Dark Knight Rises / L'Ascension du Chevalier Noir (Bilingual) (DVD)
Batman The Dark Knight Rises - Christian Bale - a True Classic!

PIcked it up pre xmas 2013 for a Song, give or take... Great Film

and even better in Blue Ray

Amazon.ca ALWAYS (almsot) delivers FAST!

They even make Canad Psot Deliver Faster than they do any other time! A MIRACLE! *LoL*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9e9aaa4)

This product

The Dark Knight Rises / L'Ascension du Chevalier Noir (Bilingual)
CDN$ 31.98 CDN$ 9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews