Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark Knight Trilogy - Ultimate Collector's Edition
Commentaire vidéo Client     Longueur :: 0:52 Min
*Note: This is a review of the limited edition Ultimate Collector's Edition Blu-Ray set from the US.

I had very little interest in the character of Batman until The Dark Knight Trilogy came about. What Nolan did with the trilogy raised the bar for not just superhero movies, but all summer blockbusters in general. I...
Published 1 month ago by JMM

versus
20 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars EPIC FAIL WARNER BROS. If you already own the films don't buy this set
I had this pre-ordered UNTIL I watched an "unboxing" vid... this set is awful, with lazy artwork and frustrating packaging (you literally have to rip open the hot wheels toys, so no chance of putting those back snug in the box!). Not to mention every website and press release I read mentions it contains a "hardcover" photobook - not true the photobook is a flimsy...
Published 15 months ago by DRock


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark Knight Trilogy - Ultimate Collector's Edition, Nov. 3 2014
By 
JMM (USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Longueur :: 0:52 Min

*Note: This is a review of the limited edition Ultimate Collector's Edition Blu-Ray set from the US.

I had very little interest in the character of Batman until The Dark Knight Trilogy came about. What Nolan did with the trilogy raised the bar for not just superhero movies, but all summer blockbusters in general. I imagine most people already have seen these films (and perhaps you even own them on blu-ray), so the question before us is as follows: Is the Ultimate Edition worth a purchase?

Well, there are two things that set this collector's edition apart:

1. THE BONUS DISC
This set comes with an exclusive bonus disc, which contains the following:
- The Fire Rises - a 75-minute documentary that looks back at the impact and making-of the trilogy. It's a great documentary with some behind-the-scenes footage and new interviews, but it is by no means comprehensive. I feel they are only scratching the surface, and as a big fan of these movies I wanted much more.
- Interview with Christopher Nolan and Richard Donner - these two filmmakers have a discussion about superheroes, and they discuss the influence of Donner's Superman films on Nolan's Dark Knight Trilogy.
- Original IMAX Footage - all the IMAX scenes from The Dark Knight and The Dark Knight Rises. Scenes are presented in their original aspect ratio, meaning the image is framed exactly as it would be on a real 70mm/15 perf IMAX screen.

2. THE COLLECTIBLES
The Ultimate Collector's Edition includes the following memorabilia:
- Outer Box is labeled Limited Edition and is individually numbered.
- 3 Hot Wheels mini vehicle figures - The Tumbler, the Batpod, and the Bat.
- Hardcover Book, which also serves as the disc storage (the discs do not come in normal blu-ray cases)
- Collectible Booklet w/ images from the films, includes some production photos/concept art.
- 5 Art Cards (measure 7x10 inches) - Ra's al Ghul, Scarecrow, The Joker, Two-Face, and Bane
- Letter from Christopher Nolan (printed on card stock)

So that's it. There was just enough extra content and collectibles to make this worth a purchase for me. Still, there are a number of other things I wish were included. In terms of special features, they're still a bit sparse on making-of videos (especially when compared to the Lord of the Rings and Star Wars bonus material). How about an in-depth look at filming with IMAX cameras? And we never got any deleted/extended scenes on any of the blu-ray releases. As the for collectible items, they are nice (I really like the villains art cards) - but I would say they fall slightly short of the collectibles included in other WB Ultimate sets (such as The Wizard of Oz and Gone with the Wind, etc).

Overall, this set is probably worth it if you are a big fan of the Batman films. But for casual viewers, the Ultimate Edition can probably be skipped. I certainly don't regret buying it, but I was left slightly disappointed and would have loved even more content and higher-quality collectibles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Batman, Dark Knight Fans this is for you, April 21 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
All 3 Christopher Nolan films plus the added artwork really makes this a great collectors set. Just the added unreleased movie posters are amazing. They can actually be framed and look like expensive art. Great collectors set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for "collectors", April 16 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
I got this when it was on sale for $35. Tbh, I really only wanted the movies. The exclusives that came with it were an added bonus (for the price I paid). I have no complaints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have, April 4 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Must have for Nolan's Batman trilogy fans.
You get every single flim, tons of extras, and a bunch of batmobiles! perfect for collectors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome collection, March 5 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
I was looking at getting this, but the price of it held me back. Then I went on the Amazon site when they were having there one day only sales, and I lucked into getting this for a steal. Everything in the box was amazing to look at. Any batman fan should buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This set is amazing., Feb. 27 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
This is the ultimate Batman Box Set. (For Chris Nolan's Batman collection). Your friends will be jealous. (: (: (:
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, Feb. 24 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Must have collection for any bat-fan! Hoped for deleted scenes from the movies but the Special Features were still great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Dark Knight Trilogy Ultimate Collector's Edition, Feb. 23 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
This collection will be enjoyed over and over as it stirs memories of its first appearance. it was a pleasure to add it to the family collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He rises, Feb. 22 2014
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Ce commentaire est de: The Dark Knight Trilogy Limited Edition Giftset (Batman Begins / The Dark Knight / The Dark Knight Rises) (DVD)
We are in a golden age of comic book movies right now. No movies show that as perfectly as Christopher Nolan's "Dark Knight Trilogy" -- three movies that explore the formative years of the legendary superhero Batman, from the beginning of his crusade for justice to the explosive climax. Even people who aren't into capes and tights can appreciate this story.

"Batman Begins": After his parents' murderer is paroled, young bazillionaire Bruce Wayne (Christian Bale) vanishes on an aimless journey across the world. He's taken under the wing of the mysterious Henri Ducard (Liam Neeson), who offers to train him to be a member of the League of Shadows. But then Bruce learns that the League plans to annihilate Gotham, his home city.

Gotham has become rotten to the core with mobs, crooked cops and a fear-inducing shrink. Using the company's discarded prototypes, Bruce fashions an armored bodysuit and tanklike vehicle, and uses them to fight crime wherever he finds it. But the League still has plans to destroy Gotham, and the only one who can stop them is Batman.

"The Dark Knight" is feeling pretty good about his battle against crime, especially since the new DA Harvey Dent (Aaron Eckhart) is a morally-upright good-guy. But Batman isn't prepared for the Joker (Heath Ledger) a mad clownish psychopath who has hired himself out to the mob to destroy their worst enemy, the Dark Knight. Even worse, he has the ultimate way of blackmailing Batman into doing what he wants: holding all of Gotham hostage.

"The Dark Knight rises picks up eight years later -- crime is almost gone, Batman has vanished, and Bruce Wayne is a recluse. But then a terrifying masked man named Bane arrives in Gotham, attacking Batman as revenge for the League's destruction. He will turn Gotham into a living nightmare, unless the Dark Knight can rise again...

Most directors would have given these movie a distinctly comic-book, slick pop-culture feel. But no matter how hard you search, there's not a single hint in "The Dark Knight Trilogy" that anything kitschy or campy came before it, or that it was originally a comic book. Instead Christopher Nolan creates a movie as dark, tightly-wound and intense as Batman himself.

But since this is a comic-book movie, Nolan peppers them with kinetic action, high-speed chases and massive explosions. The dialogue is drizzled with dry humor ("That isn't exactly what I had in mind when I said I wanted to inspire people"," Batman says, looking at a bunch of impersonators), mostly to temper the overhanging sense of horror and apprehension.

The most striking part of these movies is Nolan's delving into morality, and the darker side of human nature. He heaps more tragedy and trauma on Batman than just his parents' death, and delicately traces the moral boundaries -- or lack of them -- between Batman and his foes.

Christian Bale is simply brilliant as Bruce Wayne/Batman -- sure, his growly voice can get a bit silly at times, but he perfectly conveys the strength, pain and determination of a man who will sacrifice everything to save others. Michael Caine is awesome as his faithful butler/father figure, and there are solid backing performances by Morgan Freeman and Gary Oldman.

And the performances of the villain actors are absolutely brilliant. Everybody knows of the late Heath Ledger's spellbindingly chilling performance as the Joker, a casually corrosive creature who believes himself to be the yin to Batman's yang. But Tom Hardy and Liam Neeson are also brilliant as cunning, clever people who are determined to destroy Gotham.

The biggest problem is that Nolan isn't very good at casting women. Maggie Gyllenhaal and the pouty Katie Holmes are both hideously miscast as the cruel, manipulative Rachel Dawes, who treats Bruce's heart like a toy. Anne Hathaway is the best of the bunch -- a pretty baffling choice as Catwoman, but she does a decent job.

"The Dark Knight Trilogy" contains some of the best superhero movies ever made -- a dark, gritty, richly-imagined tale of one man's quest against chaos and evil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingggggg, Feb. 18 2014
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Excellent collector's set! Exceeded expectations, big thumbs up! Pictures, movies, book, and vehicles were all great, no complaints at all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews