Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Cyber Monday Deals Week in Home & Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Countdown to Cyber Monday in Lawn & Garden

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars41
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon November 13, 2012
The reviews regarding Slowhand are all ancient. The slate should be
clean as it was released! December 18th. I got a great
deal on this set. I'm a happy customer. Thanks Amazon.....The deluxe
set is a real groove and it costs a few....but it may well be collector
material. The price might drop, time will tell. The first song, "Cocaine"
sets the mood, if you get the joke, before heading into "Wonderful Tonight"...
The single disc remaster is a real good price. I bought 2 copies! I think
I'll return with a late, sonics UPDATE.....The sound is absolute....they
got it right. This product, whether you buy the single disc or the "production"
you are getting the best this has ever sounded. On first listen, I'm a believer.
December 25th 2012.....BE CAREFUL when pulling out the discs and booklet.
They are not independent of the slipcase. They are all attached. Pull out
gently and open like the pages of a book.....swing them from right to left.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2002
Slowhand is clearly one of Eric Clapton's stronger solo releases. Whereas there are plenty of guitar solos and effects, many of these tunes are quite pleasing. A little bit mellow but certainly quite focused.
The lead off track, Cocaine features a very distnictive riff and steady instrumental support. Like the gutiar solo in the middle. Wonderful Tonight will always be known as a classic wedding song. One of Eric's best compositions. Lay Down Sally features some mellow guitar picking and a nice chugging rhythm. Next Time You See Her features some good drumming by Jaime Oldaker in addition to some tasty guitar licks. We're All The Way is a pleasant focused ballad.
The second half kicks off with a riveting duet between Eric and Marcy Levy on the Core. Super guitar solos by George Terry and Eric as well as a good saxaphone break by Mel Collins. May You Never is a catchy tune with cute vocal styling by Eric. Mean Old Frisco is a fine blues number and Peaches And Diesel is a pretty instrumental with touching guitar parts.
A solid if not overly spectacular release that showcases the mellow side of Eric Clapton.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2001
After his major comeback in 1974 with 461 Ocean Boulevard, Eric Clapton shied away from the mainstream with his next two releases. There's One In Every Crowd & No Reason To Cry. With Slowhand, he returned to the sounds that made 461 a hit. On his first solo album, he had a major triumph with J.J. Cale's "After Midnight". He returns to the Cale catalog for another triumph, the searing "Cocaine". The song has a propulsive riff and a ringing guitar solo. On the flip side of that is "Wonderful Tonight" which is built around his waiting for his wife to get ready for a party. The song is among the prettiest things he's ever done and it his easy picking of the guitar shows that subtle playing is just as powerful as in your face power chords. "Lay Down Sally" has a country flavor and was a big hit becoming his second top ten single and peaking at number three. The best song on the album is the lengthy "The Core". The song has some marvelous vocal interplay between Mr. Clapton and Marcy Levy and some stellar guitar work. Slowhand was a return to the top ten for Mr. Clapton reaching number three in early 1978.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2001
It was once proclaimed that Eric Clapton is god. When it comes to rock guitarists, Clapton is indeed a part of the triune godhead of Hendrix, Townshend and, of course, Clapton. And like a god, Clapton is ageless and powerful; on this album, you feel the force of Clapton's divine guitar playing.
Although JJ Cale wrote "Cocaine," Clapton gave life and definition to it in his own way and made a masterpiece of it! Clapton performs this song in such a way you're almost tempted to start taking the stuff. Kidding aside, this is one of rock's great songs by one of rock's great artists. As an aside, if you really want to hear a great live version of this song, just listen to Clapton's "Just One Night." Which is another great album in its own right.
"The Core" is another kicker that makes you wanna turn up the volume on your receiver to full blast. That is assuming of course your speakers can handle it!
"We're All the Way" and "May You Never" are country-tinged tunes that Clapton delivers with flair. "Lay Down Sally" was the Top 40 single from this album and while it's a good song, it's kinda lost some of its punch over the years mainly because it's gotten too much air play on both AOR and adult contemporary stations.
"Slowhand" is not only a classic Clapton album but it's also a classic rock album. If you don't have this album in your collection, you're missing something.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2003
Clapton Is God! I mean it the man rules over Hendrix, Zappa, Page, Van Halen you name em and Clapton will knock them all down! I love Eric Clapton as a guitar player, I mean no one can touch him he is truly in the top 2 (right behind Joe Perry of cource) Slowhand was his biggest album in the 70's well as far as his solo material goes. Every song on Slowhand is a Classic I mean 'Cocaine' and 'Wonderful Tonight' are worth the price of the album alone. The solo on 'Cocaine' is just killer I mean Clapton tears it up on the track, and 'Wonderful Tonight' has amazing lyrics and the guitar is mind blowing! 'Lay Down Sally' was another Clapton classic. 'The Core' to me is probly the best track I mean its just to perfect, well the album as whole is really nearly perfect! Its a must own classic you cant call yourself a Clapton fan without it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2011
This is one of the best SACD recordings I have. Compared to a CD layer, it has an unbelievable dynamic range and stunning details. You just forget about your loudspeakers, because stereo panorama is much wider than the space between them.

However, Clapto's voice and guitar sound louder on a CD, thanks to the compression. Maybe they should have remastered the original record, but I've noticed the same happens to many other SACDs and we just need some time to adjust our ears.

And also don't forget to adjust the sound level - if you listen to it at the same volume setting as a CD, you will get the same impression as previous reviewers. Again - this happens to many super audio recordings, as the removed compression makes the low intencity sounds much quieter.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 1999
This is an awesome Clapton album in the sense that it includes slow, touching songs such as "Wonderful Tonight" and "Peaches and Diesel," but also has almost discordant pieces such a "Cocaine" and "Mean Old Frisco." All you have to do is change the track to suit your mood. There is a warmth to the slower songs that seems to be particular to this album. For example, "May You Never" is certainly a rock tune, but Clapton sings it in such a way that it sounds almost like a lullaby. Tremendous material. I fell in love with it ten years ago when I was in school. Highly recommended. -- G.N. Saliba
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 1999
Clapton dabbles again with everything on this one and really makes an absolute classic. His cover of JJ Cale's "Cocaine" is killer, along with his originals throughout the album. "The Core" is reason enough to buy this, it's perhaps one of his best songs he has ever written. His work with Marcy Levy, along with George Terry's playing make this an absolute classic. Outside of Cream, Blind Faith and Derek and the Dominos, this is Clapton's epic solo record. If you dig Clapton just a little, this will make you a fan...what a masterpiece....
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on January 29, 2013
Je suis un grand fan d'Éric Claprton, en fait je collectionne tout ce que je peux trouver sur lui.
Ce coffret est très bien fait et très complet. Tout fan de Clapton devrait l'avoir.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2002
Seldom an album has all of its tracks such great, even varying a lot in speed, style and interpretation.
Clapton did that in SLOWHAND. The album is simply superb to listen, highly, I mean HIGHLY pleasant.
His band for this 1977 album was Dick Sims on keyboards, George Terry on guitar, Carl Radle on bass, Jamie Oldaker on drums and Yvonne Elliman on vocals, basically the same band that recorded 461 OCEAN BOULEVARD back in 1974.
This is an album whre one will have absolutely nothing to complain about. It's that perfect.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Unplugged (Vinyl)
Unplugged (Vinyl) by Eric clapton (LP Record - 2011)

Complete Clapton (2CD)
Complete Clapton (2CD) by Eric Clapton (Audio CD - 2007)

So What
So What by Joe Walsh (Audio CD - 2015)