Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slowhand 2012 Deluxe Box Remaster......
The reviews regarding Slowhand are all ancient. The slate should be
clean as it was released only....today! December 18th. I got a great
deal on this set. I'm a happy customer. Thanks Amazon.....The deluxe
set is a real groove and it costs a few....but it may well be collector
material. The price might drop, time will tell. The first song,...
Published 20 months ago by Breadmanwalking

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great content, but poor packaging
This is a great set for any Eric Clapton fan - Slowhand is one of "the" albums, and the quality of content on the CDs and DVD is high - not to mention that it comes with the newly remastered vinyl. However the quality of the content is offset by the terrible packaging. Sleeves slide out of the outer box, but they remain attached to the casing and flip like a book. The...
Published 17 months ago by TrueReview


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slowhand 2012 Deluxe Box Remaster......, Nov. 13 2012
By 
Breadmanwalking (Toronto, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Slowhand: 35th Anniversary (Super Deluxe Edition Box Set) [CD + DVD + Vinyl LP] (Audio CD)
The reviews regarding Slowhand are all ancient. The slate should be
clean as it was released only....today! December 18th. I got a great
deal on this set. I'm a happy customer. Thanks Amazon.....The deluxe
set is a real groove and it costs a few....but it may well be collector
material. The price might drop, time will tell. The first song, "Cocaine"
sets the mood, if you get the joke, before heading into "Wonderful Tonight"...
The single disc remaster is a real good price. I bought 2 copies! I think
I'll return with a late, sonics UPDATE.....The sound is absolute....they
got it right. This product, whether you buy the single disc or the "production"
you are getting the best this has ever sounded. On first listen, I'm a believer.
December 25th 2012.....BE CAREFUL when pulling out the discs and booklet.
They are not independent of the slipcase. They are all attached. Pull out
gently and open like the pages of a book.....swing them from right to left.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent box set, Jan. 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Slowhand: 35th Anniversary (Super Deluxe Edition Box Set) [CD + DVD + Vinyl LP] (Audio CD)
Je suis un grand fan d'Éric Claprton, en fait je collectionne tout ce que je peux trouver sur lui.
Ce coffret est très bien fait et très complet. Tout fan de Clapton devrait l'avoir.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasic Box Set!!!!, Jan. 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Slowhand: 35th Anniversary (Super Deluxe Edition Box Set) [CD + DVD + Vinyl LP] (Audio CD)
Wonderful re-release!!!! Heavy vinyl print of LP plus disc w/ unreleased tracks. Clear concert with great energy in 2 discs. Good booklet & program reprints. Even the box packaing is superb-tweed case of a Fender Strat that Clapton is famous for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great content, but poor packaging, Feb. 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Slowhand: 35th Anniversary (Super Deluxe Edition Box Set) [CD + DVD + Vinyl LP] (Audio CD)
This is a great set for any Eric Clapton fan - Slowhand is one of "the" albums, and the quality of content on the CDs and DVD is high - not to mention that it comes with the newly remastered vinyl. However the quality of the content is offset by the terrible packaging. Sleeves slide out of the outer box, but they remain attached to the casing and flip like a book. The first time I opened it and tried to flip to the "page" with the album on it, the booklet ripped apart. I ended up tearing the booklet packaging out of the outer box, trimming the sleeves so that I could slide each individual sleeve into the box without anything sticking out. This is probably the way it should have been designed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Muffled, Aug. 8 2009
This review is from: Slowhand (Audio CD)
Of all SACD I have in my collections, this is the only one that sounds like my speaker (Totem Rainmaker) is covered with blanket or something... Must be the sound-engineer's preference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very overrated, July 30 2003
This review is from: Slowhand (Audio CD)
This album just doesn't work for me.
I have almost all of Eric Clapton's albums, the good ones, the great ones and the mediocre ones, and everybody but me seems to count this one among the great ones.
I've had it for fifteen years or something like that, and it absolutely refuses to grow on me. Sure, it's got "Lay Down Sally", "Wonderful Tonight", and the lesser-known but quite charming "May You Never". But the rest is not just filler, it's incredibly dull filler, with no hooks, no groove, nothing! Even Clapton's takes on "Cocaine" and "Mean Old Frisco" aren't particularly good.
"Wonderful Tonight" is perhaps not the kind of song that most people associate (or would like to associate) with EC, but it is a really good pop song nonetheless. And "Lay Down Sally" is a catchy little number as well.
But come on....nothing, absolutely nothing on this record comes close to Eric Clapton's best.
Maybe part of the reason that I find "Slowhand" so uninspiring is Glyn John's awful, flat, dull, lifeless, one-dimentional production (the drums sound like somebody banging away on an overturned plastic bucket), but that's not the whole story. The songs just aren't good enough.
Sure, Clapton's playing is excellent, but how can anyone say that this is some of the best work of a man who has recorded "Layla", "Bell Bottom Blues", "Blues Power", "Let It Rain" and "Tell The Truth"?
To me, almost every other album Clapton recorded in the 70s and early 80s is better than this (with the exception of the critical and commercial failure "There's One In Every Crowd"). It does have its moments, sure, but they are few and far between. Three stars is certainly being generous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Eric, Nov. 5 2010
This review is from: Slowhand (Audio CD)
A great rock album. It is worth buying, but not a great demo for a SACD, I expected much more from a SACD. MUCH better than the red book CD though ! I think the stereo layer is better than the 5.1 layer. Lay Down your money Sally !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slowly and wonderfully, March 30 2002
This review is from: Slowhand (Audio CD)
Eric Clapton always could handle the softer touch, but had not shown it as frequently on one album as he did on "Slowhand." He is well-supported in this endeavor by Yvonne Elliman's vocals. "Wonderful Tonight" and the beautiful instrumental "Peaches and Diesel" are trademarks of this recording, which also contains "Next Time You See Her" and "May You Never." My favorite, recognizable by many but not because of the title, is "The Core." Eric and Marcy Levy combine their vocals in a very pretty song with a steady guitar-driven beat.
The most prominent songs are the excellent cover version of "Cocaine," which became a minor anthem of the late '70s, and "Lay Down Sally," with a guitar riff similar to that on "The Core" but a less dramatic while catchier chorus.
"Slowhand" is one of Clapton's better moments, a very pleasant interlude that should be enjoyable by everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No arguments here-- a great album, May 15 2003
By 
Tom Tuerff (That there Phoenix place) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slowhand (Audio CD)
Yeah, we've all heard the "hit" songs off this album about 10,000 times, which in the case of "Wonderful Tonight" is about 9,997 times too many.
But there's so much good music on this album that the radio-listening public didn't get to hear that you should still have a copy of "Slowhand" on hand. It's all good.
The best song on here, in my opinion, is a toss up between the rollin' and rockin' blues "Mean Old Frisco" and John Martyn's hopeful, amusing "May You Never." Marcy Levy's vocals throughout the album are a treat, too.
And EC contributes some of the most tasteful (if not particularly inventive) guitar playing of his career.
One more thing: If you have the vinyl version of this album, next time you have a party, take the cover out, open up the gatefold and then hold your head above Clapton's guitar-playing body on the cover. I guarantee you drunk people will laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is why they call him "Slowhand", Aug. 2 2000
By 
Brian D. Rubendall (Oakton, VA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slowhand (Audio CD)
"Slowhand" ranks along with "461 Ocean Boulevard" as Eric Clapton's two finest solo albums. Clapton scored one of his biggest hits with the ace cover of J.J. Cale's "Cocaine." He also came up with several of his best ever original songs in the ballad "Wonderful Tonight," and the bluesy "Lay Down Sally." Other classic cuts include the long jam "The Core," and the jealous lover's stern warning "Next Time You See Her." Clapton's guitar has never sounded sweeter and his backing band is first rate. This album is a must have for Clapton fans as well as fans of 70s rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews