Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is an excellent audiophile source for the Stones.
I was leary of trying out these 'relatively new' Blu Ray Pure Audio discs. I lean towards DVD DTS 5.1 Audio, Blu Ray 5.1 Audio, SACD multi-channels, and SHM-CD's. I was pleasantly surprised at the audio quality on this. I am running an Onkyo NR-818 through 4 ohm Martin Logans, Soundstage Monitors, and Infinity Reference monitors, with two Velodyne 15" subs...
Published 5 months ago by Herman

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why another one
Like some of the others mentioned, another compilation has been released by them, and was just in time for that mini tour [and whether or not they surprise us with a lengthier one].

So you have basically almost the same old tracks from 40 Licks minus a couple, add a bunch and two tracks recorded in Paris in 2012. Each CD averages to about 60 minutes...
Published 20 months ago by Gis A. Bun


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is an excellent audiophile source for the Stones., April 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was leary of trying out these 'relatively new' Blu Ray Pure Audio discs. I lean towards DVD DTS 5.1 Audio, Blu Ray 5.1 Audio, SACD multi-channels, and SHM-CD's. I was pleasantly surprised at the audio quality on this. I am running an Onkyo NR-818 through 4 ohm Martin Logans, Soundstage Monitors, and Infinity Reference monitors, with two Velodyne 15" subs. True 7.2 audio. The EXACT available formats on this disc are this: 2.0 PCM 24-bit/96Khz. 2.0 DTS-HD Master Audio 24 bit/96Kz. ( I use this one), and 2.0 Dolby TrueHD 24 bit/96Khz. The DTS Master Audio is the best if your amp will convert it. I am also using an OPPO for playback. I've listened to ALL the other remasters available for "The Stones" out there, and some are VERY GOOD. THIS ONE.........is exceptional. And I'm fussy as hell on my audio. It's cheap. Pick it up. FIFTY FRICKEN SONGS. I usually run it at reference volume through the Onkyo at 82. It won't make your ears bleed, but it will break glass, and give you a good massage in your audio chair with two subs. SUPER CLEAR. No high end boosting that so many idiot companies are doing. This is crystal audiophile material. You won't find better, in my opinion. IF YOU DO - LET ME KNOW AND I WILL BUY IT. The only BETTER quality discs I have are Roxy Music Avalon SACD multi channel. (yeah, try and find that one!). The Onkyo 'matrixes' the 2.0 signal to a full 7.2 on my system. Sure you're not going to have the fancy surround effects that Roxy has, but The Stones weren't designed for that. This is straight on rock and roll, and it rocks. High marks on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why another one, Jan. 6 2013
By 
Gis A. Bun (Montreal, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: GRRR! (Audio CD)
Like some of the others mentioned, another compilation has been released by them, and was just in time for that mini tour [and whether or not they surprise us with a lengthier one].

So you have basically almost the same old tracks from 40 Licks minus a couple, add a bunch and two tracks recorded in Paris in 2012. Each CD averages to about 60 minutes.

Oh, if you go to amazon.co.uk, they are selling a Blu-ray version of Grrr in high definition stereo. It's region free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yes another Stones compilation but the first in Blu Ray audio !, Jan. 20 2014
By 
Stephen Bieth (Mississauga/ Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Yes this is one of the endless compilations from the Stones. But I picked it up for the format and it was worth it. I already have most of the Stone's albums on SACD and I can tell you this format is better. Plus you are not looking at a $50+ SACD but a Blu ray for around $20 that has three discs worth of material on one Blu ray. Even the Stone's sound better (not a slag on the Stones but high end production was never their thing). I have also picked up "Exile" in this format and it to is better then the SACD.
I do have one question and that is why is Amazon.ca not selling these titles? They sell out really fast and I have bought all but one from sellers. Once again the people who still support the record industry are forced to search around to buy their product. In most cases Amazon is the sole place I can grab any high end format and usually I have to use .com or .UK.
But this product is a great way to hear all of the Rolling Stones hits (well a lot of them). An upgrade for those of us that have bought their product in the past or an excellent introduction for someone just checking them out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have !!!, Feb. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Best Stones collection so far, excellent packaging all the hits plus some excellent surprises also. Their new stuff for this collection is AWESOME!!! If you want a Stones Greatest hits package, this is it. 5 Stars!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grrrrrrrr, Dec 7 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GRRR! (Audio CD)
Love the Stones, but wish there had been more than one new song. It gives you a lot of everything thru all the years, without the price of a box set !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars get the bluray audio-only!, Jan. 25 2013
This review is from: GRRR! (Audio CD)
The 50-track bluray is a great trip thru 50 years; I wasnt about to get this set but the UK region free disc is a sweet deal. Doesnt have the depth of the Singles London Years' 58 tracks over 9 years, but will sweep you along and the audio is spectacular, 24/96 if you please, the only reason to buy this material, again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, July 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GRRR! (Audio CD)
Really good songs and band playing was excellent. Anyone who likes this type of music should have this in their library. A great compilation of their songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars FABBO, Jan. 18 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GRRR! (Audio CD)
A very entertaining musical experience encapsulating 50 years of music from one of rock n roll's greatest bands, the Rolling Stones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommend without hesitation, July 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GRRR! (Audio CD)
Very complete sample of the 1962 to 2012 production of hits. Maybe some hits are missing and other tunes don't really belong here but overall it's a great compilation. Always nice to listen and discover new aspects of the Stones' music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: GRRR! (Audio CD)
Awesome!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

GRRR!
GRRR! by The Rolling Stones (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews