summer boutiques-francophones snsflyout Home All-New Kindle sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars31
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

INTRODUCTION:

Phillip LaDon Phillips, Jr. (born September 20, 1990) is an American singer-songwriter from Leesburg, Georgia. He won the eleventh season of American Idol on May 23, 2012. His coronation song "Home", released after his win, became the best selling of all coronation songs. "Home" has 4,473,000 in digital sales. This marks the first time that an American Idol winner's "coronation song" has sold 2 million copies. The previous best-seller among coronation songs was David Cook's "The Time Of My Life," which has sold 1,463,000 copies. "Home," which has the rootsy appeal of Mumford & Sons, entered the Hot 100 at #10 in June, the week after Phillips was crowned the Season 11 winner. It then tumbled down the chart until NBC featured the song during its coverage of the Summer Olympics in August. The week after it was featured on the Olympics, it rebounded from #84 to #9, and eventually peaked at Number 6. But the amazing chart achievement of “Home” was in the Adult Contemporary Chart, where it stayed at the Number 1 position for 12 weeks!

CONTENT:

The World From The Side Of The Moon was released November 19, 2012, peaked at Number 4 on Billboard 200, and has sold an amazing 879,000 copies.

The song listing (with chart position and year) is as follows:

01 Man on the Moon
02 Home (Pop 6/2013; AC 1(12)/2013)*this song is also found in the Country Hits 2013
03 Gone, Gone, Gone (Pop 52/2013; AC 7/2013)
04 Hold On
05 Tell Me a Story
06 Get Up Get Down
07 Where We Came From
08 Drive Me
09 Wanted Is Love
10 Can't Go Wrong
11 A Fool's Dance
12 So Easy

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Phillip Phillips is also a very talented song writer. He wrote 9 of the 12 songs above. The audio is very well remastered, with clean, crisp, vibrant acoustic sound, and fantastic beat. I hope that he will stay popular, like the other Idol winners, Kelly Clarkson and Carrie Underwood (who was great appearing with the Rolling Stones in concert in Toronto this week). Phillip Phillips suffered from a congenital kidney condition that produces stones so large he cannot pass them. Soon after American Idol had finished, he had the kidney stones surgically removed as well as reconstructive surgery done on his kidney. Personally as a physician, I do wish him well and good health in the future. The entire CD is enjoyable and very well done, and is highly recommended.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2013
I was a fan when Phillip Phillips was on AI and I was looking forward to getting his CD. It more then lived up to my expectations. I could listen to this CD over and over. Phillip has an earthy vibe that would suit all kinds of personalities. You could put his CD on to entertain guests and also listen to it quietly and reflect on life.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2012
It's not like me to watch an amateur performer on TV and then to go out and buy their first album. Well, I was delightfully surprised by Phil Phillips' creation. He sings passionately from within and his lyrics reflect it. His music has a certain rawness which makes it all the more special. If you rolled Hootie and the Blowfish, Bruce Springsteen and Dave Matthews Band into one, you'd get Phil Phillips.

Well worth the investment because for about $15 bucks you will get hours of enjoyment because you will play the album over and over again.

And you'll give Phillips an opportunity to become a top musical talent which he deserves to be.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2012
A very good first album. I have always enjoyed his unique voice and wasn't disappointed.
I will admit that I like the acoustic tracks the best.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2013
I made the mistake of buying this album, thinking it would be more of a country album, however it certainly is not! I found it to be very generic, over produced sounding. Phillip Phillips has a great voice, and the vocals on this album certainly reflect that, but everything else about it was extremely average. If he were to release a more traditional country album instead of this pop/rock crossover style of music, I may give it another try, but this album...meh.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2012
The album was great, love the songs. Phillip Phillips definitely did not fail to deliver! Very talented young man, can't wait for the next one
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2012
Great CD! Always a fan! I have always loved this music, especially his hit song "Home". Happy to have this for Christmas.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2013
the whole C.D. is great. his songs grow on you real quick and before you know it, your listening to this c.d. over and over. I am totally satisfied.. I love him.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2013
Every time I listen to this cd, I can recall Phillip Phillips performing on American Idol. I knew early on he would win and this tells you why he did win.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2013
The cd is great, love the music, but I was surprised to receive it in a bubble envelop and not a box. The box of the cd was cracked in 2 different places
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items