Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great cartoon classic, one of Disney's best
This wonderful Disney production offers flights of fancy that appeal directly to children's fertile imaginations. The ability to fly, to be a devil-may-care youngster and never grow up, to engage in derring-do with pirates, never having to bother with school, and exploring fantasy worlds of islands, mermaids, Indians and mysterious caves is a powerful magnetic pull for...
Published on June 9 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars HEAR BOBBY DRISCOLL SPEAK FROM BEYOND
"PETER PAN" a Disney favorite from 1953 has been resurrected, remastered and restored for its premier digital transfer. The Technicolor animation is once again pristine and the sound is crystal clear.
Although the animation style is far-removed from the detailed, classic, illustrator style of "Snow White" and "Pinnochio," it is still fluid, with nicely framed...
Published on Feb. 15 2002 by Robin Simmons


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great cartoon classic, one of Disney's best, June 9 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Peter Pan (DVD)
This wonderful Disney production offers flights of fancy that appeal directly to children's fertile imaginations. The ability to fly, to be a devil-may-care youngster and never grow up, to engage in derring-do with pirates, never having to bother with school, and exploring fantasy worlds of islands, mermaids, Indians and mysterious caves is a powerful magnetic pull for young dreamers. The lush color lensing of this animated adventure is superb, and the characters and catchy tunes add to the pleasure of watching this film, for young and old alike.
Peter Pan, the title character, is a spry, charming lad who loves his carefree existence. He is, however, upstaged by his companion, the delightfully naughty Tinker Bell, a temperamental pixie who literally sees red when Wendy accompanies Peter Pan to Never Land. Captain Hook and his shadow, the crocodile, the sniveling Smee, the beautiful mermaids, and the stoic Tiger Lily are the characters who stand out in this movie. Wendy and her brothers, John and Michael are okay and basically come along for the ride. The sprightly song "You Can Fly!-You Can Fly!-You Can Fly!" is just one of the memorable tunes for which Peter Pan is fondly remembered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Disney movies: EVER, April 16 2004
By 
ALexandra (Chicago (GO CUBBIES!)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Peter Pan (DVD)
Peter Pan is one of the most entertaining and charming Disney movies ever made. It follows the adventures of Wendy, John, and Michael Darling, and of course the boy who never grew up, Peter Pan. Captain Hook is one of the funniest and evil villains ever created and his first mate, Smee, is absolutely hilarious.

I have to admit that this movie doesn't follow the book very much, but is better. The characters are so much more lovable in Disney's tale. Now why couldn't Barrie be this imaginative?

A new, live version of Peter Pan recenyly came out. and when I saw it I couldn't help but be disappointed. I missed all of those timeless songs, charming characters, and humor. Peter was dressed as if he came straight from the jungle, and unfortunately it followed the book. I know you may think that sounds odd of me to say that I didn't like it because it was an accurate adaption, but it's true.

So if you want to watch an exciting and classic movie buy this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peter Pan (blu ray)(Diamond Edition): the definitive edition of Peter Pan!, Feb. 13 2013
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Peter Pan (Diamond Edition) (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + Book App) (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
VIDEO:

Peter Pan flies into blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.33:1 encode. In this case, Disney has decided to do a spectacular clean revitalization, rather than a classic restoration. The result is the absence of grain. But I feel that the transfer is still a revelation. Colours are sumptuous, strong, stunning and vibrant, especially obvious with Captain Hook's bright red cape. The blue of London's night sky is sumptuous. The greenery of Neverland has never looked so rich. Contrast is excellent throughout, as are black levels, which are deeper and richer than ever before. Detail is quite impressive too, with clean line art, stable colour fills, and nicely preserved brushstroke textures in the hand-painted backgrounds. Scratches, scuffs, and noise have all been cleaned up. (5/5)

AUDIO:

As per the usual Disney high standards, Peter Pan comes with DTS-HD 7.1 Master Audio. Culled from a mono source Disney creates a realistic surround sound environment like it has with other movies like Snow White. What is most noticeable about the expanded soundscape is the exactness of the directionality. Dialogue and sound effects move seamlessly through the channels depending on where people are located on screen. Cannons provide deep booming explosions. The tick-tock of Hook's crocodile echoes menacingly. Rear speakers are surprisingly alive with ambient noise, as are the side channels. This is especially noticeable during action sequences. My favourite sound of the movie, when Hook skips across the top of the water like a skipping stone after shooting out of the crocodile's mouth, is wonderfully presented here. The 7.1 track may be a little much considering its mono roots, but Disney pulls it off really well. It is just too bad that they didn't include a lossless mono option as well. (4.5/5)

MOVIE:

One night in London, Peter Pan (voiced by Bobby Driscoll) visits a young girl hoping to get his shadow back. Wendy Darling (Kathryn Beaumont) believes in the stories she's heard about Peter and has stowed away his lost shadow for safe keeping. And so begins one of the most adored stories in all of children's literature.

Wendy, along with her two brothers Michael (voiced by Tommy Luske) and John (voiced by Paul Collins) fly off to Neverland with Peter. A wealth of adventure awaits the travelers. Danger lies ahead also. Captain Hook (voiced by Hans Conried) has been stewing over how to finally rid himself of his arch nemesis Peter Pan. When the boy arrives with new friends in tow he eyes a chance to get rid of him once and for all. Of course, we must not forget Tinker Bell and the very clumpsy Mr. Smee (voiced by Bill Thompson). (movie: 5/5)

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Peter Pan is my favourite Disney film. This was my first full length "cartoon" that I viewed in a theatre when I was 6. This began my love for movies. At home, I was heavily criticized by my better half for my many versions of Peter Pan: starting with a bootleg tape version, followed by a few VHS tapes, then a laser disc, and finally three different DVDs: first, called Limited Issue, followed by Special Edition, and finally the Platinum Edition in 2007. Hopefully and thankfully, this Diamond Edition should be the last one. This edition is the definitive version, and is very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, Jan. 6 2013
By 
Vicki Rigsby "Toby" (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
who could find fault with Peter Pan. A most enjoyable film today as yesterday. My great neice will find many hours of enjoyment in it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peter pan, Jan. 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Play over and over a classic,reminds good memory .My kids loved it and the quality is awesome.great gift idea for young and old
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A quick, enjoyable Disney viewing., May 25 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Peter Pan (DVD)
This movie animates one of the most imaginative plays ever written, albeit with a little 'Disneyfication.' It's by far my favorite; there is an enjoyably long spectrum of characters. Every time I watch this movie, it takes me back to those times I wish I was in Never-Never-Land.
P.S. The claim that this movie is an allegory to the JFK years is easily refutable, since this movie was made in 1953, while the play is over a century old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth returning to Neverland, Dec 12 2003
By 
Bruce Gray "gurpsgm" (Shenandoah Valley, VA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peter Pan (DVD)
So you want to try to never grow old. You could pick no better movie to try with than Disney's Peter Pan.
The story parallels Barrie's unforgettable novel almost perfectly. Wendy tells stories of Peter to her younger brothers. Peter hears these stories from outside Wendy's window and decides to take her to Neverland with him so that she can share her stories with his "Lost Boys".
With one of the strongest songs in the Disney library, "You Can Fly" to Neverland and watch the rest of Peter's adventures with Wendy.
Captain Hook is one of the most memorable Disney villains ever, especially with the croc chasing him almost every time you see him. Tinkerbell eventually becomes one of the most seen of all Disney characters. And the portrayal of Peter Pan is dead on to the original material - he really is "the boy who never grew up".
The many extras packed into this single DVD, including a sing along (=without= "You Can Fly"? Horrors!), the usual "making of" featurette, and some wonderful commentary by Roy Disney and many of the original animators, make this disc almost a must buy for Disney fans.
Highly recommended for any family with children. Highly recommended for any collection of animation greats - almost irreplaceable in a library of Disney classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the better Disney adaptations, Oct. 24 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Peter Pan (VHS Tape)
Of all the Disney adaptated tales, Peter Pan was proably one of the best. While not as Dark as JM Barrie's original story, it keeps the spirit of the original work and makes it family friendly without betraying it (Hercules anyone? Talk about completly gutting the source material). This is an acceptable adaptation in comparrison to Hercules.
Peter's arrogance and pretty much being oblivious to the way the girls around him feel about him is right on point. Tink, Wendy, and even Tiger Lily all want Peter to be something he can never be, a man. While his willingness to sacrafice for the good of others and be a knight in shinning armor of sorts must be what draws the girls in, but on a personal level he can never connect in a mature way. Even when he starts out on a nobel effort (like saving Tiger Lily) he gets so caught up in the game he just about forgets that he's there to save the young lady. This is certainly an impression of Peter given in the book. You can't really hate him for his moments of being a silly boy, especially when it comes to girls, because that's all he is and all he can ever be, a boy. And as for the 'jealouse women' reactions that circle the film, it's important to note they're not women -- they're girls. Yes, Tink is a fairy but her sense of things seems to be at the same level as Wendy.
Some of the complaints I've heard about the film are the way the Indians are portrayed. And quite a few lines ('ugh', 'How', the 'red man' song) are proably an unfortunate product of the time. But the fact is, when I was a kid I did run around saying 'bwah, bwah, bwah' when I played 'Indian'. So it makes sense in a world locked into a child's sense of the world the indians (to proper english children) would be a bit exagurated.
So all in all, Disney did a pretty good job adapting this into a film. And it's still a favorite. All in all it's a good peice. I'm a grown woman still hoping Peter will visit my window one day. And my little sisters love the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of Disney's "Good" features, May 11 2003
By 
Garrett Aja (North Las Vegas, NV) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peter Pan (DVD)
There are four classes of Disney films: the Classics (Snow White, Pinocchio, Sleeping Beauty), the Good Films (Robin Hood, Alice in Wonderland), the Yawners, or Unremarkable Films (The Aristocats, The Sword in the Stone), and the Failures (The Black Cauldron). Basically, all but the last class are ones that are enjoyable, and only the first two classes are worthy of being hailed as "Classics" by the Disney marketing machine.
Peter Pan fall distinctly in the second class, the "Good" films. Great villain (both Hook and the crocodile), great hero, and great story, but just shy of being perfect in the execution in a few places. Still, it's a classic Disney film, and "good" for Disney is a perfect feature for all but a few animation studios.
This edition has a decent amount of extras, including a commentary track (which I haven't listened to), and making-of featurettes. All in all, this is about as good as it gets for a Disney release outside of the Platinum Editions. If you can find it, make every effort to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Peter Pan, Jan. 21 2003
By 
E. Batica (MN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peter Pan (DVD)
I'm still a fan of the Disney Classics but I have to say that Peter Pan isn't one of my favorites and for the same reason that a lot of people don't like this one and that is the scenes with the Indians (hence 4 stars unstead of 5).
PETER PAN is about the boy who could never grow up and after chasing his shadow in the bedroom of Wendy, John and Michael, he invites the 3 to fly with him to Neverland. It's a wonderful story of adventure, fun and flying. All children will enjoy this one.
Now again, my reason for taking a star off is obviously for the derogatory and stereotypical depiction of Native Americans in this movie. Regardless that this movie was made in 1953 still doens't make it right. As parents, it really should be the responsibilty of the parents to explain and to teach children the right way. I will say that every child should enjoy PETER PAN, but afterwards every parent should take the time to explain to the children that making fun of another culture is wrong.
Either way it goes, if you're looking for other great Disney classics look for BEAUTY AND THE BEAST SPECIAL EDITION, THE FOX AND THE HOUND, ROBIN HOOD, SLEEPING BEAUTY and CINDERELLA. Also check out some of the new Disney's like MONSTERS INC and TOY STORY and TOY STORY 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Peter Pan (Diamond Edition) (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + Book App) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 51.99 CDN$ 39.97
Usually ships in 1 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews