Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peter Pan (blu ray)(Diamond Edition): the definitive edition of Peter Pan!
VIDEO:

Peter Pan flies into blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.33:1 encode. In this case, Disney has decided to do a spectacular clean revitalization, rather than a classic restoration. The result is the absence of grain. But I feel that the transfer is still a revelation. Colours are sumptuous, strong, stunning and vibrant, especially obvious with Captain Hook's...
Published 17 months ago by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars different through my adult eyes
I've been making a point of re-watching all the Disney classics from my youth and commenting on them with adult eyes. It's been a very interesting experience, and PETER PAN is no exception.
What stands out are all the elements Disney wouldn't dare put in an animated film today...like the carefree knife play and the pirate who Captian Hook picks off with his hand gun...
Published on May 21 2002 by chris romano


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peter Pan (blu ray)(Diamond Edition): the definitive edition of Peter Pan!, Feb. 13 2013
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Peter Pan (Diamond Edition) (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + Book App) (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
VIDEO:

Peter Pan flies into blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.33:1 encode. In this case, Disney has decided to do a spectacular clean revitalization, rather than a classic restoration. The result is the absence of grain. But I feel that the transfer is still a revelation. Colours are sumptuous, strong, stunning and vibrant, especially obvious with Captain Hook's bright red cape. The blue of London's night sky is sumptuous. The greenery of Neverland has never looked so rich. Contrast is excellent throughout, as are black levels, which are deeper and richer than ever before. Detail is quite impressive too, with clean line art, stable colour fills, and nicely preserved brushstroke textures in the hand-painted backgrounds. Scratches, scuffs, and noise have all been cleaned up. (5/5)

AUDIO:

As per the usual Disney high standards, Peter Pan comes with DTS-HD 7.1 Master Audio. Culled from a mono source Disney creates a realistic surround sound environment like it has with other movies like Snow White. What is most noticeable about the expanded soundscape is the exactness of the directionality. Dialogue and sound effects move seamlessly through the channels depending on where people are located on screen. Cannons provide deep booming explosions. The tick-tock of Hook's crocodile echoes menacingly. Rear speakers are surprisingly alive with ambient noise, as are the side channels. This is especially noticeable during action sequences. My favourite sound of the movie, when Hook skips across the top of the water like a skipping stone after shooting out of the crocodile's mouth, is wonderfully presented here. The 7.1 track may be a little much considering its mono roots, but Disney pulls it off really well. It is just too bad that they didn't include a lossless mono option as well. (4.5/5)

MOVIE:

One night in London, Peter Pan (voiced by Bobby Driscoll) visits a young girl hoping to get his shadow back. Wendy Darling (Kathryn Beaumont) believes in the stories she's heard about Peter and has stowed away his lost shadow for safe keeping. And so begins one of the most adored stories in all of children's literature.

Wendy, along with her two brothers Michael (voiced by Tommy Luske) and John (voiced by Paul Collins) fly off to Neverland with Peter. A wealth of adventure awaits the travelers. Danger lies ahead also. Captain Hook (voiced by Hans Conried) has been stewing over how to finally rid himself of his arch nemesis Peter Pan. When the boy arrives with new friends in tow he eyes a chance to get rid of him once and for all. Of course, we must not forget Tinker Bell and the very clumpsy Mr. Smee (voiced by Bill Thompson). (movie: 5/5)

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Peter Pan is my favourite Disney film. This was my first full length "cartoon" that I viewed in a theatre when I was 6. This began my love for movies. At home, I was heavily criticized by my better half for my many versions of Peter Pan: starting with a bootleg tape version, followed by a few VHS tapes, then a laser disc, and finally three different DVDs: first, called Limited Issue, followed by Special Edition, and finally the Platinum Edition in 2007. Hopefully and thankfully, this Diamond Edition should be the last one. This edition is the definitive version, and is very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, Jan. 6 2013
By 
Vicki Rigsby "Toby" (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
who could find fault with Peter Pan. A most enjoyable film today as yesterday. My great neice will find many hours of enjoyment in it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peter pan, Jan. 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Play over and over a classic,reminds good memory .My kids loved it and the quality is awesome.great gift idea for young and old
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie, love all the disney movies, July 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent movie, love all the disney movies. My little people will sit and watch this movie over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 3 2014
By 
Gabriel Daniel (Montreal, Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peter Pan (Diamond Edition) (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + Book App) (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Très bon service et produit.
Merci,
Gabriel Daniel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exactally's what I was expecting., April 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Peter Pan (Diamond Edition) (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + Book App) (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Love this movie and I had to buy before it went back into the vault + it came with digital copy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic, March 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's classic Disney and I think that says it all. There are a lot of good moments but it is not one of my favourites. It is still worth getting and I will be going back to watch it over and over again in the coming years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this, March 13 2014
This review is from: Peter Pan (Diamond Edition) (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + Book App) (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
This movie is the best disney movie ever created, and now it's restored with better sound and picture and it's MINDBLOWING! It's such a great price, and TOTALLY worth the buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great buy, March 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Super purchase again from Deal Beat. Wonderful story,timeless. Recommended for all ages. Will keep it in my collection always. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memories for the grandchildren, Jan. 31 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Peter Pan (Diamond Edition) (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + Book App) (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
I loved watching Peter Pan as a child and I thought the grandchildren would also like to see this Disney classic. They also loved it. Looks like I will be getting more of my old favourites for them to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Peter Pan (Diamond Edition) (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy + Book App) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 51.99 CDN$ 39.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews