Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make a Sequel and Take my money!!
Dredd was an awesome movie. Not to be confused with the Stallone abomination, Dredd is the much needed reboot that this "comic book adaptation" needed. Karl Urban is the REAL Dredd now so dont mention Stallone and Dredd in the same sentence anymore. This is a hardcore action flick. Simple story but a lot of crazy, bloody violence. Faithful to the comics, which a lot of...
Published 18 months ago by 7upman

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Much truer to the comics.
Dredd(released Sept/12)stars Karl Urban as Judge Dredd,Olivia Thirlby as Anderson,and others.Those of you who saw the original with Mr.Stallone in the lead,will find this one a bit more to the point and closer to the comic book series.It is far darker than Stallone's version and far more violent.The director had a thing for slo-mo here and seemed to enjoy showing bullets...
Published 19 months ago by Robert Badgley


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make a Sequel and Take my money!!, Feb. 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dredd 3D [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Dredd was an awesome movie. Not to be confused with the Stallone abomination, Dredd is the much needed reboot that this "comic book adaptation" needed. Karl Urban is the REAL Dredd now so dont mention Stallone and Dredd in the same sentence anymore. This is a hardcore action flick. Simple story but a lot of crazy, bloody violence. Faithful to the comics, which a lot of these comic books movies aren't. The only tragedy is that it made so little in its box office run that the sequel is in jeopardy. If you want good movies to be made, then you have to pay to watch them. So do the world, and yourself, a favor and buy Dredd on Blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you loved the comic get this movie., Jan. 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dredd 3D [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
This is an action packed movie with some really amazing battle scenes. If you want character development and a deeper meaning ... This movie isn't for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dredd hits home at high impact, Jan. 21 2013
By 
Derek Draven - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dredd 3D [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Comic book anti-hero Judge Dredd has been brought to the silver screen before, in the notably loathed 1995 film adaptation starring Sylvester Stallone. That movie was critically panned due to a tangled script, bad lines, and too many liberties taken with Dredd source material. In 2012, Hollywood took another shot with the franchise, and managed to give Dredd the live-action presentation that he justly deserves.

'Dredd' is played Karl Urban, who brings his clockwork grimace and growl to a character that actually makes the best use of them. As part of an elite law enforcement unit known as The Judges, Dredd is tasked with patrolling the sprawling post-apocalyptic mega-tropolis called Mega-City One, dispensing quick and brutal on-the-spot justice according to established law. Armed with a sophisticated multi-functional sidearm called a Lawgiver, Dredd is both judge, jury, and if need be, executioner. As the story begins, Dredd is tasked with investigating Peach Trees, a 200 storey building which houses some of the worst known violent offenders in the city. At the top of the hill is Ma-Ma (Lena Headey), a cruel and sadistic psychopath who peddles the new designer drug "Slo-Mo," which seems to slow down a user's sense of time while giving them a euphoric high. Ma-Ma orders the brutal skinning of three dealers who are then unceremoniously thrown from the top of the building to the ground floor. Dredd arrives to investigate, but he isn't alone. Paired with him is Cassandra Anderson (Olivia Thirlby), an unseasoned young Judge who failed initial aptitude tests, and is now being personally evaluated in the field by Judge Dredd. When Anderson and Dredd raid an apartment being used as a drug den, Anderson is able to use her powerful (and rare) psychic abilities to determine that one of the thugs was responsible for the execution of the three dealers. Fearing reprisal, Ma-Ma orders the lockdown of the entire Peach Trees building before Dredd and Anderson can exfiltrate their prisoner back to headquarters for interrogation. Alone and without backup, Judge Dredd becomes a one-man army against legions of Ma-Ma's armed criminals, while Anderson undergoes the biggest and most important test of her entire life.

As a comic book adaptation, 'Dredd' nails the source material quite well. Urban's Dredd is a singular-minded war machine, masquerading under the thin pretense of a law enforcement officer, and he's a great actor to bring the character to life, despite his narrow and largely linear progression. I had less faith in Olivia Thirlby and her petite body as ever being able to withstand the rigors of life as a Judge, but at least her character develops in a realistic and well thought out manner. Lena Headey is once again a standout, playing another socio/psychopath with stunning clarity and conviction. There's little that's sexy about her character, even when she's high on Slo-Mo and relaxing in a bath. Very good character choices, all around. The movie's plot is itself a rather straightforward one. There's little in the way of plot twists or complexity. It's essentially a movie about Dredd fighting his way to the top of a building, but that singular plot device is peppered with some fantastic and varied action sequences. Director Pete Travis has a tendency to go overboard on Slo-Mo (pardon the pun) shots, however, which are there seemingly as a means to drape the movie in a particular visual style. Dredd is also an extremely (and graphically) violent movie from start to finish, which will please hardcore action buffs. If you have a weak stomach, be warned. Explosive blasts tear through bodies, people are shot through their cheeks and mouths, and heads are cooked from the inside out by incendiary rounds. That's just some of the violence which continues to try and desensitize our society, and it's done realistically, not comic book-esque. It fits well with the gritty and nihilistic tone of the future Cursed Earth, and is certainly in line with the character of Judge Dredd, and what he must deal with on a daily basis. The movie is shot in a perfectly plausible tone. Mega-City One looks and feels like something that could definitely exist, and that's largely due to the people who inhabit it. The film's opening freeway chase is devoid of anything outlandish, and feels grounded in reality. This sets the tone for the main stage in the Peach Trees building, which befits today's culture of high rise condominiums and the need to pack a growing population into tighter and tighter spaces. In other words, what 'Dredd' lacks in substance, it more than makes up for in style. I would have liked to see a bit more ambition in the plot, however. No matter how you slice it, Judge Dredd is a wooden character with singular intent, and that's largely by design, but unless he's shooting things up, he isn't the most riveting character to watch. If nothing else, props should be given to the filmmakers for keeping Dredd's helmet on throughout the entire film, just as he does in the comics.

'Dredd' is hard to mark visually, due to being shot natively in 3D. I can't speak for the 3D experience as I don't have a 3D-equipped TV, but the standard 2D transfer is dirty. Very dirty. This could be seen as a benefit, given the nature of the film and its material, but if you're a fan of pristine transfers, this is going to be difficult to swallow. I'm told that the 3D edition doesn't have these problems, and it actually looks and feels more natural and realistic than the 2D transfer, thanks to stereoscopic design. I'm not the biggest advocate for 3D, as only Avatar has really managed to wow me with its deep and compelling visuals. I did see Dredd in 3D at the theaters, though I don't possess the memory of the experience well enough to make a direct comparison. I'm sure it's good, but I'm also sure that any film shot natively in 3D is going to look better in 3D. To each their own. Once again, the audio benefits tremendously from Blu-Ray technology. 'Dredd' is presented with nothing less than a DTS HD Master Audio 7.1 track, which can be expanded to utilize Neo:X technology for 11 channels of total sound. Overkill? Perhaps. My (admittedly) older speaker set isn't able to tackle anything on the scale of Neo:X, but it must be fantastic, given how great the standard 7.1 mix is. I dare say you can hear EVERYTHING in this film with crystal clear clarity. No expense was spared to make audiophiles wet their pants, and this is apparent once the louder action sequences fire up. Outside of those scenes, the sound mix becomes so atmospheric that it creates an immediate and effective grip on the viewer, which more than makes up for the spotty 2D video transfer. Special features get the shaft, clocking in at a dismal 40 minutes. Ironically, the topics I was most curious about, such as Dredd's gear, the design of Peach Trees, and filming in 3D, are all 3 minutes or less. Talk about a disappointment!

It's light years beyond the 1995 Stallone flick, that's for sure. 'Dredd' won't win any awards for being unique, or trying something new, but it's a damn fine action film which eclipses bigger 2012 contenders like the Expendables 2, John Carter, Wrath of the Titans, and Resident Evil: Retribution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good, I bought it twice!, July 26 2013
By 
Jerome F. B. Bourchier (St. Albert, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dredd 3D [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Stallone's 'Judge Dredd' movie back in 1995 was such a dissapointment for me, I ignored this movie for a long time!

If you're a fan of Judge Dredd, this movie is going to make you smile!

Karl Urban IS the law!

This movie is so good, that I want them to make a sequel, so I bought it twice!

Support the film! You buy it too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, July 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dredd 3D [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
I generally don't watch movies as I prefer television serials like the new BSG or Babylon 5 but this movie won me over. It's an excellent take on Judge Dredd that is much better than the obnoxious Stallone movie. The film makers treated the source material seriously and made the characters reflect the source. Most importantly, it feels real, not quite too far outside of the realm of possibility.

Also worthy of note is that there are no "Blockbuster tropes". By that I mean the whole tired set of lazy Hollywood cliche's that go into most major movies. No generic guy/girl romance, no cartoon evil villain who is a nihlist, no senseless explosions after explosions set pieces (looking at you Bay). The movies very up close and in your face in a good way.

Support the Blu Ray so we can get a sequel. My only regret in writing this is not going to the watch it on the big screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I didn't Dredd it one bit, Feb. 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
you like post apocalyptic?
you like action?
you like justice?
you like spitting at your new 40" LED TV while your girlfriend yells at you?
Then get this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Stunning Vision, Feb. 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dredd 3D [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Wiping away the bad memories of the 1995 Judge Dredd film, this film is what Judge Dredd fans have wanted.

It looks gorgeous, and the action is brutal and gory. The Bluray makes it look amazing. The acting by Karl Urban and Olivia Thirlby bring the characters to life.

Well worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dredd [2012] [3D Blu-ray + 2D Blu-ray] [UK Release], Aug. 8 2014
By 
Andrew C. Miller - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dredd 3D [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Dredd [2012] [3D Blu-ray + 2D Blu-ray] [UK Release] JUDGEMENT IS COMING!

The future America is an irradiated waste land. Mega City One a vast, violent metropolis of over 400 million citizens living in perpetual fear, The only ones attempting to impose order are The Judges; Law enforcers, juries, judges and executioners rolled into one.

The epitome of these is Dreed Dredd and rookie Judge, the powerful psychic Cassandra Anderson, head out to a routine homicide in the notorious Peachtrees Mega-block – a 200 story vertical slum run by the pitiless “Ma-Ma” gang. Our two judges are caught in a vicious and relentless fight for survival when “Ma-ma” shuts down the building and orders her clan to hunt then down.

Cast: Karl Urban, Lena Headey, Wood Harris, Rachel Wood, Andile Mngadi, Porteus Xandau Steenkamp, Jason Cope, Emma Breschi, Olivia Thirlby and Rakie Ayola

Director: Pete Travis

Producers: Alex Garland, Allon Reich and Andrew Macdonald

Screenwriter: Alex Garland

Composer: Paul Leonard-Morgan

Cinematography: Anthony Dod Mantle

Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 2.40:1

Audio: English: 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio

Subtitles: English SDH

Running Time: 95 minutes

Region: Region B/2

Number of discs: 1

Studio: Entertainment in Video

Andrew’s Blu-ray Review – Judge Dredd [Karl Urban] and his rookie in training Judge Anderson [Olivia Thirlby] are called out to the Peachtree Mega-block after three people are murdered. Soon after their arrival and the arrest of a local thug, the crime boss of the Mega-block, Madeline Madrigal, also known as "Ma-Ma" [Lena Headey]) locks down the entire 200 floor block and says she’s not opening up again until the two judges are killed. Times are dire for the two law enforcers but one of those Judges is Judge Dredd and he’s not so easy to take out.

In 2012 ‘Dredd’ proved to be somewhat of an antidote to the comic book hero movies that just keep on getting bigger and bigger. A simple premise, a limited cast and a gritty, violent approach that services the lead character's origins rather than hollows him out for mass consumption. Of course, there’s nothing all that original here. This really is the same plot that most video games serve up every couple of months. Enclosed space. Weapons options. Increasingly more difficult foes as you work up the levels. It’s all typical stuff but when you throw Judge Dredd in to the mix, played by a perfectly grimacing Karl Urban this elevates into something way more fun than the basics would usually deliver.

Elevation is genuinely the key here. As the characters get higher up the Mega-block everything seems to grow more and more extreme. Gunfire, blood sprays, gore, Ma Ma’s madness and just extreme amounts of destruction. Everything builds and builds but still there’s time for quiet moments between waves to fill out the world of Mega City One. Sure, it’s not exactly much in the way of set up and backstory for newbies to Judge Dredd but there’s enough to paint a bigger simple picture of his world and just how hard edged it is to warrant people like Judge Dredd to enforce the law.

Director Pete Travis has kept everything streamlined. We know the odds very early on. We know what’s at stake. We know Dredd has to look out for Anderson as she grows a backbone and we know “Ma-Ma” is badass enough to throw all she can at the judges in order to come out of this one the victor. The real success here however is that Travis uses all of this to sell exactly how tough and driven Dredd is at every turn. Every set piece celebrates the 2000AD character like we've never seen on the big screen and it all works. Travis even pulls off the impossible and never has a single frame of Dredd out of his helmet. Karl Urban never really get much more to do that scowl but he does it well and Dredd comes out of this movie a hero I’d like to see again in sequels.

Blu-ray Video Quality – To begin with, when the scenes are well lit, the colours and the textures are really quite great. Dinks and scratches on Dredd’s helmet look fantastic as does the stubble on his chin and many a set pops with neon lighting and other well placed light sources. The Slo-Mo scenes pop with vivid colour and really play with images beautifully for an HD presentation but… and this is a big old but, every now and again this Blu-ray can look not visually tip top.

It begins with a real sense of heightened grain or indeed digital noise. It’s sometimes quite filmic and fitting for the style of the movie but at other times it’s like a veil has been placed over the screen. This mutes colours, dirties light sources and turns every deep black into a grubby dark green or blue. When this drop in quality occurs at its worst, it’s luckily only for a very short time before we pop back into a much better looking portion of a scene but between the low lighting, boosted with neon oranges, blues and reds there is a distinct murky feel to a lot of the corridors of this Mega-block.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – The award for aggressive bass goes to… Dredd! The bass on this 5.1 DTS-Master Audio track is relentless as well as awesome and I have to say it’s all in great ways. It almost becomes a supporting role as it lends so much to the film. Everything from the score to simply Dredd walking has a bass boost that will kick the hell out of you and it seems to be used throughout the film, even when you least expect it. The bass underpinning score gives the film a constant presence and when it’s not setting a mood, Dredd’s bike is rumbling in wonderful ways, guns are tearing up the Mega-block or there are scenes filled out with the heavy end of dance music or crowd ambience, just to keep everything feeling like a heartbeat to the rawness of the film. Because of the entire bass and general boost to most things dialogue can sometimes feel a little bit low in quieter conversations but it’s certainly not a consistent thing as non-whispered dialogue is generally strong and clear.

Blu-ray Special features and Extras:

Dredd: 200AD The Original [HD] [03:28] Is a short documentary covering the history of Judge Dredd.

Slo-Mo [HD] [02:12] Shows the ideas behind the drug induced visuals and the super slo-mo effect generated in the film.

Welcome To Peachtree [HD] [02:34] Is a look at Mega City One's Mega-blocks.

The 3rd Dimension [HD] [02:00] Tackles the approach to the hyper stylised 3D in the film as well as the approach to added depth.

Dredd’s Gear [HD] [02:32] Shows us the making of Dredd’s costume

Dredd [HD] [01:52] An overview look at the film.

Interviews [HD] [26:35] The biggest chunk on the extras are the ‘Interviews’ which are with all involved in the project. It’s a shame they are cobbled together with static question cards and bland talking head answers.

Previews: Underworld Awakening 3D; Piranha 3D; Shark Fight 3D; Hugo 3D; Killing Them Softly 2D; Alex Cross 3D; Lockout; Chasing Mavericks 2D and Stand Up Guys 2D.

Finally, ‘Dredd’ 3D maybe wasn’t quite as hard hitting this second time around as it was the first time I saw it but even with that said, there’s a whole lot to enjoy here. Karl Urban does Judge Dredd some real justice, the story is simple and to the point and extremely violent compared to the other comic book movies out there and really this ninety odd minute fight to get to the boss shoot fest is exactly what the doctor ordered to kick the Judge Dredd franchise off to a good start. I really do hope sequels are enabled after this first outing and it would be good to see the world of ‘Dredd’ expanded to all the places the comics go. The disc itself is great for the most part but a little chaotic in the visuals department and thin on real extras. That said, the punchy audio set up should keep most happy as it captures the large cinematic oomph very well indeed. This is a great companion to the Sylvester Stallone ‘Judge Dredd’ Blu-ray disc and I am so happy to add ‘Dredd’ 3D to my ever expanding 3D Blu-ray Disc Collection. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't think - just shoot, June 27 2014
By 
M Sockel - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dredd 3D (Blu-ray)
Take Assault on Precinct 13 and work in Attack The Block. Baste in Bladerunner, and cook for 90 minutes on high octane... and you've got Dredd.

And it's actually pretty cool.

I went through a stage in the mid 80s of being 2000AD fan. I got the comics for a few years, but would never described myself as hardcore.

That said, I found Stallone's interpretation to be so appalling that I had an anger stroke that I have never really recovered from.

Fortunately, this goes some way to healing that hurt.

Dark, gritty, and broadly faithful to at least the idea, I thought there were some nice touches, particularly the Soylent Green references.

But there were disappointments; the image of Mega City 1 was terrible. The cityscapes in Fifth Element were closer to those of the original comics than in this movie.

The characterizations were good for Dredd and Anderson, but woeful for Ma Ma.
She felt like a goon of The Joker, and was just bad for the sake of being bad - no reason, just bad, and I hate a lack of backstory.#
Finally, plot holes - there were two biggies.
(1) Ma Ma never needed to shut Peachtrees down. She could have had the informant shot before leaving (she controls the CCTV) or had the 4 corrupt judges kill him before reaching interrogation. But that is nothing compared to
(2) Dredd never needed to transport the informant. Anderson could have mind probed him (like she did later) and then they could have executed him.

Duh!
That said, this is not a cerebral film. It a film about the law being good, drugs being bad, and the power of the hot lead in a confined space.

And I'm even looking forward to the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good action movie, July 4 2014
This review is from: Dredd 3D [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Karl Urban is perfect as a no nonsense Dredd that only sees things in black and white while Anderson (Olivia Thirlby) only sees things in shades of grey due to her psychic nature. Anderson provides the perfect foil for Dredd's hardline justice and the only hint of kindness in what is otherwise a ruthless and bloody sequence of events.

The movie works well because the scope is so focused and Dredd isn't presented as some legendary street justice; just one really determined judge. I hope they make a sequel and it keeps the same small view point. Too many movies (especially comic movies) are overblown and overworked and Dredd is a welcome antithesis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dredd 3D [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + Digital Copy] (Bilingual)
CDN$ 31.99 CDN$ 20.08
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews