countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
224
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$36.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

First off this is my fav. Rush record. They have made a few classic albums but this one was the first album of theirs I bought. The whole album is great but the first side with the full 2112 on it is a masterpiece. The 5.1 mix is some of the best ear candy that you will ever hear. This really is a record that was made for 5.1. As a surprise bonus they have done motion comics for each of the songs. The 2112 part takes you through the whole story. What a great idea for this format. This mix has nice range. I feel it is not part of the loudness wars going on right now (thank you MP3 people). The tracks are not overly compressed and the 5.1 mix is true to the original two track master. If you like Rush or if you have not heard them but like Progressive rock this is for you. If you are new to the world of 5.1 and want some ear candy to play on your new toy well this is the one!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2015
What's not to love? Sound quality and musicianship are spot on - the mix of the bass, guitar and drums are just perfect - unlike their new stuff that is so compressed, you can barely hear the bass lines and drum fills, just a big guitar mess. Very catchy tunes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2004
These days, 3 seconds seem like an eternity for the gullible masses who don't even bother if there's no simple hook to get perpetually drilled into their heads right from the get-go. I always knew there was a lot of substance to Rush. I just had the problem that many tend to have, that being with Geddy Lee's voice. Given that I am simply enamoured of Axl Roses's whinings and shriekings, that hardly seems fair, especially for such an intricate band such as Rush. Nonetheless, things are the way they are. For anyone who "respects" but can't "get into" Rush, make sure you understand that ESPECIALLY by today's standards, they may be somewhat of an acquired taste. And it's easy to look the other way...
But I've always WANTED to love Rush. They represent everything that is to be hailed about music; brains, talent, hard work, complex arrangements, and they ROCK. I knew I had to just buy an album, lock myself in a room, and listen to it over and over and over, and not come out until the epiphany.
It took forever, but allow me to gear myself towards prog/rock fans with similar issues: it's worth it.
2112 is a good starting point, as it is like listening to a symphony, a musical journey, more than just a collection of songs ready for radio. Thus, your mindset in the first place is much more open for a work like this. 2112 was made like some early Pink Floyd albums - one epic and a few songs to fill out the time. However, I don't call them "filler" - indeed, such tag-along-songs are more often than not, golden nuggets in and of themselves. Allow me to highlight the wonderful gem, "Tears." A wonderful, creative, and haunting melody floats over a very uniquely atmosphered soundscape. Tender, yet dark. For the most part, the other non-epic tunes here are general classic rock songs (not a bad thing).
But epics have a way of outdoing "general classic rock" - and so let us return to the nucleus of the review (and the album!). 2112 is a brilliant composition. The band really gels as musicians, with Alex Lifeson's thoughtful guitar playing being a perfect compliment to Neil Peart's unbridled sense of storytelling (oh and btw he plays drums PERFECTLY and may frustrate you to want to quit-fortunately I'm not a drummer). And what's scarier, the thematic events of "we have no need for ancient ways" /... "it doesn't fit the plan" have come into dangerous fruition with regards to the music industry's recent suppression of substance.
The most important concept in this review (which is one of the most important concepts about music, if I may be so bold), is that sometimes, patience is rewarded. I wanted in, so I listened over and over. If you give it a chance, you'll get lost in its world of greatness. If you dismiss this after a few spins, you never gave it a chance to stick in the first place.
So to end where I began, I'll skip the in-depth analysis of the music, simply because that's been done elsewhere many many times. What I can offer is the perspective of someone who didn't "live through" the 70's and had to get into prog backwards (Dream Theater and Queensryche are my roots). 2112 is a can't-fail album for anyone - the ["controversial"] singing doesn't even begin until a full length instrumental overture has revealed the piece's many themes. It's plenty of time to absorb the music and become involved. Once the vocals hit, they seem more like any other contributing instrument to a well-blended band, as opposed to a dominant force you just wish would "get out of the way" so you can appreciate the rest of it.
Regardless, there's much to appreciate. It's an understatement to say that without Rush/this album, much greatness would not have been able to draw influence from said entity. And although commercially, prog has seen better days, right here is why there's any hope at all.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2004
In March of 1976, Canadian rockers Rush released their fourth album entitled 2112. This album was seen as their make or break disc after the disappointing results of its predecessor Caress of Steel. When initially released, it was the first Rush album to crack the Top 100 but would not go Gold until the success of its successor A Farewell to Kings a year later as would the live disc released in 1976 All The World's a Stage. The epic 20 minute plus title suite kicks off the album. It tells the Brave New Worldish story of one man's quest to find change. One day, he discovers a guitar and shows it to the evil priests but they destroy the guys creation and then the guy takes his own life at the conclusion of the track over dejection and despair. Bassist/vocalist Geddy Lee's work on this track is amazing. Guitarist Alex Lifeson wails on this track and drummer Neil Peart is on fire. Also of note, this was the first Rush track to feature synthesizers on the intro. The second half features two more Rush composed tracks A Passage to Bangkok(a live staple for the next few years) and The Twilight Zone. Alex Lifeson's Lessons follows and is a great tune. Geddy's ballad Tears is beautiful and poignant with Hugh Syme on keyboards. The concluding Something for Nothing is a great track and reminds us that we have to work for success and don't get things handed on a silver platter. Highly recommended!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2004
This is where I started my RUSH journey. I have been a fan for most of my life (30 years as long as they have been around). My older brother, Tom, was a fan of RUSH when I was born. I grew up listening to RUSH while Tom jammed along on his guitar. I used to beg him to play this album over and over. Today I am going to permanently mark my body with ink to honor RUSH and their 30 years of existence. I will emblazon my right arm with the bold black characters "R30" after their 30th anniversary tour logo. 2112 is RUSH's best album, and when I got a CD player for the first time in 1989 this was the CD I bought to play. ORDER IT AND YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2004
As a new Rush fan, I had to decide which album I would buy first. So naturally I chose 2112. If a song is 22 minutes long, it's gotta be good. The opener, which is broken into sub-songs is a true masterpice. The best part of the album is when "Temple's of the Synix" kicks in about 4 minutes into 2112. The gutiars scream and Geddy's voice howls out in a pitch that no other human can reach "we've taken care of everything, the words you read, the songs you sing", my personal favorite line in any Rush song. The next 5 songs on the album are no 2112, but they're still pretty damn good. This is a must have for any classic rock fan.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon April 16, 2011
'2112', where to begin? To many Rush fans this was the first introduction to the band, their history, their sound. It's simply epic. One of the highlights of progressive-rock music is the album's title song, the 20 minutes epic monster of a song that is'2112'. When I think of Rush, the first song that comes to my mind is the title track, not 'Tom Sawyer' or anything else. By 1976 the Canadian trio already had three albums under their belts by this point, road experience, a definitive lineup and were about to unleash this classic album. '2112' is often pointed out as the best album in the Rush catalog, a masterpiece, and one of the best Rock'N'Roll albums of all time. It also often referred to as the definitive Rush album, fans all have their favorites but I'm sure each one considers this album to be very special and the start of something big. True 'Moving Pictures' is much more accessible and radio-friendly with some big hit songs, and maybe your first Rush album was NOT '2112' but it remains one of the biggest pieces of the band's career more than 35 years after, you simply can't deny the historical importance of '2112' if you're a Rush fan.

Based on Ayn Rand's book 'The Fountain', the title track '2112' is divided into 7 different sections and kicks off with the hard rocking 'Overture' and goes into 'The Temples of Syrinx' which sees Geddy Lee using screaming vocals. Neil Peart's brilliant and intelligent lyric are really distinguishable in the rock universe. I listened to 'Overture/The Temples of Syrinx' a lot when I was younger and I still love the whole song as of today, it has made an impression I suppose. '2112' is by far one of the most ambitious rock songs made, sure other bands have done 20 minutes songs that were pretty epic but no one does a long, challenging and complex musical piece like Rush does. Of course, the rest of the album is not as epic as the title track but those 5 songs are still very enjoyable. For instance, I really like 'The Twilight Zone', a calm and slow song that's very melodic and peaceful. The rocking 'A Passage To Bangkok' is a very good track on its own, nothing to criticize at all. 'Lessons' is a very laid back and joyful track, I really enjoy this track but before it really kicks in can seem a little out of place. 'Tears' is the closest thing to a ballad, a slow melodic and almost dramatic song. 'Something For Nothing' is a good closer and a decent song but I don't it's anything really special, just a good song that's pretty much just 'there'. Besides the amazing title track there isn't anything really mind-blowing so I suppose the rest of the album can seem somewhat average to someone who isn't really a Rush fan.

Three times platinum and the band's first Gold album, '2112' is one of the highlights of Rush's career and displays musical geniuses doing what they do best. It was the band's breakthrough and it gave the band credibility and respect so that they could do exactly what they do from this point, very much a statement. I'm rating the album 4.5 stars/5 because as much as I love the album I don't think every single track is outstanding to be honest. Very recommended for someone who is looking to get into Rush or those who appreciate good classic rock.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2001
From the moment the funky sound effects begin on the title song, you're pulled into a whole other world that could have been created in the mind of drummer/lyricist Neil Peart (Ayn Rand has to get some credit as well since her novella Anthem has long been cited as an influence for the goings-on in 2112). One can hardly listen to the title song without pondering a world where music has been outlawed (this takes place mainly in Discovery and Presentation).
After that first great 20 minutes plus, it's on to a mixed bag of quality stuff beginning with "Passage to Bangkok", which they continued to do live for many years. "The Twilight Zone" makes a few references to actual episodes of the 60's television show (one of the best shows ever). "Lessons" belongs on any "best of" list for the band and the album ends with the powerful "Something for Nothing".
Simply put, Rush was coming into their own with this album and it still ranks as one of the best even considering that they have about 2,000 albums now (well, maybe not quite that many but you get my point). Rush is not the kind of band to gather moss and this is a sound that would somewhat linger on the next album, A Farewell to Kings, and even less so on the succeeding Hemispheres. Those are good albums too, but enjoy this real gem in 2112. There's really nothing else like it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2001
_2112_, is arguably the album which broke Rush into the mainstream. Lyrically, written by drummer/lyricist Neil Peart (and based on some of Ayn Rand's writings), the epic title track is a futuristic sci-fi epic, featuring a concept about someone who discovers a guitar, shows it to the leaders of the world he's in. They disapprove of it, then smash his guitar. He gets lonely and depressed and he commits suicide. A sad story with ever-changing moods in the music. That's just my 'quick' summary of the concept, but, it's been covered by so many other reviewers, that I don't have much else to add. My favorite parts of this 20-minute epic are: "Overture/Temples of the Syrinx" medley, which features metal guitar and Alex Lifeson doing an A minor-G-D-C (or C add9) guitar progression really fast. and "Soliloquoy" (alone + speak, latin). This is the saddest of the epic and takes on a "Bohemian Rhapsody" type feel in that it feautures Geddy's dramatic vocals, combined with an overall sad feel and dramatic instrumentation.
The rest of the disc is not bad either.
"A Passage..." is the hit of the album--a song about marijuana.
"The Twilight Zone" is a creepy and hypnotic track.
"Lessons", a mix of soft/heavy guitars, is the only (if not one of the few) Lifeson tracks to be written entirely by himself.
"Tears" is the lovely ballad of the album. Written by Geddy Lee, it features sad, soft and lush backing orchestrations.
"Something For Nothing" is the fast-paced heavy rocker with lyrics of cold/hard reality.
This is a great place to start if you're new to Rush. The long-epic and shorter track formula was used on other Rush albums (_Caress Of Steel_, _A Farewell To Kings_ and _Hemispheres_). However, _2112_ is probably the most accessible of these. After this, move to _A Farewell To Kings_ and _Hemispheres_, as the band would make their music more complex, while refining their craft a bit more as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2001
Rush made some of their coolest epic music on Caress Of Steel, a record that they nearly lost their contract over. 2112 had to be more produced and marketable or the band would have probably folded. Yes the production is turned up more than a notch here,but the music is far more basic rock with a lot of sound effects replacing actual challenging playing on most of the side long title epic,which is probably their most overrated piece,though in junior high I was impressed,as an adult it seems a little pedestrian. Side two is full of filler and throwaways. "Passage To Bangkok" is the dumbest and only drug related song that Rush ever did,guaranteed to please the High Times and Beavis and Butthead crowd."Tears" was a nice gentle ballad,a rare thing for this group."Something For Nothing" is probably the best overall track of this bunch, and a little closer to the superior Fly By Night material."Twilight Zone"is the most obvious filler trash.The band didn't really make the full transition to prog rock until Hemispheres,which is their best record.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse