Customer Reviews


183 Reviews
5 star:
 (124)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Bond Ever
This is my favourite Bond movie, and maybe even my favourite movie ever. I have studied film and am rather jaded when it comes to everything I see in the movie theatres lately, but not so with this movie. There is not a single thing I would change. If anything could be perfect this movie is it.

The Blue-Ray presentation is magnificent, and... What else can I...
Published 15 months ago by Mili Fay

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Skyfall so so
I was not so impressed with this J.B. movie, especially the ending part. I think the previous episode was better.
Published 9 months ago by Louis Cheung


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Bond Ever, Aug. 20 2013
By 
Mili Fay - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Skyfall [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
This is my favourite Bond movie, and maybe even my favourite movie ever. I have studied film and am rather jaded when it comes to everything I see in the movie theatres lately, but not so with this movie. There is not a single thing I would change. If anything could be perfect this movie is it.

The Blue-Ray presentation is magnificent, and... What else can I say?

If you like Bond, or even if you do not like Bond, watch this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skyfall (blu ray): the 23rd Bond movie with the highest gross, plus top-notched video and audio transfer!, Feb. 13 2013
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Skyfall [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
VIDEO:

Skyfall flew into blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 2.40:1 encode. The image is spectacular: clear, sharp, detailed and noiseless. This is largely due to spectacular digital photography of cinematographer Roger Deakins. Skyfall is a symphony of different tones and palettes, from the chilly blues and milky whites of London to the emotional browns, greens, reds and (eventually) oranges of the Scottish sequences to the exotic primaries and fluorescents of Shanghai and Macau. And let's not forget the broken-down wreck of an island where Silva keeps his headquarters. Fantastic transfer. (5/5)

AUDIO:

Skyfall comes with DTS-HD 5.1 Master Audio lossless track, that is equal to the video in quality. The various explosions, car chases and shootouts, not to mention the opening train chase involving a crane and various VW Beetles and a scene in the London Tube all come with great sonic intensity, with their crisply defined surround effects, immersive surround field and deep bass extension. Dialogue is clear and precise. The score by composer Thomas Newman, entering the Bond franchise for the first time at Mendes' specific request, is simply superb. We must also not forget the title song by Adele. I predict that she will win the Oscar for Best Original Song during the upcoming Academy Award. (5/5)

AWARDS (Updated):

Academy Award Winnners:
1. Best Original Song: Adele and Paul Epworth for Skyfall
2. Best Sound Editing: Per Hallberg, Karen M. Baker

Academy Award Nominations:
1. Best Achievement in Cinematography: Roger Deakins
2. Best Original Score: Thomas Newman
3. Best Achievement in Sound Mixing: Scott Milan, Greg P. Russell, Stuart Wilson

TRIVIA:

Skyfall, the 23rd installment in the James Bond franchise, is also the highest grossing Bond movie at $1,094 million. It is the second highest grossing movie in 2012, behind The Avengers. Currently, it is sitting at #7 in the All-Time Worldwide Box Office Gross chart. Amazing feat!

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Skyfall is highly entertaining with top-notched video and audio. I hope Roger Deakins will win the Oscar for Cinematography, Thomas Newman for Original Score, and the more sure-bet win for Adele. Hopefully, she does not drop any F-bomb in her acceptance speech. I am sure a Collector’s Edition of this movie will come out later on, but for now, this set will do for now, and is highly recommended.

UPDATE: FEBRUARY 24, 2013

Congratulations to Adele Adkins for winning the Oscar for Best Original Song, plus a fantastic live performance on the show. On the recent Brit Awards Show, Skyfall was awarded Single Of The Year 2012. Adele was not present to receive the award because she was in Los Angeles rehearsing for the live performance during Oscar broadcast. Great job!

MORE UPDATE: MAY 21, 2013

The current price of $14.99 is the CHEAPEST so far, after dropping from the original price of $24.99. If you like this movie, buy it now. It is a real bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars best of the Bond films, April 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Skyfall (Bilingual) (DVD)
Daniel Graig is probably the best Bond.The movie certainly uses special effects to fullest . The stories seem to going in a new direction. Wonder what Ian Fleming would think of his hero now?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Daniel Craig is terrific as Bond!, April 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Skyfall [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
'Skyfall' is a very entertaining film with lots of action, lots of different locations and a great sound track!
Peeking into Bond's history is an interesting story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 3 2014
By 
Gabriel Daniel (Montreal, Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Skyfall [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Très bon service et produit.
Merci,
Gabriel Daniel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Skyfall [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Good item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, June 30 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Skyfall [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Silly plot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Almost 5 stars but..., June 28 2014
By 
Fran C (Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Skyfall [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
The movie is fun but a little too much violence for my taste. Also, I had a hard time using the menu, getting to the movie took forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Skyfall, June 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Skyfall [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
I have enjoyed the new series and Bond does not disappoint in the latest movie: they keep getting better with each installment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Skyfall Blu Ray, April 29 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Skyfall [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Bilingual) (Blu-ray)
Skyfall Blu Ray combo is excellent.
The picture and sound are so crisp (displayed on a Plasma via PS3 console and HDMI wire).
The surround sound came out better than I expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Skyfall  [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] (Bilingual)
CDN$ 32.99 CDN$ 6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews