Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Countdown to Black Friday in Home & Kitchen Kindle Deal of the Day - The Beatles in Mono 14LP Vinyl Box Set SGG Tools

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars218
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:$24.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on August 20, 2013
This is my favourite Bond movie, and maybe even my favourite movie ever. I have studied film and am rather jaded when it comes to everything I see in the movie theatres lately, but not so with this movie. There is not a single thing I would change. If anything could be perfect this movie is it.

The Blue-Ray presentation is magnificent, and... What else can I say?

If you like Bond, or even if you do not like Bond, watch this film.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful

Skyfall flew into blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 2.40:1 encode. The image is spectacular: clear, sharp, detailed and noiseless. This is largely due to spectacular digital photography of cinematographer Roger Deakins. Skyfall is a symphony of different tones and palettes, from the chilly blues and milky whites of London to the emotional browns, greens, reds and (eventually) oranges of the Scottish sequences to the exotic primaries and fluorescents of Shanghai and Macau. And let's not forget the broken-down wreck of an island where Silva keeps his headquarters. Fantastic transfer. (5/5)


Skyfall comes with DTS-HD 5.1 Master Audio lossless track, that is equal to the video in quality. The various explosions, car chases and shootouts, not to mention the opening train chase involving a crane and various VW Beetles and a scene in the London Tube all come with great sonic intensity, with their crisply defined surround effects, immersive surround field and deep bass extension. Dialogue is clear and precise. The score by composer Thomas Newman, entering the Bond franchise for the first time at Mendes' specific request, is simply superb. We must also not forget the title song by Adele. I predict that she will win the Oscar for Best Original Song during the upcoming Academy Award. (5/5)

AWARDS (Updated):

Academy Award Winnners:
1. Best Original Song: Adele and Paul Epworth for Skyfall
2. Best Sound Editing: Per Hallberg, Karen M. Baker

Academy Award Nominations:
1. Best Achievement in Cinematography: Roger Deakins
2. Best Original Score: Thomas Newman
3. Best Achievement in Sound Mixing: Scott Milan, Greg P. Russell, Stuart Wilson


Skyfall, the 23rd installment in the James Bond franchise, is also the highest grossing Bond movie at $1,094 million. It is the second highest grossing movie in 2012, behind The Avengers. Currently, it is sitting at #7 in the All-Time Worldwide Box Office Gross chart. Amazing feat!


Skyfall is highly entertaining with top-notched video and audio. I hope Roger Deakins will win the Oscar for Cinematography, Thomas Newman for Original Score, and the more sure-bet win for Adele. Hopefully, she does not drop any F-bomb in her acceptance speech. I am sure a Collector’s Edition of this movie will come out later on, but for now, this set will do for now, and is highly recommended.


Congratulations to Adele Adkins for winning the Oscar for Best Original Song, plus a fantastic live performance on the show. On the recent Brit Awards Show, Skyfall was awarded Single Of The Year 2012. Adele was not present to receive the award because she was in Los Angeles rehearsing for the live performance during Oscar broadcast. Great job!


The current price of $14.99 is the CHEAPEST so far, after dropping from the original price of $24.99. If you like this movie, buy it now. It is a real bargain!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on April 7, 2013
Daniel Graig is probably the best Bond.The movie certainly uses special effects to fullest . The stories seem to going in a new direction. Wonder what Ian Fleming would think of his hero now?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon December 23, 2014
Not the best Bond movie with Daniel Craig. But, it is watchable and enjoyable with a brilliant soundtrack. It may have earned the most money out of all the Bond movies, and Javier Bardem makes for a worthy foe, but his talents are underutilized by Sam Mendes. Daniel Craig gives another of his routine Bond performance with the same broodiness and edginess. But, I disagree with the majority who think this is the best Bond movie ever made. No it is not. Not by a long shot.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on June 28, 2014
The movie is fun but a little too much violence for my taste. Also, I had a hard time using the menu, getting to the movie took forever.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
An unknown bad guy (Javier Bardem) has obtained the list of all NATO nation covert operatives working inside terrorist cells. As he threatens to release them, an aged Bond (Daniel Craig) who appears to have lost a step, must go to Shanghai and appear in the obligatory casino scene and attempt to get back the computer file. This feature has the standard Bond lines, killer title track, sensual scenes, over the top chase action, as well as a return to Bond's roots.

Judi Dench as "M" was superb. Adele singing the title track, who else? The Bond series has kept up with the times as expected and leaves sequel possibilities open. Good action flick, although I do not consider this to be the best Bond film ever or even close. It lacked the fun gag names that makes for great spoofs, but did use Silva, the name of our bad guy from the urban dictionary: Silvas are typically the most handsome men one will ever come across in person. A silva is a strong, sexy, and successful individual that doesn't need anyone but himself. Worth a peek on the big screen.

Parental Guide: 1 f-bomb, sensual scenes that implied sex, no nudity.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2013
I've been a James Bond movie fan for many years but when Daniel Craig came on the scene, "oh dear, not another one" but Craig's portrayal of Bond makes him more believable, Bond gets knocks, cuts or bruises they show. I liked Casino Royale & Quantum, Both are extremely fast paced and one must pay close attention to understand.
However, Skyfall tops them all, was sorry to see Judy Dench leave but do hope they keep Ralph Fiennes in the part of M. Javier Bardem is a pretty persistent, nasty bad guy. Was entertained by Naomi Harris and Ben Whishaw as "Moneypenny" and "Q" however if "Q" is going to keep providing Bond with his "tools" then "Q" better get used to flying, LOL! I see "Tanner" as a low key but important character as well.
Thoroughly enjoyed the story as well as places Bond traveled. Have read some reviews regarding accuracy of some parts but what the heck?, that is "movie magic" or the writers "license" so it seems. Of course I bought the DVD Blue Ray set, imagine it is super with surround sound. The color and picture on the Blue Ray disc is very clear, quality is good.
Very pleased with the set and the quick service once it was released.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2013
My rating would be 5 stars if someone else, more suited for the role like Pierce Brosnan, Roger Moore and Sean Connery was, would play 007. Don't get me wrong, I like Daniel Craig he is an excellent actor, but in my opinion not for the character of James Bond. He has great muscles and stamina but lacks elegance and humour. Never smiles or being affectionate. He really works hard to be 007 and it shows in his performance. I got used to the sleek elegance of the tall and dark easy going more human personality of past 007's.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2015
This is best Bond film that I have ever seen! Sam Mendes is the right director for this film and I hope will continue to produce/direct future Bond films. Craig is just so good in this film, so is Judy Dench, the ultimate "M". If you haven't seen this film, purchase the blue ray version, the entire film will "pop" out before your eyes and I guarantee that you'll want to watch it again and again! I've watched it at least five times and I've seen new things in it-can't get enough of this film!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2013
Skyfall is a welcome return to form after the somewhat shaky Quantum of Solace.

Great action sequences, a cracking villain and a compelling plot all make for a wonderful movie.

With Skyfall celebrating the 50th anniversary of the movie franchise, there are some lovely nods to the past (classic Aston Martin complete with ejector seat, anyone?), as well as pointing the way for future installments.

A welcome addition to the Bond canon!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The Daniel Craig Collection (Bilingual) [Blu-ray]
The Daniel Craig Collection (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] by Daniel Craig (Blu-ray - 2015)
CDN$ 14.49

Casino Royale (Bilingual) [Blu-ray]
Casino Royale (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] by Daniel Craig (Blu-ray - 2015)
CDN$ 7.25

Quantum Of Solace (Bilingual) [Blu-ray]
Quantum Of Solace (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] by Daniel Craig (Blu-ray - 2015)
CDN$ 7.25